Endometrial CarcinomaPhase 2NCT00879359
Trial of Vascular Endothelial Growth Factor (VEGF), Bevacizumab, in Combination With Cytotoxic Chemotherapy for Endometrial Cancer
A Phase 2 study testing carboplatin, paclitaxel, and bevacizumab in people with Endometrial Carcinoma, run by The Cleveland Clinic at 1 site in United States.
Trial summary
The purpose of this study is to find out whether the addition of a drug called Avastin (avastin) to the two-drug combination of carboplatin and paclitaxel shrinks tumors better than the two-drug combination alone in the treatment of endometrial cancer. Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 18 years and older, women onlyHealthy volunteers can take part
- Conditions the study is for
- Endometrial Carcinoma
- What is being tested?
- carboplatin, paclitaxel, and bevacizumab
- Could I receive a placebo?
- No, everyone receives an active treatment
- How many people
- 15 participants
- Where
- 1 siteUnited States
- Study dates
- Dec 2007to Feb 2012
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Are there results?
- Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 18 years and older
- Women only
- Healthy volunteers accepted
- Adult, Older adult
Who may be able to join
- Patients must have histologically confirmed primary Stage III or Stage IV (see FIGO staging-Appendix I) or recurrent endometrial carcinoma with MEASURABLE disease whose potential for cure by radiation therapy or surgery alone or in combination is very poor. Recurrent disease must be biopsy confirmed.
- Patients may have received prior cytotoxic chemotherapy
- (1 therapy) excluding a platinum/taxane. Patients may have received prior hormonal therapy or therapy with biologic agents, but such therapies must be discontinued 4 weeks prior to entry on this study.
- Patients in whom both radiation and chemotherapy is planned may receive radiation prior to entry on this study (order not specified). At least four weeks should have elapsed since completion of RT involving the whole pelvis or over 50% of the spine.
- Patients must be 18 years of age or older.
Who cannot join
- Patients with a concomitant malignancy other than Genentech, Inc Page 27 of 62 Bevacizumab Protocol 03-10-08 Page 27 non-melanoma skin cancer. Patients with a prior malignancy who have been disease-free for < 5 years or who received prior chemotherapy for that malignancy.
- Patients in whom pathological confirmation of the tumor is not obtainable.
- Patients with concomitant medical illness such as serious uncontrolled infection, uncontrolled angina, or serious peripheral neuropathy, which, in the opinion of the treating physician, make the treatments prescribed on this study unreasonably hazardous for the patient.
- Patients with third degree or complete heart block are not eligible unless a pacemaker is in place. Patients on medications which alter cardiac conduction, such as digitalis, beta-blockers, or calcium channel blockers, or who have other conduction abnormalities or cardiac dysfunction may be placed on study at the discretion of the investigator.
- Life expectancy of less than 12 weeks.
- Patients who are sensitive to E. Coli-derived drug preparations.
- Major surgical procedure, open biopsy, or significant traumatic injury within 28 days prior to study enrollment or anticipation of need for major surgical procedure during the course of the study.
Trial locations and contacts
1 site in 1 country.
About this study
Official title: A Phase II Trial of a Vascular Endothelial Growth Factor (VEGF) Monoclonal Antibody, AVASTIN, in Combination With Cytotoxic Chemotherapy CARBOPLATIN and PACLITAXEL for Recurrent/Advanced Endometrial Cancer
The purpose of this study is to find out whether the addition of a drug called Avastin (avastin) to the two-drug combination of carboplatin and paclitaxel shrinks tumors better than the two-drug combination alone in the treatment of endometrial cancer. Avastin is a humanized monoclonal antibody (a type of protein that is normally made by the immune system to help defend the body from infection and cancer) produced by Genentech, Inc. Avastin is an antibody directed against vascular endothelial growth factor, or VEGF. VEGF is a potent, specific growth factor with a well defined role in normal and abnormal blood vessel formation. It is present in a wide variety of normal tissues, but is produced in excess by most solid cancers (tumors). In the setting of cancer, VEGF promotes the growth of blood vessels that feed the tumor cells.
