Partial SeizuresPhase 3PEACHNCT03340064
A Study of Levetiracetam as Monotherapy or Adjunctive Treatment of Partial Seizures in Pediatric Epileptic Subjects Ranging From 1 Month to Less Than 4 Years of Age
A Phase 3 study testing Levetiracetam in people with Partial Seizures, run by UCB Japan Co. Ltd. at 21 sites in Japan.
Trial summary
This is a study to confirm the efficacy of levetiracetam as adjunctive treatment or as monotherapy in pediatric epilepsy subjects aged 1 month to less than 4 years of age with partial seizures. Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 1 month to 3 years
- Conditions the study is for
- Partial Seizures
- What is being tested?
- Levetiracetam
- Type of treatment
- Pill or oral medicine, Injection or infusion
- Could I receive a placebo?
- No, everyone receives an active treatment
- How many people
- 38 participants
- Where
- 21 sitesJapan
- Study dates
- 30 Nov 2017to 28 Jul 2023
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Are there results?
- Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 1 month to 3 years
- All sexes
- No healthy volunteers
- Child
Who may be able to join
- Subject must have a diagnosis of epilepsy with partial onset seizures whether or not secondarily generalized
- Male or female from 1 month to <4 years of age. Pre-term infants aged <1 year are to be stratified into an appropriate age category using the best estimate of their corrected gestational age
- For subjects on adjunctive therapy, subject must be on a stable antiepileptic drug (AED) regimen for the Selection and Evaluation Periods of the study. Minor adjustments to the dose of current AEDs are allowed only prior to Visit 1. Monotherapy subjects must not receive AED treatment, receive temporary AED treatment, or switch an AED prior to Visit 1
- Subject weighs >=3.0 kg
- Subject may have Vagal Nerve Stimulation (VNS) which has been implanted for at least 6 months prior to Visit 1; the settings must be stable for at least 2 months prior to Visit 1. Activated VNS must be counted as 1 of the 2 AEDs
- Subject must have experienced at least 2 observable partial seizures, with or without secondary generalization during each 7-day period during the 2 weeks prior to Visit 1. This time period (the 2 weeks prior to Visit 1) will be referred to as the Retrospective Baseline Period. This seizure information (including type, frequency, and date) must have been recorded on a daily record card (DRC) in order to be acceptable
- If epilepsy surgery has been performed prior to study entry, subjects must have a documented failed epilepsy surgery outcome at least 4 weeks prior to Visit 1
- The use of intermittent benzodiazepines, phenobarbitals, and phenytoins is allowed as long as the frequency is not greater than 1 single administration per week for at least 2 weeks prior to Visit 1 and throughout study participation. If benzodiazepines are used more than once a week, they must be considered as 1 of the AEDs
Who cannot join
- Subject has been taking any medication (other than their concomitant AEDs) that influences the central nervous system (CNS) for which they had not been on a stable regimen for at least 1 month prior to Visit 1
- Subject is taking any medication that may interfere with the absorption, distribution, metabolism, or excretion of the concomitant AEDs or levetiracetam (LEV) during the course of the study
- Subject has received any investigational medication or device within 30 days prior to Visit 1
- Subject has taken LEV prior to the study
- Subjects using felbamate who have presented with clinically significant abnormalities and/or hepatic function during felbamate treatment, and subjects who are taking felbamate <1year from the date of Visit 1
- History of status epilepticus requiring hospitalization during the 30 days prior to Visit 1, except for status epilepticus occurring during the first 10 days of life
Show all 18Show fewer
- Subject has a treatable seizure etiology
- Subject is on a ketogenic diet (concomitantly or within 30 days prior to Visit 1)
- Subject has epilepsy secondary to progressing cerebral diseases
- Subject has a current diagnosis of Rasmussen's syndrome, Landau-Kleffner disease or Lennox-Gastaut syndrome
- Clinically significant deviations from reference range values for renal function or any of the other laboratory parameters required for this study, as determined by the Investigator
- Clinically significant acute or chronic illness (as determined during the physical examination or from other information available to the Investigator)
- Allergy to pyrrolidine derivatives or a history of multiple drug allergies
- Subject is known to have a terminal illness
- Subject has a disorder or condition that may interfere with the absorption, distribution, metabolism, or excretion of medications
- Subject has a history of or presence of pseudoseizures
- Subject has any medical condition that might interfere with the subject's study participation
- Subject has ≥3x upper limit of normal (ULN) of any of the following: alanine aminotransferase (ALT), aspartate aminotransferase (AST), alkaline phosphatase (ALP), or >ULN total bilirubin (≥1.5xULN total bilirubin if known Gilbert's syndrome). If subject has elevations only in total bilirubin that are >ULN and <1.5xULN, fractionate bilirubin to identify possible undiagnosed Gilbert's syndrome (ie, direct bilirubin <35%)
Trial locations and contacts
21 sites in 1 country.
