ACL InjuryEarly Phase 1NCT04101682
Continuous Vs Single Shot Block After ACL
A Early Phase 1 study testing Bupivacaine in people with ACL Injury, run by Northwell Health at 1 site in United States.
Trial summary
The investigators will be randomizing patients to either receive an adductor canal block in the operating room postoperatively as single shot of 20-30cc bupivacaine or to have a catheter inserted into the adductor canal which will be attached up to a continuous infusion pump of bupivacaine that will have a set flow… Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 16 years and olderHealthy volunteers can take part
- Conditions the study is for
- ACL Injury
- What is being tested?
- Bupivacaine
- Type of treatment
- Injection or infusion
- Could I receive a placebo?
- No, everyone receives an active treatment
- How many people
- 9 participants
- Where
- 1 siteUnited States
- Study dates
- 25 Sep 2020to 17 May 2022
- Phase
- Early Phase 1
- Are there results?
- None posted in the registry
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 16 years and older
- All sexes
- Healthy volunteers accepted
- Child, Adult, Older adult
Who may be able to join
- Provision of signed and dated informed consent form
- Stated willingness to comply with all study procedures and availability for the duration of the study
- Male or female, aged >16 years old
- In good general health as evidenced by medical history and deemed medically healthy enough to tolerate surgery by the patient's primary care physician
- MRI with evidence of ACL tear, and wanting to have an ACL reconstruction surgery
- Ability to take oral medication and be willing to adhere to the study intervention, including telephone calls
- Agrees to complete surveys required on the days specified between 5-9PM
Who cannot join
- Current daily opioid requirement exceeding the equivalent of 15mg morphine
- Daily prescription of corticosteroid, tricyclic antidepressant, gabapentin, or tramadol
- Carrying the diagnosis of chronic pain syndrome, uncontrolled anxiety, history of schizophrenia or related psychiatric disorders
- History of alcohol or drug abuse/addiction
- History of preexisting nerve damage in the surgical extremity
- Knee surgery (same knee) in the previous 12 weeks
Show all 15Show fewer
- Anticipated knee surgery in the other knee planned in the ensuing 6 months
- Diabetic patients with blood sugar values exceeding 250 mg/dl in the previous month
- BMI >40Kg/m2
- Pregnancy, which will be determined by a serum or urine HCG test on the day of surgery.
- Incarceration
- Inability to communicate with staff, including being unreachable by telephone
- Revision ACL reconstruction
- Patient reconsideration after initial agreement.
- Non-English speaking subjects
Trial locations and contacts
1 site in 1 country.
About this study
Official title: Continuous Vs Single Shot Adductor Canal Block After ACL Reconstruction - A Randomized Study
The investigators will be randomizing patients to either receive an adductor canal block in the operating room postoperatively as single shot of 20-30cc bupivacaine or to have a catheter inserted into the adductor canal which will be attached up to a continuous infusion pump of bupivacaine that will have a set flow rate over the next couple days. The investigators' hypothesis is that patients will have better pain control, sleep, and decreased opioid consumption with the use of a continuous infusion pump
Read the detailed description
Screening evaluation will occur during the preoperative visit prior to surgery which generally occurs within 28 days prior to surgery. No separate screening is indicated in this study.
Patients will be asked to participate in the study if they are having ACL Reconstruction surgery with one of the orthopedic surgeons who is participating in the study. They will be informed and consented in the office or in the preoperative holding area prior to surgery.
Patients undergo ACL reconstruction at either Plainview, Franklin, Huntington, Long Island Jewish, or North Shore University Hospital.
Any medical condition that is present at the time that the participant is screened will be considered as baseline and not reported as an adverse event (AE). However, if the study participant's condition deteriorates at any time during the study, it will be recorded as an AE.
Changes in the severity of an AE will be documented to allow an assessment of the duration of the event at each level of severity to be performed. AEs characterized as intermittent require documentation of onset and duration of each episode.
