Abortion, Second TrimesterPhase 4NCT03134183
24-hour Mifepristone and Buccal Versus Mifepristone and Vaginal Misoprostol for Cervical Preparation for D&E
A Phase 4 study testing Vaginal Misoprostol and Buccal Misoprostol in people with Abortion, Second Trimester, run by Virginia Commonwealth University at 1 site in United States.
Trial summary
This study aims to compare mifepristone and buccal misoprostol to mifepristone and vaginal misoprostol for cervical preparation for second trimester dilation and evacuation (D\&E). Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 18 to 50 years, women onlyHealthy volunteers can take part
- Conditions the study is for
- Abortion, Second Trimester
- What is being tested?
- Vaginal Misoprostol and Buccal Misoprostol
- Type of treatment
- Pill or oral medicine
- Could I receive a placebo?
- No, everyone receives an active treatment
- How many people
- 70 participants
- Where
- 1 siteUnited States
- Study dates
- 19 Nov 2016to 1 Aug 2017
- Phase
- Phase 4
- Are there results?
- Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 18 to 50 years
- Women only
- Healthy volunteers accepted
- Adult
Who may be able to join
- The study will enroll healthy English or Spanish-speaking women, over 18 years of age, eligible for non-urgent D\&E at 16 0/7 weeks to 20 6/7 weeks gestation, confirmed by sonogram, and willing/able to undergo informed consent.
Who cannot join
- Emergent need for D\&E, intrauterine infection, fetal demise, molar pregnancy, intolerance, allergy or contraindication to mifepristone or misoprostol
Trial locations and contacts
1 site in 1 country.
United States1 site
Virginia Commonwealth University
Richmond, Virginia, 23298
About this study
Official title: A Randomized Double-blinded Comparison of 24-hour Interval-Mifepristone and Buccal Misoprostol Versus Mifepristone and Vaginal Misoprostol for Cervical Preparation in Second-Trimester Surgical Abortion
This study aims to compare mifepristone and buccal misoprostol to mifepristone and vaginal misoprostol for cervical preparation for second trimester dilation and evacuation (D\&E).
Read the detailed description
Standard of care for cervical preparation prior to second trimester surgical abortion has traditionally been a pelvic exam with speculum, a paracervical block with lidocaine, and placement of a number of osmotic dilators through the cervical canal. Dilators obtain maximal expansion within 4-6 hours and patients experience cramping with this process. This cervical preparation allows for a faster procedure for the patient (limiting time for anesthesia) and an easier procedure for the provider (decreasing necessity for further dilation, decreasing risk of cervical laceration, and decreasing blood loss). Following cervical preparation, trained providers use instruments to remove the pregnancy per standard of care. Several studies have examined the use of medication (mifepristone and/or misoprostol) to dilate the cervix as an alternative to osmotic dilators . Patients prefer medication to dilators as medication is associated with less discomfort. Medications alone can achieve adequate cervical preparation but the optimal timing and routes of these medications has not been sufficiently evaluated.
The addition of mifepristone, a progesterone antagonist, to a misoprostol regimen has been shown to significantly decrease the medication-to-abortion interval in second-trimester induction terminations. Vaginal administration has demonstrated improved dilation as compared to buccal administration but it is known that patients prefer buccal administration. A comparison of mifepristone and vaginal versus mifepristone and buccal misoprostol has not been studied prior to second-trimester surgical abortion.
A review of cervical preparation for second-trimester D\&E did not recommend mifepristone and misoprostol for cervical priming due to high rates of pre-procedural expulsions. However, the primary basis for this conclusion is a trial in which the 48-hour interval between the medications accounts for the high out-of-facility expulsion risk. A retrospective cohort of over 200 women between 14 and 19 6/7 weeks gestation showed no difference in difficulty of cervical dilation for patients receiving mifepristone 24-48 hours misoprostol as compared to osmotic dilators prior to surgical abortion. Two out of facility expulsions occurred in the mifepristone-misoprostol arms but the timing of medication to expulsion interval is not reported.
More recent studies have limited the timing of mifepristone to 24 hours or less prior to procedure. Mifepristone only has been shown to provide adequate cervical dilation as compared to osmotic dilators to 16 weeks gestation with noninferiority design to detect a 3-minute difference in procedure time. A 24-hour interval between 200mg mifepristone and 400mcg buccal misoprostol has been shown as non-inferior to osmotic dilators for total procedure time for 15-18 week surgical abortions. Mifepristone and one-set of osmotic dilators was found to be non-inferior for total procedure time as compared to two sets of osmotic dilators for surgical abortion 19-23 6/7 weeks gestation.
The addition of mifepristone has benefit as a cervical priming agent as an adjunct or alternative to osmotic dilators for surgical abortion, but it is not known whether the addition of vaginal versus buccal misoprostol changes cervical dilation and thus procedure time outcomes.
