AzTrials
AzTrials

Chemotherapy-Induced NeutropeniaPhase 1NCT02700360

Evaluation of the Food Effect on the Safety, Tolerability, PK of EC-18 After Oral Administration in Healthy Volunteers

A Phase 1 study testing high-fat diet and EC-18 in people with Chemotherapy-Induced Neutropenia, run by Enzychem Lifesciences Corporation at 1 site in South Korea.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

A Randomized, Open-Label, Single -Dose, Crossover, Phase I Clinical Trial to Evaluate the Effect of Food on the Safety, Tolerability and Pharmacokinetics of EC-18 after Oral Administration in Healthy Volunteers Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 19 to 45 yearsHealthy volunteers can take part
Conditions the study is for
Chemotherapy-Induced Neutropenia
What is being tested?
high-fat diet and EC-18
Type of treatment
Pill or oral medicine
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
36 participants
Where
1 siteSouth Korea
Study dates
Aug 2015to Oct 2015
Phase
Phase 1
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 19 to 45 years
  • All sexes
  • Healthy volunteers accepted
  • Adult

Who may be able to join

  • Healthy adult aged between 19 and 45 years, inclusive, at the time of providing the informed consent form
  • body weight: ≥ 55kg(male), ≥ 50kg(female)
  • BMI: 18.5 kg/m2 ≦ BMI < 25.0 kg/m2 [BMI(body mass index) = Body weight (kg)/[height (m)]2 ]
  • in female subjects, the result of serum β-hCG pregnancy test comes out negative at screening, urine β-hCG test comes out negative before taking medication during the period set by this protocol have to be included one of the below conditions.
  • postmenopausal(no natural menstruation at least 2 years)
  • surgically sterile(hysterectomy or bilateral ovariotomy, tubal ligation or sterile condition by other ways)
Show all 11Show fewer
  • sterility of male partner before screening(proof the azoospermia after vasectomy), and this is the only partner of the subject.
  • agree with using a proper and continuous method of contraception start on 14 days(at least) before the1st IND administration and for 28 days(at least) after the last IND administration
  • proper contraception means physical barrier method including condom, contraceptive diaphragm or cervix cap, do not use a hormones including contraceptive or oral contraceptive during the study.
  • if the male have a sex life with childbearing aged female, maintain proper contraception during the study and for 28 days after the last IND administration, agree with "do not donate the sperm"(if the female partner is infertility, above contraceptions are not necessary)
  • Written consent on voluntary decision of participation and compliance with precautions after being fully informed of and completely understanding this trial

Who cannot join

  • Hypersensitivity to a drug containing an ingredient of the investigational product(EC-18) or similar ingredient (e.g., deer antler) or other drugs (e.g., aspirin, antibiotics) or medical history of clinically significant hypersensitivity
  • Active infection such as chronic or local infection based on screening tests or inquiry, verifiable medical records
  • Serious infection that required hospitalization or use of antibiotics within 30 days prior to the first dose of the investigational product, based on an inquiry or verifiable medical records
  • Presence of a clinically significant hepatic, renal, gastrointestinal, respiratory, musculoskeletal, endocrine, nervous, blood, cardiovascular, urogenital, psychiatric disorder or its prior history
  • (1) Presenting tuberculosis or prior history of tuberculosis or (2) positive results from a QuantiFERON®-TB Gold in Tube Assay conducted due to a contact with a tuberculosis patient within the past 3 months or signs and symptoms of suspected tuberculosis
  • Prior history of a gastrointestinal disorder (e.g., Crohn's disease, ulcer) or surgery (except for simple appendectomy or hernia surgery) that may affect drug absorption, etc.

