AzTrials
AzTrials

MigraineNCT04992897

Real-world Data Analysis of REN Treatment in Migraine Patients

An observational study of Migraine, run by Theranica at 2 sites in 2 countries.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

Data analysis concerning four sets of metrics: A. Per-treatment patterns of REN use as a standalone treatment vs. in combination with medications. B. Per-user Intra-individual consistency of efficacy across multiple treatments (consistency defined as a response to treatment in at least 50% of treatments). C. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Any age
Conditions the study is for
Migraine
What is being tested?
Remote Electrical Neuromodulation (REN)
Type of treatment
Medical device
How many people
12,151 participants
Where
2 sitesin 2 countries
Study dates
15 Jun 2021to 10 Aug 2021
Phase
Observational
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Any age
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

Study population: REN users across the United States who used Nerivio between October 1st, 2019, and May 24th, 2021.

Who may be able to join

  • REN users in the U.S.

Who cannot join

  • Cohort 1 REN treatments that were shorter than 20 minutes or did not have a report of pain level.
  • Cohort 2 Treatments in which medications were taken within 2 hours from REN treatment. Users that had less than 2 REN treatments.
  • Cohort 3 REN treatments that were shorter than 20 minutes
  • Cohort 4 All REN sessions, regardless of duration or medication intake.

Trial locations and contacts

2 sites in 2 countries.

2 sites in 2 countries

United States1 site
  • Theranica USA Inc

    Bridgewater, New Jersey, 08807

Other trials in United States

Israel1 site
  • Theranica Bio-Electronics

    Netanya

Other trials in Israel

About this study

Official title: Real-world Analysis of Remote Electrical Neuromodulation (REN) for the Acute Treatment of Migraine

Data analysis concerning four sets of metrics: A. Per-treatment patterns of REN use as a standalone treatment vs. in combination with medications. B. Per-user Intra-individual consistency of efficacy across multiple treatments (consistency defined as a response to treatment in at least 50% of treatments). C. Distribution of treatment intensity among users (the electroceutical equivalent to treatment dose). D. Prevalence and severity of adverse events.

Read the detailed description

The REN device The REN device is a wearable device applied to the upper arm and stimulates C and Aδ noxious fibers using a modulated, symmetrical, biphasic, square pulse with a pulse width of 400 μs, modulated frequency of 100-120 Hz, and up to 40 mA output current which can be adjusted by the patient.

Data collection As part of the sign-up process to the Nerivio app, all patients accept the terms of use which specify that providing personal information is done of their own free will, and that their de-identified data may be used for research purposes. Users were not obligated to provide personal information and could treat without providing any feedback. The app includes a secured, personal migraine diary, which enables patients to record and track their migraines and other headaches. At the beginning of each treatment, and again 2 hours after the start of treatment, patients are prompted to record their symptoms, including pain level (none, mild, moderate, severe), functional disability ('No limitation, 'Some limitation', 'Moderate limitation, 'Severe limitation), and indication of which medications, if any, were taken within that 2-hour time window.

Dataset Real-world data of REN treatments collected from patients across the United States who used the REN device.

'Treatment' defined as a REN treatment of at least 20 minutes (the nominal duration is 45 minutes).

'Evaluable treatment' defined as a treatment in which pain levels were reported at baseline and post 2 hours.

Inclusion criteria for each of the different metrics:

  1. REN-medication combinations: all evaluable treatments. B. Consistent efficacy: all users that performed at least 2 evaluable treatments. In order to isolate the effect of REN treatments, this dataset considered only treatments where REN was used as a standalone treatment.
  2. Intensity stability: all treatments. D. Safety: all reported adverse events (AEs) within the time period.

Outcome measures

Respectively, outcome measures:

  1. REN-Medication combinations (prevalence \& efficacy):

Medication intake outcomes calculated based on the 2h post-treatment report and comprised of the percentage of treatments in which no rescue medications were used, treatments in which OTC medications were taken, treatments in which triptans were taken, treatments in which other prescription medications were taken, and treatments in which medication intake status was not reported. OTC included acetaminophen, NSAIDs, and combinations of the two, with or without caffeine.

Efficacy outcomes calculated based on the baseline and post-2h reports and comprised of:

(i) consistency of pain relief (decrease in headache from moderate or severe at baseline to mild or no pain); (ii) consistency of pain-freedom (decrease in headache from mild, moderate, or severe at baseline to no pain); (iii) Consistency of improvement in function (improvement in at least one grade between baseline and 2 hours); and (iv) consistency of return to normal function (no functional disability at 2 hours).

  1. Consistent efficacy:

Consistency defined as a response of a patient to the treatment in at least 50% of their treated attacks, and calculated for the four efficacy outcomes: (i) consistency of pain relief (ii) consistency of pain-freedom (iii) consistency of improvement in function; and (iv) consistency of return to normal function.

  1. Treatment intensity:

The mean intensity of the stimulation collected for all treatments that were 20 minutes or longer, which were performed within the study's time window.

  1. Safety:

All adverse events that were reported within the study's period, the following information provided: number of device-related AEs, percentage of the device-related AEs that were mild, moderate, and severe, and percentage of AEs that were serious vs. not serious.

