Esophageal CancerPhase 2NCT00109850
S0414 Cetuximab, Combo Chemo, and RT in Locally Advanced Esophageal Cancer
A Phase 2 study testing cetuximab, cisplatin and irinotecan hydrochloride in people with Esophageal Cancer, run by SWOG Cancer Research Network at 132 sites in United States.
Trial summary
RATIONALE: Monoclonal antibodies, such as cetuximab, can block tumor growth in different ways. Some block the ability of tumor cells to grow and spread. Others find tumor cells and help kill them or carry tumor-killing substances to them. Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 18 years and older
- Conditions the study is for
- Esophageal Cancer
- What is being tested?
- cetuximab, cisplatin and irinotecan hydrochloride
- Type of treatment
- Injection or infusion, Surgery or procedure
- Could I receive a placebo?
- No, everyone receives an active treatment
- How many people
- 22 participants
- Where
- 132 sitesUnited States
- Study dates
- May 2005to May 2012
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Are there results?
- Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 18 years and older
- All sexes
- No healthy volunteers
- Adult, Older adult
DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:
- Histologically confirmed primary squamous cell carcinoma or adenocarcinoma of the thoracic esophagus (≥ 20 cm from the incisors*) or the gastroesophageal junction (confined to ≤ 2 cm into the gastric cardia)
- Disease confined to the esophagus or peri-esophageal soft tissue
- T4, M0 disease
- Surgically unresectable disease by esophageal endoscopic ultrasonography OR medically unresectable disease
NOTE: *Patients with primary disease < 26 cm from the incisors must undergo bronchoscopy AND have negative cytology within the past 4 weeks
- Measurable or non-measurable disease by x-ray, CT scan and/or MRI, or physical examination within the past 4 weeks (for measurable disease) or within the past 6 weeks (for non-measurable disease)
- Tumor specimens available
- No recurrent disease
PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:
Age
- 18 and over
Performance status
- Zubrod 0-2
Life expectancy
- Not specified
Hematopoietic
- Absolute neutrophil count (ANC) ≥ 1,500/mm^3
- White Blood Cell (WBC) count ≥ 3,000/mm^3
- Platelet count ≥ 100,000/mm^3
- Hemoglobin ≥ 10.0 g/dL
Hepatic
- Albumin normal
- Bilirubin normal
- Alkaline phosphatase normal
- Serum glutamic oxaloacetic transaminase (SGOT) or Serum glutamic pyruvic transaminase (SGPT) ≤ 2.5 times upper limit of normal
Renal
- Creatinine clearance > 50 mL/min
Other
- Not pregnant or nursing
- Fertile patients must use effective contraception
- No prior severe reaction to monoclonal antibodies
- No other malignancy within the past 5 years except adequately treated basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix
PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:
Biologic therapy
- Not specified
Chemotherapy
- No prior chemotherapy for esophageal cancer
Endocrine therapy
- Not specified
Radiotherapy
- No prior radiotherapy for esophageal cancer
- No concurrent intensity modulated radiotherapy
- No concurrent cobalt-60
Surgery
- No prior surgical resection or attempted surgical resection of esophageal cancer
Trial locations and contacts
132 sites in 1 country.
