AzTrials
AzTrials

Post-Operative PainPhase 3NCT02356588

A Trial Evaluating the Efficacy and Safety of the Sublingual Sufentanil Tablet 30 mcg for Post-Operative Pain After Abdominal Surgery

A Phase 3 study testing Sufentanil Tablet 30 mcg in people with Post-Operative Pain, run by Talphera, Inc at 4 sites in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

The purpose of this study is to compare the efficacy and safety of the sublingual Sufentanil Tablet (ST) 30 mcg to the sublingual Placebo Tablet (PT) for the short-term management of moderate-to-severe acute post-operative pain in patients after abdominal surgery. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Post-Operative Pain
What is being tested?
Sufentanil Tablet 30 mcg
Type of treatment
Pill or oral medicine
Could I receive a placebo?
Yes, some participants may receive a placebo
How many people
161 participants
Where
4 sitesUnited States
Study dates
Feb 2015to Aug 2015
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

Inclusion Criteria (additional criteria not specified here):

  1. Patients who are scheduled to undergo one of the following procedures with general anesthesia or spinal anesthesia that does not include intrathecal opioids during the operation:
  • abdominoplasty
  • open tension-free inguinal hernioplasty (Lichenstein repair with mesh)
  • laparoscopic abdominal surgery
  1. Patients classified as American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) class I - III (Appendix I).
  2. Female patients of childbearing potential must be using an effective method of birth control at the time of screening visit
  3. Patients who are expected to have moderate-to-severe post-operative pain for at least 24 hours.

Exclusion Criteria (additional criteria not specified here):

  1. Patients who have taken an opioid for more than 30 consecutive days, at a daily dose of more than 15 mg of morphine (or equivalent), within the past 3 months prior to surgery
  2. Patients who are currently taking monoamine oxidase inhibitors (MAOIs) or have taken MAOIs within 14 days of the first dose of study drug.
  3. Patients with current sleep apnea that has been documented by a sleep laboratory study or are on home continuous positive airway pressure (CPAP).
  4. Patients who previously have had abdominoplasty or have had an inguinal hernia repair on the same side.

Trial locations and contacts

4 sites in 1 country.

United States4 sites
  • Victory Medical Center

    Houston, Texas, 77004

  • Research Concepts, LLC

    Houston, Texas, 77024

  • Lotus Clinical Research

    Pasadena, California, 91106

  • Shoals Medical Trials, Inc

    Sheffield, Alabama, 35660

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Multicenter, Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Trial to Evaluate the Efficacy and Safety of the Sublingual Sufentanil Tablet 30 mcg for the Treatment of Post-Operative Pain in Patients After Abdominal Surgery

The purpose of this study is to compare the efficacy and safety of the sublingual Sufentanil Tablet (ST) 30 mcg to the sublingual Placebo Tablet (PT) for the short-term management of moderate-to-severe acute post-operative pain in patients after abdominal surgery.

Being tested
Sufentanil Tablet 30 mcg, Placebo Tablet
Medical subject headings
Pain, Postoperative

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • Sufentanil Tablet 30 mcgDrug

    Also called ST 30 mcg

  • Placebo TabletDrug

    Also called PT

Study groups in NCT02356588
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Sufentanil Tablet 30 mcgExperimentalA stratified randomization will be applied in this study with sex as a stratification factor. Patients who meet all inclusion and none of the exclusion criteria at screening, and following surgery, will be randomly assigned at a 2:1 ratio to treatment with ST 30 mcg or PT within one of two groups (male or female) at each study center. Patients may receive a dose of study medication no more frequently than once per hour. The study may last up to 48 hours.
Receives: Drug: Sufentanil Tablet 30 mcg
Placebo TabletPlacebo comparatorA stratified randomization will be applied in this study with sex as a stratification factor. Patients who meet all inclusion and none of the exclusion criteria at screening, and following surgery, will be randomly assigned at a 2:1 ratio to treatment with ST 30 mcg or PT within one of two groups (male or female) at each study center. Patients may receive a dose of study medication no more frequently than once per hour. The study may last up to 48 hours.
Receives: Drug: Placebo Tablet

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Time-weighted Summed Pain Intensity Difference (SPID) Over the 12-hour Study Period (SPID12).

    The primary outcome measure is the summed pain intensity difference to baseline over the 12-hour study period (SPID-12). A pain intensity score ranging from 0 (no pain) to 10 (worst possible pain) is obtained at baseline and throughout the 12 hour study period. The SPID-12 is calculated by summing the difference between baseline pain score and pain score at each assessment time point.

