Fallopian Tube CancerPhase 3NCT00098878
Carboplatin in Treating Patients With Stage IC-IV Ovarian, Fallopian Tube, or Primary Peritoneal Cancer
A Phase 3 study testing carboplatin in people with Fallopian Tube Cancer and Ovarian Cancer, run by NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde at 88 sites in 3 countries.
Trial summary
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as carboplatin, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 18 years and older, women only
- Conditions the study is for
- Fallopian Tube Cancer, Ovarian Cancer, Primary Peritoneal Cavity Cancer
- What is being tested?
- carboplatin
- How many people
- 1,300 participants
- Where
- 88 sitesin 3 countries
- Study dates
- Mar 2004to Jul 2010
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Are there results?
- None posted in the registry
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 18 years and older
- Women only
- No healthy volunteers
- Adult, Older adult
DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:
- Histologically confirmed ovarian epithelial, fallopian tube, or primary peritoneal cancer*
- Stage IC-IV disease
- Peritoneal carcinomatosis* (ovarian-type) must not be a mucin-secreting tumor
- Stage IC patients must have malignant cells in ascitic fluid or peritoneal washings, tumor on the surface of the ovary, or preoperative capsule rupture NOTE: * Histologic confirmation of a primary source in the ovary is not required.
- If biospy is not available, cytology showing an adenocarcinoma is allowed provided the following criteria is met:
- Patient has a pelvis (ovarian) mass AND all of the following:
- Omental cake or other metastasis is larger than 2 cm in the upper abdomen and/or regional lymph node metastasis irrespective of size OR stage IV disease
- Serum CA 125/CEA ratio > 25 or barium enema (or colonoscopy) and gastroscopy (or radiological examination of the stomach) are negative for the presence of a primary tumor and normal mammography within 6 weeks prior to study randomization
- Initial cytoreductive laparotomy or biopsy required within the past 8 weeks
- Cytoreductive surgery may or may not have been successful during staging laparotomy
- No mixed mesodermal tumors
- No borderline ovarian tumors or tumors termed "possibly malignant"
- No adenocarcinoma of unknown origin, if histologically confirmed to be a mucin-secreting tumor
- Considered unsuitable for or unwilling to receive platinum-taxane combination therapy
- No concurrent endometrial cancer
PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:
Age
- 18 and over
Performance status
- ECOG 0-3
Life expectancy
- Not specified
Hematopoietic
- Absolute neutrophil count ≥ 1,500/mm^3
- Platelet count ≥ 100,000/mm^3
Hepatic
- Bilirubin normal
- AST and ALT ≤ 2.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
- Alkaline phosphatase ≤ 5 times ULN
Renal
- Creatinine clearance ≥ 30 mL/min
- Obstructive hydronephrosis as a cause of borderline (i.e., creatinine clearance 30-45 mL/min) renal function must be treated before study entry
Cardiovascular
- No hypertension
- No ischemic heart disease
- No myocardial infarction within the past 6 months
- No congestive heart failure
Other
- Not pregnant or nursing
- Fertile patients must use effective contraception
- No symptomatic peripheral neuropathy ≥ grade 2
- No uncontrolled infection
- No other severe and/or uncontrolled medical condition
- No other malignancy within the past 5 years except curatively treated carcinoma in situ of the cervix or basal cell skin cancer
PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:
Biologic therapy
- Not specified
Chemotherapy
- No prior chemotherapy
- No other concurrent cytotoxic chemotherapy until progressive disease occurs
Endocrine therapy
- Not specified
Radiotherapy
- No prior radiotherapy
Surgery
- See Disease Characteristics
Trial locations and contacts
88 sites in 3 countries.
