Acute Coronary SyndromeNCT02468102
Study of Rivaroxaban Use and Potential Adverse Outcomes in Routine Clinical Practice (Sweden)
An observational study of Acute Coronary Syndrome and Venous Thrombosis, run by Bayer at 1 site in Sweden.
Trial summary
This prospective cohort study will provide information about: Characteristics of Rivaroxaban use in patients who are prescribed Rivaroxaban for the first time compared to patients who are prescribed standard of care for the first time. Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Any age
- Conditions the study is for
- Acute Coronary Syndrome, Venous Thrombosis, Pulmonary Embolism
- What is being tested?
- Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939)
- Type of treatment
- Pill or oral medicine
- How many people
- 99,999 participants
- Where
- 1 siteSweden
- Study dates
- 15 Jun 2015to 30 Sep 2020
- Phase
- Observational
- Are there results?
- None posted in the registry
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages Any age
- All sexes
- No healthy volunteers
- Child, Adult, Older adult
Study population: Residents of Sweden: The study population will be identified using data from the Swedish national health registers that are maintained by the national Board of Health and Welfare.
Who may be able to join
- All male and female patients who have filled a prescription for rivaroxaban, warfarin, aspirin, clopidogrel, ticlopidine, prasugrel and ticagrelor in any pharmacy in Sweden, between December 9, 2011 and December 31, 2018
Who cannot join
- For the AF and DVT/PE treatment indications, patients who have filled a prescription for warfarin or another oral anticoagulant at any time between July 1, 2005 and December 9, 2011 will be excluded
Trial locations and contacts
1 site in 1 country.
About this study
Official title: A Pharmacoepidemiological Study of Rivaroxaban Use and Potential Adverse Outcomes in Routine Clinical Practice in Sweden
This prospective cohort study will provide information about:
Characteristics of Rivaroxaban use in patients who are prescribed Rivaroxaban for the first time compared to patients who are prescribed standard of care for the first time.
The occurrence of intracranial haemorrhage, gastrointestinal and urogenital bleeding, and the occurrence of non-infective liver disease.
- Being tested
- Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939), Standard of care drugs
- Keywords
- Rivaroxaban, Venous Thrombosis/Pulmonary Embolism, Stroke Prevention in Atrial Fibrillation, Anticoagulants, Hematologic Agents, Therapeutic Uses, Observational, Pulmonary Embolism, Venous Thrombosis, Venous Thromboembolism, Intracranial Hemorrhages, Gastrointestinal Hemorrhage
- Medical subject headings
- Acute Coronary Syndrome, Venous Thrombosis, Pulmonary Embolism, Atrial Fibrillation, Venous Thromboembolism, Intracranial Hemorrhages, Gastrointestinal Hemorrhage
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939)Drug
Treatment of deep vein thrombosis (DVT) or pulmonary embolism (PE), and prevention of recurrent DVT and PE (15 mg rivaroxaban twice daily [bid] for 3 weeks, then 15 mg or 20 mg once daily [od], tablets).
Prevention of stroke and systemic embolism with non-valvular atrial fibrillation (stroke prevention in atrial fibrillation [SPAF]) with one or more risk factors, prior stroke or transient ischaemic attack (20 mg rivaroxaban [od], tablets).
Prevention of venous thromboembolism (VTE) in patients undergoing elective hip or knee replacement surgery (recommended dose: 10 mg rivaroxaban [od] tablets for 35 days following hip replacement surgery and 14 days following knee replacement surgery).
Co-administered with acetylsalicylic acid (ASA) alone or with ASA plus clopidogrel or ticlopidine, for the prevention of atherothrombotic events in patients after an acute coronary syndrome (ACS) with elevated cardiac biomarkers (recommended dose 2.5 mg rivaroxaban tablets [bid]).
Standard of care drugsDrug
For DVT/PE treatment and SPAF, standard of care is treatment with the most widely used vitamin K antagonist, phenprocoumon, and for the secondary prevention of ACS, standard of care is antiplatelet drug(s) such as low-dose acetylsalicylic acid, clopidogrel, dipyridamole, prasugrel, ticlopidine and ticagrelor.
| Study group | Role | What they receive |
|---|---|---|
| Rivaroxaban / Cohort 1 | Patients who have filled a prescription for rivaroxaban in any pharmacy in Sweden during the study period. Receives: Drug: Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) | |
| Standard of care drugs / Cohort 2 | Patients who have filled a prescription for standard of care drugs (warfarin, aspirin, clopidogrel, ticlopidine, prasugrel or ticagrelor) in any pharmacy in Sweden during the study period. Receives: Drug: Standard of care drugs |
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
Descriptive analysis of demographic and clinical characteristics of patients who are prescribed oral rivaroxaban for the first time in comparison with those who are prescribed standard of care for the first time
The following data will be collected and assessed at 2 and 4 years after rivaroxaban market authorization: • age and sex distribution at index date • dose of rivaroxaban at index date • diagnosis associated with the prescribing of the index drug • use of specific prescribed medications confirming ACS indication • use of other prescribed medications • comorbidity based on diagnoses • renal impairment • healthcare utilization (e.g. outpatient visits and hospital admissions)
Measured: up to 4 years
Safety and effectiveness: occurrence of hospitalization for a) intracranial haemorrhage, (b) gastrointestinal bleeding, (c) urogenital bleeding among users of rivaroxaban in comparison with individuals receiving current standard of care
The two cohorts will be followed up from the index date until 12 months after the end of the enrolment period for potential outcomes For descriptive purposes, annualized crude incidence rates of the major bleeding events will be calculated, accompanied by 95% confidence intervals.
