Lichen PlanusNCT06327620
Treatment Of Oral Lichen Planus
A study testing Daivobet ointment, topical steroids in people with Lichen Planus, run by Mansoura University at 1 site in Egypt.
Trial summary
This novel project aims to explore an alternative treatment for oral lichen planus (OLP), a challenging condition with limited therapeutic options. The proposed treatment involves the topical application of Daivobet ointment, a combination of calcipotriol (vitamin D analog) and betamethasone (corticosteroid), which… Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 30 to 60 years
- Conditions the study is for
- Lichen Planus
- What is being tested?
- Daivobet ointment, topical steroids
- Could I receive a placebo?
- No, everyone receives an active treatment
- How many people
- 15 participants
- Where
- 1 siteEgypt
- Study dates
- 15 Jan 2022to 20 May 2024
- Phase
- Interventional
- Are there results?
- None posted in the registry
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 30 to 60 years
- All sexes
- No healthy volunteers
- Adult
Who may be able to join
- Age between 30-60 years. Clinical signs and symptoms of bilateral intra-oral erosive lichen planus. History of unresponsiveness to currently available therapy. Histopathological confirmation by incisional biopsy. Willingness to topically apply Daivobet ointment in one side and topical steroid in the other side three times daily for 4 weeks.
Who cannot join
- Histological signs of dysplasia. Use of drugs possibly causing a lichenoid reaction. Lesions in contact with dental amalgam restorations. Any topical or systemic medications used in the treatment of oral lichen planus within four weeks before the study.
- History of hypersensitivity to the drug used in the current study.
Trial locations and contacts
1 site in 1 country.
Egypt1 site, 1 recruiting
- Recruiting
Mansoura University, Faculty of Dentistry
Al Mansurah, Dakahlia Governorate, 35516
Mona Montaser, mmontaser@mans.edu.eg
About this study
Official title: A Novel Alternative Treatment Of Oral Lichen Planus
This novel project aims to explore an alternative treatment for oral lichen planus (OLP), a challenging condition with limited therapeutic options. The proposed treatment involves the topical application of Daivobet ointment, a combination of calcipotriol (vitamin D analog) and betamethasone (corticosteroid), which has shown promising results in the treatment of psoriasis Vulgaris.
The study will involve 15 patients aged 30-60 years with clinically confirmed intra-oral erosive lichen planus, some of whom have not responded to current therapies. Participants will apply Daivobet ointment three times daily for four weeks, with clinical assessments conducted at the beginning, and at the end of the second and fourth weeks.
Read more
Inclusion criteria require the presence of bilateral oral erosive lichen planus lesions, with clinical and histopathological confirmation based on the World Health Organization's modified definition. Exclusion criteria include histological signs of dysplasia, use of drugs possibly causing lichenoid reactions, recent treatment for OLP, and hypersensitivity to the study drug.
Clinical evaluations will employ a scoring system based on lesion characteristics, including ulceration, erythema, and reticulation, measured with a calibrated grid. Subjective responses will be assessed through discomfort scores on a visual analog scale, and a questionnaire will capture any adverse effects. Digital photographs will document visual changes, and incisional biopsies will be performed to confirm the diagnosis.
The project aims to provide valuable insights into the efficacy and safety of the Daivobet ointment as a potential alternative treatment for oral lichen planus, offering hope for improved outcomes for patients suffering from this challenging condition.
Read the detailed description
This clinical study aims to explore a novel alternative treatment for oral lichen planus (OLP) utilizing Daivobet ointment, a combination of calcipotriol and betamethasone. The protocol is designed to provide in-depth technical information on patient selection, treatment procedures, clinical assessments, and statistical analyses, ensuring a comprehensive understanding of the study's methodology.
Patient Selection:
Fifteen patients aged 30-60 with bilateral intra-oral erosive lichen planus symptoms will be recruited from the department of Oral Medicine and Diagnosis at the Faculty of Dentistry, Kafr Elsheikh University. Participants with a history of unresponsiveness to current therapies will undergo histopathological confirmation through incisional biopsy.
Inclusion Criteria:
Presence of bilateral oral erosive lichen planus lesions. Clinical and histopathological diagnosis of oral lichen planus based on a modified definition of the World Health Organization (WHO).
Exclusion Criteria:
Histological signs of dysplasia. Use of drugs possibly causing a lichenoid reaction and lesions in contact with dental amalgam restorations.
Any topical or systemic medications used in the treatment of oral lichen planus within four weeks before the study.
Patients with a history of hypersensitivity to the drug used in the current study.
Clinical Assessment:
Patients will be instructed to topically apply Daivobet ointment on one side and a topical steroid on the other side three times daily for four weeks. Clinical evaluations will be conducted at the study's onset, with baseline parameters recorded, and reassessed at the end of the second and fourth weeks.