    The observed SPID-12 scores ranged from -42.15 to 71.87 in the active group and -34.96 to 64.37 in the placebo group. A negative score indicates an increase in pain intensity and a higher score indicates a greater decrease in pain intensity.

    Measured: 12 hours

Secondary outcomes (13)
  1. Time-weighted Summed Pain Intensity Difference (SPID) Over the 24-hour Study Period (SPID24).

    The primary outcome measure is the summed pain intensity difference to baseline over the 24-hour study period (SPID-24). A pain intensity score ranging from 0 (no pain) to 10 (worst possible pain) is obtained at baseline and throughout the 24 hour study period. The SPID-24 is calculated by summing the difference between baseline pain score and pain score at each assessment time point. The observed SPID-24 scores ranged from -70.00 to 148.70 in the active group to -58.09 to 160.24 in the placebo group. A negative score indicates an increase in pain intensity and a higher score indicates a greater decrease in pain intensity.

    Measured: 24 hours

  2. TOTPAR12

    Total pain relief over the 12 hours. The observed total pain relief scores ranged from 4.08 to 47.50 in the active group and 1.77 to 33.71 in the placebo group. A higher score indicates greater pain relief.

    Measured: 12 hours

  3. TOTPAR24

    Total pain relief over the 24 hour study period. The observed total pain relief scores ranged from 12.35 to 95.23 in the active group and 2.61 to 82.04 in the placebo group. A higher score indicates greater pain relief.

    Measured: 24 Hours

  4. Time-weighted SPRID12

    Time-weighted summed pain relief intensity difference (SPRID) over the 12 hour study period. The observed SPRID scores ranged from -38.08 to 106.82 in the active group and -20.10 to 95.72 in the placebo group. A negative score indicates an increase in pain intensity and decrease in pain relief, while a higher score indicates a greater decrease in pain intensity and increase in pain relief.

    Measured: 12 hours

  5. Time-weighted SPRID24

    Time-weighted summed pain relief intensity difference (SPRID) over the 24 hour study period. The observed SPRID scores ranged from -49.67 to 222.04 in the active group and -24.97 to 237.54 in the placebo group. A negative score indicates an increase in pain intensity and decrease in pain relief, while a higher score indicates a greater decrease in pain intensity and increase in pain relief.

    Measured: 24 hours

  6. Patient Global Assessment

    Proportion of patients who responded good or excellent to the global assessment of method of pain control at 24 hours

    Measured: 24 hours

  7. Healthcare Professional Global Assessment

    Proportion of Health Care Professionals who responded good or excellent to the global assessment of method of pain control at 24 hours

    Measured: 24 hours

  8. Summed Pain Intensity Difference

    The SPID-1 is calculated by summing the difference to baseline between baseline pain score and the pain score at each assessment time point through 1 hour.

    The observed SPID scores ranged from -2.00 to 5.25 in the active group to -4.90 to 3.00 in the placebo group. A negative score indicates an increase in pain intensity and a higher score indicates a greater decrease in pain intensity.

    Measured: 1 hour

  9. Analysis of Total Number of Doses Used During the 12-Hour Study Period in the ITT Population

    Measured: Cumulative through 12 hours

  10. Analysis of Total Number of Doses Used During the 24-Hour Study Period in the ITT Population

    Measured: 24 hours

  11. Summary of Number of Rescue Morphine Doses Used by Study Period in the ITT Population

    Measured: Cumulative through 6 hours

  12. Summary of Number of Rescue Morphine Doses Used by Study Period in the ITT Population

    Measured: Cumulative through 12 hours

  13. Summary of Number of Rescue Morphine Doses Used by Study Period in the ITT Population

    Measured: Cumulative through 24 hours

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted5 Feb 2015 (estimated)
  2. Study startFeb 2015
  3. Primary completionJun 2015
  4. Study completionAug 2015

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Intervention model
Parallel groups
Masking
Quadruple blind
Who is masked
Participant, Care provider, Investigator, Outcomes assessor
Enrolment
161 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT02356588
Sponsor's protocol ID
SAP301
Status last verified
Dec 2016
First submitted
2 Feb 2015
Last updated
13 Feb 2017
Data monitoring committee
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing Sufentanil Tablet 30 mcg in people with Post-Operative Pain, run by Talphera, Inc at 4 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 13 Feb 2017. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 4 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. Some participants in this study may receive a placebo. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 13 Feb 2017). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Time-weighted Summed Pain Intensity Difference (SPID) Over the 12-hour Study Period (SPID12). (time frame: 12 hours). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 13 Feb 2017.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in