Read the detailed description
Exclusion Criteria
Disease-Specific Exclusions
- Patients with a concomitant malignancy other than non-melanoma skin cancer. Patients with a prior malignancy who have been disease-free for greater than 5 years or who received prior chemotherapy for that malignancy.
- Patients in whom pathological confirmation of the tumor is not obtainable. General Medical Exclusions
- Patients with concomitant medical illness such as serious uncontrolled infection, uncontrolled angina, or serious peripheral neuropathy, which, in the opinion of the treating physician, make the treatments prescribed on this study unreasonably hazardous for the patient.
- Patients with third degree or complete heart block are not eligible unless a pacemaker is in place. Patients on medications which alter cardiac conduction, such as digitalis, beta-blockers, or calcium channel blockers, or who have other conduction abnormalities or cardiac dysfunction may be placed on study at the discretion of the investigator.
- Patients whose circumstances will not permit study completion or adequate follow-up.
- Patients who are sensitive to E. Coli-derived drug preparations.
- Life expectancy of less than 12 weeks.
- Current, recent (within 4 weeks of the first infusion of this study), or planned participation in an experimental drug study other than a Genentech-sponsored avastin cancer study.
- Inadequately controlled hypertension (defined as systolic blood pressure greater than 150 and/or diastolic blood pressure greater than 100 mmHg on antihypertensive medications).
- Any prior history of hypertensive crisis or hypertensive encephalopathy.
- New York Heart Association (NYHA) Grade II or greater congestive heart failure (see Appendix C).
- History of myocardial infarction or unstable angina within 6 months prior to study enrollment.
- History of stroke or transient ischemic attack within 6 months prior to study enrollment.
- Known CNS disease.
- Significant vascular disease (e.g., aortic aneurysm, aortic dissection). Symptomatic peripheral vascular disease
- Evidence of bleeding diathesis or coagulopathy. Blood coagulation parameters: PT such that international normalized ratio (INR) is less than 1.5 (or an in range INR, between 2 and 3, if a patient is on a stable dose of therapeutic warfarin) and a PTT less than 1.5 times the institutional upper limit of normal.
- Major surgical procedure, open biopsy, or significant traumatic injury within 28 days prior to study enrollment or anticipation of need for major surgical procedure during the course of the study.
- Core biopsy or other minor surgical procedure, excluding placement of a vascular access device, within 7 days prior to study enrollment.
-History of abdominal fistula, gastrointestinal perforation, or intra- abdominal abscess within 6 months prior to study enrollment. Patients with clinical symptoms or signs of gastrointestinal obstruction and who require parenteral hydration and/or nutrition.
- Serious, non-healing wound, ulcer, or bone fracture.
- Proteinuria at screening as demonstrated by:
- Urine protein:creatinine (UPC) ratio greater than or equal to 1.0 at screening
- Known hypersensitivity to any component of avastin.
- Pregnant (positive pregnancy test) or lactating. Refusal to use of effective means of contraception (men and women) in subjects of child-bearing potential.
- Conditions
- Endometrial Carcinoma
- Being tested
- carboplatin, paclitaxel, and bevacizumab
- Medical subject headings
- Endometrial Neoplasms
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
carboplatin, paclitaxel, and bevacizumabDrug
Also called Avastin
All patients enrolled will receive carboplatin AUC 5 plus paclitaxel 175 mg/m2 (135 mg/m2 if prior radiation to greater than 25% of bone marrow) plus bevacizumab 15 mg/kg every 3 weeks.
| Study group | Role | What they receive |
|---|---|---|
| I | Experimental | Not described Receives: Drug: carboplatin, paclitaxel, and bevacizumab |
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
Number of Participants With Progression Free Survival (PFS=Date of Progression of Disease or Death) at 6 Months Using Bevacizumab, Carboplatin, and Paclitaxel in Patients With Measurable Disease for Advanced/Recurrent Endometrial Cancer
Number of patients with progression free survival measured at 6 months. Progression is defined using Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST version 1.0), as a 20% increased in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions, or a measure increase in a non-target lesion, or the appearance of new lesions.
