AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerPhase 2NCT00005879

LY353381 in Preventing Breast Cancer in Women With Hyperplasia

A Phase 2 study testing arzoxifene in people with Breast Cancer, run by University of Kansas Medical Center at 2 sites in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Chemoprevention therapy is the use of certain drugs to try to prevent the development or recurrence of cancer. The use of LY353381 may be an effective way to prevent the development of breast cancer in women who have hyperplasia. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 65 years, women onlyHealthy volunteers can take part
Conditions the study is for
Breast Cancer
What is being tested?
arzoxifene
Type of treatment
Pill or oral medicine
Could I receive a placebo?
Yes, some participants may receive a placebo
How many people
199 participants
Where
2 sitesUnited States
Study dates
Aug 2000to Jul 2008
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 65 years
  • Women only
  • Healthy volunteers accepted
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Current random fine needle breast aspiration (FNA) evidence of 1 of the following:
  • Hyperplasia with atypia
  • Hyperplasia without atypia but with a 10-year modified Gail risk of at least 4%
  • Hyperplasia without atypia but with a BRCAPRO risk of at least 25%
  • Hyperplasia without atypia but with a known mutation in BRCA1 or BRCA2
  • Hyperplasia without atypia but with a history of contralateral ductal carcinoma in situ or invasive breast cancer
  • FNA must have been taken during days 1-14 of the menstrual cycle for premenopausal women
  • Classified as ACR class I-III on mammogram with stepwedge within past 6 months If intact uterus and/or ovaries, must have color doppler transvaginal pelvic sonogram within past 6 months showing endometrial thickening no greater than 13 mm premenopausal or no greater than 8 mm postmenopausal
  • No ovarian cysts felt to be possibly or probably non-physiologic that have not resolved to gynecologist's satisfaction on repeat sonogram
  • Must agree to have or have had genetic counseling and genetic testing performed for BRCA1 and BRCA2
  • No active cancer (e.g., detectable disease)
  • Hormone receptor status:
  • Not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age:

  • 18 and over

Sex:

  • Female

Menopausal status:

  • Any

Performance status:

  • Not specified

Life expectancy:

  • At least 12 months

Hematopoietic:

  • Hemoglobin greater than 10 g/dL
  • Granulocyte count greater than 1,000/mm^3
  • No deficiencies in protein C, protein S, or antithrombin III
  • No activated protein C resistance

Hepatic:

  • Albumin greater than 3.0 g/dL
  • Bilirubin less than 1.5 mg/dL
  • AST less than 100 U/L
  • Alkaline phosphatase less than 200 U/L

Renal:

  • Creatinine less than 1.5 mg/dL

Cardiovascular:

  • No history of deep venous thrombosis not related to trauma or pregnancy
  • No severe coronary artery disease
  • No history of prior stroke

Other:

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception during and for 3 months after study
  • No other active cancer
  • No retinal vein thrombosis
  • No concurrent severe poorly controlled migraine
  • No factor V Leiden mutation carrier

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy:

  • At least 12 months since prior immunotherapy

Chemotherapy:

  • At least 3 months between completion of prior KUMC phase II difluoromethylornithine (DFMO) study and baseline aspiration
  • At least 12 months since prior chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy:

  • Must not have started or stopped hormone replacement therapy or oral contraceptives within 6 months of baseline aspiration
  • Must continue all hormone replacement therapy and/or oral contraceptives that were being taken at time of baseline aspiration
  • At least 12 months since prior tamoxifen, raloxifene, or other antihormonal therapy

Radiotherapy:

  • At least 3 months since prior radiotherapy

Surgery:

  • At least 6 months between prior oophorectomy and baseline aspiration

Other:

  • At least 2 weeks since the start of other new medication that would be ingested for 1 or more months

Trial locations and contacts

2 sites in 1 country.

United States2 sites
  • U.S. Oncology Research, Inc.