21 sites in 1 country
Japan21 sites
Ep0100 15
Fukuoka
EP0100 3
Hamamatsu
EP0100 6
Izumi
Ep0100 20
Kobe
EP0100 2
Kodaira
Ep0100 21
Kofu
EP0100 7
Kōshi
EP0100 9
Nagakute
EP0100 5
Niigata
Ep0100 12
Ōbu
Ep0100 14
Okayama
Ep0100 11
Ōmura
Ep0100 13
Osaka
Ep0100 18
Saitama
EP0100 4
Sapporo
Ep0100 10
Sendai
Ep0100 19
Sendai
Ep0100 16
Shinjuku-ku
Ep0100 17
Shinjuku-ku
EP0100 1
Shizuoka
Ep0100 22
Toyoake
About this study
Official title: An Open-Label, Single-Arm, Multicenter Study of Levetiracetam as Monotherapy or Adjunctive Treatment of Partial Seizures in Pediatric Epileptic Subjects Ranging From 1 Month to Less Than 4 Years of Age
This is a study to confirm the efficacy of levetiracetam as adjunctive treatment or as monotherapy in pediatric epilepsy subjects aged 1 month to less than 4 years of age with partial seizures.
Read the detailed description
The study will consist of 2 periods. The First Period (6 weeks drug treatment) is designed to confirm efficacy of levetiracetam (LEV), and the Second Period is designed to evaluate the long-term efficacy and safety of LEV.
- Conditions
- Partial Seizures
- Being tested
- Levetiracetam
- Keywords
- Epilepsy, Partial Seizures, Levetiracetam, Monotherapy, Adjunctive Treatment
- Medical subject headings
- Seizures, Epilepsy
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
LevetiracetamDrug
Also called Keppra, E-Keppra, LEV
levetiracetam dry syrup 50% for oral administration and levetiracetam solution for infusion (100 mg/mL)
| Study group | Role | What they receive |
|---|---|---|
| Levetiracetam | Experimental | Subjects aged 1 month to <6 months will be started on levetiracetam (LEV) 14 mg/kg/day at Visit 3. The dose may be increased by LEV 14 mg/kg/day for subjects aged 1 month to <6 months at 2-week intervals to a maximum dose of 42 mg/kg/day. Subjects aged 6 months to <4 years will be started on LEV 20 mg/kg/day at Visit 3. The dose may be increased by LEV 20 mg/kg/day at 2-week intervals to a maximum dose of 60 mg/kg/day.