Measured: 58 months
Secondary outcomes (2)
Median Progression Free Survival of This Treatment Regimen in Patients With Advanced/Recurrent Endometrial Cancer.
Median progression free survival measured in months. Progression of disease is defined using Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST version 1.0), as a 20% increased in the sum of the longest diameter of the target lesions, or a measurable increased in a non-target lesion, or the appearance of a new lesion.
Measured: 58 months
Number of Participants With Adverse Events Grades 1-5
Toxicity and safety was monitored before every treatment cycle, during, and after treatment. Bevacizumab was discontinued if the following criteria was met: grade 4 hypertension, reversible posterior leukoencephalopathy syndrome or hypertensive encephalopathy, grade 4 nephritic syndrome, arterial thrombosis, symptomatic grade 4 or recurrent/worsening venous thromboembolic events after resumption of bevacizumab treatment, grade 3 hemorrhage, bowel perforation or fistula and any complete wound disruption.
Measured: 58 months
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted10 Apr 2009 (estimated)
- Study startDec 2007
- Primary completionFeb 2012
- Study completionFeb 2012
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Posted resultsParticipant flow, outcome measures and adverse events reported by the sponsor.
- Other trials for Endometrial CarcinomaStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- More trials run by The Cleveland ClinicThe sponsor's other registered studies.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Not applicable
- Intervention model
- Single group
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Enrolment
- 15 participants (actual)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- The Cleveland Clinic
- Sponsor type
- University, hospital or other
- Collaborators
- Genentech, Inc.
- Responsible party
- Sponsor
- Investigators
- Peter Rose, MD, Principal investigator, The Cleveland Clinic
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00879359
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- 20806
- Status last verified
- Mar 2017
- First submitted
- 9 Apr 2009
- Last updated
- 26 Apr 2017
- Results posted
- Yes, on ClinicalTrials.gov
- Data monitoring committee
- Yes
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 26 Apr 2017. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- A Phase II Trial of a Vascular Endothelial Growth Factor (VEGF) Monoclonal Antibody, AVASTIN, in Combination With Cytotoxic Chemotherapy CARBOPLATIN and PACLITAXEL for Recurrent/Advanced Endometrial Cancer
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00879359
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- 20806
- Conditions
- Endometrial Carcinoma
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Completed
- Enrolment
- 15 participants (actual)
- Lead sponsor
- The Cleveland ClinicUniversity, hospital or other
- Collaborators
- Genentech, Inc.
- Study start
- Dec 2007
- Primary completion
- Feb 2012 (actual)
- Study completion
- Feb 2012 (actual)
- First posted
- 10 Apr 2009 (estimated)
- Results
- Posted 26 Apr 2017
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
The purpose of this study is to find out whether the addition of a drug called Avastin (avastin) to the two-drug combination of carboplatin and paclitaxel shrinks tumors better than the two-drug combination alone in the treatment of endometrial cancer. Avastin is a humanized monoclonal antibody (a type of protein that is normally made by the immune system to help defend the body from infection and cancer) produced by Genentech, Inc. Avastin is an antibody directed against vascular endothelial growth factor, or VEGF. VEGF is a potent, specific growth factor with a well defined role in normal and abnormal blood vessel formation. It is present in a wide variety of normal tissues, but is produced in excess by most solid cancers (tumors). In the setting of cancer, VEGF promotes the growth of blood vessels that feed the tumor cells.
Detailed description
Exclusion Criteria
Disease-Specific Exclusions
- Patients with a concomitant malignancy other than non-melanoma skin cancer. Patients with a prior malignancy who have been disease-free for greater than 5 years or who received prior chemotherapy for that malignancy.
