AzTrials
AzTrials

COVID-19Phase 3BLAZE-2NCT04497987

A Study of LY3819253 (LY-CoV555) and LY3832479 (LY-CoV016) in Preventing SARS-CoV-2 Infection and COVID-19 in Nursing Home Residents and Staff

A Phase 3 study testing Bamlanivimab and Etesevimab in people with COVID-19 and SARS-CoV2, run by Eli Lilly and Company at 27 sites in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

The purpose of this study is to evaluate whether LY3819253 given alone and with LY3832479 prevent severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2) infection and coronavirus disease - 2019 (COVID-19). Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
COVID-19, SARS-CoV2
What is being tested?
Bamlanivimab and Etesevimab
Type of treatment
Injection or infusion
Could I receive a placebo?
Yes, some participants may receive a placebo
How many people
1,180 participants
Where
27 sitesUnited States
Study dates
2 Aug 2020to 20 May 2021
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

Who may be able to join

  • Part 1 and Part 2: Resident or facility staff in a skilled nursing or assisted living facility with at least one confirmed case of SARS-CoV-2 detection less than or equal to (≤)7 days prior to randomization
  • Are men or non-pregnant women who agree to contraceptive requirements
  • Agree to the collection of nasal, mid-turbinate, oropharyngeal, and nasopharyngeal swabs, and venous blood as specified in the schedule of activities
  • Have venous access sufficient to allow intravenous infusions and blood sampling
  • The participant or legally authorized representative give signed informed consent
  • Part 3 only: Resident or staff in a skilled nursing or assisted living facility who satisfy at least one of the following at the time of screening
Show all 17Show fewer
  • Are greater than or equal to (≥) 65 years of age
  • Have a body mass index (BMI) ≥ 35
  • Have chronic kidney disease
  • Have type 1 or type 2 diabetes
  • Have immunosuppressive disease
  • Are currently receiving immunosuppressive treatment, or
  • Are ≥ 55 years of age AND have
  • cardiovascular disease, OR
  • hypertension, OR
  • chronic obstructive pulmonary disease or other chronic respiratory disease
  • Positive SARS-CoV-2 test and infusion within 10 days of symptom onset, OR positive SARS-CoV-2 test and infusion within 10 days of testing if asymptomatic

Who cannot join

  • Parts 1 and 2:
  • Recovered from confirmed COVID-19 disease or asymptomatic infection
  • Prior history of a positive SARS-CoV-2 serology test
  • History of convalescent COVID-19 plasma treatment
  • Participation in a previous SARS-CoV-2 vaccine trial or received an approved SARS-CoV-2 vaccine
  • Previous receipt of SAR-CoV-2-specific monoclonal antibodies
  • Have any serious concomitant systemic disease, condition or disorder that, in the opinion of the investigator, should preclude participation in this study

Trial locations and contacts

27 sites in 1 country.

27 sites in 1 country

United States27 sites
  • University of Colorado-Anschultz Medical Campus

    Aurora, Colorado, 80045

  • Donahoe Manor

    Bedford, Pennsylvania, 15522

  • Allergy and Asthma Clin of NW Ark

    Bentonville, Arkansas, 72712

  • NIAID - National Institute of Allergy & Infectious Diseases

    Bethesda, Maryland, 20892

  • Unv of AL Sch of Med Div of Infectious Diseases

    Birmingham, Alabama, 35294

  • Care Access

    Boston, Massachusetts, 02110

  • Burke Internal Medicine and Research

    Burke, Virginia, 22015

  • Valley Medical Primary Care

    Centerville, Ohio, 45459

  • NIAD

    Chapel Hill, North Carolina, 27599

  • Univ of Cin College of Med

    Cincinnati, Ohio, 45219

  • NIAID

    Decatur, Georgia, 30030

  • Belmont Village, West Univ

    Houston, Texas, 77025

  • Care Access Research LLC

    Huntington Beach, California, 92648

  • Family Medicine

    Indianapolis, Indiana, 46260

  • Care Access

    Jackson, Mississippi, 39206

  • University of Mississippi Medical Center

    Jackson, Mississippi, 39216

  • Care Access Rch Lake Charles

    Lake Charles, Louisiana, 70601

  • Belmont Village Lincoln Park

    Lincoln Park, Illinois, 60614

  • University of Louisville

    Louisville, Kentucky, 40202

  • NIAID

    Miami, Florida, 33136

  • Tulane University School of Medicine

    New Orleans, Louisiana, 70112 2715

  • Alta Bates SMC

    Oakland, California, 94609

  • Children's Hospital & Medical Center

    Omaha, Nebraska, 68114

  • Care Access Research

    Phoenix, Arizona, 85023

  • St. Paul IDA-CARe

    Saint Paul, Minnesota, 55101

  • Care Access Research - Bronx

    The Bronx, New York, 10456

  • OSU Med Intl Med Houston Ctr

    Tulsa, Oklahoma, 74127

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Phase 3 Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Trial to Evaluate the Efficacy and Safety of LY3819253 Alone and in Combination With LY3832479 in Preventing SARS-CoV-2 Infection and COVID-19 in Skilled Nursing and Assisted Living Facility Residents and Staff; a NIAID and Lilly Collaborative Study