    Dallas, Texas, 75246

  • University of Kansas Medical Center

    Kansas City, Kansas, 66160-7820

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Phase II Clinical Trial of a Selective Estrogen Receptor Modulator (LY353381*HCl) in High Risk Women With Fine Needle Aspiration Cytologic Evidence of Hyperplasia

RATIONALE: Chemoprevention therapy is the use of certain drugs to try to prevent the development or recurrence of cancer. The use of LY353381 may be an effective way to prevent the development of breast cancer in women who have hyperplasia.

PURPOSE: Randomized phase II trial to study the effectiveness of LY353381 in preventing breast cancer in women who have hyperplasia.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine if LY353381 hydrochloride improves baseline cytology in women at high risk for breast cancer.
  • Determine if this drug modulates other potential surrogate endpoint biomarkers or drug effect biomarkers.
  • Determine if cytologic improvement is associated with initial presentation of the various stratification factors.
  • Determine whether cytology is correlated with other potential surrogate endpoint biomarkers or drug effect biomarkers and whether change in cytology is correlated with change in the other biomarkers.
  • Monitor the effects of this drug in terms of quality of life and women's health.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, double-blind, multicenter study followed by an open-label study for both arms. Patients are stratified according to cytologic status (hyperplasia with atypia vs hyperplasia without atypia), mutation status (known carrier for BRCA1 or BRCA2 genes vs known not to be a carrier of mutant genes), menopausal status (premenopausal vs postmenopausal), estrogen-receptor status, and participating center. Patients are randomized to one of two treatment arms.

  • Arm I: Patients receive oral LY353381 hydrochloride once daily for 6 months.
  • Arm II: Patients receive oral placebo once daily for 6 months. Patients in both arms then receive oral LY353381 hydrochloride for an additional 6 months.

Quality of life is assessed at baseline and then at 6 and 12 months.

Patients are followed at 2 weeks and then annually for 5 years.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 210-220 patients will be accrued for this study within 2.5-3 years.

Conditions
Breast Cancer
Being tested
arzoxifene, Placebo
Keywords
breast cancer
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • arzoxifeneDrug

    Also called LY353381

    one tablet daily

  • PlaceboDrug

    matched tablet dialy

Study groups in NCT00005879
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
PlaceboPlacebo comparatorPlacebo
Receives: Drug: Placebo
ArzoxifeneExperimentalLY353381, 20 mg daily
Receives: Drug: arzoxifene

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Change in Masood Score

    Change in the semi-quantitative score assigned by the designated cytopathologist.

    Range 6-24. Score represents increasing abnormality (i.e., worse appearance) Sum composite of 6 cytomorphological features, each scored as 1-4.

    Measured: Baseline to 6 months

  2. Number of Participants With Improvement From Baseline in Cytomorphologic Abnormality at 6 Months

    Change (improvement) in categorical descriptor of cytologic abnormality as assigned by the primary cytopathologist.

    Categories include: normal (non-proliferative), epithelial hyperplasia, epithelial hyperplasia with atypia.

    Measured: Baseline to 6 months

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startAug 2000
  3. Primary completionJul 2008
  4. Study completionJul 2008

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Prevention
Allocation
Randomised
Intervention model
Parallel groups
Masking
Quadruple blind
Who is masked
Participant, Care provider, Investigator, Outcomes assessor
Enrolment
199 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00005879
Sponsor's protocol ID
KUMC-HSC-7264-97
Other IDs
CDR0000067918, NCI-P00-0146, U01CA077165
Status last verified
Apr 2017
First submitted
2 Jun 2000
Last updated
30 May 2017
Data monitoring committee
No
Individual data sharing
No: Global results will be published.

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing arzoxifene in people with Breast Cancer, run by University of Kansas Medical Center at 2 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 30 May 2017. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 2 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. Some participants in this study may receive a placebo. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 30 May 2017). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Change in Masood Score (time frame: Baseline to 6 months). The study lists 2 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 30 May 2017.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in