AzTrials
AzTrials

Fallopian Tube CancerPhase 1NCT00028912

Bortezomib and Carboplatin in Treating Patients With Recurrent or Progressive Ovarian Epithelial, Primary Peritoneal, or Fallopian Tube Cancer

A Phase 1 study testing bortezomib and carboplatin in people with Fallopian Tube Cancer and Ovarian Cancer, run by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Bortezomib may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking the enzymes necessary for tumor cell growth. Drugs used in chemotherapy such as carboplatin use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Any age, women only
What is being tested?
bortezomib and carboplatin
How many people
Not given
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Nov 2001to not given
Phase
Phase 1
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Any age
  • Women only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed ovarian epithelial, primary peritoneal, or fallopian tube cancer
  • Recurrent or progressive disease
  • Received at least 1 prior platinum-based chemotherapy regimen containing carboplatin, cisplatin, or another organoplatinum compound for primary disease
  • May include high-dose therapy, consolidation, or extended therapy after surgical or non-surgical assessment
  • No brain metastases or leptomeningeal involvement

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age:

  • Not specified

Performance status:

  • Karnofsky 70-100%

Life expectancy:

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic:

  • Absolute neutrophil count at least 1,000/mm^3
  • Platelet count at least 100,000/mm^3
  • Hemoglobin at least 8.0 g/dL

Hepatic:

  • AST and ALT no greater than 2.5 times upper limit of normal
  • Bilirubin no greater than 1.8 mg/dL

Renal:

  • Creatinine no greater than 1.5 mg/dL

Cardiovascular:

  • LVEF greater than 50% by radionuclide ventriculogram or two-dimensional echocardiogram
  • No peripheral vascular disease requiring surgical management
  • No prior myocardial infarction
  • No congestive heart failure
  • No orthostatic hypotension
  • No acute ischemia or significant conduction abnormality (bifascicular block, defined as left anterior hemiblock with right bundle branch block, second or third degree AV blocks) as evidenced by electrocardiogram
  • No prior cerebrovascular event

Other:

  • No peripheral neuropathy grade 2 or greater
  • No other serious medical or psychiatric illness
  • Not pregnant
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy:

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy:

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • No more than 2 prior regimens for recurrent disease, including 1 non-platinum containing regimen
  • At least 4 weeks since prior chemotherapy (6 weeks for nitrosoureas and mitomycin) and recovered

Endocrine therapy:

  • At least 1 week since prior hormonal therapy directed at primary tumor
  • Concurrent hormone replacement therapy allowed

Radiotherapy:

  • Not specified

Surgery:

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • At least 2 weeks since prior major surgery

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center

    New York, New York, 10021

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Phase I Trial of Bortezomib (NSC 681239, IND#58443) and Carboplatin in Recurrent or Progressive Epithelial Ovarian Cancer or Primary Peritoneal Cancer

RATIONALE: Bortezomib may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking the enzymes necessary for tumor cell growth. Drugs used in chemotherapy such as carboplatin use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Bortezomib may help carboplatin kill more tumor cells by making tumor cells more sensitive to the drug.

PURPOSE: Phase I trial to study the effectiveness of combining bortezomib with carboplatin in treating patients who have recurrent or progressive ovarian epithelial, primary peritoneal, or fallopian tube cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the maximum tolerated dose of bortezomib in combination with carboplatin in patients with recurrent or progressive ovarian epithelial, primary peritoneal, or fallopian tube cancer.
  • Determine the toxicity of this regimen in these patients.
  • Determine the pharmacodynamics of this regimen in these patients by measurement of 20S proteasome inhibition in whole blood.
  • Correlate toxicity with 20S proteasome inhibition in a whole blood assay in patients treated with this regimen.

OUTLINE: This is a dose-escalation study of bortezomib.

Patients receive carboplatin IV over 30 minutes on days 1 and 8 followed by 1 week of rest during the first course of treatment. Beginning with the second course, patients receive bortezomib IV on days 1, 4, 8, and 11 and carboplatin IV over 30 minutes on days 1 and 8. Treatment repeats every 21 days for up to 6 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

Cohorts of 3-6 patients receive escalating doses of bortezomib until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined. The MTD is defined as the dose preceding that at which 2 of 3 or 2 of 6 patients experience dose-limiting toxicity. Once the MTD is determined, 8 additional patients are accrued and treated at that dose.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 3-32 patients will be accrued for this study.

Being tested
bortezomib, carboplatin
Keywords
recurrent ovarian epithelial cancer, primary peritoneal cavity cancer, fallopian tube cancer
Medical subject headings
Fallopian Tube Neoplasms, Ovarian Neoplasms, Carcinoma, Ovarian Epithelial

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startNov 2001

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Treatment
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00028912
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000069146
Other IDs
MSKCC-01097, NCI-5326
Status last verified
Apr 2004
First submitted
4 Jan 2002
Last updated
26 Apr 2011
Results posted
No

Publications

  • Aghajanian C, Dizon DS, Sabbatini P, Raizer JJ, Dupont J, Spriggs DR. Phase I trial of bortezomib and carboplatin in recurrent ovarian or primary peritoneal cancer. J Clin Oncol. 2005 Sep 1;23(25):5943-9. doi: 10.1200/JCO.2005.16.006.

    PubMed 16135465
  • Aghajanian C, Dizon D, Yan XJ, et al.: Phase I trial of PS-341 and carboplatin in recurrent ovarian cancer. [Abstract] Proceedings of the American Society of Clinical Oncology 22: A-1815, 2003.

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1 study testing bortezomib and carboplatin in people with Fallopian Tube Cancer and Ovarian Cancer, run by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 26 Apr 2011. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00028912, which also lists 2 linked publications.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 26 Apr 2011.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in