AzTrials
AzTrials

LeukemiaPhase 2NCT00104806

Arsenic Trioxide and Cholecalciferol (Vitamin D) in Treating Patients With Myelodysplastic Syndromes

A Phase 2 study testing cholecalciferol and arsenic trioxide in people with Leukemia and Myelodysplastic Syndromes, run by Wake Forest University Health Sciences at 1 site in United States.

Terminated

Stopped early. The study ended before it was planned to and will not resume.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as arsenic trioxide, work in different ways to stop the growth of cancer cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Cholecalciferol (vitamin D) may help cancer cells become normal cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages Up to 120 years
What is being tested?
cholecalciferol and arsenic trioxide
How many people
5 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Nov 2004to May 2010
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Up to 120 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Diagnosis of myelodysplastic syndromes (MDS)
  • Bone marrow aspirate and biopsy with karyotyping performed within the past 12 weeks

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • Any age

Performance status

  • ECOG 0-2

Life expectancy

  • More than 6 months

Hematopoietic

  • Ferritin ≥ 50 ng/mL
  • Folate (serum and/or red blood cell) normal

Hepatic

  • Not specified

Renal

  • Creatinine < 2.0 mg/dL
  • No history of hypercalcemia

Cardiovascular

  • Absolute QT interval ≤ 460 msec by EKG with normal potassium and magnesium levels

Other

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception during and for 2 weeks after study participation
  • Serum vitamin B_12 normal

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Prior biologic therapy allowed
  • More than 28 days since prior hematopoietic growth factors (e.g., filgrastim [G-CSF], sargramostim [GM-CSF], or epoetin alfa) for MDS
  • No concurrent hematopoietic growth factors (e.g., G-CSF, GM-CSF, or epoetin alfa)
  • No concurrent interleukin-11

Chemotherapy

  • Prior chemotherapy allowed

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • Prior radiotherapy allowed

Surgery

  • Not specified

Other

  • More than 28 days since prior therapy for MDS except supportive therapy
  • No concurrent cholecalciferol (vitamin D) analog, including topical therapy
  • No concurrent vitamins or supplements containing cholecalciferol (vitamin D)
  • No other concurrent therapy for MDS

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Wake Forest University Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Winston-Salem, North Carolina, 27157-1096

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Phase II Trial of Arsenic Trioxide and Dose-Escalated Cholecalciferol in Myelodysplastic Syndrome

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as arsenic trioxide, work in different ways to stop the growth of cancer cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Cholecalciferol (vitamin D) may help cancer cells become normal cells. Giving arsenic trioxide together with cholecalciferol (vitamin D) may kill more cancer cells.

PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well giving arsenic trioxide together with cholecalciferol (vitamin D) works in treating patients with myelodysplastic syndromes.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Determine the complete response rate and the rate of hematological improvement in patients with myelodysplastic syndromes treated with arsenic trioxide and cholecalciferol (vitamin D).

Secondary

  • Determine the safety of this regimen in these patients.
  • Determine the time to progression to acute myeloid leukemia, defined as blast ≥ 20%, in patients treated with this regimen.
  • Determine overall survival and progression-free survival of patients treated with this regimen.
  • Determine the effect of this regimen on bone marrow and peripheral blood mononuclear cell apoptosis and p21 protein expression in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is an open-label, nonrandomized study.

Patients receive oral cholecalciferol (vitamin D)* once daily on days 1-28. Patients also receive arsenic trioxide IV over 1-4 hours on days 1-5 (week 1) and then twice weekly for 3 weeks (weeks 2-4) for course 1 and twice weekly for 4 weeks for all subsequent courses. Courses repeat every 28 days for up to 12 months in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

NOTE: * Patients who do not achieve a complete hematologic response receive escalating doses of cholecalciferol (vitamin D) at 3, 6, and 9 months during therapy in the absence of disease progression and unacceptable toxicity.

At the completion of study treatment, patients are followed for survival.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 25-60 patients will be accrued for this study.

Being tested
cholecalciferol, arsenic trioxide
Keywords
de novo myelodysplastic syndromes, myelodysplastic/myeloproliferative neoplasm, unclassifiable, previously treated myelodysplastic syndromes, secondary myelodysplastic syndromes, refractory anemia with excess blasts in transformation, refractory anemia with excess blasts, refractory anemia, refractory anemia with ringed sideroblasts, refractory cytopenia with multilineage dysplasia, chronic myelomonocytic leukemia, childhood myelodysplastic syndromes
Medical subject headings
Leukemia, Myelodysplastic Syndromes, Myelodysplastic-Myeloproliferative Diseases, Myeloproliferative Disorders, Anemia, Refractory, with Excess of Blasts, Anemia, Refractory, Leukemia, Myelomonocytic, Chronic

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • cholecalciferolDietary supplement

    100 milligrams orally once a day for 28 days

  • arsenic trioxideDrug

    0.3 milligram/kilogram weight intravenously for 5 days (loading) then 0.25/kg weight intravenously biweekly

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Complete response rate

    Measured: 6 months

  2. toxicity assessment after therapy

    Measured: 28 days

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted4 Mar 2005 (estimated)
  2. Study startNov 2004
  3. Primary completionJan 2006
  4. Study completionMay 2010

Why it stopped: sponsor discontinues support

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Non-randomised
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
5 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00104806
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000415574
Other IDs
CCCWFU-29304, CCCWFU-BG04-452
Status last verified
Aug 2018
First submitted
3 Mar 2005
Last updated
10 Aug 2018
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing cholecalciferol and arsenic trioxide in people with Leukemia and Myelodysplastic Syndromes, run by Wake Forest University Health Sciences at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: stopped early, as of the sponsor's last update on 10 Aug 2018. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study was stopped early (reason given: sponsor discontinues support). Results are not available in the source record.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Complete response rate (time frame: 6 months). The study lists 2 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 10 Aug 2018.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in