The purpose of this study is to evaluate whether LY3819253 given alone and with LY3832479 prevent severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2) infection and coronavirus disease - 2019 (COVID-19). Facility staff and residents in contracted skilled nursing and assisted living facility networks with a high risk of SARS-CoV-2 exposure will receive LY3819253, LY3819253 and LY3832479, or placebo via an injection into a vein. Samples will be taken from the nose. Blood samples will be drawn. Participation could last up to 25 weeks and may include up to 19 visits.

Conditions
COVID-19, SARS-CoV2
Being tested
Bamlanivimab, Placebo, Etesevimab
Keywords
Prevention
Medical subject headings
COVID-19

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • BamlanivimabDrug

    Also called LY-CoV555, LY3819253

    Administered IV.

  • PlaceboDrug

    Administered IV.

  • EtesevimabDrug

    Also called LY-CoV016, LY3832479

    Administered IV.

Study groups in NCT04497987
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Bamlanivimab (Part 1)ExperimentalParticipants received single Intravenous (IV) infusion of 4200 milligrams (mg) bamlanivimab.
Receives: Drug: Bamlanivimab
Placebo (Part 1)Placebo comparatorParticipants received single IV infusion of Placebo.
Receives: Drug: Placebo
Bamlanivimab (Part 2-Prevention)ExperimentalEnrollment for Part 2 was not initiated because the efficacy of Bamlanivimab 4200 mg observed in Part 1 significantly diminished the feasibility of enrolling Part 2.
Receives: Drug: Bamlanivimab
Bamlanivimab + Etesevimab (Part 2-Prevention)ExperimentalEnrollment for Part 2 was not initiated because the efficacy of Bamlanivimab 4200 mg observed in Part 1 significantly diminished the feasibility of enrolling Part 2.
Receives: Drug: Bamlanivimab; Drug: Etesevimab
Placebo Comparator: Placebo (Part 2-Prevention)Placebo comparatorEnrollment for Part 2 was not initiated because the efficacy of Bamlanivimab 4200 mg observed in Part 1 significantly diminished the feasibility of enrolling Part 2.
Receives: Drug: Placebo
Bamlanivimab (Part 2 - Treatment)ExperimentalEnrollment for Part 2 was not initiated because the efficacy of Bamlanivimab 4200 mg observed in Part 1 significantly diminished the feasibility of enrolling Part 2.
Receives: Drug: Bamlanivimab
Bamlanivimab + Etesevimab (Part 2- Treatment)ExperimentalEnrollment for Part 2 was not initiated because the efficacy of Bamlanivimab 4200 mg observed in Part 1 significantly diminished the feasibility of enrolling Part 2.
Receives: Drug: Bamlanivimab; Drug: Etesevimab
Bamlanivimab (Part 3)ExperimentalPart 3 of the study is exploratory, conducted to study exploratory objectives and is not reported in this record. [Participants received single IV infusion of 700 mg bamlanivimab.]
Receives: Drug: Bamlanivimab
Bamlanivimab + Etesevimab (Part 3)ExperimentalPart 3 of the study is exploratory, conducted to study exploratory objectives and is not reported in this record. [Participants received single IV infusion of 700 mg bamlanivimab given with 1400 mg etesevimab.]
Receives: Drug: Bamlanivimab; Drug: Etesevimab

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Percentage of Participants With COVID-19

    The endpoint for the primary analysis is defined as the first occurrence of coronavirus disease - 2019 (COVID-19), defined as the detection of severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2) by reverse transcription - polymerase chain reaction (RT-PCR) AND mild or worse disease severity within 21 days of detection, by Day 57 (8 weeks after randomization). The participant needed to test positive on or prior to week 8, and they needed to develop their symptoms on or after their positive test date, but no later than 21 days after their positive swab OR Week 8, whichever comes first. Logistic regression model was used which includes occurrence of a primary endpoint event as the response variable, and treatment and stratification factors such as facility as explanatory variables.

    Measured: Week 8 after randomization

Secondary outcomes (6)
  1. Percentage of Participants With Moderate or Worse Severity COVID-19

    The endpoint defined as the detection of SARS-CoV-2 by polymerase chain reaction (RT-PCR) AND moderate or worse disease severity within 21 days of detection, by Day 57 (Week 8) were summarized by treatment group. The participant needed to test positive on or prior to week 8, and they needed to develop their symptoms on or after their positive test date, but no later than 21 days after their positive swab OR Week 8, whichever comes first. Logistic regression model was used which includes occurrence of a primary endpoint event as the response variable, and treatment and stratification factors such as facility as explanatory variables.