132 sites in 1 country
United States132 sites
McDowell Cancer Center at Akron General Medical Center
Akron, Ohio, 44307
University of Michigan Comprehensive Cancer Center
Ann Arbor, Michigan, 48109-0942
Augusta Oncology Associates - Walton Way
Augusta, Georgia, 30901
Battle Creek Health System Cancer Care Center
Battle Creek, Michigan, 49017
St. Francis Hospital and Health Centers - Beech Grove Campus
Beech Grove, Indiana, 46107
St. Joseph Cancer Center
Bellingham, Washington, 98225
Alta Bates Comprehensive Cancer Center
Berkeley, California, 94704
Mecosta County Medical Center
Big Rapids, Michigan, 49307
CCOP - Montana Cancer Consortium
Billings, Montana, 59101
Hematology-Oncology Centers of the Northern Rockies - Billings
Billings, Montana, 59101
Northern Rockies Radiation Oncology Center
Billings, Montana, 59101
St. Vincent Healthcare Cancer Care Services
Billings, Montana, 59101
Billings Clinic - Downtown
Billings, Montana, 59107-7000
St. Luke's Mountain States Tumor Institute - Boise
Boise, Idaho, 83712
Bozeman Deaconess Cancer Center
Bozeman, Montana, 59715
Olympic Hematology and Oncology
Bremerton, Washington, 98310
Providence Saint Joseph Medical Center - Burbank
Burbank, California, 91505
Peninsula Medical Center
Burlingame, California, 94010
St. James Healthcare Cancer Care
Butte, Montana, 59701
Eden Medical Center
Castro Valley, California, 94546
Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Chanute
Chanute, Kansas, 66720
Roper St. Francis Cancer Center at Roper Hospital
Charleston, South Carolina, 29401
Hollings Cancer Center at Medical University of South Carolina
Charleston, South Carolina, 29425
Danville Regional Medical Center
Danville, Virginia, 24541
Grandview Hospital
Dayton, Ohio, 45405
Good Samaritan Hospital
Dayton, Ohio, 45406
David L. Rike Cancer Center at Miami Valley Hospital
Dayton, Ohio, 45409
Samaritan North Cancer Care Center
Dayton, Ohio, 45415
Veterans Affairs Medical Center - Dayton
Dayton, Ohio, 45428
CCOP - Dayton
Dayton, Ohio, 45429
Josephine Ford Cancer Center at Henry Ford Hospital
Detroit, Michigan, 48202
Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Dodge City
Dodge City, Kansas, 67801
Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - El Dorado
El Dorado, Kansas, 67042
Blanchard Valley Medical Associates
Findlay, Ohio, 45840
Poudre Valley Hospital
Fort Collins, Colorado, 80524
Wayne Memorial Hospital, Incorporated
Goldsboro, North Carolina, 27534
CCOP - Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids, Michigan, 49503
Lacks Cancer Center at Saint Mary's Health Care
Grand Rapids, Michigan, 49503
Spectrum Health Hospital - Butterworth Campus
Grand Rapids, Michigan, 49503
Metro Health Hospital
Grand Rapids, Michigan, 49506
Great Falls Clinic - Main Facility
Great Falls, Montana, 59405
Study site
Great Falls, Montana, 59405
Marin Cancer Institute at Marin General Hospital
Greenbrae, California, 94904
Sutter Health - Western Division Cancer Research Group
Greenbrae, California, 94904
CCOP - Greenville
Greenville, South Carolina, 29615
Legacy Mount Hood Medical Center
Gresham, Oregon, 97030
Saint Rose Hospital
Hayward, California, 94545
St. Peter's Hospital
Helena, Montana, 59601
Holland Community Hospital
Holland, Michigan, 49423
Glacier Oncology, PLLC
Kalispell, Montana, 59901
Kalispell Medical Oncology at KRMC
Kalispell, Montana, 59901
Kalispell Regional Medical Center
Kalispell, Montana, 59901
Kansas Masonic Cancer Research Institute at the University of Kansas Medical Center
Kansas City, Kansas, 66160-7357
CCOP - Kansas City
Kansas City, Missouri, 64131
Good Samaritan Cancer Center at Good Samaritan Hospital
Kearney, Nebraska, 68848-1990
Columbia Basin Hematology
Kennewick, Washington, 99336
Charles F. Kettering Memorial Hospital
Kettering, Ohio, 45429
Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Kingman
Kingman, Kansas, 67068
Christine LaGuardia Phillips Cancer Center at Wellmont Holston Valley Medical Center
Kingsport, Tennessee, 37662
U.T. Cancer Institute at University of Tennessee Medical Center