88 sites in 3 countries
United Kingdom63 sites
Aberdeen Royal Infirmary
Aberdeen, Scotland, AB25 2ZN
Ysbyty Gwynedd
Bangor, Wales, LL57 2PW
Furness General Hospital
Barrow in Furness, England, LA14 4LF
Royal United Hospital
Bath, England, BA1 3NG
Centre for Cancer Research and Cell Biology at Queen's University Belfast
Belfast, Northern Ireland, BT9 7BL
Birmingham Heartlands Hospital
Birmingham, England, B9 5SS
Royal Blackburn Hospital
Blackburn, England, BB2 3HH
Blackpool Victoria Hospital
Blackpool, England, FY3 8NR
Bradford Royal Infirmary
Bradford, England, BD9 6RJ
Sussex Cancer Centre at Royal Sussex County Hospital
Brighton, England, BN2 5BE
Bristol Haematology and Oncology Centre
Bristol, England, BS2 8ED
Broomfield Hospital
Broomfield, England, CM1 7ET
Queen's Hospital
Burton-on-Trent, England, DE13 0RB
Velindre Cancer Center at Velindre Hospital
Cardiff, Wales, CF4 7XL
West Wales General Hospital
Carmarthen, Wales, SA31 2AF
Cheltenham General Hospital
Cheltenham, England, GL53 7AN
Essex County Hospital
Colchester, England, C03 3NB
Walsgrave Hospital
Coventry, England, CV2 2DX
Derbyshire Royal Infirmary
Derby, England, DE1 2QY
Dorset County Hospital
Dorchester, England, DT1 2JY
Russells Hall Hospital
Dudley, England, DY1 2HQ
Dumfries & Galloway Royal Infirmary
Dumfries, Scotland, DG1 4AP
Ninewells Hospital
Dundee, Scotland, DD1 9SY
Edinburgh Cancer Centre at Western General Hospital
Edinburgh, Scotland, EH4 2XR
Gartnavel General Hospital
Glasgow, Scotland, G12 0YN
Gloucestershire Royal Hospital
Gloucester, England, GL1 3NN
Hereford Hospitals NHS Trust
Hereford, England, HR1 2ER
Huddersfield Royal Infirmary
Huddersfield, West Yorks, England, HD3 3EA
Raigmore Hospital
Inverness, Scotland, 1V2 3UJ
Ipswich Hospital
Ipswich, England, IP4 5PD
Airedale General Hospital
Keighley, England, BD20 6TD
Royal Lancaster Infirmary
Lancaster, England, LA1 4RP
Leeds Cancer Centre at St. James's University Hospital
Leeds, England, LS9 7TF
Leicester Royal Infirmary
Leicester, England, LE1 5WW
Liverpool Women's Hospital
Liverpool, England, LV8 7SS
Saint Bartholomew's Hospital
London, England, EC1A 7BE
University College of London Hospitals
London, England, NW1 2PG
Guy's Hospital
London, England, SE1 9RT
St. Georges, University of London
London, England, SW17 0QT
Hammersmith Hospital
London, England, W12 OHS
Mid Kent Oncology Centre at Maidstone Hospital
Maidstone, England, ME16 9QQ
Christie Hospital
Manchester, England, M20 4BX
Queen Elizabeth The Queen Mother Hospital
Margate, England, CT9 4AN
Clatterbridge Centre for Oncology
Merseyside, England, CH63 4JY
Northampton General Hospital NHS Trust
Northampton, England, NN1 5BD
Mount Vernon Cancer Centre at Mount Vernon Hospital
Northwood, England, HA6 2RN
Nottingham City Hospital NHS Trust
Nottingham, England, NG5 1PB
Kings Mill Hospital
Nottinghamshire, England, NG17 4JL
George Eliot Hospital
Nuneaton, England, CV10 7DJ
Whiston Hospital
Prescot Merseyside, England, L35 5DR
Rosemere Cancer Centre at Royal Preston Hospital
Preston, England, PR2 9HT
Alexandra Healthcare NHS
Redditch, Worcestershire, England, B98 7UB
Cancer Research Centre at Weston Park Hospital
Sheffield, England, S1O 2SJ
Wexham Park Hospital
Slough, Berkshire, England, SL2 4HL
Royal Marsden - Surrey
Sutton, England, SM2 5PT
South West Wales Cancer Institute
Swansea, Wales, SA2 8QA
Taunton and Somerset Hospital
Taunton Somerset, England, TA1 5DA
South Warwickshire Hospital
Warwick, Warwickshire, England, CV34 5BJ
Southend University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
Westcliff-on-Sea, England, SS0 0RY
Weston General Hospital
Weston-super-Mare, England, BS23 4TQ
Worcester Royal Hospital
Worcester, England, WR5 1DD
Worthing Hospital
Worthing, England, BN11 2DH
Yeovil District Hospital
Yeovil - Somerset, England, BA21 4AT
Australia21 sites
Ballarat Oncology and Haematology Services
Ballarat, Victoria, 3350
Flinders Medical Centre
Bedford Park, South Australia, 5042
Box Hill Hospital
Box Hill, Victoria, 3128
Royal Brisbane and Women's Hospital
Brisbane, Queensland, 4029
Royal Women's Hospital
Carlton, Victoria, 3053
Monash Medical Center - Clayton Campus
Clayton, Victoria, 3168
Townsville Hospital
Douglas, Queensland, 4814
Frankston Hospital
Frankston, Victoria, 3199
Mercy Hospital for Women
Heidelberg, Victoria, 3084
Royal Hobart Hospital
Hobart, Tasmania, 7000
Sydney Heamatology and Oncology Clinics
Hornsby, New South Wales, 2077
Lismore Base Hospital
Lismore, New South Wales, 2480
Institute of Oncology at Prince of Wales Hospital
Randwick, New South Wales, 2031
Mater Adult Hospital
South Brisbane, Queensland, 4101
Royal North Shore Hospital
St Leonards, New South Wales, 2065
Sydney Cancer Centre at Royal Prince Alfred Hospital
Sydney, New South Wales, 2050
Tamworth Base Hospital
Tamworth, New South Wales, 2340
Manning Base Hospital
Taree, New South Wales, 2430
Newcastle Mater Misericordiae Hospital
Waratah, New South Wales, 2298
