AzTrials
AzTrials

SarcomaNCT01466283

Biomarkers in Patients With Rhabdomyosarcoma

An observational study of Sarcoma, run by Children's Oncology Group.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Studying samples of tissue from patients with cancer in the laboratory may help doctors learn more about changes that occur in DNA and identify biomarkers related to cancer. PURPOSE: This research study is studying biomarkers in patients with rhabdomyosarcoma. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Any age
Conditions the study is for
Sarcoma
What is being tested?
DNA methylation analysis, fluorescence in situ hybridization and gene expression analysis
How many people
20 participants
Where
No sites listed yet
Study dates
Oct 2011to May 2016
Phase
Observational
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Any age
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

Study population: Cooperative Human Tissue Network (CHTN)

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • 10 ARMS and 10 ERMS frozen samples will be collected from the COG bank via the Cooperative Human Tissue Network (CHTN)
  • Human skeletal myoblasts (ZenBio, Research Triangle Park, NC) will serve as controls

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Not specified

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

  • Not specified

About this study

Official title: Integrative Epigenomic Approach to Gene Discovery in Rhabdomyosarcoma (RMS)

RATIONALE: Studying samples of tissue from patients with cancer in the laboratory may help doctors learn more about changes that occur in DNA and identify biomarkers related to cancer.

PURPOSE: This research study is studying biomarkers in patients with rhabdomyosarcoma.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine genome-wide alterations in DNA methylation in ARMS and ERMS.
  • Determine genome-wide DNA copy number alterations in ARMS and ERMS.
  • Determine pathogenic genes and pathways by integrative genomic analysis.

OUTLINE: Genome-wide DNA-methylation analysis on ARMS, ERMS, and normal human skeletal myoblasts will be conducted using the HELP (HpaII tiny fragment Enrichment by Ligation-mediated PCR) assay. The methylation status of 1.3 million CpGs at promoters, gene bodies, and intergenic areas will be analyzed. Parallel gene expression analysis will be done and correlated with changes in methylation to uncover genes regulated by epigenetic alterations and altered by genomic losses or gains.

Genes that are altered by both genetic and epigenetic alterations in different sets of patients will be selected by the MIGHT (Multi-dimensional Integration of Genomic data from Human Tissues) algorithm to uncover new genes that are potentially involved in the pathogenesis of ARMS and ERMS. Gene ontology, pathway, and DNA motif analysis algorithms, and other computational approaches will be used to determine the biological consequences of the changes. Prioritized set of epigenetic and genetic alterations will be validated by bisulfite MassArray, FISH, and qRT-PCR in larger numbers of ARMS and ERMS samples.

Conditions
Sarcoma
Being tested
DNA methylation analysis, fluorescence in situ hybridization, gene expression analysis, reverse transcriptase-polymerase chain reaction, laboratory biomarker analysis
Keywords
childhood rhabdomyosarcoma
Medical subject headings
Sarcoma

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • DNA methylation analysisGenetic

  • fluorescence in situ hybridizationGenetic

  • gene expression analysisGenetic

  • reverse transcriptase-polymerase chain reactionGenetic

  • laboratory biomarker analysisOther

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Genome-wide alterations in DNA methylation in ARMS and ERMS

  2. Genome-wide DNA copy number alterations in ARMS and ERMS

  3. Pathogenic genes and pathways by integrative genomic analysis

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted7 Nov 2011 (estimated)
  2. Study startOct 2011
  3. Primary completionMay 2016

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Observational
Observational model
Case-control
Time perspective
Retrospective
Enrolment
20 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT01466283
Sponsor's protocol ID
ARST12B2
Other IDs
COG-ARST12B2, ARST12B2, NCI-2011-03634
Status last verified
May 2016
First submitted
2 Nov 2011
Last updated
19 May 2016
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

An observational study of Sarcoma, run by Children's Oncology Group.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 19 May 2016. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Genome-wide alterations in DNA methylation in ARMS and ERMS. The study lists 3 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 19 May 2016.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in