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

South Korea1 site
  • Yonsei University Health System, Severance Hospital

    Seoul

Other trials in South Korea

About this study

Official title: A Randomized, Open-Label, Single -Dose, Crossover, Phase I Clinical Trial to Evaluate the Effect of Food on the Safety, Tolerability and Pharmacokinetics of EC-18 After Oral Administration in Healthy Volunteers

A Randomized, Open-Label, Single -Dose, Crossover, Phase I Clinical Trial to Evaluate the Effect of Food on the Safety, Tolerability and Pharmacokinetics of EC-18 after Oral Administration in Healthy Volunteers

Read the detailed description

In vitro and in vivo efficacy studies and clinical trials have shown that EC-18 has a mode of action of improving neutropenia by promoting neutrophil production from hematopoietic stem cells and at the same time, efficiently controlling STAT6/Complement 3(C 3), suggesting its potential to be developed as an orally administered new drug for treatment of neutropenia resulting from decreased neutrophils caused by administration of an anticancer agent.

This study is a randomized, open-Label, single -dose, crossover, phase I clinical trial to evaluate the effect of food on the safety, tolerability and pharmacokinetics of EC-18 after oral administration in healthy volunteers

Being tested
high-fat diet, EC-18
Keywords
EC-18, Hematology, Cancer, Neutropenia
Medical subject headings
Neoplasms, Neutropenia

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • high-fat dietDietary supplement

    This trial is conducted as a randomized, open-label, single -dose, crossover, phase I to evaluate the effect of food on the safety, tolerability and pharmacokinetics of EC-18. EC-18 is given at an oral, once daily in condition of empty stomach and a high fat diet(900~1,000 kcal, contains 50~60%lipid).This trial is divided into Part 1(1,000mg dose) and Part 2(500mg dose and 2,000mg dose), 12 subjects are included in each dose and cross-over period is 7 days. After Part 1 study, If primary PK parameters of EC-18 is affected by food and AEs meeting study discontinuation criteria are not reported, Part 2 will proceed in consecutive order with registering new subjects.

  • EC-18Drug

    Also called EC18 Soft-capsule

    This trial is conducted as a randomized, open-label, single -dose, crossover, phase I to evaluate the effect of food on the safety, tolerability and pharmacokinetics of EC-18. EC-18 is given at an oral, once daily in condition of empty stomach and a high fat diet(900~1,000 kcal, contains 50~60%lipid).This trial is divided into Part 1(1,000mg dose) and Part 2(500mg dose and 2,000mg dose), 12 subjects are included in each dose and cross-over period is 7 days. After Part 1 study, If primary PK parameters of EC-18 is affected by food and AEs meeting study discontinuation criteria are not reported, Part 2 will proceed in consecutive order with registering new subjects

Study groups in NCT02700360
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Part 1(1,000mg dose): group 1Experimentalperiod 1: EC-18 1,000 mg(500 mg/cap, 2 capsules) once daily, after high-fat diet intake; period 2: EC-18 1,000 mg(500 mg/cap, 2 capsules) once daily, on an empty stomach; cross-over period: 7 days
Receives: Dietary Supplement: high-fat diet; Drug: EC-18
Part 1(1,000mg dose): group 2Experimentalperiod 1: EC-18 1,000 mg(500 mg/cap, 2 capsules) once daily, on an empty stomach; period 2: EC-18 1,000 mg(500 mg/cap, 2 capsules) once daily, after high-fat diet intake; cross-over period: 7 days
Receives: Dietary Supplement: high-fat diet; Drug: EC-18
Part 2(500mg dose): group 3Experimentalperiod 1: EC-18 500 mg(500 mg/cap, 1 capsule) once daily, after high-fat diet intake; period 2: EC-18 500 mg(500 mg/cap, 1 capsule) once daily, on an empty stomach; cross-over period: 7 days
Receives: Dietary Supplement: high-fat diet; Drug: EC-18
Part 2(500mg dose): group 4Experimentalperiod 1: EC-18 500 mg(500 mg/cap, 1 capsule) once daily, on an empty stomach; period 2: EC-18 500 mg(500 mg/cap, 1 capsule) once daily, after high-fat diet intake; cross-over period: 7 days
Receives: Dietary Supplement: high-fat diet; Drug: EC-18
Part 2(2,000mg dose): group 5Experimentalperiod 1: EC-18 2,000 mg(500 mg/cap, 4 capsules) once daily, after high-fat diet intake; period 2: EC-18 2,000 mg(500 mg/cap, 4 capsules) once daily, on an empty stomach; cross-over period: 7 days
Receives: Dietary Supplement: high-fat diet; Drug: EC-18
Part 2(2,000mg dose): group 6Experimentalperiod 1: EC-18 2,000 mg(500 mg/cap, 4 capsules) once daily, on an empty stomach; period 2: EC-18 2,000 mg(500 mg/cap, 4 capsule) once daily, after high-fat diet intake; cross-over period: 7 days
Receives: Dietary Supplement: high-fat diet; Drug: EC-18

