Esophageal CancerPhase 2NCT00006038
Combination Chemotherapy Followed by Surgery and Intraperitoneal Chemotherapy in Treating Patients With Locally Advanced Stomach Cancer
A Phase 2 study testing cisplatin, docetaxel and floxuridine in people with Esophageal Cancer and Gastric Cancer, run by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.
Trial summary
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Giving chemotherapy drugs in different ways may kill more tumor cells. Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Any age
- Conditions the study is for
- Esophageal Cancer, Gastric Cancer
- What is being tested?
- cisplatin, docetaxel and floxuridine
- Type of treatment
- Surgery or procedure
- How many people
- Not given
- Where
- 1 siteUnited States
- Study dates
- Feb 2000to Feb 2003
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Are there results?
- None posted in the registry
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages Any age
- All sexes
- No healthy volunteers
- Child, Adult, Older adult
DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Histologically proven locally advanced adenocarcinoma of the stomach or gastroesophageal (GE) junction that is potentially curable by surgery Patients with tumors involving the GE junction must have the bulk of their disease in the stomach No tumors of the distal esophagus or GE junction that extend less than 2 cm into the stomach Tumor stage T2, N1-2, M0 OR T3-4, any N, M0 by physical exam, CT scan, and laparoscopy
PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: Any age Performance status: Karnofsky 60-100% Life expectancy: Not specified Hematopoietic: WBC at least 4,000/mm3 Platelet count at least 150,000/mm3 Hepatic: Bilirubin less than 2 mg/dL SGOT and/or SGPT no greater than 2.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN) if alkaline phosphatase no greater than ULN OR Alkaline phosphatase no greater than 4 times ULN if SGOT and/or SGPT no greater than ULN Ineligible if SGOT and SGPT greater than 1.5 times ULN AND alkaline phosphatase greater than 2.5 times ULN Renal: Blood urea nitrogen no greater than 30 mg/dL Creatinine no greater than 1.5 mg/dL AND/OR Creatinine clearance greater than 50 mL/min Cardiovascular: No New York Heart Association class III or IV heart disease No active angina or myocardial infarction within the past 6 months No history of significant ventricular arrhythmia requiring medication with antiarrhythmics or significant conduction system abnormality Other: No clinically significant auditory impairment No worse than grade 2 preexisting peripheral neuropathy No other malignancy within the past 5 years except nonmelanomatous skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix Not pregnant or nursing Negative pregnancy test Fertile patients must use effective contraception No serious concurrent infection or nonmalignant illness that is uncontrolled or whose control may be jeopardized by complications of study therapy No psychiatric disorder that would preclude compliance
PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: Not specified Chemotherapy: No prior chemotherapy Endocrine therapy: Not specified Radiotherapy: No prior radiotherapy Surgery: See Disease Characteristics
Trial locations and contacts
1 site in 1 country.
United States1 site
Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
New York, New York, 10021
About this study
Official title: A Phase II Trial of Neoadjuvant Cisplatin-Fluorouracil-Docetaxel Chemotherapy, Surgery, and Intraperitoneal (IP) Floxuridine (FUdR) Plus Leucovorin in Patients With Locally Advanced Gastric Cancer
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Giving chemotherapy drugs in different ways may kill more tumor cells.
PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of combination chemotherapy followed by surgery and intraperitoneal chemotherapy in treating patients who have locally advanced stomach cancer.
Read the detailed description
OBJECTIVES: I. Determine the efficacy and toxicity of neoadjuvant cisplatin, fluorouracil, and docetaxel, and postoperative intraperitoneal floxuridine and leucovorin calcium in patients with locally advanced adenocarcinoma of the stomach or gastroesophageal junction. II. Determine whether molecular markers, including thymidylate synthase, excision repair cross complementing gene, and tubulin isoform 4B, for sensitivity to fluorouracil, cisplatin, and docetaxel, respectively, are predictive of outcome (disease free survival and overall survival) in these patients. III. Determine the quality of life of these patients treated with this regimen.
OUTLINE: During weeks 1 and 4, patients receive docetaxel IV over 1 hour followed by cisplatin IV over 30-60 minutes on day 1, and fluorouracil IV continuously on days 1-5. During weeks 6-8, patients undergo radical subtotal or total gastrectomy with a D2 lymph node dissection followed by percutaneous placement of an intraperitoneal port device. Beginning within 5 days after resection, patients with clear margins receive floxuridine and leucovorin calcium intraperitoneally on days 1-3 during weeks 1, 3, and 5 in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Quality of life is assessed prior to beginning study, prior to surgery, then monthly for 3 months beginning after completion of study therapy, then every 3 months through year 2, and then every 6 months through year 3. Patients are followed monthly for 3 months, then every 3 months through year 2, and then every 6 months though year 3.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 50 patients will be accrued for this study within 2.5 years.