The investigator who is making phone calls to the given participant will record all reportable events with start dates occurring any time after informed consent is obtained until 7 (for non-serious AEs) or 30 days (for SAEs) after the last day of study participation. At each study visit/phone call, the investigator will inquire about the occurrence of AE/SAEs since the last visit/phone call. Events will be followed for outcome information until resolution or stabilization.
Study procedures and evaluations
- All patients who are enrolled in this study will have been evaluated and determined to be a candidate for ACL reconstruction surgery. The indications for surgery, determination of need for surgery and physical examination determining this need are independent from the interventions and outcomes being assessed by this study.
- Efficacy Assessment plan- All patients will be called on postoperative days 1,2,3,4, 7 via and be assessed in person at the post-operative visit. They will be surveyed for primary and secondary outcomes by a study investigator. Primary outcome will be assessed using visual analog scale 0-10. Secondary outcomes; Opiate consumption will be assessed documented during the phone call, Sleep will be assessed by either yes or no answer if the patient had a disturbance in their sleep or had trouble getting to sleep based on pain of the surgical knee in the past 24 hours.
- Screening evaluation will occur during the preoperative visit prior to surgery which generally occurs within 28 days prior to surgery. No separate screening is indicated in this study.
- Procedure for administering study intervention and follow-up procedures. The participant will be seen in the preoperative holding suite prior to surgery to ensure that patient is still willing to undergo randomization for the study. The patient will then undergo randomization by a computer-based software and the anesthesiologist will be informed of the plan. The participant will undergo anesthesia at the discretion of the anesthesiologist per routine given the participant's clinical baseline. The participant will undergo ACL reconstruction based on the standard of care treatment. Following surgery but prior to leaving the operating room the anesthesiologist will place the adductor canal block and the catheter based on the participant's randomization under ultrasound guidance to ensure proper placement of the block. The participant will then undergo routine post-operative care in the recovery suite with routine recovery room vital checks. For participants who are randomized to the continuous pump group, the pump will be assembled and filled by pharmacy and attached to the previously placed catheter while the participant is in the recovery room. Once the participants are awake and alert in the recovery room, a study investigator will review the study specifics again, including the phone calls with written information on the questions that will be asked. They will also be given written instructions on how to use the continuous pumps and how to remove it. If the patient is uncomfortable removing it themselves, they can come to the office to have it removed. For participants who received a continuous pump the investigator will go over the function of the pump, troubleshooting, and how to remove the pump at home. All participants will be discharged home from the recovery room after they have met the routine discharge criteria following existing standard of care recovery room protocols.
- All data will be recorded in an encrypted database which is HIPPA and IRB compliant. All participant information will be labeled with a participant study identification number with no identifiable information documented.
- Conditions
- ACL Injury
- Being tested
- Bupivacaine
- Medical subject headings
- Anterior Cruciate Ligament Injuries
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
BupivacaineDrug
Administered by an anesthesiologist or certified nurse anesthetist, under ultrasound guidance a catheter placed overlying the nerve sheath. This catheter is then connected to a device with a reservoir that administers local anesthetic at a set rate.