- Patients in whom pathological confirmation of the tumor is not obtainable. General Medical Exclusions
- Patients with concomitant medical illness such as serious uncontrolled infection, uncontrolled angina, or serious peripheral neuropathy, which, in the opinion of the treating physician, make the treatments prescribed on this study unreasonably hazardous for the patient.
- Patients with third degree or complete heart block are not eligible unless a pacemaker is in place. Patients on medications which alter cardiac conduction, such as digitalis, beta-blockers, or calcium channel blockers, or who have other conduction abnormalities or cardiac dysfunction may be placed on study at the discretion of the investigator.
- Patients whose circumstances will not permit study completion or adequate follow-up.
- Patients who are sensitive to E. Coli-derived drug preparations.
- Life expectancy of less than 12 weeks.
- Current, recent (within 4 weeks of the first infusion of this study), or planned participation in an experimental drug study other than a Genentech-sponsored avastin cancer study.
- Inadequately controlled hypertension (defined as systolic blood pressure greater than 150 and/or diastolic blood pressure greater than 100 mmHg on antihypertensive medications).
- Any prior history of hypertensive crisis or hypertensive encephalopathy.
- New York Heart Association (NYHA) Grade II or greater congestive heart failure (see Appendix C).
- History of myocardial infarction or unstable angina within 6 months prior to study enrollment.
- History of stroke or transient ischemic attack within 6 months prior to study enrollment.
- Known CNS disease.
- Significant vascular disease (e.g., aortic aneurysm, aortic dissection). Symptomatic peripheral vascular disease
- Evidence of bleeding diathesis or coagulopathy. Blood coagulation parameters: PT such that international normalized ratio (INR) is less than 1.5 (or an in range INR, between 2 and 3, if a patient is on a stable dose of therapeutic warfarin) and a PTT less than 1.5 times the institutional upper limit of normal.
- Major surgical procedure, open biopsy, or significant traumatic injury within 28 days prior to study enrollment or anticipation of need for major surgical procedure during the course of the study.
- Core biopsy or other minor surgical procedure, excluding placement of a vascular access device, within 7 days prior to study enrollment.
-History of abdominal fistula, gastrointestinal perforation, or intra- abdominal abscess within 6 months prior to study enrollment. Patients with clinical symptoms or signs of gastrointestinal obstruction and who require parenteral hydration and/or nutrition.
- Serious, non-healing wound, ulcer, or bone fracture.
- Proteinuria at screening as demonstrated by:
- Urine protein:creatinine (UPC) ratio greater than or equal to 1.0 at screening
- Known hypersensitivity to any component of avastin.
- Pregnant (positive pregnancy test) or lactating. Refusal to use of effective means of contraception (men and women) in subjects of child-bearing potential.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Not applicable
- Intervention model
- Single group
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Number of arms
- 1
| Arm | Type | Receives |
|---|---|---|
| I | Experimental | Drug: carboplatin, paclitaxel, and bevacizumab |
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 18 years and older
- Sex
- Female only
- Healthy volunteers
- Accepted
- Age groups
- Adult, Older adult
Key inclusion criteria (5 listed)
- Patients must have histologically confirmed primary Stage III or Stage IV (see FIGO staging-Appendix I) or recurrent endometrial carcinoma with MEASURABLE disease whose potential for cure by radiation therapy or surgery alone or in combination is very poor. Recurrent disease must be biopsy confirmed.
- Patients may have received prior cytotoxic chemotherapy
- (1 therapy) excluding a platinum/taxane. Patients may have received prior hormonal therapy or therapy with biologic agents, but such therapies must be discontinued 4 weeks prior to entry on this study.
- Patients in whom both radiation and chemotherapy is planned may receive radiation prior to entry on this study (order not specified). At least four weeks should have elapsed since completion of RT involving the whole pelvis or over 50% of the spine.
- Patients must be 18 years of age or older.