At Visit 6, subjects may enter the Second Period or enter the Down-Titration Period followed by a Safety Follow-Up Period. Subjects who do not enter the Second Period will be down-titrated. The dose will be decreased by LEV 14 mg/kg/day for subjects aged 1 month to <6 months or by LEV 20 mg/kg/day for subjects aged 6 months to <4 years at 2-week intervals to 0 mg/kg/day. Receives: Drug: Levetiracetam |
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
Percent Change in Partial Seizure Frequency Per Week From Baseline to Visit 6
The percent difference in partial seizure frequency per week at Baseline and Study Visit 6 (Week 6) was computed as: {[(Number of partial seizures per week at Baseline) minus (Number of partial seizures per week at Study Visit 6)] divided by (Number of partial seizures per week at Baseline)} multiplied by 100. A positive value in percent difference from Baseline indicates a reduction in partial seizure frequency from Baseline. Data of this outcome measure was analyzed and reported for participants on adjunctive therapy.
Measured: From Baseline (Week 0) to Visit 6 (up to Week 6)
Secondary outcomes (12)
Percent Change in Partial Seizure Frequency Per Week From Baseline to Visit 4
The percent difference in partial seizure frequency per week at Baseline and Study Visit 4 (Week 2) was computed as: {[(Number of partial seizures per week at Baseline) minus (Number of partial seizures per week at Study Visit 4)] divided by (Number of partial seizures per week at Baseline)} multiplied by 100. A positive value in percent difference from Baseline indicates a reduction in partial seizure frequency from Baseline. Data of this outcome measure was analyzed and reported for participants on adjunctive therapy.
Measured: From Baseline (Week 0) to Visit 4 (up to Week 2)
Percent Change in Partial Seizure Frequency Per Week From Baseline to Visit 5
The percent difference in partial seizure frequency per week at Baseline and Study Visit 5 (Week 4) was computed as: {[(Number of partial seizures per week at Baseline) minus (Number of partial seizures per week at Study Visit 5)] divided by (Number of partial seizures per week at Baseline)} multiplied by 100. A positive value in percent difference from Baseline indicates a reduction in partial seizure frequency from Baseline. Data of this outcome measure was analyzed and reported for participants on adjunctive therapy.
Measured: From Baseline (Week 0) to Visit 5 (up to Week 4)
Percent Change From Baseline for Each Analysis Visit in Partial Seizure Frequency Per Week on Adjunctive Therapy
Percent difference in partial seizure frequency (PSF) per week at each Analysis Visit: {[(Number of partial seizures per week at Baseline [BL]) - (Number of partial seizures per week at analysis visit X)]/(Number of partial seizures per week at BL)}*100. Positive value indicates reduction in PSF from BL. End of study (EOS)/early discontinuation visit (EDV) was based on last EDV and calculation of number of partial seizure per week were based on the period from the previous EDV visit. The mapping of seizure data to Analysis Visits was based on target dates of the visits. A seizure date after that of target date of an Analysis Visit n and up to that of target date of next Analysis Visit n+1 was mapped to the next Analysis Visit (n+1). Data for one participant assessed within study duration was mapped to Analysis Visit 35/Week 300 based on statistical plan.
Measured: From Baseline (Week 0), Week 8, 10, 12, 15, 18, 21, 24, 27, 30, 36, 48, 60, 72, 84, 96, 108, 120, 132, 144, 156, 168, 180, 192, 204, 216, 228, 240, 252, 264, 276, 288, 300, EOS/EDV (up to Week 295), and Safety follow-up (up to Week 295)
Percentage of Participants With a Percent Change in Partial Seizure Frequency Per Week of <0%, 0% to <25%, 25% to <50%, ≥50%, ≥75%, or 100% on Adjunctive Therapy
Percent difference in PSF per week on adjunctive therapy at BL and each analysis visit: {[(Number of partial seizures per week at BL) - (Number of partial seizures per week at analysis visit X)]/(Number of partial seizures per week at BL)}*100. Percent difference in PSF per week from Baseline for each participant and analysis visit were mapped into 6 categories: <0%, 0% to <25%, 25% to <50%, ≥50%, ≥75%, and 100%, then percentages of participants in these categories were derived using the number of participants at risk at each previous analysis visit as denominator. Positive value in percent difference from Baseline indicates reduction in PSF from Baseline. The mapping of seizure data to Analysis Visits was based on target dates of visits. A seizure date after that of target date of an Analysis Visit n and up to that of target date of next Analysis Visit n+1 was mapped to next Analysis Visit (n+1).