- Conditions
- Abortion, Second Trimester
- Being tested
- Vaginal Misoprostol, Buccal Misoprostol
- Keywords
- D&E, dilation and evacuation, abortion, second trimester, mifepristone, misoprostol
- Medical subject headings
- Dilatation, Pathologic
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
Vaginal MisoprostolDrug
Also called cytotec
Mifepristone 200mg orally 20-24 hours prior and misoprostol 400mcg (two 200mcg tablets) vaginally 1-2 hours prior and placebo (buccal mint powder) buccally 1-2 hours prior to D\&E
Buccal MisoprostolDrug
Also called cytotec
Mifepristone 200mg orally 20-24 hours prior and misoprostol 400mcg (two 200mcg tablets) ground with mint into buccal powder and placebo (two lactose tablets designed to appear similar to misoprostol) vaginally 1-2 hours prior to D\&E
| Study group | Role | What they receive |
|---|---|---|
| Vaginal Misoprostol | Experimental | Intervention is misoprostol versus placebo 400mcg misoprostol formulated within cocoa butter suppository Receives: Drug: Vaginal Misoprostol |
| Buccal Misoprostol | Experimental | Intervention is misoprostol versus placebo 400mcg misoprostol formulated within mint flavored powder Receives: Drug: Buccal Misoprostol |
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
Procedure Time
Time from initial uterine instrumentation to speculum out
Measured: At end of procedure
Secondary outcomes (1)
Cervical Dilation
Pratt Dilator initially accepted without resistance starting from 65 and working down
Measured: At end of procedure
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted28 Apr 2017
- Study start19 Nov 2016
- Primary completion1 Aug 2017
- Study completion1 Aug 2017
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Posted resultsParticipant flow, outcome measures and adverse events reported by the sponsor.
- Other trials for Abortion, Second TrimesterStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- More trials run by Virginia Commonwealth UniversityThe sponsor's other registered studies.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 4
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Intervention model
- Parallel groups
- Masking
- Triple blind
- Who is masked
- Participant, Care provider, Investigator
- Enrolment
- 70 participants (actual)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- Virginia Commonwealth University
- Sponsor type
- University, hospital or other
- Responsible party
- Sponsor
- Investigators
- Frances Casey, MD, Principal investigator, Virginia Commonwealth University
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT03134183
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- HM20005740
- Status last verified
- Jun 2018
- First submitted
- 25 Apr 2017
- Last updated
- 18 Jul 2018
- Results posted
- Yes, on ClinicalTrials.gov
- FDA-regulated drug
- Yes
- FDA-regulated device
- No
- Individual data sharing
- No
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 18 Jul 2018. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- A Randomized Double-blinded Comparison of 24-hour Interval-Mifepristone and Buccal Misoprostol Versus Mifepristone and Vaginal Misoprostol for Cervical Preparation in Second-Trimester Surgical Abortion
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT03134183
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- HM20005740
- Conditions
- Abortion, Second Trimester
- Keywords
- D&E, dilation and evacuation, abortion, second trimester, mifepristone, misoprostol
- Phase
- Phase 4
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Completed
- Enrolment
- 70 participants (actual)
- Lead sponsor
- Virginia Commonwealth UniversityUniversity, hospital or other
- Study start
- 19 Nov 2016 (actual)
- Primary completion
- 1 Aug 2017 (actual)
- Study completion
- 1 Aug 2017 (actual)
- First posted
- 28 Apr 2017 (actual)
- Results
- Posted 18 Jul 2018
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
This study aims to compare mifepristone and buccal misoprostol to mifepristone and vaginal misoprostol for cervical preparation for second trimester dilation and evacuation (D\&E).
Detailed description
Standard of care for cervical preparation prior to second trimester surgical abortion has traditionally been a pelvic exam with speculum, a paracervical block with lidocaine, and placement of a number of osmotic dilators through the cervical canal. Dilators obtain maximal expansion within 4-6 hours and patients experience cramping with this process. This cervical preparation allows for a faster procedure for the patient (limiting time for anesthesia) and an easier procedure for the provider (decreasing necessity for further dilation, decreasing risk of cervical laceration, and decreasing blood loss). Following cervical preparation, trained providers use instruments to remove the pregnancy per standard of care. Several studies have examined the use of medication (mifepristone and/or misoprostol) to dilate the cervix as an alternative to osmotic dilators . Patients prefer medication to dilators as medication is associated with less discomfort. Medications alone can achieve adequate cervical preparation but the optimal timing and routes of these medications has not been sufficiently evaluated.
The addition of mifepristone, a progesterone antagonist, to a misoprostol regimen has been shown to significantly decrease the medication-to-abortion interval in second-trimester induction terminations. Vaginal administration has demonstrated improved dilation as compared to buccal administration but it is known that patients prefer buccal administration. A comparison of mifepristone and vaginal versus mifepristone and buccal misoprostol has not been studied prior to second-trimester surgical abortion.