Key exclusion criteria (7 listed)
- Patients with a concomitant malignancy other than Genentech, Inc Page 27 of 62 Bevacizumab Protocol 03-10-08 Page 27 non-melanoma skin cancer. Patients with a prior malignancy who have been disease-free for < 5 years or who received prior chemotherapy for that malignancy.
- Patients in whom pathological confirmation of the tumor is not obtainable.
- Patients with concomitant medical illness such as serious uncontrolled infection, uncontrolled angina, or serious peripheral neuropathy, which, in the opinion of the treating physician, make the treatments prescribed on this study unreasonably hazardous for the patient.
- Patients with third degree or complete heart block are not eligible unless a pacemaker is in place. Patients on medications which alter cardiac conduction, such as digitalis, beta-blockers, or calcium channel blockers, or who have other conduction abnormalities or cardiac dysfunction may be placed on study at the discretion of the investigator.
- Life expectancy of less than 12 weeks.
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| carboplatin, paclitaxel, and bevacizumabAlso: AvastinAll patients enrolled will receive carboplatin AUC 5 plus paclitaxel 175 mg/m2 (135 mg/m2 if prior radiation to greater than 25% of bone marrow) plus bevacizumab 15 mg/kg every 3 weeks. | Drug | I |
Primary outcome
Number of Participants With Progression Free Survival (PFS=Date of Progression of Disease or Death) at 6 Months Using Bevacizumab, Carboplatin, and Paclitaxel in Patients With Measurable Disease for Advanced/Recurrent Endometrial Cancer
Time frame: 58 months
Number of patients with progression free survival measured at 6 months. Progression is defined using Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST version 1.0), as a 20% increased in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions, or a measure increase in a non-target lesion, or the appearance of new lesions.
2 secondary outcomes
Median Progression Free Survival of This Treatment Regimen in Patients With Advanced/Recurrent Endometrial Cancer.
Time frame: 58 months
Number of Participants With Adverse Events Grades 1-5
Time frame: 58 months
Results and safety
Loading the posted results from ClinicalTrials.gov…
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 26 Apr 2017.
- Posted resultsParticipant flow, baseline, all outcome measures and adverse events.
Related trials for Endometrial Carcinoma
Recruiting
Methylation Profiling in Self-Samples for Identification of (Epi)Genetic Biomarkers for Gynecological Cancers
Gynaecological Cancers, Ovarian Cancer
Active, not recruitingPhase 3
Endometrial Cancer Patientes MMR Deficient Comparing Chemotherapy vs Dostarlimab in First Line
Endometrial Cancer
RecruitingPhase 3
Testing the Addition of an Antiangiogenic Drug (Bevacizumab) to Chemotherapy (Carboplatin and Paclitaxel) Combined With Immunotherapy (Pembrolizumab) for pMMR, TP53 Mutated Endometrial Cancer
Advanced Endometrial Carcinoma, Recurrent Endometrial Carcinoma
RecruitingPhase 2
At-Home Cancer Directed Therapy Versus in Clinic for the Treatment of Patients With Advanced Cancer
Advanced Anal Carcinoma, Advanced Biliary Tract Carcinoma
RecruitingPhase 3
Impact of Sentinel Lymph Node Mapping on Patient Reported Lower Extremity Limb Dysfunction in Stage I Endometrial Cancer
Stage I Uterine Corpus Carcinoma or Carcinosarcoma AJCC v8
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Peter Rose, MD principal investigator
The Cleveland Clinic
1 site in 1 country: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 2 study testing carboplatin, paclitaxel, and bevacizumab in people with Endometrial Carcinoma, run by The Cleveland Clinic at 1 site in United States.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
The sponsor lists 5 inclusion and 7 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 26 Apr 2017. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 26 Apr 2017). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
Number of Participants With Progression Free Survival (PFS=Date of Progression of Disease or Death) at 6 Months Using Bevacizumab, Carboplatin, and Paclitaxel in Patients With Measurable Disease for Advanced/Recurrent Endometrial Cancer (time frame: 58 months). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 26 Apr 2017.