Objective Response:
Lesions of oral lichen planus will be scored using a scaled tongue blade, categorizing them from 0 (no lesion) to 5 (erosive area >1cm2). Quantitative measurements will be calculated using a transparent grid to obtain the total area of the lesion.
Subjective Response:
Discomfort scores will be recorded on a visual analog scale ranging from 0 to 3, and a questionnaire documenting potential adverse effects will be completed. Patients will rank the severity of their discomfort.
Biopsy Specimens and Laboratory Investigations:
Incisional biopsy specimens will be obtained under local anesthesia, incorporating both clinically normal and diseased tissues. The specimens will undergo routine histologic study, confirming the diagnosis through formalin-fixed, paraffin-embedded, hematoxylin-and eosin-stained sections.
Statistical Analysis:
Data analysis will be performed using SPSS version 16 for Windows. The normality of data will be assessed using Shapiro-Wilk tests. Descriptive statistics, median, minimum, and maximum tests will be employed to describe the measure of central tendency and dispersion in each group. Groups will be compared using the Mann-Whitney U test. For non-parametric continuous variables, the degree of improvement will be calculated, and the mean value for the degree of improvement used to compare between groups. The significance level will be set at P ≤ 0.05.
Patient Registry Procedures:
Quality assurance plan addressing data validation, registry procedures, site monitoring, and auditing.
Data checks to compare entered data against predefined rules for range or consistency.
Source data verification assessing the accuracy, completeness, or representativeness of registry data by comparing it to external sources.
Data dictionary containing detailed descriptions of each variable, including source, coding information, and normal ranges.
Standard Operating Procedures covering registry operations and analysis activities, including patient recruitment, data collection, management, analysis, reporting for adverse events, and change management.
Sample size assessment specifying the number of participants or participant years necessary to demonstrate an effect.
Plan for missing data addressing situations where variables are reported as missing, unavailable, non-reported, uninterpretable, or considered missing due to data inconsistency or out-of-range results.
Statistical analysis plan describing the analytical principles and techniques employed to address the primary and secondary objectives, as specified in the study protocol or plan.
- Conditions
- Lichen Planus
- Being tested
- Daivobet ointment, topical steroids
- Keywords
- lichen planus, Treatment
- Medical subject headings
- Lichen Planus
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
Daivobet ointment, topical steroidsCombination product
Daivobet Ointment: This intervention involves the topical application of Daivobet ointment, which is a combination of calcipotriol and betamethasone. The application is to be done three times daily for four weeks.
Topical Steroid: This intervention entails the topical application of a steroid ointment three times daily for four weeks. The specific steroid and its details are not disclosed in the provided information.
| Study group | Role | What they receive |
|---|---|---|
| Daivobet Ointment | Experimental | Daivobet Ointment Arm: Patients in this arm will be asked to topically apply Daivobet ointment three times daily for four weeks Receives: Combination Product: Daivobet ointment, topical steroids |
| Topical steroids | Active comparator | Patients in this arm will be asked to topically apply a steroid ointment three times daily for four weeks. Receives: Combination Product: Daivobet ointment, topical steroids |
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
Clinical Improvement of Oral Lichen Planus Lesions
Assessment of the degree of clinical improvement based on the reduction in the severity of oral lichen planus lesions.
Measured: End of the second and fourth weeks of treatment.
Secondary outcomes (2)
Objective Response Score
Measurement of the objective response using a scaled tongue blade to score oral lichen planus lesions based on defined criteria.
Measured: End of the second and fourth weeks of treatment
Subjective Response Score
Evaluation of subjective response through discomfort scores recorded on a visual analog scale, ranking the severity of discomfort
Measured: Start of the study and at the end of the second and fourth weeks of treatment.
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted25 Mar 2024
- Study start15 Jan 2022
- Primary completion20 May 2024 (estimated)
- Study completion20 May 2024 (estimated)
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Other trials for Lichen PlanusStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- More trials run by Mansoura UniversityThe sponsor's other registered studies.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase N/A
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Intervention model
- Single group
- Masking
- Triple blind
- Who is masked
- Participant, Investigator, Outcomes assessor
- Enrolment
- 15 participants (estimated)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- Mansoura University
- Sponsor type
- University, hospital or other
- Responsible party
- Principal investigator, Wafaa Saleh, Mansoura University
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT06327620
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- A002021015
- Status last verified
- Mar 2024
- First submitted
- 18 Mar 2024
- Last updated
- 25 Mar 2024
- Results posted
- No
- Data monitoring committee
- No
- FDA-regulated drug
- No
- FDA-regulated device
- No
- Individual data sharing
- No
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 25 Mar 2024. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- A Novel Alternative Treatment Of Oral Lichen Planus
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT06327620
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- A002021015
- Conditions
- Lichen Planus
- Keywords
- lichen planus, Treatment
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Unknown status
- Enrolment
- 15 participants (estimated)
- Lead sponsor
- Mansoura UniversityUniversity, hospital or other
- Study start
- 15 Jan 2022 (actual)
- Primary completion
- 20 May 2024 (estimated)
- Study completion
- 20 May 2024 (estimated)
- First posted
- 25 Mar 2024 (actual)
- Results
- Not posted in the source record
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
This novel project aims to explore an alternative treatment for oral lichen planus (OLP), a challenging condition with limited therapeutic options. The proposed treatment involves the topical application of Daivobet ointment, a combination of calcipotriol (vitamin D analog) and betamethasone (corticosteroid), which has shown promising results in the treatment of psoriasis Vulgaris.
