AzTrials
AzTrials

Malignant MesotheliomaPhase 2NCT00054002

Surgery and Photodynamic Therapy in Treating Patients With Malignant Mesothelioma

A Phase 2 study testing adjuvant therapy, conventional surgery and porfimer sodium in people with Malignant Mesothelioma, run by Roswell Park Cancer Institute at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Photodynamic therapy uses light and drugs that make cancer cells more sensitive to light to kill cancer cells. Combining photodynamic therapy with surgery may be an effective treatment for malignant mesothelioma. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Malignant Mesothelioma
What is being tested?
adjuvant therapy, conventional surgery and porfimer sodium
How many people
12 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Mar 1999to Dec 2010
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically or cytologically confirmed malignant mesothelioma, including the following cell types:
  • Mixed mesothelial
  • Sarcomatous
  • Stage I or II disease using the Butchart system as determined by CT scan or MRI
  • Disease confined to 1 hemithorax
  • No tumor involvement of esophagus or heart as evidenced by CT scan
  • Pericardial or diaphragmatic involvement allowed if disease is limited to the ipsilateral chest
  • N2 disease allowed if no contralateral pleural involvement
  • No adenocarcinoma or nonmesothelioma sarcoma of the chest wall

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and over

Performance status

  • ECOG 0-2

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • WBC greater than 4,000/mm^3
  • Platelet count greater than 100,000/mm^3
  • Hemoglobin greater than 8.5 g/dL (transfusion allowed)

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin less than 3.0 mg/dL
  • Alkaline phosphatase less than 2 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • SGOT less than 2 times ULN

Renal

  • Creatinine less than 3.0 mg/dL

Cardiovascular

  • No myocardial infarction within the past 6 months

Pulmonary

  • Arterial partial pressure of carbon dioxide (pCO_2) less than 50 torr at rest
  • Predicted postoperative FEV_1 at least 800 mL with maximum oxygen consumption/kg at least 15 mL/min
  • Predicted postoperative total lung capacity at least 40% of hemoglobin and alveolar ventilation

Other

  • Not pregnant
  • No other concurrent malignancy except nonmelanoma skin cancer
  • No contraindication to general anesthetic
  • No history of porphyria
  • No indicated sensitivity to porfimer sodium

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • More than 30 days since prior chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • No prior radiotherapy to the chest
  • No prior radiotherapy for mesothelioma

Surgery

  • Not specified

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Roswell Park Cancer Institute

    Buffalo, New York, 14263-0001

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Surgery and Intracavitary Photodynamic Therapy (PDT) for the Treatment of Malignant Pleural Mesothelioma; The Use of Light Delivery Fibers With Large Diffusers

RATIONALE: Photodynamic therapy uses light and drugs that make cancer cells more sensitive to light to kill cancer cells. Combining photodynamic therapy with surgery may be an effective treatment for malignant mesothelioma.

PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of combining photodynamic therapy with surgery in treating patients who have malignant mesothelioma.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the feasibility of adjuvant photodynamic therapy with large diffuser fibers in patients with malignant mesothelioma undergoing surgery.
  • Compare results of this regimen in these patients to historical controls.
  • Determine the toxic effects of this regimen in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a pilot study.

Patients receive porfimer sodium IV over 5-10 minutes on day 1. Patients undergo pleurectomy or pleuropneumonectomy followed by intracavitary photodynamic therapy on day 3.

Patients are followed at 1 month, every 4 months for 2 years, and then every 6 months for 3 years.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 20 patients will be accrued for this study within 3 years.

Being tested
adjuvant therapy, conventional surgery, porfimer sodium
Keywords
localized malignant mesothelioma, recurrent malignant mesothelioma, epithelial mesothelioma, sarcomatous mesothelioma
Medical subject headings
Mesothelioma, Malignant, Solitary Fibrous Tumor, Pleural

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Feasibility

    Measured: 1 month, every 4 months for 2 years, and then every 6 months for 3 years

  2. Comparison of results from this regimen to historical controls

    Measured: At completion of study

  3. Toxic effects

    Measured: 1 month, every 4 months for 2 years, and then every 6 months for 3 years

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted6 Feb 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startMar 1999
  3. Primary completionJun 2006
  4. Study completionDec 2010

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
12 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00054002
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000269674
Other IDs
RPCI-RP-9812
Status last verified
Feb 2011
First submitted
5 Feb 2003
Last updated
1 Mar 2011
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing adjuvant therapy, conventional surgery and porfimer sodium in people with Malignant Mesothelioma, run by Roswell Park Cancer Institute at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 1 Mar 2011. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Feasibility (time frame: 1 month, every 4 months for 2 years, and then every 6 months for 3 years). The study lists 3 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 1 Mar 2011.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in