Knoxville, Tennessee, 37920-6999
Watson Clinic, LLC
Lakeland, Florida, 33804-5000
Markey Cancer Center at University of Kentucky Chandler Medical Center
Lexington, Kentucky, 40536-0293
Southwest Medical Center
Liberal, Kansas, 67901
Arkansas Cancer Research Center at University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
Little Rock, Arkansas, 72205
USC/Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center and Hospital
Los Angeles, California, 90089-9181
Middletown Regional Hospital
Middletown, Ohio, 45044
Providence Milwaukie Hospital
Milwaukie, Oregon, 97222
Community Medical Center
Missoula, Montana, 59801
Guardian Oncology and Center for Wellness
Missoula, Montana, 59804
Montana Cancer Specialists at Montana Cancer Center
Missoula, Montana, 59807-7877
Montana Cancer Center at St. Patrick Hospital and Health Sciences Center
Missoula, Montana, 59807
Mobile Infirmary Medical Center
Mobile, Alabama, 36652-2144
Skagit Valley Hospital Cancer Care Center
Mount Vernon, Washington, 98273
Hackley Hospital
Muskegon, Michigan, 49442
Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Newton
Newton, Kansas, 67114
Southwest Virginia Regional Cancer Center
Norton, Virginia, 24273
Highland General Hospital
Oakland, California, 94602
Alta Bates Summit Medical Center - Summit Campus
Oakland, California, 94609
CCOP - Bay Area Tumor Institute
Oakland, California, 94609
Desert Regional Medical Center Comprehensive Cancer Center
Palm Springs, California, 92262
Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Parsons
Parsons, Kansas, 67357
Valley Care Medical Center
Pleasanton, California, 94588
Legacy Good Samaritan Hospital & Medical Center Comprehensive Cancer Center
Portland, Oregon, 97210
Providence Cancer Center at Providence Portland Medical Center
Portland, Oregon, 97213-2967
CCOP - Columbia River Oncology Program
Portland, Oregon, 97225
Providence St. Vincent Medical Center
Portland, Oregon, 97225
Legacy Emanuel Hospital and Health Center & Children's Hospital
Portland, Oregon, 97227
Northwest Cancer Specialists at Rose Quarter Cancer Center
Portland, Oregon, 97227
Oregon Health & Science University Cancer Institute
Portland, Oregon, 97239-3098
Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Pratt
Pratt, Kansas, 67124
Reid Hospital & Health Care Services, Incorporated
Richmond, Indiana, 47374
Interlakes Oncology/Hematology PC
Rochester, New York, 14623
James P. Wilmot Cancer Center at University of Rochester Medical Center
Rochester, New York, 14642
University of California Davis Cancer Center
Sacramento, California, 95817
Salem Hospital Regional Cancer Care Services
Salem, Oregon, 97309-5014
Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Salina
Salina, Kansas, 67042
Tammy Walker Cancer Center at Salina Regional Health Center
Salina, Kansas, 67401
California Pacific Medical Center - California Campus
San Francisco, California, 94118
Doctors Medical Center - San Pablo Campus
San Pablo, California, 94806
CCOP - Santa Rosa Memorial Hospital
Sana Rosa, California, 95405
Curtis & Elizabeth Anderson Cancer Institute at Memorial Health University Medical Center
Savannah, Georgia, 31403-3089
Nancy N. and J. C. Lewis Cancer and Research Pavilion at St. Joseph's/Candler
Savannah, Georgia, 31405
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
Seattle, Washington, 98104
Harborview Medical Center
Seattle, Washington, 98104
Minor and James Medical, PLLC
Seattle, Washington, 98104
Group Health Central Hospital
Seattle, Washington, 98112
Swedish Cancer Institute at Swedish Medical Center - First Hill Campus
Seattle, Washington, 98122-4307
Polyclinic First Hill
Seattle, Washington, 98122
University Cancer Center at University of Washington Medical Center
Seattle, Washington, 98195-6043
Welch Cancer Center at Sheridan Memorial Hospital
Sheridan, Wyoming, 82801
Cancer Care Northwest - Spokane South
Spokane, Washington, 99202
Regional Cancer Center at Memorial Medical Center
Springfield, Illinois, 62781-0001
CCOP - Cancer Research for the Ozarks
Springfield, Missouri, 65802