| Study group | Role | What they receive |
|---|---|---|
| Single Shot | Active comparator | Patients will receive an adductor canal block in the operating room postoperatively as single shot of 20-30cc bupivacaine Receives: Drug: Bupivacaine |
| Continuous Block | Active comparator | Patients will have a catheter inserted into the adductor canal which will be attached up to a continuous infusion pump of bupivacaine that will have a set flow rate over the next couple days Receives: Drug: Bupivacaine |
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
Pain at Rest
Measured by a visual analogue scale (1-10)
Measured: Day 1
Pain at Rest
Measured by a visual analogue scale (1-10)
Measured: Day 2
Pain at Rest
Measured by a visual analogue scale (1-10)
Measured: Day 3
Pain at Rest
Measured by a visual analogue scale (1-10)
Measured: Day 4
Pain at Rest
Measured by a visual analogue scale (1-10)
Measured: Day 7
Pain at Rest
Measured by a visual analogue scale (1-10)
Measured: Day 14
Worst Pain in the past 24 hours
Measured by visual analogue scale 1-10
Measured: Day 1
Worst Pain in the past 24 hours
Measured by visual analogue scale 1-10
Measured: Day 2
Worst Pain in the past 24 hours
Measured by visual analogue scale 1-10
Measured: Day 3
Worst Pain in the past 24 hours
Measured by visual analogue scale 1-10
Measured: Day 4
Worst Pain in the past 24 hours
Measured by visual analogue scale 1-10
Measured: Day 7
Worst Pain in the past 24 hours
Measured by visual analogue scale 1-10
Measured: Day 14
Secondary outcomes (4)
Daily Opioid Consumption
This will be measured as daily consumption of oxycodone (morphine equivalents)
Measured: on post operative day 1,2,3,4,7, and 14
Incidence of Disturbed Sleep
Measured this by asking if they had a disturbance in their sleep or trouble getting to sleep because of pain in the surgical knee
Measured: on post operative day 1,2,3,4,7, and day 14
IKDC - International Knee Documentation Commitee Form for Knee Function
Subjective validated scoring form for knee function. Scale 0-10. 0 for not being able to perform any function. 10 being no limitation in function
Measured: Preoperatively, 3 months, 6 months
Rand Short Form - 36
The SF-36 consists of eight scaled scores, which are the weighted sums of the questions in their section. Each scale is directly transformed into a 0-100 scale on the assumption that each question carries equal weight. The lower the score the more disability. The higher the score the less disability i.e., a score of zero is equivalent to maximum disability and a score of 100 is equivalent to no disability. To calculate the scores it is necessary to purchase special software. Pricing depends on the number of scores that the researcher needs to calculate.
The eight sections are:
vitality physical functioning bodily pain general health perceptions physical role functioning emotional role functioning social role functioning mental health
Measured: Preoperatively, 3 months, 6 months
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted24 Sep 2019
- Study start25 Sep 2020
- Primary completion17 May 2022
- Study completion17 May 2022
Why it stopped: Not enough enrollment
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Other trials for ACL InjuryStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Early Phase 1
- Primary purpose
- Health services research
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Intervention model
- Parallel groups
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Enrolment
- 9 participants (actual)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- Northwell Health
- Sponsor type
- University, hospital or other
- Responsible party
- Sponsor
- Investigators
- Randy Cohn, MD, Principal investigator, Northwell Health
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT04101682
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- 18-0811
- Status last verified
- Oct 2023
- First submitted
- 26 Aug 2019
- Last updated
- 18 Oct 2023
- Results posted
- No
- Data monitoring committee
- Yes
- FDA-regulated drug
- Yes
- FDA-regulated device
- No
- Individual data sharing
- No
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 18 Oct 2023. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- Continuous Vs Single Shot Adductor Canal Block After ACL Reconstruction - A Randomized Study
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT04101682
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- 18-0811
- Conditions
- ACL Injury
- Phase
- Early Phase 1
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- TerminatedReason stopped: Not enough enrollment
- Enrolment
- 9 participants (actual)
- Lead sponsor
- Northwell HealthUniversity, hospital or other
- Study start
- 25 Sep 2020 (actual)
- Primary completion
- 17 May 2022 (actual)
- Study completion
- 17 May 2022 (actual)
- First posted
- 24 Sep 2019 (actual)
- Results
- Not posted in the source record
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
The investigators will be randomizing patients to either receive an adductor canal block in the operating room postoperatively as single shot of 20-30cc bupivacaine or to have a catheter inserted into the adductor canal which will be attached up to a continuous infusion pump of bupivacaine that will have a set flow rate over the next couple days. The investigators' hypothesis is that patients will have better pain control, sleep, and decreased opioid consumption with the use of a continuous infusion pump
Detailed description
Screening evaluation will occur during the preoperative visit prior to surgery which generally occurs within 28 days prior to surgery. No separate screening is indicated in this study.
Patients will be asked to participate in the study if they are having ACL Reconstruction surgery with one of the orthopedic surgeons who is participating in the study. They will be informed and consented in the office or in the preoperative holding area prior to surgery.
Patients undergo ACL reconstruction at either Plainview, Franklin, Huntington, Long Island Jewish, or North Shore University Hospital.