Measured: From Baseline (Week 0), Week 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 15, 18, 21, 24, 27, 30, 36, 48, 60, 72, 84, 96, 108, 120, 132, 144, 156, 168, 180, 192, 204, 216, 228, 240, 252, 264, 276, 288, 300, EOS/EDV Week 2, EOS/EDV Week 4, and Safety follow-up (up to Week 295)
Percent Change From Baseline for Each Analysis Visit in Partial Seizure Frequency Per Week on Monotherapy
The percent difference in partial seizure frequency per week on monotherapy at Baseline and each analysis visit was computed as: {[(Number of partial seizures per week at Baseline) minus (Number of partial seizures per week at analysis visit X)] divided by (Number of partial seizures per week at Baseline)} multiplied by 100. A positive value in percent difference from Baseline indicates a reduction in partial seizure frequency from Baseline. Data of this outcome measure was analyzed and reported for participants on monotherapy. The maximum duration of study participation in monotherapy participants was shorter than in adjunctive therapy. Therefore, data at Week 288 and 300 is not reported for Monotherapy.
Measured: From Baseline (Week 0), Week 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 15, 18, 21, 24, 27, 30, 36, 48, 60, 72, 84, 96, 108, 120, 132, 144, 156, 168, 180, 192, 204, 216, 228, 240, 252, 264, 276, and Safety follow-up (up to Week 295)
Percentage of Participants With a Percent Change in Partial Seizure Frequency Per Week of <0%, 0% to <25%, 25% to <50%, ≥50%, ≥75%, or 100% on Monotherapy
Percent difference in PSF per week on monotherapy at BL and each analysis visit: {[(Number of partial seizures per week at BL) - (Number of partial seizures per week at analysis visit X)]/(Number of partial seizures per week at BL)}*100. Percent difference in PFS per week from Baseline for each participant and analysis visit were mapped into 6 categories: <0%, 0% to <25%, 25% to <50%, ≥50%, ≥75%, and 100%, then percentages of participants in these categories were derived using the number of participants at risk at each previous analysis visit as denominator. A positive value in percent difference from Baseline indicates a reduction in partial seizure frequency from Baseline. Data of this outcome measure was analyzed and reported for participants on monotherapy. Maximum duration of study participation in monotherapy participants was shorter than adjunctive therapy. Therefore, data at Week 288 and 300 is not reported for Monotherapy.
Measured: From Baseline (Week 0), Week 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 15, 18, 21, 24, 27, 30, 36, 48, 60, 72, 84, 96, 108, 120, 132, 144, 156, 168, 180, 192, 204, 216, 228, 240, 252, 264, 276, and Safety follow-up (up to Week 295)
Percentage of Participants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) During the First Period
An adverse event (AE) is any untoward medical occurrence in a patient or clinical investigation Participant administered a pharmaceutical product that does not necessarily have a causal relationship treatment. An AE could therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign (including an abnormal laboratory finding), symptom, or disease temporally associated with the use of a medicinal (investigational) product, whether or not related to the medicinal (investigational) product. The treatment-emergent adverse events (TEAEs) were defined as those events that started on or after the date (and time) of first dose of study medication, or adverse events whose intensity worsened on or after the date (and time) of first dose of study medication.