St. John's Regional Health Center
Springfield, Missouri, 65804
Hulston Cancer Center at Cox Medical Center South
Springfield, Missouri, 65807
Saint Louis University Cancer Center
St Louis, Missouri, 63110
Munson Medical Center
Traverse City, Michigan, 49684
UVMC Cancer Care Center at Upper Valley Medical Center
Troy, Ohio, 45373-1300
Legacy Meridian Park Hospital
Tualatin, Oregon, 97062
Sutter Solano Medical Center
Vallejo, California, 94589
Southwest Washington Medical Center Cancer Center
Vancouver, Washington, 98668
Northwest Cancer Specialists at Vancouver Cancer Center
Vancouver, Washington, 98684
Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Wellington
Wellington, Kansas, 67152
Wenatchee Valley Medical Center
Wenatchee, Washington, 98801-2028
Associates in Womens Health, PA - North Review
Wichita, Kansas, 67203
Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Medical Arts Tower
Wichita, Kansas, 67208
Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Wichita
Wichita, Kansas, 67214
CCOP - Wichita
Wichita, Kansas, 67214
Via Christi Cancer Center at Via Christi Regional Medical Center
Wichita, Kansas, 67214
Wesley Medical Center
Wichita, Kansas, 67214
Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Winfield
Winfield, Kansas, 67156
Ruth G. McMillan Cancer Center at Greene Memorial Hospital
Xenia, Ohio, 45385
About this study
Official title: Cetuximab Plus Cisplatin, Irinotecan and Thoracic Radiotherapy (TRT) for Locally Advanced (Non-Metastatic), Clinically Unresectable Esophageal Cancer: A Phase II Trial With Molecular Correlates
RATIONALE: Monoclonal antibodies, such as cetuximab, can block tumor growth in different ways. Some block the ability of tumor cells to grow and spread. Others find tumor cells and help kill them or carry tumor-killing substances to them. Cetuximab may also stop the growth of esophageal cancer by blocking blood flow to the tumor and by blocking some of the enzymes needed for cell growth. Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as cisplatin and irinotecan, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to kill tumor cells. Giving cetuximab together with combination chemotherapy and radiation therapy may kill more tumor cells.
PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well giving cetuximab together with combination chemotherapy and radiation therapy works in treating patients with locally advanced esophageal cancer that cannot be removed by surgery.
Read the detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
Primary
- Determine the 2-year overall survival of patients with previously untreated, clinically unresectable, locally advanced squamous cell carcinoma or adenocarcinoma of the esophagus treated with cetuximab, cisplatin, irinotecan, and thoracic radiotherapy.
Secondary
- Determine the toxicity profile of this regimen in these patients.
- Determine the probability of objective response (confirmed and unconfirmed, complete and partial) in patients with measurable disease treated with this regimen.
- Determine the time to progression in patients with measurable disease treated with this regimen.
- Correlate, preliminarily, gene expression (RNA) levels and germline polymorphisms of genes involved in DNA repair (e.g., ECRCC-1 and XRCC-1), drug metabolism (e.g., UGT1A1), and the epidermal growth factor receptor (EGFR) pathway (e.g., EGFR, interleukin-8, and vascular endothelial growth factor) with response, time to progression, overall survival, and toxicity in patients treated with this regimen. (This will not be completed as this study was closed due to poor accrual.)
OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study.
Patients receive cetuximab intravenous (IV) over 1-2 hours on days 1, 8, and 15. Patients also receive cisplatin IV and irinotecan IV over 30 minutes on days 1 and 8. Treatment repeats every 21 days for 4 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Beginning on day 1 of course 3, patients undergo thoracic radiotherapy once daily 5 days a week for 5-6 weeks (total of 28 treatments).
