AzTrials
AzTrials

Fallopian Tube CancerPhase 2/3NCT00075712

Timing of Surgery and Chemotherapy in Treating Patients With Newly Diagnosed Advanced Ovarian Epithelial, Fallopian Tube, or Primary Peritoneal Cavity Cancer

A Phase 2/3 study testing carboplatin, paclitaxel and adjuvant therapy in people with Fallopian Tube Cancer and Ovarian Cancer, run by Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists at 70 sites in United Kingdom.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy work in different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Giving a chemotherapy drug before surgery may shrink the tumor so that it can be removed; giving chemotherapy after surgery may kill any remaining tumor cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older, women only
What is being tested?
carboplatin, paclitaxel and adjuvant therapy
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
150 participants
Where
70 sitesUnited Kingdom
Study dates
Sep 2003to not given
Phase
Phase 2/3
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • Women only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Newly diagnosed advanced ovarian epithelial, primary peritoneal, or fallopian tube cancer
  • Clinical and imaging evidence of a pelvic mass with extrapelvic metastases within the past 4 weeks
  • Serum CA 125/CEA ratio > 25
  • Plans to receive carboplatin-based chemotherapy

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • Adult

Performance status

  • Not specified

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Not specified

Hepatic

  • Not specified

Renal

  • Not specified

Other

  • Considered fit to undergo protocol treatment and follow-up
  • No other prior or concurrent malignancy that would preclude study treatment or comparisons

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • See Disease Characteristics

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • Not specified

Surgery

  • Not specified

Trial locations and contacts

70 sites in 1 country.