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. evaluate safety and tolerability: Number and severity of ADRs monitoring such as subjective, objective symptom(change value from baseline)

    Measured: Day-3(Day5), Day-2(Day6), Day-1(Day7), Day1(Day8), Day2(Day9), D3(Day10) and Day15(follow-up)

  2. evaluate safety and tolerability:vital sign(change value from baseline)

    Measured: screening, 0(before medication) of Day-3(Day5), Day-2(Day6), Day-1(Day7), Day1(Day8), after medication 4, 12, 24, 36, 48hours and Day15(Follow-up)

  3. evaluate safety and tolerability: physical examination(change value from baseline)

    Measured: screening, Day-3(Day5), Day3(Day10) and Day15(follow-up)

  4. evaluate safety and tolerability: clinical laboratory test(change value from baseline)

    Measured: screening, Day-3(Day5), Day3(Day10) and Day15(follow-up)

  5. evaluate safety and tolerability: EKG(change value from baseline)

    Measured: screening, Day-3(Day5) and Day15(follow-up)

Secondary outcomes (7)
  1. evaluate pharmacokinetics: Cmax

    Measured: 33 times per each period, total 66 times; Day-2(Day6):0, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, 24, 36, 48hours; Day1(Day8):0, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, 24, 36, 48hours

  2. evaluate pharmacokinetics: AUClas

    Measured: 33 times per each period, total 66 times; Day-2(Day6):0, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, 24, 36, 48hours; Day1(Day8):0, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, 24, 36, 48hours

  3. evaluate pharmacokinetics: tmax

    Measured: 33 times per each period, total 66 times; Day-2(Day6):0, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, 24, 36, 48hours; Day1(Day8):0, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, 24, 36, 48hours

  4. evaluate pharmacokinetics: AUCinf

    Measured: 33 times per each period, total 66 times; Day-2(Day6):0, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, 24, 36, 48hours; Day1(Day8):0, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, 24, 36, 48hours

  5. evaluate pharmacokinetics: t1/2

    Measured: 33 times per each period, total 66 times; Day-2(Day6):0, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, 24, 36, 48hours; Day1(Day8):0, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, 24, 36, 48hours

  6. evaluate pharmacokinetics: CL/F

    Measured: 33 times per each period, total 66 times; Day-2(Day6):0, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, 24, 36, 48hours; Day1(Day8):0, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, 24, 36, 48hours

  7. evaluate pharmacokinetics: Vd/F

    Measured: 33 times per each period, total 66 times; Day-2(Day6):0, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, 24, 36, 48hours; Day1(Day8):0, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, 24, 36, 48hours

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted7 Mar 2016 (estimated)
  2. Study startAug 2015
  3. Primary completionOct 2015
  4. Study completionOct 2015

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1
Allocation
Randomised
Intervention model
Crossover
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
36 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT02700360
Sponsor's protocol ID
EC18-102
Status last verified
Mar 2016
First submitted
20 Jan 2016
Last updated
15 Mar 2016
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
No
Individual data sharing
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1 study testing high-fat diet and EC-18 in people with Chemotherapy-Induced Neutropenia, run by Enzychem Lifesciences Corporation at 1 site in South Korea.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

The sponsor lists 11 inclusion and 6 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 15 Mar 2016. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in South Korea. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

evaluate safety and tolerability: Number and severity of ADRs monitoring such as subjective, objective symptom(change value from baseline) (time frame: Day-3(Day5), Day-2(Day6), Day-1(Day7), Day1(Day8), Day2(Day9), D3(Day10) and Day15(follow-up)). The study lists 5 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 15 Mar 2016.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in