Any medical condition that is present at the time that the participant is screened will be considered as baseline and not reported as an adverse event (AE). However, if the study participant's condition deteriorates at any time during the study, it will be recorded as an AE.
Changes in the severity of an AE will be documented to allow an assessment of the duration of the event at each level of severity to be performed. AEs characterized as intermittent require documentation of onset and duration of each episode.
The investigator who is making phone calls to the given participant will record all reportable events with start dates occurring any time after informed consent is obtained until 7 (for non-serious AEs) or 30 days (for SAEs) after the last day of study participation. At each study visit/phone call, the investigator will inquire about the occurrence of AE/SAEs since the last visit/phone call. Events will be followed for outcome information until resolution or stabilization.
Study procedures and evaluations
- All patients who are enrolled in this study will have been evaluated and determined to be a candidate for ACL reconstruction surgery. The indications for surgery, determination of need for surgery and physical examination determining this need are independent from the interventions and outcomes being assessed by this study.
- Efficacy Assessment plan- All patients will be called on postoperative days 1,2,3,4, 7 via and be assessed in person at the post-operative visit. They will be surveyed for primary and secondary outcomes by a study investigator. Primary outcome will be assessed using visual analog scale 0-10. Secondary outcomes; Opiate consumption will be assessed documented during the phone call, Sleep will be assessed by either yes or no answer if the patient had a disturbance in their sleep or had trouble getting to sleep based on pain of the surgical knee in the past 24 hours.
- Screening evaluation will occur during the preoperative visit prior to surgery which generally occurs within 28 days prior to surgery. No separate screening is indicated in this study.
- Procedure for administering study intervention and follow-up procedures. The participant will be seen in the preoperative holding suite prior to surgery to ensure that patient is still willing to undergo randomization for the study. The patient will then undergo randomization by a computer-based software and the anesthesiologist will be informed of the plan. The participant will undergo anesthesia at the discretion of the anesthesiologist per routine given the participant's clinical baseline. The participant will undergo ACL reconstruction based on the standard of care treatment. Following surgery but prior to leaving the operating room the anesthesiologist will place the adductor canal block and the catheter based on the participant's randomization under ultrasound guidance to ensure proper placement of the block. The participant will then undergo routine post-operative care in the recovery suite with routine recovery room vital checks. For participants who are randomized to the continuous pump group, the pump will be assembled and filled by pharmacy and attached to the previously placed catheter while the participant is in the recovery room. Once the participants are awake and alert in the recovery room, a study investigator will review the study specifics again, including the phone calls with written information on the questions that will be asked. They will also be given written instructions on how to use the continuous pumps and how to remove it. If the patient is uncomfortable removing it themselves, they can come to the office to have it removed. For participants who received a continuous pump the investigator will go over the function of the pump, troubleshooting, and how to remove the pump at home. All participants will be discharged home from the recovery room after they have met the routine discharge criteria following existing standard of care recovery room protocols.