Westmead Institute for Cancer Research at Westmead Hospital
Wentworthville, New South Wales, 2145
Murray Valley Private Hospital and Cancer Treatment Centre
Wodonga, Victoria, 3690
New Zealand4 sites
Auckland City Hospital
Auckland, 1
Christchurch Hospital
Christchurch, 1
Waikato Hospital
Hamilton, 2020
Wellington Cancer Centre
Wellington, 6039
About this study
Official title: SCOTROC 4: A Prospective, Multicentre, Randomised Trial Of Carboplatin Flat Dosing Vs Intrapatient Dose Escalation In First Line Chemotherapy Of Ovarian, Fallopian Tube And Primary Peritoneal Cancers
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as carboplatin, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing.
PURPOSE: This randomized phase III trial is comparing different doses of carboplatin to see how well they work in treating patients with stage IC, stage II, stage III, or stage IV ovarian, fallopian tube, or primary peritoneal cancer.
Read the detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
Primary
- Compare progression-free survival of patients with stage IC-IV ovarian epithelial, fallopian tube, or primary peritoneal cancer treated with flat-dose vs intra-patient dose-escalated carboplatin as first-line chemotherapy.
Secondary
- Compare the toxic effects of these regimens in these patients.
- Compare the quality of life of patients treated with these regimens.
- Compare overall clinical response rate and CA 125 response in patients treated with these regimens.
- Compare overall survival of patients treated with these regimens.
OUTLINE: This is a randomized, multicenter study. Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.
- Arm I: Patients receive a flat dose of carboplatin on day 1.
- Arm II: Patients receive intra-patient dose-escalated carboplatin on day 1. In both arms, treatment repeats every 21 days for up to 6 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
Quality of life is assessed at baseline, before each treatment course, and then at 2 months post-chemotherapy.
Patients are followed every 2 months for 2 years, every 3 months for 1 year, every 4 months for 1 year, and then every 6 months thereafter.
Peer Reviewed and Funded or Endorsed by Cancer Research UK
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 1,300 patients (650 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study.
- Being tested
- carboplatin
- Keywords
- stage I ovarian epithelial cancer, stage II ovarian epithelial cancer, stage III ovarian epithelial cancer, stage IV ovarian epithelial cancer, fallopian tube cancer, primary peritoneal cavity cancer
- Medical subject headings
- Fallopian Tube Neoplasms, Ovarian Neoplasms, Carcinoma, Ovarian Epithelial
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
carboplatinDrug
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
Progression-free survival
Secondary outcomes (4)
Toxicity
Quality of life
Clinical overall response rate and CA125 response
Overall survival
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted9 Dec 2004 (estimated)
- Study startMar 2004
- Primary completionJul 2010
- Study completionJul 2010
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Other trials for Fallopian Tube CancerStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Enrolment
- 1,300 participants (estimated)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde
- Sponsor type
- University, hospital or other
- Investigators
- Stanley B. Kaye, MD, FRCP, Study chair, Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00098878
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- SCOTTISH-SCOTROC-4
- Other IDs
- CDR0000396778, EU-20402, ISRCTN47645935
- Status last verified
- Jul 2009
- First submitted
- 8 Dec 2004
- Last updated
- 7 Aug 2013
- Results posted
- No
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 7 Aug 2013. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- SCOTROC 4: A Prospective, Multicentre, Randomised Trial Of Carboplatin Flat Dosing Vs Intrapatient Dose Escalation In First Line Chemotherapy Of Ovarian, Fallopian Tube And Primary Peritoneal Cancers
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00098878
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- SCOTTISH-SCOTROC-4
- Keywords
- stage I ovarian epithelial cancer, stage II ovarian epithelial cancer, stage III ovarian epithelial cancer, stage IV ovarian epithelial cancer, fallopian tube cancer, primary peritoneal cavity cancer
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Completed
- Enrolment
- 1,300 participants (estimated)
- Lead sponsor
- NHS Greater Glasgow and ClydeUniversity, hospital or other
- Study start
- Mar 2004
- Primary completion
- Jul 2010 (actual)
- Study completion
- Jul 2010 (actual)
- First posted
- 9 Dec 2004 (estimated)
- Results
- Not posted in the source record
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as carboplatin, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing.
