AzTrials
AzTrials

Fallopian Tube CancerPhase 1/2NCT00017017

CT-2103 in Treating Patients With Recurrent Ovarian Epithelial or Fallopian Tube Cancer or Primary Peritoneal Cancer

A Phase 1/2 study testing paclitaxel poliglumex in people with Fallopian Tube Cancer and Ovarian Cancer, run by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. PURPOSE: Phase I/II trial to study the effectiveness of CT-2103 in treating patients who have recurrent ovarian epithelial or fallopian tube cancer or primary peritoneal cancer. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Any age, women only
What is being tested?
paclitaxel poliglumex
How many people
Not given
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Feb 2001to Dec 2009
Phase
Phase 1/2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Any age
  • Women only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed ovarian epithelial, fallopian tube, or primary peritoneal carcinoma
  • Recurrent disease following prior initial therapy with platinum-based regimen
  • No more than 2 prior cytotoxic chemotherapy regimens for recurrent disease
  • No more than 1 prior non-platinum, non-taxane regimen
  • At least 1 site of radiographically measurable disease AND/OR
  • CA-125 levels at least 50% above upper limits of normal for a minimum of 2 samples

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • Not specified

Performance status

  • Karnofsky 70-100%

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Absolute neutrophil count at least 1,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count at least 100,000/mm^3

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin less than 1.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • SGOT less than 1.5 times ULN
  • Alkaline phosphatase less than 1.5 times ULN

Renal

  • Creatinine no greater than 1.5 mg/dL

Other

  • No unresolved, pre-existing grade 2 or greater neurotoxicity from prior treatment with neurotoxic drugs
  • No active uncontrolled infection
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception during and for 4 weeks after study

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • At least 4 weeks since prior immunotherapy and recovered

Chemotherapy

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • At least 4 weeks since prior chemotherapy and recovered

Endocrine therapy

  • At least 4 weeks since prior endocrine therapy and recovered

Radiotherapy

  • At least 4 weeks since prior radiotherapy (except for palliative reasons) and recovered

Surgery

  • Not specified

Other

  • At least 4 weeks since other prior investigational drugs and recovered

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center

    New York, New York, 10021

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Phase I/II Trial fo Intravenous CT-2103 in Patients With Recurrent Epithelial Ovarian, Fallopian Tube, or Primary Peritoneal Carcinoma

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die.

PURPOSE: Phase I/II trial to study the effectiveness of CT-2103 in treating patients who have recurrent ovarian epithelial or fallopian tube cancer or primary peritoneal cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the response rate and time to treatment failure in patients with recurrent ovarian epithelial, fallopian tube, or primary peritoneal carcinoma treated with CT-2103.
  • Determine the tolerability and safety of the previously established dose and schedule of CT-2103 in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a dose-escalation study.

Patients receive CT-2103 IV over 10 minutes on day 1. Treatment repeats every 3 weeks in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

If no more than 1 of the first 6 patients experience dose-limiting toxicity, then the remaining patients receive a higher dose of CT-2103.

Patients are followed between 1-3 months and then every 3 months thereafter.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 20-40 patients will be accrued for this study.

Being tested
paclitaxel poliglumex
Keywords
recurrent ovarian epithelial cancer, fallopian tube cancer, primary peritoneal cavity cancer
Medical subject headings
Fallopian Tube Neoplasms, Ovarian Neoplasms, Carcinoma, Ovarian Epithelial

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • paclitaxel poliglumexDrug

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted13 Nov 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startFeb 2001
  3. Primary completionFeb 2003
  4. Study completionDec 2009

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1/2
Primary purpose
Treatment
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00017017
Sponsor's protocol ID
CTI-1071
Other IDs
MSKCC-01024, CDR0000068642, NCI-G01-1947
Status last verified
Dec 2009
First submitted
6 Jun 2001
Last updated
30 May 2013
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1/2 study testing paclitaxel poliglumex in people with Fallopian Tube Cancer and Ovarian Cancer, run by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 30 May 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this combined phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 30 May 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in