- All data will be recorded in an encrypted database which is HIPPA and IRB compliant. All participant information will be labeled with a participant study identification number with no identifiable information documented.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Health services research
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Intervention model
- Parallel groups
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Number of arms
- 2
| Arm | Type | Receives |
|---|---|---|
| Single Shot | Active comparator | Drug: BupivacainePatients will receive an adductor canal block in the operating room postoperatively as single shot of 20-30cc bupivacaine |
| Continuous Block | Active comparator | Drug: BupivacainePatients will have a catheter inserted into the adductor canal which will be attached up to a continuous infusion pump of bupivacaine that will have a set flow rate over the next couple days |
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 16 years and older
- Sex
- All
- Healthy volunteers
- Accepted
- Age groups
- Child, Adult, Older adult
Key inclusion criteria (7 listed)
- Provision of signed and dated informed consent form
- Stated willingness to comply with all study procedures and availability for the duration of the study
- Male or female, aged >16 years old
- In good general health as evidenced by medical history and deemed medically healthy enough to tolerate surgery by the patient's primary care physician
- MRI with evidence of ACL tear, and wanting to have an ACL reconstruction surgery
Key exclusion criteria (15 listed)
- Current daily opioid requirement exceeding the equivalent of 15mg morphine
- Daily prescription of corticosteroid, tricyclic antidepressant, gabapentin, or tramadol
- Carrying the diagnosis of chronic pain syndrome, uncontrolled anxiety, history of schizophrenia or related psychiatric disorders
- History of alcohol or drug abuse/addiction
- History of preexisting nerve damage in the surgical extremity
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| BupivacaineAdministered by an anesthesiologist or certified nurse anesthetist, under ultrasound guidance a catheter placed overlying the nerve sheath. This catheter is then connected to a device with a reservoir that administers local anesthetic at a set rate. | Drug | Continuous Block, Single Shot |
Primary outcome
Pain at Rest
Time frame: Day 1
Measured by a visual analogue scale (1-10)
Pain at Rest
Time frame: Day 2
Measured by a visual analogue scale (1-10)
Pain at Rest
Time frame: Day 3
Measured by a visual analogue scale (1-10)
Pain at Rest
Time frame: Day 4
Measured by a visual analogue scale (1-10)
Pain at Rest
Time frame: Day 7
Measured by a visual analogue scale (1-10)
Pain at Rest
Time frame: Day 14
Measured by a visual analogue scale (1-10)
Worst Pain in the past 24 hours
Time frame: Day 1
Measured by visual analogue scale 1-10
Worst Pain in the past 24 hours
Time frame: Day 2
Measured by visual analogue scale 1-10
Worst Pain in the past 24 hours
Time frame: Day 3
Measured by visual analogue scale 1-10
Worst Pain in the past 24 hours
Time frame: Day 4
Measured by visual analogue scale 1-10
Worst Pain in the past 24 hours
Time frame: Day 7
Measured by visual analogue scale 1-10
Worst Pain in the past 24 hours
Time frame: Day 14
Measured by visual analogue scale 1-10
4 secondary outcomes
Daily Opioid Consumption
Time frame: on post operative day 1,2,3,4,7, and 14
Incidence of Disturbed Sleep
Time frame: on post operative day 1,2,3,4,7, and day 14
IKDC - International Knee Documentation Commitee Form for Knee Function
Time frame: Preoperatively, 3 months, 6 months
Rand Short Form - 36
Time frame: Preoperatively, 3 months, 6 months
Results and safety
The study was stopped early (reason given: Not enough enrollment). Results are not available in the source record.
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 18 Oct 2023.
- Individual participant dataSharing planned: No
Related trials for ACL Injury
Not yet recruitingPhase 3
Extended Post-Operative Oral Tranexamic Acid Dosing After ACL Reconstruction
Anterior Cruciate Ligament Injuries, Anterior Cruciate Ligament Rupture
RecruitingObservational study
BioBrace® Augmentation in Anterior Cruciate Ligament Reconstruction Procedures
ACL Tears
Recruiting
Quadriceps Strengthening ACL Reconstruction
ACL Tear
RecruitingObservational study
Evaluation of the Correlation Between Bone Tunnel Projection Placement and Clinical Outcomes in Anterior Cruciate Ligament Reconstruction Surgery
Anterior Cruciate Ligament Injury, Tunneling Technique
Not yet recruiting
Supporting Athletes' Return to Sports After ACL Reconstruction: A Study of a Psychological Readiness Program
Anterior Cruciate Ligament Reconstruction, Anterior Cruciate Ligament Injuries
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Randy Cohn, MD principal investigator
Northwell Health
1 site in 1 country: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Early Phase 1 study testing Bupivacaine in people with ACL Injury, run by Northwell Health at 1 site in United States.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
The sponsor lists 7 inclusion and 15 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: stopped early, as of the sponsor's last update on 18 Oct 2023. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Early Phase 1 (sometimes called Phase 0) studies give a very small amount of a treatment to a few people, mainly to see how the body handles it.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
The study was stopped early (reason given: Not enough enrollment). Results are not available in the source record.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
Pain at Rest (time frame: Day 1). The study lists 12 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 18 Oct 2023.