The study will involve 15 patients aged 30-60 years with clinically confirmed intra-oral erosive lichen planus, some of whom have not responded to current therapies. Participants will apply Daivobet ointment three times daily for four weeks, with clinical assessments conducted at the beginning, and at the end of the second and fourth weeks.
Inclusion criteria require the presence of bilateral oral erosive lichen planus lesions, with clinical and histopathological confirmation based on the World Health Organization's modified definition. Exclusion criteria include histological signs of dysplasia, use of drugs possibly causing lichenoid reactions, recent treatment for OLP, and hypersensitivity to the study drug.
Clinical evaluations will employ a scoring system based on lesion characteristics, including ulceration, erythema, and reticulation, measured with a calibrated grid. Subjective responses will be assessed through discomfort scores on a visual analog scale, and a questionnaire will capture any adverse effects. Digital photographs will document visual changes, and incisional biopsies will be performed to confirm the diagnosis.
The project aims to provide valuable insights into the efficacy and safety of the Daivobet ointment as a potential alternative treatment for oral lichen planus, offering hope for improved outcomes for patients suffering from this challenging condition.
Detailed description
This clinical study aims to explore a novel alternative treatment for oral lichen planus (OLP) utilizing Daivobet ointment, a combination of calcipotriol and betamethasone. The protocol is designed to provide in-depth technical information on patient selection, treatment procedures, clinical assessments, and statistical analyses, ensuring a comprehensive understanding of the study's methodology.
Patient Selection:
Fifteen patients aged 30-60 with bilateral intra-oral erosive lichen planus symptoms will be recruited from the department of Oral Medicine and Diagnosis at the Faculty of Dentistry, Kafr Elsheikh University. Participants with a history of unresponsiveness to current therapies will undergo histopathological confirmation through incisional biopsy.
Inclusion Criteria:
Presence of bilateral oral erosive lichen planus lesions. Clinical and histopathological diagnosis of oral lichen planus based on a modified definition of the World Health Organization (WHO).
Exclusion Criteria:
Histological signs of dysplasia. Use of drugs possibly causing a lichenoid reaction and lesions in contact with dental amalgam restorations.
Any topical or systemic medications used in the treatment of oral lichen planus within four weeks before the study.
Patients with a history of hypersensitivity to the drug used in the current study.
Clinical Assessment:
Patients will be instructed to topically apply Daivobet ointment on one side and a topical steroid on the other side three times daily for four weeks. Clinical evaluations will be conducted at the study's onset, with baseline parameters recorded, and reassessed at the end of the second and fourth weeks.
Objective Response:
Lesions of oral lichen planus will be scored using a scaled tongue blade, categorizing them from 0 (no lesion) to 5 (erosive area >1cm2). Quantitative measurements will be calculated using a transparent grid to obtain the total area of the lesion.
Subjective Response:
Discomfort scores will be recorded on a visual analog scale ranging from 0 to 3, and a questionnaire documenting potential adverse effects will be completed. Patients will rank the severity of their discomfort.
Biopsy Specimens and Laboratory Investigations:
Incisional biopsy specimens will be obtained under local anesthesia, incorporating both clinically normal and diseased tissues. The specimens will undergo routine histologic study, confirming the diagnosis through formalin-fixed, paraffin-embedded, hematoxylin-and eosin-stained sections.
Statistical Analysis:
Data analysis will be performed using SPSS version 16 for Windows. The normality of data will be assessed using Shapiro-Wilk tests. Descriptive statistics, median, minimum, and maximum tests will be employed to describe the measure of central tendency and dispersion in each group. Groups will be compared using the Mann-Whitney U test. For non-parametric continuous variables, the degree of improvement will be calculated, and the mean value for the degree of improvement used to compare between groups. The significance level will be set at P ≤ 0.05.
Patient Registry Procedures:
Quality assurance plan addressing data validation, registry procedures, site monitoring, and auditing.