Measured: From Baseline (Week 0) to Visit 6 (up to Week 6)
Percentage of Participants With Treatment-emergent Serious Adverse Events (SAEs) During the First Period
A serious adverse event (SAE) is defined as any untoward medical occurrence at any dose that must meet 1 or more of the following criteria: Death; Life-threatening; Significant or persistent disability/incapacity; Congenital anomaly/birth defect (including that occurring in a fetus); Important medical event that, based upon appropriate medical judgment, may jeopardize the patient or participant and may require medical or surgical intervention to prevent 1 of the other outcomes listed in the definition of serious; Initial inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of hospitalization. The TEAEs were defined as those events that started on or after the date (and time) of first dose of study medication, or adverse events whose intensity worsened on or after the date (and time) of first dose of study medication.
Measured: From Baseline (Week 0) to Visit 6 (up to Week 6)
Percentage of Participants With TEAEs Leading to Discontinuation From Study Medication During the First Period
An AE is any untoward medical occurrence in a patient or clinical investigation participant administered a pharmaceutical product that does not necessarily have a causal relationship treatment. An AE could therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign (including an abnormal laboratory finding), symptom, or disease temporally associated with the use of a medicinal (investigational) product, whether or not related to the medicinal (investigational) product. The TEAEs were defined as those events that started on or after the date (and time) of first dose of study medication, or adverse events whose intensity worsened on or after the date (and time) of first dose of study medication. TEAEs leading to discontinuation from study medication are reported.
Measured: From Baseline (Week 0) to Visit 6 (up to Week 6)
Percentage of Participants With TEAEs During the Combined First and Second Period
An AE is any untoward medical occurrence in a patient or clinical investigation participant administered a pharmaceutical product that does not necessarily have a causal relationship treatment. An AE could therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign (including an abnormal laboratory finding), symptom, or disease temporally associated with the use of a medicinal (investigational) product, whether or not related to the medicinal (investigational) product. The TEAEs were defined as those events that started on or after the date (and time) of first dose of study medication, or adverse events whose intensity worsened on or after the date (and time) of first dose of study medication.
Measured: From Baseline (Week 0) to the End of Safety Follow-up (up to Week 295)
Percentage of Participants With Treatment-emergent SAEs During the Combined First and Second Period
A serious adverse event (SAE) is defined as any untoward medical occurrence at any dose that must meet 1 or more of the following criteria: Death; Life-threatening; Significant or persistent disability/incapacity; Congenital anomaly/birth defect (including that occurring in a fetus); Important medical event that, based upon appropriate medical judgment, may jeopardize the patient or participant and may require medical or surgical intervention to prevent 1 of the other outcomes listed in the definition of serious; Initial inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of hospitalization. The TEAEs were defined as those events that started on or after the date (and time) of first dose of study medication, or adverse events whose intensity worsened on or after the date (and time) of first dose of study medication.
Measured: From Baseline (Week 0) to the End of Safety Follow-up (up to Week 295)
Percentage of Participants With TEAEs Leading to Discontinuation From Study Medication During the Combined First and Second Period
An AE is any untoward medical occurrence in a patient or clinical investigation participant administered a pharmaceutical product that does not necessarily have a causal relationship treatment. An AE could therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign (including an abnormal laboratory finding), symptom, or disease temporally associated with the use of a medicinal (investigational) product, whether or not related to the medicinal (investigational) product. The TEAEs were defined as those events that started on or after the date (and time) of first dose of study medication, or adverse events whose intensity worsened on or after the date (and time) of first dose of study medication. TEAEs leading to discontinuation from study medication are reported.
Measured: From Baseline (Week 0) to the End of Safety Follow-up (up to Week 295)
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted13 Nov 2017
- Study start30 Nov 2017
- Primary completion1 Jun 2021
- Study completion28 Jul 2023
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Posted resultsParticipant flow, outcome measures and adverse events reported by the sponsor.
- Other trials for Partial SeizuresStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Not applicable
- Intervention model
- Single group
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Enrolment
- 38 participants (actual)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- UCB Japan Co. Ltd.
