AzTrials
AzTrials

Esophageal CancerPhase 1/2NCT00093652

Oxaliplatin, Gefitinib, and Radiation Therapy in Treating Patients With Locally Advanced or Metastatic Esophageal Cancer

A Phase 1/2 study testing gefitinib, oxaliplatin and conventional surgery in people with Esophageal Cancer, run by Roswell Park Cancer Institute at 1 site in United States.

Terminated

Stopped early. The study ended before it was planned to and will not resume.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as oxaliplatin, work in different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Gefitinib may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking the enzymes necessary for their growth. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 120 years
Conditions the study is for
Esophageal Cancer
What is being tested?
gefitinib, oxaliplatin and conventional surgery
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
Not given
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
May 2003to May 2006
Phase
Phase 1/2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 120 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed adenocarcinoma or squamous cell carcinoma of the esophagus or gastroesophageal (GE) junction
  • Locally advanced or metastatic disease by clinical staging, including esophagogastroduodenoscopy and esophageal ultrasound
  • Stage T2, N0 disease and beyond
  • Bulk of tumor must be in the esophagus of patients with GE junction tumor
  • Bronchoscopy is required if primary esophageal tumor is < 26 cm from the incisors
  • No brain metastases

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • Over 18

Performance status

  • ECOG 0-1

Life expectancy

  • At least 4 months

Hematopoietic

  • WBC ≥ 3,000/mm^3
  • Granulocyte count ≥ 1,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count > 100,000/mm^3

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin normal
  • ALT and AST ≤ 2.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • Alkaline phosphatase ≤ 2.5 times ULN

Renal

  • Not specified

Cardiovascular

  • No symptomatic congestive heart failure
  • No unstable angina pectoris
  • No cardiac arrhythmia

Pulmonary

  • No clinically active interstitial lung disease
  • Patients with chronic stable asymptomatic radiographic changes are eligible

Other

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective double-method (including barrier) contraception during and for 3 months after study participation
  • No peripheral neuropathy ≥ grade II
  • No severe hypersensitivity to gefitinib or any of its excipients
  • No history of allergy to platinum-based compounds or antiemetics administered with protocol-directed chemotherapy
  • No active or ongoing infection
  • No other uncontrolled illness
  • No other significant clinical disorder or laboratory finding that would preclude study participation

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • No concurrent colony-stimulating factors during course 1 of study therapy

Chemotherapy

  • More than 4 weeks since prior chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy

  • Concurrent steroid therapy allowed

Radiotherapy

  • More than 4 weeks since prior radiotherapy

Surgery

  • Not specified

Other

  • More than 30 days since prior non-approved or investigational drugs
  • No concurrent administration of any of the following:
  • Phenytoin
  • Carbamazepine
  • Rifampin
  • Barbiturates
  • Highly-active antiretroviral therapy (HAART)
  • Hypericum perforatum (St. John's wort)
  • No other concurrent investigational agents or therapy

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Roswell Park Cancer Institute

    Buffalo, New York, 14263-0001

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: ZD1839 (IRESSA®) With Oxaliplatin and Radiotherapy for Esophageal Carcinoma. A Phase I/II Study With Biologic Correlates

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as oxaliplatin, work in different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Gefitinib may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking the enzymes necessary for their growth. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Combining oxaliplatin and gefitinib with radiation therapy may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: This phase I/II trial is studying the side effects and best dose of oxaliplatin when given together with gefitinib and radiation therapy and to see how well they work in treating patients with locally advanced or metastatic esophageal cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Determine the maximum tolerated dose of oxaliplatin when administered with gefitinib and radiotherapy in patients with locally advanced or metastatic adenocarcinoma or squamous cell carcinoma of the esophagus or gastroesophageal junction. (Phase I)
  • Determine the response rate in patients treated with this regimen. (Phase II)

Secondary

  • Determine time to tumor progression and median survival in patients treated with this regimen.
  • Determine quality of life in patients treated with this regimen.
  • Determine the safety of this regimen in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a phase I, open-label, dose-escalation study of oxaliplatin followed by a phase II study.

  • Phase I: Patients receive oxaliplatin IV over 2 hours on days 1, 15, and 29. Beginning on day 1, patients undergo radiotherapy once daily, 5 days a week, for 5.5 weeks. Patients also receive oral gefitinib once daily on days 1-365. Treatment continues in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity Approximately 3-6 weeks after the completion of chemoradiotherapy, patients are evaluated. Some patients undergo surgical resection* and possibly receive a second course of oxaliplatin (IV over 2 hours on days 1, 15, and 29) 4-8 weeks after surgery. If surgery is not indicated, some patients may receive an additional course of oxaliplatin.

Cohorts of 3-6 patients receive escalating doses of oxaliplatin until the maximum tolerated dose is determined. The MTD is defined as the dose preceding that at which 2 of 3 or 2 of 6 patients experience dose-limiting toxicity.

  • Phase II: Patients receive oxaliplatin, gefitinib, and radiotherapy as in phase I at the MTD. Some patients then either undergo surgical resection* and/or begin a second course of oxaliplatin as in phase I.

NOTE: *Oral gefitinib is discontinued ≥ 7 days before surgery and is restarted when the patient has recovered.

Quality of life is assessed at baseline, 5-6 weeks, and then every 2-3 months for 1 year.

Patients are followed every 2-3 months for 1 year.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: Approximately 15-45 patients (3-12 for phase I and 12-33 for phase II) will be accrued for this study within 2 years.

Keywords
adenocarcinoma of the esophagus, recurrent esophageal cancer, stage II esophageal cancer, stage III esophageal cancer, stage IV esophageal cancer, squamous cell carcinoma of the esophagus
Medical subject headings
Esophageal Neoplasms, Adenocarcinoma Of Esophagus, Esophageal Squamous Cell Carcinoma

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Maximum tolerated dose (phase I)

  2. Response (phase II)

Secondary outcomes (4)
  1. Survival

  2. Quality of life

  3. Safety and toxicity

  4. Immunohistochemistry

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted8 Oct 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study startMay 2003
  3. Primary completionMay 2006

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1/2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Masking
None (open label)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00093652
Sponsor's protocol ID
I 04603
Other IDs
RPCI-I-04603, ZENECA-IRUSIRES0303
Status last verified
Oct 2015
First submitted
6 Oct 2004
Last updated
6 Oct 2015
Results posted
No

Publications

  • Javle M, Pande A, Iyer R, Yang G, LeVea C, Wilding G, Black J, Nava H, Nwogu C. Pilot study of gefitinib, oxaliplatin, and radiotherapy for esophageal adenocarcinoma: tissue effect predicts clinical response. Am J Clin Oncol. 2008 Aug;31(4):329-34. doi: 10.1097/COC.0b013e318161dc04.

    PubMed 18845990

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1/2 study testing gefitinib, oxaliplatin and conventional surgery in people with Esophageal Cancer, run by Roswell Park Cancer Institute at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: stopped early, as of the sponsor's last update on 6 Oct 2015. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this combined phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study was stopped early. Results are not available in the source record.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Maximum tolerated dose (phase I). The study lists 2 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00093652, which also lists 1 linked publication.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 6 Oct 2015.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in