PURPOSE: This randomized phase III trial is comparing different doses of carboplatin to see how well they work in treating patients with stage IC, stage II, stage III, or stage IV ovarian, fallopian tube, or primary peritoneal cancer.
Detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
Primary
- Compare progression-free survival of patients with stage IC-IV ovarian epithelial, fallopian tube, or primary peritoneal cancer treated with flat-dose vs intra-patient dose-escalated carboplatin as first-line chemotherapy.
Secondary
- Compare the toxic effects of these regimens in these patients.
- Compare the quality of life of patients treated with these regimens.
- Compare overall clinical response rate and CA 125 response in patients treated with these regimens.
- Compare overall survival of patients treated with these regimens.
OUTLINE: This is a randomized, multicenter study. Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.
- Arm I: Patients receive a flat dose of carboplatin on day 1.
- Arm II: Patients receive intra-patient dose-escalated carboplatin on day 1. In both arms, treatment repeats every 21 days for up to 6 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
Quality of life is assessed at baseline, before each treatment course, and then at 2 months post-chemotherapy.
Patients are followed every 2 months for 2 years, every 3 months for 1 year, every 4 months for 1 year, and then every 6 months thereafter.
Peer Reviewed and Funded or Endorsed by Cancer Research UK
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 1,300 patients (650 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Randomised
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 18 years and older
- Sex
- Female only
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Adult, Older adult
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| carboplatin | Drug | – |
Primary outcome
Progression-free survival
4 secondary outcomes
Toxicity
Quality of life
Clinical overall response rate and CA125 response
Overall survival
Results and safety
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 7 Aug 2013.
Related trials for Fallopian Tube Cancer
RecruitingPhase 2
Investigation of Ubamatamab Combination Therapy in Adult Participants With Platinum-Resistant Ovarian Cancer
Ovarian Cancer, Fallopian Tube Cancer
RecruitingPhase 3
Torvutatug Samrotecan Plus Bevacizumab as First-line Maintenance in Non-Homologous Recombination Deficiency (Non-HRD) Positive Advanced Epithelial Ovarian Cancer
Epithelial Ovarian Cancer
RecruitingPhase 2
At-Home Cancer Directed Therapy Versus in Clinic for the Treatment of Patients With Advanced Cancer
Advanced Anal Carcinoma, Advanced Biliary Tract Carcinoma
RecruitingObservational study
Clonal Hematopoiesis and Therapy-Emergent Myeloid Neoplasms in Patients With Cancers, CHANCES Study
Recurrent Fallopian Tube Carcinoma, Recurrent Ovarian Carcinoma
RecruitingPhase 2
Sacituzumab Govitecan With Bevacizumab Compared to Usual Chemotherapy (Carboplatin, Pegylated Liposomal Doxorubicin and Bevacizumab) for Treating Recurrent Platinum-Sensitive Ovarian Cancer After PARP Inhibitor Maintenance Therapy
Recurrent Platinum-Sensitive Fallopian Tube Endometrioid Adenocarcinoma, Recurrent Platinum-Sensitive Fallopian Tube High Grade Serous Adenocarcinoma
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Stanley B. Kaye, MD, FRCP study chair
Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust
88 sites in 3 countries: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 3 study testing carboplatin in people with Fallopian Tube Cancer and Ovarian Cancer, run by NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde at 88 sites in 3 countries.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 7 Aug 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 88 sites in United Kingdom, Australia, New Zealand. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
Progression-free survival. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 7 Aug 2013.