- Conditions
- Esophageal Cancer, Gastric Cancer
- Being tested
- cisplatin, docetaxel, floxuridine, fluorouracil, leucovorin calcium
- Keywords
- stage II gastric cancer, stage III gastric cancer, stage IV gastric cancer, stage II esophageal cancer, stage III esophageal cancer, adenocarcinoma of the stomach, adenocarcinoma of the esophagus
- Medical subject headings
- Esophageal Neoplasms, Stomach Neoplasms, Adenocarcinoma Of Esophagus
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
cisplatinDrug
docetaxelDrug
floxuridineDrug
fluorouracilDrug
conventional surgeryProcedure or surgery
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted12 Feb 2004 (estimated)
- Study startFeb 2000
- Primary completionFeb 2003
- Study completionFeb 2003
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Other trials for Esophageal CancerStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- More trials run by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer CenterThe sponsor's other registered studies.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
- Sponsor type
- University, hospital or other
- Collaborators
- National Cancer Institute (NCI)
- Investigators
- David Paul Kelsen, MD, Study chair, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00006038
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- 99-066
- Other IDs
- CDR0000068053, NCI-G00-1813
- Status last verified
- Jun 2013
- First submitted
- 5 Jul 2000
- Last updated
- 19 Jun 2013
- Results posted
- No
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 19 Jun 2013. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- A Phase II Trial of Neoadjuvant Cisplatin-Fluorouracil-Docetaxel Chemotherapy, Surgery, and Intraperitoneal (IP) Floxuridine (FUdR) Plus Leucovorin in Patients With Locally Advanced Gastric Cancer
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00006038
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- 99-066
- Conditions
- Esophageal Cancer, Gastric Cancer
- Keywords
- stage II gastric cancer, stage III gastric cancer, stage IV gastric cancer, stage II esophageal cancer, stage III esophageal cancer, adenocarcinoma of the stomach, adenocarcinoma of the esophagus
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Completed
- Lead sponsor
- Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer CenterUniversity, hospital or other
- Collaborators
- National Cancer Institute (NCI)
- Study start
- Feb 2000
- Primary completion
- Feb 2003 (actual)
- Study completion
- Feb 2003 (actual)
- First posted
- 12 Feb 2004 (estimated)
- Results
- Not posted in the source record
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Giving chemotherapy drugs in different ways may kill more tumor cells.
PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of combination chemotherapy followed by surgery and intraperitoneal chemotherapy in treating patients who have locally advanced stomach cancer.
Detailed description
OBJECTIVES: I. Determine the efficacy and toxicity of neoadjuvant cisplatin, fluorouracil, and docetaxel, and postoperative intraperitoneal floxuridine and leucovorin calcium in patients with locally advanced adenocarcinoma of the stomach or gastroesophageal junction. II. Determine whether molecular markers, including thymidylate synthase, excision repair cross complementing gene, and tubulin isoform 4B, for sensitivity to fluorouracil, cisplatin, and docetaxel, respectively, are predictive of outcome (disease free survival and overall survival) in these patients. III. Determine the quality of life of these patients treated with this regimen.
OUTLINE: During weeks 1 and 4, patients receive docetaxel IV over 1 hour followed by cisplatin IV over 30-60 minutes on day 1, and fluorouracil IV continuously on days 1-5. During weeks 6-8, patients undergo radical subtotal or total gastrectomy with a D2 lymph node dissection followed by percutaneous placement of an intraperitoneal port device. Beginning within 5 days after resection, patients with clear margins receive floxuridine and leucovorin calcium intraperitoneally on days 1-3 during weeks 1, 3, and 5 in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Quality of life is assessed prior to beginning study, prior to surgery, then monthly for 3 months beginning after completion of study therapy, then every 3 months through year 2, and then every 6 months through year 3. Patients are followed monthly for 3 months, then every 3 months through year 2, and then every 6 months though year 3.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 50 patients will be accrued for this study within 2.5 years.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
Who may qualify
- Sex
- All
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Child, Adult, Older adult
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| cisplatin | Drug | – |
| docetaxel | Drug | – |
| floxuridine | Drug | – |
| fluorouracil | Drug | – |
| leucovorin calcium | Drug | – |
| conventional surgery | Procedure or surgery | – |
Primary outcome
Not reported in the source record.
Results and safety
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 19 Jun 2013.
Related trials for Esophageal Cancer
RecruitingPhase 2/3
Multicenter Validation Trial of [18F]AlF-FAPI-74 for PET Imaging of Cancer-associated Fibroblasts Through Fibroblast Activation Protein Inhibitors (FAPI) in Different Tumor Types
Oesophageal Cancer, Gastric Cancer
RecruitingObservational study
Multicenter Prospective Cohort on Esophageal Endoscopic Submucosal Dissection
Superficial Esophageal Cancer, Oesophageal Adenocarcinoma
Recruiting
The Vanguard Study: Testing a New Way to Screen for Cancer
Bladder Carcinoma, Breast Carcinoma
RecruitingPhase 2
At-Home Cancer Directed Therapy Versus in Clinic for the Treatment of Patients With Advanced Cancer
Advanced Anal Carcinoma, Advanced Biliary Tract Carcinoma
RecruitingPhase 1
A Study to Learn About the Study Medicine Called PF-08046876 in People With Advanced Solid Tumors
Advanced/Metastatic Solid Tumors, Bladder Cancer
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
David Paul Kelsen, MD study chair
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
1 site in 1 country: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 2 study testing cisplatin, docetaxel and floxuridine in people with Esophageal Cancer and Gastric Cancer, run by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 19 Jun 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 19 Jun 2013.