70 sites in 1 country

United Kingdom70 sites
  • Aberdeen Royal Infirmary

    Aberdeen, Scotland, AB25 2ZN

  • Stoke Mandeville Hospital

    Aylesbury-Buckinghamshire, England, HP21 8AL

  • Ysbyty Gwynedd

    Bangor, Wales, LL57 2PW

  • North Devon District Hospital

    Barnstaple, England, EX31 4JB

  • Royal United Hospital

    Bath, England, BA1 3NG

  • Centre for Cancer Research and Cell Biology at Queen's University Belfast

    Belfast, Northern Ireland, BT9 7BL

  • Blackpool Victoria Hospital

    Blackpool, England, FY3 8NR

  • Bradford Royal Infirmary

    Bradford, England, BD9 6RJ

  • Sussex Cancer Centre at Royal Sussex County Hospital

    Brighton, England, BN2 5BE

  • Broomfield Hospital

    Broomfield, England, CM1 7ET

  • University Hospital of Wales

    Cardiff, Wales, CF14 4XW

  • Velindre Cancer Center at Velindre Hospital

    Cardiff, Wales, CF4 7XL

  • Cumberland Infirmary

    Carlisle, England, CA2 7HY

  • Gloucestershire Oncology Centre at Cheltenham General Hospital

    Cheltenham, England, GL53 7AN

  • Essex County Hospital

    Colchester, England, C03 3NB

  • Walsgrave Hospital

    Coventry, England, CV2 2DX

  • Derbyshire Royal Infirmary

    Derby, England, DE1 2QY

  • Royal Derby Hospital

    Derby, England, DE22 3NE

  • Ninewells Hospital

    Dundee, Scotland, DD1 9SY

  • Birmingham Women's Hospital

    Edgbaston, England, B15 2TG

  • Royal Devon and Exeter Hospital

    Exeter, England, EX2 5DW

  • Frimley Park Hospital

    Frimley, England, GU16 5UJ

  • Queen Elizabeth Hospital

    Gateshead, England, NE9 6SX

  • St. Luke's Cancer Centre at Royal Surrey County Hospital

    Guildford, England, GU2 7XX

  • Hereford Hospitals

    Hereford, England, HR1 2ER

  • Princess Royal Hospital at Hull and East Yorkshire NHS Trust

    Hull, England, HU8 9HE

  • Raigmore Hospital

    Inverness, Scotland, 1V2 3UJ

  • Ipswich Hospital

    Ipswich, England, IP4 5PD

  • Royal Lancaster Infirmary

    Lancaster, England, LA1 4RP

  • Leeds Cancer Centre at St. James's University Hospital

    Leeds, England, LS9 7TF

  • Leicester General Hospital

    Leicester, England, LE5 4PW

  • Lincoln County Hospital

    Lincoln, England, LN2 5QY

  • Liverpool Women's Hospital

    Liverpool, England, L8 7SS

  • Saint Bartholomew's Hospital

    London, England, EC1A 7BE

  • Barts and the London School of Medicine

    London, England, EC1M 6GR

  • Medical Research Council Clinical Trials Unit

    London, England, NW1 2DA

  • St. George's Hospital

    London, England, SW17 0QT

  • Royal Marsden - London

    London, England, SW3 6JJ

  • Hammersmith Hospital

    London, England, W12 OHS

  • St. Mary's Hospital

    Manchester, England, M13 0JH

  • Christie Hospital

    Manchester, England, M20 4BX

  • Wythenshawe Hospital

    Manchester, England, M23 9LJ

  • Clatterbridge Centre for Oncology

    Merseyside, England, CH63 4JY

  • James Cook University Hospital

    Middlesbrough, England, TS4 3BW

  • Milton Keynes General Hospital

    Milton Keynes, England, MK6 5LD

  • Northampton General Hospital

    Northampton, England, NN1 5BD

  • Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital

    Norwich, England, NR4 7UY

  • Oxford Radcliffe Hospital

    Oxford, England, 0X3 7LJ

  • Derriford Hospital

    Plymouth, England, PL6 8DH

  • Dorset Cancer Centre

    Poole Dorset, England, BH15 2JB

  • Portsmouth Oncology Centre at Saint Mary's Hospital

    Portsmouth Hants, England, PO3 6AD

  • Whiston Hospital

    Prescot Merseyside, England, L35 5DR

  • Rosemere Cancer Centre at Royal Preston Hospital

    Preston, England, PR2 9HT

  • Oldchurch Hospital

    Romford, England, RM7 OBE

  • Cancer Research Centre at Weston Park Hospital

    Sheffield, England, S10 2SJ

  • Royal Hallamshire Hospital

    Sheffield, England, S1O 2JF

  • Royal Shrewsbury Hospital

    Shrewsbury, England, SY3 8XQ

  • Wexham Park Hospital

    Slough, Berkshire, England, SL2 4HL

  • Staffordshire General Hospital

    Stafford, England, ST16 3SA

  • University Hospital of North Staffordshire

    Stoke-on-Trent, England, ST4 7LN

  • St. Peter's Hospital

    Surrey, England, KT 16 OPZ

  • South West Wales Cancer Institute

    Swansea, Wales, SA2 8QA

  • Great Western Hospital

    Swindon, England, SN3 6BB

  • Taunton and Somerset Hospital

    Taunton Somerset, England, TA1 5DA

  • Torbay Hospital

    Torquay, England, TQ2 7AA

  • Walsall Manor Hospital

    Walsall, England, WS2 9PS

  • Good Hope Hospital

    West Midlands, England, B75 7RR

  • Southend University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

    Westcliff-on-Sea, England, SS0 0RY

  • Wrexham Maelor Hospital

    Wrexham, Wales, LL13 7TD

  • Yeovil District Hospital

    Yeovil, England, BA21 4AT

Other trials in United Kingdom

About this study

Official title: A Randomized Feasibility Trial to Determine the Impact of Timing of Surgery and Chemotherapy in Newly Diagnosed Patients With Advanced Epithelial Ovarian, Primary Peritoneal or Fallopian Tube Carcinoma

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy work in different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Giving a chemotherapy drug before surgery may shrink the tumor so that it can be removed; giving chemotherapy after surgery may kill any remaining tumor cells. It is not yet known whether giving chemotherapy before and after surgery is more effective than giving chemotherapy after surgery in treating ovarian epithelial, fallopian tube, or primary peritoneal cavity cancer.

PURPOSE: This randomized phase II/III trial is studying how well giving chemotherapy before and after surgery works and compares it to giving chemotherapy after surgery alone in treating patients with newly diagnosed advanced ovarian epithelial, fallopian tube, or primary peritoneal cavity cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the feasibility of a randomized trial to determine the impact of the timing of surgery and chemotherapy in patients with newly diagnosed advanced ovarian epithelial, primary peritoneal, or fallopian tube cancer.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, pilot, multicenter study. Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.

  • Arm I (primary surgery): Patients undergo radical surgery. Within 6 weeks after primary surgery, patients receive chemotherapy comprising carboplatin alone or in combination with paclitaxel or another chemotherapy agent on day 1. Chemotherapy repeats every 3 weeks for up to 6 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients may undergo interval debulking surgery after the third course of chemotherapy.
  • Arm II (neoadjuvant chemotherapy): Patients receive chemotherapy as in arm I for 3 courses. Within 3 weeks after chemotherapy, patients undergo radical surgery. Within 6 weeks after surgery, patients receive an additional 3 courses of chemotherapy as in arm I.

Patients are followed at 9 months after randomization, every 3 months for 2 years, every 6 months for 3 years, and then annually thereafter.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: Approximately 100-150 patients will be accrued for this study within 18 months.

Keywords
stage IV ovarian epithelial cancer, stage IIIA fallopian tube cancer, stage IIIB fallopian tube cancer, stage IIIC fallopian tube cancer, stage IV fallopian tube cancer, stage IIIA primary peritoneal cavity cancer, stage IIIB primary peritoneal cavity cancer, stage IIIC primary peritoneal cavity cancer, stage IV primary peritoneal cavity cancer, stage IIIA ovarian epithelial cancer, stage IIIB ovarian epithelial cancer, stage IIIC ovarian epithelial cancer
Medical subject headings
Fallopian Tube Neoplasms, Ovarian Neoplasms, Carcinoma, Ovarian Epithelial

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Overall survival at 3 years

  2. Progression-free survival

  3. Quality of life by Quality of Life Questionnaire Core 30 Items (QLQ-C30) and QLQ-ovarian cancer (QLQ-OV28)

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted13 Jan 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study startSep 2003

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2/3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Enrolment
150 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00075712
Sponsor's protocol ID
RCOG-MRC-CHORUS
Other IDs
CDR0000347463, EU-20350, ISRCTN74802813
Status last verified
May 2007
First submitted
9 Jan 2004
Last updated
12 Aug 2013
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2/3 study testing carboplatin, paclitaxel and adjuvant therapy in people with Fallopian Tube Cancer and Ovarian Cancer, run by Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists at 70 sites in United Kingdom.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 12 Aug 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 70 sites in United Kingdom. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this combined phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Overall survival at 3 years. The study lists 3 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 12 Aug 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in