Data checks to compare entered data against predefined rules for range or consistency.
Source data verification assessing the accuracy, completeness, or representativeness of registry data by comparing it to external sources.
Data dictionary containing detailed descriptions of each variable, including source, coding information, and normal ranges.
Standard Operating Procedures covering registry operations and analysis activities, including patient recruitment, data collection, management, analysis, reporting for adverse events, and change management.
Sample size assessment specifying the number of participants or participant years necessary to demonstrate an effect.
Plan for missing data addressing situations where variables are reported as missing, unavailable, non-reported, uninterpretable, or considered missing due to data inconsistency or out-of-range results.
Statistical analysis plan describing the analytical principles and techniques employed to address the primary and secondary objectives, as specified in the study protocol or plan.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Intervention model
- Single group
- Masking
- Triple blind (participant, investigator, outcomes assessor)
- Number of arms
- 2
| Arm | Type | Receives |
|---|---|---|
| Daivobet Ointment | Experimental | Combination Product: Daivobet ointment, topical steroidsDaivobet Ointment Arm: Patients in this arm will be asked to topically apply Daivobet ointment three times daily for four weeks |
| Topical steroids | Active comparator | Combination Product: Daivobet ointment, topical steroidsPatients in this arm will be asked to topically apply a steroid ointment three times daily for four weeks. |
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 30 to 60 years
- Sex
- All
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Adult
Key inclusion criteria (1 listed)
- Age between 30-60 years. Clinical signs and symptoms of bilateral intra-oral erosive lichen planus. History of unresponsiveness to currently available therapy. Histopathological confirmation by incisional biopsy. Willingness to topically apply Daivobet ointment in one side and topical steroid in the other side three times daily for 4 weeks.
Key exclusion criteria (2 listed)
- Histological signs of dysplasia. Use of drugs possibly causing a lichenoid reaction. Lesions in contact with dental amalgam restorations. Any topical or systemic medications used in the treatment of oral lichen planus within four weeks before the study.
- History of hypersensitivity to the drug used in the current study.
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| Daivobet ointment, topical steroidsDaivobet Ointment: This intervention involves the topical application of Daivobet ointment, which is a combination of calcipotriol and betamethasone. The application is to be done three times daily for four weeks. Topical Steroid: This intervention entails the topical application of a steroid ointment three times daily for four weeks. The specific steroid and its details are not disclosed in the provided information. | Combination product | Daivobet Ointment, Topical steroids |
Primary outcome
Clinical Improvement of Oral Lichen Planus Lesions
Time frame: End of the second and fourth weeks of treatment.
Assessment of the degree of clinical improvement based on the reduction in the severity of oral lichen planus lesions.
2 secondary outcomes
Objective Response Score
Time frame: End of the second and fourth weeks of treatment
Subjective Response Score
Time frame: Start of the study and at the end of the second and fourth weeks of treatment.
Results and safety
Results are not available in the source record.
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 25 Mar 2024.
- Individual participant dataSharing planned: No
Related trials for Lichen Planus
RecruitingObservational study
Salivary IL-8 and Serum IL-6 as Biomarkers for Oral Potentially Malignant Disorders in Smokers and Never-Smokers
Oral Potentially Malignant Disorders, Oral Lichen Planus
Not yet recruiting
Curcumin-mediated Photodynamic Therapy Versus Photobiomodulation in the Treatment of Oral Erosive Lichen Planus
Oral Lichen Planus
Not yet recruiting
Adherence to Topical and Systemic Medications Among Symptomatic Oral Lichen Planus Patients: A Pilot Randomized Clinical Trial
Degree of Adherence of Symptomatic OLP Patients to Their Medications
RecruitingPhase 2
A Study to Assess the Efficacy and Safety of GIA632 Across a Range of Doses in Participants With Moderate to Severe Cutaneous Lichen Planus
Cutaneous Lichen Planus
RecruitingPhase 2
Upadacitinib in Adult Patients With Erosive Mucosal Lichen Planus and Lichen Planopilaris: a Prospective Multicenter Randomized Placebo-controlled Study.
Lichen Penis Planus
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
1 site in 1 country: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A study testing Daivobet ointment, topical steroids in people with Lichen Planus, run by Mansoura University at 1 site in Egypt.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
The sponsor lists 1 inclusion and 2 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: status not confirmed, as of the sponsor's last update on 25 Mar 2024. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 1 site in Egypt. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
Are results available for this study?
Results are not available in the source record.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
Contact Wafaa saleh, Ph.D (01030539617, wafaasaid@mans.edu.eg), or a site near the patient. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
Clinical Improvement of Oral Lichen Planus Lesions (time frame: End of the second and fourth weeks of treatment.). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 25 Mar 2024.