    Measured: Week 8 after randomization

  2. Percentage of Participants With SARS-CoV-2

    Percentage of Participants with SARS-CoV-2.

    Measured: Week 4

  3. Percentage of Participants Who Are Hospitalized or Have Died Due to COVID-19

    Percentage of Participants Who are Hospitalized or Have Died due to COVID-19.

    Measured: Week 8

  4. Percentage of Participants Who Experience COVID-19-Related Hospitalization, COVID-19 Related Emergency Room Visit, or Death

    Percentage of Participants who Experience COVID-19-Related Hospitalization, COVID-19 Related Emergency Room Visit, or Death.

    Measured: Week 8

  5. Percentage of Participants Who Die Due to COVID-19

    Percentage of Participants Who Die Due to COVID-19.

    Measured: Week 8

  6. Pharmacokinetics (PK): Mean Concentration of Bamlanivimab Administered Alone

    Pharmacokinetics (PK): Mean Concentration of bamlanivimab Administered Alone.

    Measured: Day 29, 57, 85, 141 and 169

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted4 Aug 2020
  2. Study start2 Aug 2020
  3. Primary completion16 Jan 2021
  4. Study completion20 May 2021

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Prevention
Allocation
Randomised
Intervention model
Parallel groups
Masking
Double blind
Who is masked
Participant, Investigator
Enrolment
1,180 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT04497987
Sponsor's protocol ID
18063
Other IDs
J2X-MC-PYAD, CoVPN #3501
Acronym
BLAZE-2
Status last verified
Feb 2022
First submitted
31 Jul 2020
Last updated
4 Feb 2022
Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
Individual data sharing
Yes: Anonymized individual patient level data will be provided in a secure access environment upon approval of a research proposal and a signed data sharing agreement.

Publications

  • Hirsch C, Park YS, Piechotta V, Chai KL, Estcourt LJ, Monsef I, Salomon S, Wood EM, So-Osman C, McQuilten Z, Spinner CD, Malin JJ, Stegemann M, Skoetz N, Kreuzberger N. SARS-CoV-2-neutralising monoclonal antibodies to prevent COVID-19. Cochrane Database Syst Rev. 2022 Jun 17;6(6):CD014945. doi: 10.1002/14651858.CD014945.pub2.

    PubMed 35713300
  • Kreuzberger N, Hirsch C, Chai KL, Tomlinson E, Khosravi Z, Popp M, Neidhardt M, Piechotta V, Salomon S, Valk SJ, Monsef I, Schmaderer C, Wood EM, So-Osman C, Roberts DJ, McQuilten Z, Estcourt LJ, Skoetz N. SARS-CoV-2-neutralising monoclonal antibodies for treatment of COVID-19. Cochrane Database Syst Rev. 2021 Sep 2;9(9):CD013825. doi: 10.1002/14651858.CD013825.pub2.

    PubMed 34473343
  • Nathan R, Shawa I, De La Torre I, Pustizzi JM, Haustrup N, Patel DR, Huhn G. A Narrative Review of the Clinical Practicalities of Bamlanivimab and Etesevimab Antibody Therapies for SARS-CoV-2. Infect Dis Ther. 2021 Dec;10(4):1933-1947. doi: 10.1007/s40121-021-00515-6. Epub 2021 Aug 10.

    PubMed 34374951
  • Cohen MS, Nirula A, Mulligan MJ, Novak RM, Marovich M, Yen C, Stemer A, Mayer SM, Wohl D, Brengle B, Montague BT, Frank I, McCulloh RJ, Fichtenbaum CJ, Lipson B, Gabra N, Ramirez JA, Thai C, Chege W, Gomez Lorenzo MM, Sista N, Farrior J, Clement ME, Brown ER, Custer KL, Van Naarden J, Adams AC, Schade AE, Dabora MC, Knorr J, Price KL, Sabo J, Tuttle JL, Klekotka P, Shen L, Skovronsky DM; BLAZE-2 Investigators. Effect of Bamlanivimab vs Placebo on Incidence of COVID-19 Among Residents and Staff of Skilled Nursing and Assisted Living Facilities: A Randomized Clinical Trial. JAMA. 2021 Jul 6;326(1):46-55. doi: 10.1001/jama.2021.8828.

    PubMed 34081073

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing Bamlanivimab and Etesevimab in people with COVID-19 and SARS-CoV2, run by Eli Lilly and Company at 27 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

The sponsor lists 17 inclusion and 7 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 4 Feb 2022. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 27 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. Some participants in this study may receive a placebo. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 4 Feb 2022). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Percentage of Participants With COVID-19 (time frame: Week 8 after randomization). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT04497987, which also lists 4 linked publications.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 4 Feb 2022.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in