Conditions
Migraine
Being tested
Remote Electrical Neuromodulation (REN)
Keywords
Migraine, headache, REN, Nerivio
Medical subject headings
Migraine Disorders, Headache

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • Remote Electrical Neuromodulation (REN)Device

    Also called Nerivio

    Acute migraine treament

Study groups in NCT04992897
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
REN-Medication combinationsall evaluable treatments. 'Treatment' defined as a REN treatment of at least 20 minutes (the nominal duration is 45 minutes). 'Evaluable treatment' defined as a treatment in which pain levels were reported at baseline and post 2 hours.
Receives: Device: Remote Electrical Neuromodulation (REN)
Consistent efficacyall users that performed at least 2 evaluable treatments. In order to isolate the effect of REN treatments, this dataset considered only treatments where REN was used as a standalone treatment. 'Treatment' defined as a REN treatment of at least 20 minutes (the nominal duration is 45 minutes). 'Evaluable treatment' defined as a treatment in which pain levels were reported at baseline and post 2 hours.
Receives: Device: Remote Electrical Neuromodulation (REN)
Treatment intensity distributionall treatments. 'Treatment' defined as a REN treatment of at least 20 minutes (the nominal duration is 45 minutes).
Receives: Device: Remote Electrical Neuromodulation (REN)
Safetyall reported treatment/device-related adverse events (AEs) within the time period.
Receives: Device: Remote Electrical Neuromodulation (REN)

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. REN-medication combinations- prevalence

    Medication intake outcomes calculated based on the 2h post-treatment report and comprised of the percentage of treatments in which no rescue medications were used, treatments in which OTC medications were taken, treatments in which triptans were taken, treatments in which other prescription medications were taken, and treatments in which medication intake status was not reported. OTC included acetaminophen, NSAIDs, and combinations of the two, with or without caffeine.

    Measured: 2 hours from treatment onset

  2. REN-medication combinations- efficacy of the combinations

    The efficacy of treatments in which medications were taken will be calculated based on the 2 hours post-treatment pain report. The overall efficacy rate will be calculated as the percentage of treatments in which response to the treatment was achieved, out of all the treatments.

    Measured: 2 hours from treatment onset

  3. percentage of users that achieve consistency of efficacy

    Consistency defined as a response of a patient to the treatment in at least 50% of their treated attacks, and calculated for the four efficacy outcomes: (i) consistency of pain relief (ii) consistency of pain-freedom (iii) consistency of improvement in function; and (iv) consistency of return to normal function.

    Measured: 2 hours from treatment onset

  4. Treatment intensity distribution

    The mean intensity of the stimulation collected for all treatments that were 20 minutes or longer, which were performed within the study's time window.

    Measured: 20 minutes from treatment onset

  5. Safety (number of users reporting device/treatment-related adverse events)

    The percentage of users reporting adverse events, out of the overall number of users, and the severity of the treatment/device-related adverse events.

    Measured: 20 months

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted5 Aug 2021
  2. Study start15 Jun 2021
  3. Primary completion7 Aug 2021
  4. Study completion10 Aug 2021

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Observational
Observational model
Cohort
Time perspective
Retrospective
Enrolment
12,151 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT04992897
Sponsor's protocol ID
RW002
Status last verified
Jul 2021
First submitted
4 Jul 2021
Last updated
22 Nov 2024
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
No
FDA-regulated device
Yes
Individual data sharing
No

Publications

  • Yarnitsky D, Dodick DW, Grosberg BM, Burstein R, Ironi A, Harris D, Lin T, Silberstein SD. Remote Electrical Neuromodulation (REN) Relieves Acute Migraine: A Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled, Multicenter Trial. Headache. 2019 Sep;59(8):1240-1252. doi: 10.1111/head.13551. Epub 2019 May 9.

    PubMed 31074005
  • Tepper SJ, Lin T, Montal T, Ironi A, Dougherty C. Real-world Experience with Remote Electrical Neuromodulation in the Acute Treatment of Migraine. Pain Med. 2020 Dec 25;21(12):3522-3529. doi: 10.1093/pm/pnaa299.

    PubMed 32935848
  • Hershey AD, Lin T, Gruper Y, Harris D, Ironi A, Berk T, Szperka CL, Berenson F. Remote electrical neuromodulation for acute treatment of migraine in adolescents. Headache. 2021 Feb;61(2):310-317. doi: 10.1111/head.14042. Epub 2020 Dec 21.

    PubMed 33349920
  • Nierenburg H, Vieira JR, Lev N, Lin T, Harris D, Vizel M, Ironi A, Lewis B, Wright P. Remote Electrical Neuromodulation for the Acute Treatment of Migraine in Patients with Chronic Migraine: An Open-Label Pilot Study. Pain Ther. 2020 Dec;9(2):531-543. doi: 10.1007/s40122-020-00185-1. Epub 2020 Jul 9.

    PubMed 32648205
  • Rapoport AM, Lin T. Device profile of the Nerivio for acute migraine treatment: overview of its efficacy and safety. Expert Rev Med Devices. 2019 Dec;16(12):1017-1023. doi: 10.1080/17434440.2019.1695599. Epub 2019 Nov 25.

    PubMed 31747304
  • Marmura MJ, Lin T, Harris D, Ironi A, Rosen NL. Incorporating Remote Electrical Neuromodulation (REN) Into Usual Care Reduces Acute Migraine Medication Use: An Open-Label Extension Study. Front Neurol. 2020 Apr 7;11:226. doi: 10.3389/fneur.2020.00226. eCollection 2020.

    PubMed 32318014

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

An observational study of Migraine, run by Theranica at 2 sites in 2 countries.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

The sponsor lists 1 inclusion and 4 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 22 Nov 2024. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 2 sites in United States, Israel. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

REN-medication combinations- prevalence (time frame: 2 hours from treatment onset). The study lists 5 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT04992897, which also lists 6 linked publications.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 22 Nov 2024.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in