A review of cervical preparation for second-trimester D\&E did not recommend mifepristone and misoprostol for cervical priming due to high rates of pre-procedural expulsions. However, the primary basis for this conclusion is a trial in which the 48-hour interval between the medications accounts for the high out-of-facility expulsion risk. A retrospective cohort of over 200 women between 14 and 19 6/7 weeks gestation showed no difference in difficulty of cervical dilation for patients receiving mifepristone 24-48 hours misoprostol as compared to osmotic dilators prior to surgical abortion. Two out of facility expulsions occurred in the mifepristone-misoprostol arms but the timing of medication to expulsion interval is not reported.
More recent studies have limited the timing of mifepristone to 24 hours or less prior to procedure. Mifepristone only has been shown to provide adequate cervical dilation as compared to osmotic dilators to 16 weeks gestation with noninferiority design to detect a 3-minute difference in procedure time. A 24-hour interval between 200mg mifepristone and 400mcg buccal misoprostol has been shown as non-inferior to osmotic dilators for total procedure time for 15-18 week surgical abortions. Mifepristone and one-set of osmotic dilators was found to be non-inferior for total procedure time as compared to two sets of osmotic dilators for surgical abortion 19-23 6/7 weeks gestation.
The addition of mifepristone has benefit as a cervical priming agent as an adjunct or alternative to osmotic dilators for surgical abortion, but it is not known whether the addition of vaginal versus buccal misoprostol changes cervical dilation and thus procedure time outcomes.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Intervention model
- Parallel groups
- Masking
- Triple blind (participant, care provider, investigator)
- Number of arms
- 2
| Arm | Type | Receives |
|---|---|---|
| Vaginal Misoprostol | Experimental | Drug: Vaginal MisoprostolIntervention is misoprostol versus placebo 400mcg misoprostol formulated within cocoa butter suppository |
| Buccal Misoprostol | Experimental | Drug: Buccal MisoprostolIntervention is misoprostol versus placebo 400mcg misoprostol formulated within mint flavored powder |
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 18 to 50 years
- Sex
- Female only
- Healthy volunteers
- Accepted
- Age groups
- Adult
Key inclusion criteria (1 listed)
- The study will enroll healthy English or Spanish-speaking women, over 18 years of age, eligible for non-urgent D\&E at 16 0/7 weeks to 20 6/7 weeks gestation, confirmed by sonogram, and willing/able to undergo informed consent.
Key exclusion criteria (1 listed)
- Emergent need for D\&E, intrauterine infection, fetal demise, molar pregnancy, intolerance, allergy or contraindication to mifepristone or misoprostol
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| Vaginal MisoprostolAlso: cytotecMifepristone 200mg orally 20-24 hours prior and misoprostol 400mcg (two 200mcg tablets) vaginally 1-2 hours prior and placebo (buccal mint powder) buccally 1-2 hours prior to D\&E | Drug | Vaginal Misoprostol |
| Buccal MisoprostolAlso: cytotecMifepristone 200mg orally 20-24 hours prior and misoprostol 400mcg (two 200mcg tablets) ground with mint into buccal powder and placebo (two lactose tablets designed to appear similar to misoprostol) vaginally 1-2 hours prior to D\&E | Drug | Buccal Misoprostol |
Primary outcome
Procedure Time
Time frame: At end of procedure
Time from initial uterine instrumentation to speculum out
1 secondary outcome
Cervical Dilation
Time frame: At end of procedure
Results and safety
Loading the posted results from ClinicalTrials.gov…
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 18 Jul 2018.
- Posted resultsParticipant flow, baseline, all outcome measures and adverse events.
- Individual participant dataSharing planned: No
Related trials for Abortion, Second Trimester
Not yet recruitingPhase 1/2
Second Trimester Abortion With Letrozole and Misoprostol Compared to Misoprostol Alone
Abortion Induced Complicated, Abortion
RecruitingPhase 2
Paracervical Block With Combined Ketorolac and Lidocaine for Osmotic Dilator Placement
Pain Management, Abortion
Recruiting
Cervical Preparation for Same-Day Dilation & Evacuation
Abortion, Second Trimester, Procedural Pain
RecruitingPhase 4
Tranexamic Acid for Second Trimester Dilation and Evacuation and Bleeding Outcomes
Abortion, Dilation and Evacuation
Recruiting
Foley Balloon for Cervical Preparation Before Dilation and Evacuation
Abortion, Second Trimester, Abortion, Medical
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Frances Casey, MD principal investigator
Virginia Commonwealth University
1 site in 1 country: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 4 study testing Vaginal Misoprostol and Buccal Misoprostol in people with Abortion, Second Trimester, run by Virginia Commonwealth University at 1 site in United States.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
The sponsor lists 1 inclusion and 1 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 18 Jul 2018. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Phase 4 studies take place after a treatment is approved, to learn more about its long-term benefits and risks in everyday use.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 18 Jul 2018). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
Procedure Time (time frame: At end of procedure). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 18 Jul 2018.