- Sponsor type
- Industry (pharma, biotech, devices)
- Responsible party
- Sponsor
- Investigators
- UCB Cares, Study director, 001 844 599 2273
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT03340064
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- EP0100
- Acronym
- PEACH
- Status last verified
- Jul 2024
- First submitted
- 8 Nov 2017
- Last updated
- 23 Jul 2024
- Results posted
- Yes, on ClinicalTrials.gov
- Data monitoring committee
- No
- FDA-regulated drug
- No
- FDA-regulated device
- No
- Individual data sharing
- Yes: Data from this trial may be requested by qualified researchers six months after product approval in the US and/or Europe, or global development is discontinued, and 18 months after trial completion. Investigators may request access to anonymized individual patient-level data and redacted trial documents which may include: analysis-ready datasets, study protocol, annotated case report form, statistical analysis plan, dataset specifications, and clinical study report. Prior to use of the data, proposals need to be approved by an independent review panel at www.Vivli.org and a signed data sharing agreement will need to be executed. All documents are available in English only, for a prespecified time, typically 12 months, on a password protected portal. This plan may change if the risk of re-identifying trial participants is determined to be too high after the trial is completed; in this case and to protect participants, individual patient-level data would not be made available.
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 23 Jul 2024. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- An Open-Label, Single-Arm, Multicenter Study of Levetiracetam as Monotherapy or Adjunctive Treatment of Partial Seizures in Pediatric Epileptic Subjects Ranging From 1 Month to Less Than 4 Years of Age
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT03340064
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- PEACH / EP0100
- Conditions
- Partial Seizures
- Keywords
- Epilepsy, Partial Seizures, Levetiracetam, Monotherapy, Adjunctive Treatment
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Completed
- Enrolment
- 38 participants (actual)
- Lead sponsor
- UCB Japan Co. Ltd.Industry (pharma, biotech, devices)
- Study start
- 30 Nov 2017 (actual)
- Primary completion
- 1 Jun 2021 (actual)
- Study completion
- 28 Jul 2023 (actual)
- First posted
- 13 Nov 2017 (actual)
- Results
- Posted 23 Jul 2024
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
This is a study to confirm the efficacy of levetiracetam as adjunctive treatment or as monotherapy in pediatric epilepsy subjects aged 1 month to less than 4 years of age with partial seizures.
Detailed description
The study will consist of 2 periods. The First Period (6 weeks drug treatment) is designed to confirm efficacy of levetiracetam (LEV), and the Second Period is designed to evaluate the long-term efficacy and safety of LEV.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Not applicable
- Intervention model
- Single group
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Number of arms
- 1
| Arm | Type | Receives |
|---|---|---|
| Levetiracetam | Experimental | Drug: LevetiracetamSubjects aged 1 month to <6 months will be started on levetiracetam (LEV) 14 mg/kg/day at Visit 3. The dose may be increased by LEV 14 mg/kg/day for subjects aged 1 month to <6 months at 2-week intervals to a maximum dose of 42 mg/kg/day. Subjects aged 6 months to <4 years will be started on LEV 20 mg/kg/day at Visit 3. The dose may be increased by LEV 20 mg/kg/day at 2-week intervals to a maximum dose of 60 mg/kg/day. At Visit 6, subjects may enter the Second Period or enter the Down-Titration Period followed by a Safety Follow-Up Period. Subjects who do not enter the Second Period will be down-titrated. The dose will be decreased by LEV 14 mg/kg/day for subjects aged 1 month to <6 months or by LEV 20 mg/kg/day for subjects aged 6 months to <4 years at 2-week intervals to 0 mg/kg/day. |
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 1 month to 3 years
- Sex
- All
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Child
Key inclusion criteria (8 listed)