After completion of study treatment, patients are followed at 4 weeks and then every 3-6 months for up to 5 years after study entry.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 75-100 patients (75 with adenocarcinoma and 25 with squamous cell carcinoma) will be accrued for this study.
- Conditions
- Esophageal Cancer
- Being tested
- cetuximab, cisplatin, irinotecan hydrochloride, radiation therapy
- Keywords
- adenocarcinoma of the esophagus, squamous cell carcinoma of the esophagus, stage III esophageal cancer
- Medical subject headings
- Esophageal Neoplasms, Adenocarcinoma Of Esophagus, Esophageal Squamous Cell Carcinoma
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
cetuximabBiological
Also called Erbitux
400mg/m^2 loading dose, intravenous (IV) over 120 min, day 1 of cycle 1 only. 250mg/m^2 maintenance dose, IV over 60 min, Days 8 \& 15 of Cycle 1 and Days 1, 8, and 15 of subsequent cycles.
cisplatinDrug
Also called Platinol
30mg/m^2, bolus intravenous (IV), on Days 1 \& 8 of each cycle.
Also called CPT-11
65mg/m^2, intravenous (IV) over 30 min, on Days 1 \& 8 of each cycle.
radiation therapyRadiation
Also called RT, TRT
The total dose to the prescription point will be 5,040 cGy given in 28 fractions. The patient will be treated with one fraction per day with all fields treated per day. 180 cGy will be delivered to the isocenter. The dose variation in the planning target volume (PTV) will be +7% and -5% of the prescription point dose.
| Study group | Role | What they receive |
|---|---|---|
| Treatment | Experimental | Cetuximab+Cisplatin+Irinotecan followed by radiation therapy (RT) in Cycle 3. Receives: Biological: cetuximab; Drug: cisplatin; Drug: irinotecan hydrochloride; Radiation: radiation therapy |
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
Overall Survival at 2 Years
Measured from time of registration to date of death due to any cause, or last contact date
Measured: 0-2 years
Secondary outcomes (3)
Number of Patients With Grade 3 Through 5 Adverse Events That Are Related to Study Drug
Adverse Events (AEs) are reported by the NCI Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 3.0. For each patient, worst grade of each event type is reported. Grade 3 = Severe, Grade 4 = Life-threatening, Grade 5 = Fatal.
Measured: Patients were assessed for adverse events after every two cycles of chemotherapy.
Objective Response (Confirmed and Unconfined, Complete and Partial)
Complete response (CR) is complete disappearance of all measurable and non-measurable disease. No new lesions. No disease related symptoms. Normalization of markers and other abnormal lab values. Partial response (PR) applies only to patients with at least one measurable lesion. Greater than or equal to 30% decrease under baseline of the sum of longest diameters of all target measurable lesions. No unequivocal progression of non-measurable disease. No new lesions. Confirmation of CR or PR means a repeat scan at least 4 weeks apart documented before progression or symptomatic deterioration.
Measured: at week 16, then every 3 months until progression
Progression Free Survival
Measured from date of registration to date of first observation of progression or symptomatic deterioration. Patients last known to be alive and progression-free are censored at date of last contact.
Measured: 0 - 5 years
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted4 May 2005 (estimated)
- Study startMay 2005
- Primary completionSep 2009
- Study completionMay 2012
Why it stopped: Closed due to poor accrual
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Posted resultsParticipant flow, outcome measures and adverse events reported by the sponsor.