For evaluation of safety and effectiveness outcome events, Cox proportional hazards regression model will be used. Propensity score matching will be done to account for confounding by indication.
Measured: up to 5 years
Secondary outcomes (4)
Occurrence of hospitalization for bleeding events not specified as primary safety outcomes ("other bleeding", secondary safety outcome) in individuals receiving rivaroxaban, in comparison with those receiving current standard of care.
Outcome will be analyzed after end of data collection. Cox proportional hazards regression model will be used. Propensity score matching will be done to account for confounding by indication.
Measured: at 5 years
Occurrence of non-infective liver disease (secondary safety outcome) in individuals receiving rivaroxaban in comparison with those receiving current standard of care.
Outcome will be analyzed after end of data collection. Cox proportional hazards regression model will be used. Propensity score matching will be done to account for confounding by indication.
Measured: at 5 years
Outcomes related to effectiveness (DVT/PE, ischaemic stroke or myocardial infarction) in individuals receiving rivaroxaban in comparison with those receiving current standard of care.
Outcome will be analyzed after end of data collection. Cox proportional hazards regression model will be used. Propensity score matching will be done to account for confounding by indication.
Measured: at 5 years
All-cause mortality as well as cause-specific mortality.
Outcome will be analyzed after end of data collection. Cox proportional hazards regression model will be used. Propensity score matching will be done to account for confounding by indication.
Measured: at 5 years
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted10 Jun 2015 (estimated)
- Study start15 Jun 2015
- Primary completion31 Dec 2018
- Study completion30 Sep 2020
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Other trials for Acute Coronary SyndromeStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- More trials run by BayerThe sponsor's other registered studies.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Observational
- Observational model
- Cohort
- Time perspective
- Prospective
- Enrolment
- 99,999 participants (actual)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- Bayer
- Sponsor type
- Industry (pharma, biotech, devices)
- Collaborators
- Janssen Scientific Affairs, LLC
- Responsible party
- Sponsor
- Investigators
- Bayer Study Director, Study director, Bayer
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT02468102
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- 17543
- Other IDs
- XA1405SE
- Status last verified
- Sep 2021
- First submitted
- 8 Jun 2015
- Last updated
- 27 Sep 2021
- Results posted
- No
- Data monitoring committee
- No
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 27 Sep 2021. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- A Pharmacoepidemiological Study of Rivaroxaban Use and Potential Adverse Outcomes in Routine Clinical Practice in Sweden
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT02468102
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- 17543
- Keywords
- Rivaroxaban, Venous Thrombosis/Pulmonary Embolism, Stroke Prevention in Atrial Fibrillation, Anticoagulants, Hematologic Agents, Therapeutic Uses, Observational, Pulmonary Embolism
- Study type
- Observational
- Recruitment status
- Completed
- Enrolment
- 99,999 participants (actual)
- Lead sponsor
- BayerIndustry (pharma, biotech, devices)
- Collaborators
- Janssen Scientific Affairs, LLC
- Study start
- 15 Jun 2015 (actual)
- Primary completion
- 31 Dec 2018 (actual)
- Study completion
- 30 Sep 2020 (actual)
- First posted
- 10 Jun 2015 (estimated)
- Results
- Not posted in the source record
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
This prospective cohort study will provide information about:
Characteristics of Rivaroxaban use in patients who are prescribed Rivaroxaban for the first time compared to patients who are prescribed standard of care for the first time.
The occurrence of intracranial haemorrhage, gastrointestinal and urogenital bleeding, and the occurrence of non-infective liver disease.
Study design
- Observational model
- Cohort
- Time perspective
- Prospective
- Number of arms
- 2
| Arm | Type | Receives |
|---|---|---|
| Rivaroxaban / Cohort 1 | – | Drug: Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939)Patients who have filled a prescription for rivaroxaban in any pharmacy in Sweden during the study period. |
| Standard of care drugs / Cohort 2 | – | Drug: Standard of care drugsPatients who have filled a prescription for standard of care drugs (warfarin, aspirin, clopidogrel, ticlopidine, prasugrel or ticagrelor) in any pharmacy in Sweden during the study period. |
Who may qualify
- Sex
- All
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Child, Adult, Older adult
- Study population
- Residents of Sweden: The study population will be identified using data from the Swedish national health registers that are maintained by the national Board of Health and Welfare.