- Subject must have a diagnosis of epilepsy with partial onset seizures whether or not secondarily generalized
- Male or female from 1 month to <4 years of age. Pre-term infants aged <1 year are to be stratified into an appropriate age category using the best estimate of their corrected gestational age
- For subjects on adjunctive therapy, subject must be on a stable antiepileptic drug (AED) regimen for the Selection and Evaluation Periods of the study. Minor adjustments to the dose of current AEDs are allowed only prior to Visit 1. Monotherapy subjects must not receive AED treatment, receive temporary AED treatment, or switch an AED prior to Visit 1
- Subject weighs >=3.0 kg
- Subject may have Vagal Nerve Stimulation (VNS) which has been implanted for at least 6 months prior to Visit 1; the settings must be stable for at least 2 months prior to Visit 1. Activated VNS must be counted as 1 of the 2 AEDs
Key exclusion criteria (18 listed)
- Subject has been taking any medication (other than their concomitant AEDs) that influences the central nervous system (CNS) for which they had not been on a stable regimen for at least 1 month prior to Visit 1
- Subject is taking any medication that may interfere with the absorption, distribution, metabolism, or excretion of the concomitant AEDs or levetiracetam (LEV) during the course of the study
- Subject has received any investigational medication or device within 30 days prior to Visit 1
- Subject has taken LEV prior to the study
- Subjects using felbamate who have presented with clinically significant abnormalities and/or hepatic function during felbamate treatment, and subjects who are taking felbamate <1year from the date of Visit 1
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| LevetiracetamAlso: Keppra, E-Keppra, LEVlevetiracetam dry syrup 50% for oral administration and levetiracetam solution for infusion (100 mg/mL) | Drug | Levetiracetam |
Primary outcome
Percent Change in Partial Seizure Frequency Per Week From Baseline to Visit 6
Time frame: From Baseline (Week 0) to Visit 6 (up to Week 6)
The percent difference in partial seizure frequency per week at Baseline and Study Visit 6 (Week 6) was computed as: {[(Number of partial seizures per week at Baseline) minus (Number of partial seizures per week at Study Visit 6)] divided by (Number of partial seizures per week at Baseline)} multiplied by 100. A positive value in percent difference from Baseline indicates a reduction in partial seizure frequency from Baseline. Data of this outcome measure was analyzed and reported for participants on adjunctive therapy.
12 secondary outcomes
Percent Change in Partial Seizure Frequency Per Week From Baseline to Visit 4
Time frame: From Baseline (Week 0) to Visit 4 (up to Week 2)
Percent Change in Partial Seizure Frequency Per Week From Baseline to Visit 5
Time frame: From Baseline (Week 0) to Visit 5 (up to Week 4)
Percent Change From Baseline for Each Analysis Visit in Partial Seizure Frequency Per Week on Adjunctive Therapy
Time frame: From Baseline (Week 0), Week 8, 10, 12, 15, 18, 21, 24, 27, 30, 36, 48, 60, 72, 84, 96, 108, 120, 132, 144, 156, 168, 180, 192, 204, 216, 228, 240, 252, 264, 276, 288, 300, EOS/EDV (up to Week 295), and Safety follow-up (up to Week 295)
Percentage of Participants With a Percent Change in Partial Seizure Frequency Per Week of <0%, 0% to <25%, 25% to <50%, ≥50%, ≥75%, or 100% on Adjunctive Therapy
Time frame: From Baseline (Week 0), Week 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 15, 18, 21, 24, 27, 30, 36, 48, 60, 72, 84, 96, 108, 120, 132, 144, 156, 168, 180, 192, 204, 216, 228, 240, 252, 264, 276, 288, 300, EOS/EDV Week 2, EOS/EDV Week 4, and Safety follow-up (up to Week 295)
Percent Change From Baseline for Each Analysis Visit in Partial Seizure Frequency Per Week on Monotherapy
Time frame: From Baseline (Week 0), Week 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 15, 18, 21, 24, 27, 30, 36, 48, 60, 72, 84, 96, 108, 120, 132, 144, 156, 168, 180, 192, 204, 216, 228, 240, 252, 264, 276, and Safety follow-up (up to Week 295)
Percentage of Participants With a Percent Change in Partial Seizure Frequency Per Week of <0%, 0% to <25%, 25% to <50%, ≥50%, ≥75%, or 100% on Monotherapy