- Other trials for Esophageal CancerStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- More trials run by SWOG Cancer Research NetworkThe sponsor's other registered studies.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Not applicable
- Intervention model
- Single group
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Enrolment
- 22 participants (actual)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- SWOG Cancer Research Network
- Sponsor type
- Research network
- Collaborators
- National Cancer Institute (NCI)
- Responsible party
- Sponsor
- Investigators
- Charles R. Thomas, MD, Study chair, OHSU Knight Cancer InstituteCharles D. Blanke, MD, FACP, Study chair, OHSU Knight Cancer InstituteJames L. Abbruzzese, MD, Study chair, M.D. Anderson Cancer CenterLisa Hammond, MD, Study chair, The University of Texas Health Science Center at San AntonioVivek Mehta, MD, Study chair, Swedish Cancer Institute at Swedish Medical Center - First Hill Campus
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00109850
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- CDR0000426442
- Other IDs
- S0414, U10CA032102
- Status last verified
- Nov 2015
- First submitted
- 3 May 2005
- Last updated
- 18 Nov 2015
- Results posted
- Yes, on ClinicalTrials.gov
- Data monitoring committee
- Yes
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 18 Nov 2015. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- Cetuximab Plus Cisplatin, Irinotecan and Thoracic Radiotherapy (TRT) for Locally Advanced (Non-Metastatic), Clinically Unresectable Esophageal Cancer: A Phase II Trial With Molecular Correlates
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00109850
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- CDR0000426442
- Conditions
- Esophageal Cancer
- Keywords
- adenocarcinoma of the esophagus, squamous cell carcinoma of the esophagus, stage III esophageal cancer
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- TerminatedReason stopped: Closed due to poor accrual
- Enrolment
- 22 participants (actual)
- Lead sponsor
- SWOG Cancer Research NetworkResearch network
- Collaborators
- National Cancer Institute (NCI)
- Study start
- May 2005
- Primary completion
- Sep 2009 (actual)
- Study completion
- May 2012 (actual)
- First posted
- 4 May 2005 (estimated)
- Results
- Posted 23 Aug 2012
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
RATIONALE: Monoclonal antibodies, such as cetuximab, can block tumor growth in different ways. Some block the ability of tumor cells to grow and spread. Others find tumor cells and help kill them or carry tumor-killing substances to them. Cetuximab may also stop the growth of esophageal cancer by blocking blood flow to the tumor and by blocking some of the enzymes needed for cell growth. Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as cisplatin and irinotecan, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to kill tumor cells. Giving cetuximab together with combination chemotherapy and radiation therapy may kill more tumor cells.
PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well giving cetuximab together with combination chemotherapy and radiation therapy works in treating patients with locally advanced esophageal cancer that cannot be removed by surgery.
Detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
Primary
- Determine the 2-year overall survival of patients with previously untreated, clinically unresectable, locally advanced squamous cell carcinoma or adenocarcinoma of the esophagus treated with cetuximab, cisplatin, irinotecan, and thoracic radiotherapy.
Secondary
- Determine the toxicity profile of this regimen in these patients.
- Determine the probability of objective response (confirmed and unconfirmed, complete and partial) in patients with measurable disease treated with this regimen.
- Determine the time to progression in patients with measurable disease treated with this regimen.
- Correlate, preliminarily, gene expression (RNA) levels and germline polymorphisms of genes involved in DNA repair (e.g., ECRCC-1 and XRCC-1), drug metabolism (e.g., UGT1A1), and the epidermal growth factor receptor (EGFR) pathway (e.g., EGFR, interleukin-8, and vascular endothelial growth factor) with response, time to progression, overall survival, and toxicity in patients treated with this regimen. (This will not be completed as this study was closed due to poor accrual.)
OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study.
Patients receive cetuximab intravenous (IV) over 1-2 hours on days 1, 8, and 15. Patients also receive cisplatin IV and irinotecan IV over 30 minutes on days 1 and 8. Treatment repeats every 21 days for 4 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Beginning on day 1 of course 3, patients undergo thoracic radiotherapy once daily 5 days a week for 5-6 weeks (total of 28 treatments).