Key inclusion criteria (1 listed)
- All male and female patients who have filled a prescription for rivaroxaban, warfarin, aspirin, clopidogrel, ticlopidine, prasugrel and ticagrelor in any pharmacy in Sweden, between December 9, 2011 and December 31, 2018
Key exclusion criteria (1 listed)
- For the AF and DVT/PE treatment indications, patients who have filled a prescription for warfarin or another oral anticoagulant at any time between July 1, 2005 and December 9, 2011 will be excluded
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939)Treatment of deep vein thrombosis (DVT) or pulmonary embolism (PE), and prevention of recurrent DVT and PE (15 mg rivaroxaban twice daily [bid] for 3 weeks, then 15 mg or 20 mg once daily [od], tablets). Prevention of stroke and systemic embolism with non-valvular atrial fibrillation (stroke prevention in atrial fibrillation [SPAF]) with one or more risk factors, prior stroke or transient ischaemic attack (20 mg rivaroxaban [od], tablets). Prevention of venous thromboembolism (VTE) in patients undergoing elective hip or knee replacement surgery (recommended dose: 10 mg rivaroxaban [od] tablets for 35 days following hip replacement surgery and 14 days following knee replacement surgery). Co-administered with acetylsalicylic acid (ASA) alone or with ASA plus clopidogrel or ticlopidine, for the prevention of atherothrombotic events in patients after an acute coronary syndrome (ACS) with elevated cardiac biomarkers (recommended dose 2.5 mg rivaroxaban tablets [bid]). | Drug | Rivaroxaban / Cohort 1 |
| Standard of care drugsFor DVT/PE treatment and SPAF, standard of care is treatment with the most widely used vitamin K antagonist, phenprocoumon, and for the secondary prevention of ACS, standard of care is antiplatelet drug(s) such as low-dose acetylsalicylic acid, clopidogrel, dipyridamole, prasugrel, ticlopidine and ticagrelor. | Drug | Standard of care drugs / Cohort 2 |
Primary outcome
Descriptive analysis of demographic and clinical characteristics of patients who are prescribed oral rivaroxaban for the first time in comparison with those who are prescribed standard of care for the first time
Time frame: up to 4 years
The following data will be collected and assessed at 2 and 4 years after rivaroxaban market authorization: • age and sex distribution at index date • dose of rivaroxaban at index date • diagnosis associated with the prescribing of the index drug • use of specific prescribed medications confirming ACS indication • use of other prescribed medications • comorbidity based on diagnoses • renal impairment • healthcare utilization (e.g. outpatient visits and hospital admissions)
Safety and effectiveness: occurrence of hospitalization for a) intracranial haemorrhage, (b) gastrointestinal bleeding, (c) urogenital bleeding among users of rivaroxaban in comparison with individuals receiving current standard of care
Time frame: up to 5 years
The two cohorts will be followed up from the index date until 12 months after the end of the enrolment period for potential outcomes For descriptive purposes, annualized crude incidence rates of the major bleeding events will be calculated, accompanied by 95% confidence intervals. For evaluation of safety and effectiveness outcome events, Cox proportional hazards regression model will be used. Propensity score matching will be done to account for confounding by indication.
4 secondary outcomes
Occurrence of hospitalization for bleeding events not specified as primary safety outcomes ("other bleeding", secondary safety outcome) in individuals receiving rivaroxaban, in comparison with those receiving current standard of care.
Time frame: at 5 years
Occurrence of non-infective liver disease (secondary safety outcome) in individuals receiving rivaroxaban in comparison with those receiving current standard of care.
Time frame: at 5 years
Outcomes related to effectiveness (DVT/PE, ischaemic stroke or myocardial infarction) in individuals receiving rivaroxaban in comparison with those receiving current standard of care.
Time frame: at 5 years
All-cause mortality as well as cause-specific mortality.
Time frame: at 5 years
Results and safety
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 27 Sep 2021.
Related trials for Acute Coronary Syndrome
Active, not recruiting
Safety and Clinical Performance of the Freesolve Resorbable Magnesium Scaffold System in the Treatment of Subjects With Long de Novo Lesions
Coronary Artery Disease, Atherosclerosis of Coronary Artery
Active, not recruiting
Interventional Strategy for Non-culprit Lesions With Major Vulnerability Criteria at OCT in Patients With ACS
Coronary Artery Disease, Coronary Disease
Active, not recruiting
Point-of-Care Troponin Testing in the Emergency Department
Acute Coronary Syndromes
Enrolling by invitationObservational study
Prevalence of CYP2C19 Genetic Polymorphisms Among Egyptian Patients Receiving Clopidogrel Following PCI
Acute Coronary Syndrome
RecruitingObservational study
CytOSorb TreatMent Of Critically Ill PatientS Registry
Septic Shock, Acute Respiratory Distress Syndrome
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Bayer Study Director study director
Bayer
1 site in 1 country: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
An observational study of Acute Coronary Syndrome and Venous Thrombosis, run by Bayer at 1 site in Sweden.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
The sponsor lists 1 inclusion and 1 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 27 Sep 2021. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 1 site in Sweden. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
Are results available for this study?
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
Descriptive analysis of demographic and clinical characteristics of patients who are prescribed oral rivaroxaban for the first time in comparison with those who are prescribed standard of care for the first time (time frame: up to 4 years). The study lists 2 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 27 Sep 2021.