Time frame: From Baseline (Week 0), Week 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 15, 18, 21, 24, 27, 30, 36, 48, 60, 72, 84, 96, 108, 120, 132, 144, 156, 168, 180, 192, 204, 216, 228, 240, 252, 264, 276, and Safety follow-up (up to Week 295)
Percentage of Participants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) During the First Period
Time frame: From Baseline (Week 0) to Visit 6 (up to Week 6)
Percentage of Participants With Treatment-emergent Serious Adverse Events (SAEs) During the First Period
Time frame: From Baseline (Week 0) to Visit 6 (up to Week 6)
Percentage of Participants With TEAEs Leading to Discontinuation From Study Medication During the First Period
Time frame: From Baseline (Week 0) to Visit 6 (up to Week 6)
Percentage of Participants With TEAEs During the Combined First and Second Period
Time frame: From Baseline (Week 0) to the End of Safety Follow-up (up to Week 295)
Percentage of Participants With Treatment-emergent SAEs During the Combined First and Second Period
Time frame: From Baseline (Week 0) to the End of Safety Follow-up (up to Week 295)
Percentage of Participants With TEAEs Leading to Discontinuation From Study Medication During the Combined First and Second Period
Time frame: From Baseline (Week 0) to the End of Safety Follow-up (up to Week 295)
Results and safety
Loading the posted results from ClinicalTrials.gov…
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 23 Jul 2024.
- Posted resultsParticipant flow, baseline, all outcome measures and adverse events.
- Individual participant dataSharing planned: Yes. Data from this trial may be requested by qualified researchers six months after product approval in the US and/or Europe, or global development is discontinued, and 18 months after trial completion. Investigators may request access to anonymized individual patient-level data and redacted trial documents which may include: analysis-ready datasets, study protocol, annotated case report form, statistical analysis plan, dataset specifications, and clinical study report. Prior to use of the data, proposals need to be approved by an independent review panel at www.Vivli.org and a signed data sharing agreement will need to be executed. All documents are available in English only, for a prespecified time, typically 12 months, on a password protected portal. This plan may change if the risk of re-identifying trial participants is determined to be too high after the trial is completed; in this case and to protect participants, individual patient-level data would not be made available.
Related trials for Partial Seizures
RecruitingPhase 3
Study Evaluating the Efficacy and Safety of RAP-219 in Adult Participants With Focal Seizures
Focal Seizure, Epilepsy
RecruitingPhase 3
Study Evaluating the Efficacy and Safety of RAP-219 in Adult Participants With Focal Seizures FOCUS-1
Focal Seizure, Epilepsy
Not yet recruitingPhase 1
A Clinical Study to Assess the Safety, Tolerability and Pharmacokinetics of Orally Administered Cannabidiol Capsules (AVAT-121) and Epidyolex® in Healthy Adults
Focal Onset Seizure
Not yet recruiting
Electrophysiological Dose-Response to Anterior Thalamic Deep Brain Stimulation in Drug-Resistant Focal Epilepsy
Drug Resistant Epilepsy, Focal Epilepsy
Enrolling by invitationPhase 3
An Open-label Study of XEN1101 in Epilepsy
Focal Epilepsy, Tonic-Clonic Seizures
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
UCB Cares study director
001 844 599 2273
21 sites in 1 country: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 3 study testing Levetiracetam in people with Partial Seizures, run by UCB Japan Co. Ltd. at 21 sites in Japan.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
The sponsor lists 8 inclusion and 18 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 23 Jul 2024. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 21 sites in Japan. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 23 Jul 2024). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
Percent Change in Partial Seizure Frequency Per Week From Baseline to Visit 6 (time frame: From Baseline (Week 0) to Visit 6 (up to Week 6)). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 23 Jul 2024.