After completion of study treatment, patients are followed at 4 weeks and then every 3-6 months for up to 5 years after study entry.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 75-100 patients (75 with adenocarcinoma and 25 with squamous cell carcinoma) will be accrued for this study.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Not applicable
- Intervention model
- Single group
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Number of arms
- 1
| Arm | Type | Receives |
|---|---|---|
| Treatment | Experimental | Biological: cetuximab, Drug: cisplatin, Drug: irinotecan hydrochloride, Radiation: radiation therapyCetuximab+Cisplatin+Irinotecan followed by radiation therapy (RT) in Cycle 3. |
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 18 years and older
- Sex
- All
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Adult, Older adult
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| cetuximabAlso: Erbitux400mg/m^2 loading dose, intravenous (IV) over 120 min, day 1 of cycle 1 only. 250mg/m^2 maintenance dose, IV over 60 min, Days 8 \& 15 of Cycle 1 and Days 1, 8, and 15 of subsequent cycles. | Biological | Treatment |
| cisplatinAlso: Platinol30mg/m^2, bolus intravenous (IV), on Days 1 \& 8 of each cycle. | Drug | Treatment |
| irinotecan hydrochlorideAlso: CPT-1165mg/m^2, intravenous (IV) over 30 min, on Days 1 \& 8 of each cycle. | Drug | Treatment |
| radiation therapyAlso: RT, TRTThe total dose to the prescription point will be 5,040 cGy given in 28 fractions. The patient will be treated with one fraction per day with all fields treated per day. 180 cGy will be delivered to the isocenter. The dose variation in the planning target volume (PTV) will be +7% and -5% of the prescription point dose. | Radiation | Treatment |
Primary outcome
Overall Survival at 2 Years
Time frame: 0-2 years
Measured from time of registration to date of death due to any cause, or last contact date
3 secondary outcomes
Number of Patients With Grade 3 Through 5 Adverse Events That Are Related to Study Drug
Time frame: Patients were assessed for adverse events after every two cycles of chemotherapy.
Objective Response (Confirmed and Unconfined, Complete and Partial)
Time frame: at week 16, then every 3 months until progression
Progression Free Survival
Time frame: 0 - 5 years
Results and safety
Loading the posted results from ClinicalTrials.gov…
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 18 Nov 2015.
- Posted resultsParticipant flow, baseline, all outcome measures and adverse events.
Related trials for Esophageal Cancer
RecruitingPhase 2/3
Multicenter Validation Trial of [18F]AlF-FAPI-74 for PET Imaging of Cancer-associated Fibroblasts Through Fibroblast Activation Protein Inhibitors (FAPI) in Different Tumor Types
Oesophageal Cancer, Gastric Cancer
RecruitingObservational study
Multicenter Prospective Cohort on Esophageal Endoscopic Submucosal Dissection
Superficial Esophageal Cancer, Oesophageal Adenocarcinoma
Recruiting
The Vanguard Study: Testing a New Way to Screen for Cancer
Bladder Carcinoma, Breast Carcinoma
RecruitingPhase 2
At-Home Cancer Directed Therapy Versus in Clinic for the Treatment of Patients With Advanced Cancer
Advanced Anal Carcinoma, Advanced Biliary Tract Carcinoma
RecruitingPhase 1
A Study to Learn About the Study Medicine Called PF-08046876 in People With Advanced Solid Tumors
Advanced/Metastatic Solid Tumors, Bladder Cancer
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Charles R. Thomas, MD study chair
OHSU Knight Cancer Institute
Charles D. Blanke, MD, FACP study chair
OHSU Knight Cancer Institute
James L. Abbruzzese, MD study chair
M.D. Anderson Cancer Center
132 sites in 1 country: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 2 study testing cetuximab, cisplatin and irinotecan hydrochloride in people with Esophageal Cancer, run by SWOG Cancer Research Network at 132 sites in United States.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: stopped early, as of the sponsor's last update on 18 Nov 2015. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 132 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 23 Aug 2012). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
Overall Survival at 2 Years (time frame: 0-2 years). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 18 Nov 2015.