AzTrials
AzTrials

Advanced Solid TumorsPhase 1NCT01668017

A Multicentre, Open Label, Phase 1 Trial in Japan of the Mitogen Activated Protein Extracellular Signal Regulated Kinase (MEK) Inhibitor Pimasertib Given Orally to Subjects With Solid Tumors as Monotherapy

A Phase 1 study testing Pimasertib in people with Advanced Solid Tumors and Hepatocellular Carcinoma, run by Merck KGaA, Darmstadt, Germany at 1 site in Japan.

Terminated

Stopped early. The study ended before it was planned to and will not resume.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

This is a two-part trial. "Solid tumor" in this protocol means solid tumor excluding hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC). Part 1: Dose Escalation Phase in subjects with solid tumor (Cohort A) and HCC (Cohort B). Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
What is being tested?
Pimasertib
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
26 participants
Where
1 siteJapan
Study dates
30 Sep 2012to 31 May 2015
Phase
Phase 1
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

Who may be able to join

  • Cohort A: A histologically or cytologically confirmed diagnosis of advanced solid tumors which is either refractory after standard therapy for the disease or for which no effective standard therapy is available. Archived tumor tissue available or biopsy of tumor tissue needs to be performed.
  • Cohort B: A histologically or cytologically confirmed diagnosis of advanced hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC) which is either refractory after standard therapy for the disease or for which no effective standard therapy is available. Archived tumor tissue available or biopsy of tumor tissue needs to be performed. Subjects with Child Pugh A.
  • Male or female Japanese, age greater than or equal to (>=) 18 years.
  • Subject has read and understands the informed consent form and is willing and able to give informed consent. The subject fully understands requirements of the trial and is willing to comply with all trial visits and assessments.
  • Women of childbearing potential must have a negative blood pregnancy test at the screening visit.
  • Female subjects of childbearing potential and male subjects with female partners of childbearing potential must be willing to avoid pregnancy by using an adequate method of contraception for 2 weeks prior to, during and four weeks after the last dose investigational medicinal product (IMP).
  • Life expectancy of at least 3 months

Who cannot join

  • Hematological abnormality Cohort A: Hematological test abnormalities of Hemoglobin < 9.0 g/dL, Neutrophil count < 1.010^9/L and Platelet count < 10010^9/L.
  • Cohort B: Hematological test abnormalities of Hemoglobin < 9.0 g/dL, Neutrophil count < 1.010^9/L, Platelet count < 7510^9/L, subjects with hepatic encephalopathy
  • Renal impairment as evidenced by serum creatinine > 1.5*upper limit of normal (ULN), and calculated creatinine clearance < 60 mL/min by Cockcroft-Gault formula.
  • Liver function abnormality of Total Bilirubin > 1.5*ULN, or aspartate transaminase 9AST) or alkaline phosphatase (ALT)> 2.5*ULN. For subjects with HCC or liver involvement AST/ALT > 5*ULN.
  • History of central nervous system (CNS) metastases, unless subject has been previously treated for CNS metastases
  • History of difficulty swallowing, malabsorption or other chronic gastro-intestinal disease or conditions
Show all 14Show fewer
  • Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group Performance status (ECOG PS) greater than 1.
  • Has received chemotherapy, immunotherapy, hormonal therapy, biologic therapy, or any other anticancer therapy (including any investigational agent) or surgical intervention within 28 days or 5 half lives for non-cytotoxics of registration.
  • Baseline corrected QT interval on screening ECG (QTc) >= 480 ms or left ventricular ejection fraction (LVEF) < 40% on screening echocardiogram
  • Cohort B: Subjects with hepatic encephalopathy, remarkable ascites and subjects with history of esophageal varices rupture within 6 months (subjects with symptom improvement after treatment are eligible)
  • Other serious illness or medical conditions.
  • Retinal degenerative disease.
  • Previous treatment with MEK inhibitors.
  • Legal incapacity or limited legal capacity.

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

Japan1 site
  • Please contact

    Merck Serono Co., Ltd For Recruiting Locations in

Other trials in Japan

About this study

Official title: A Multicentre, Open Label, Phase I Trial in Japan of the MEK Inhibitor Pimasertib Given Orally to Subjects With Solid Tumors as Monotherapy

This is a two-part trial. "Solid tumor" in this protocol means solid tumor excluding hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC).

Part 1: Dose Escalation Phase in subjects with solid tumor (Cohort A) and HCC (Cohort B). The dose will be increased from 45 mg twice a day (BID) with 3+3 cohort method up to the recommended phase 2 dose (RP2D) of pimasertib established as single agent in the global studies for each arm independently.

Read more

Part 2: The Maximum Tolerated Dose (MTD) defined in Part 1 will be confirmed in more subjects in Cohort A (N=18) and Cohort B (N=6) separately.

Following the recommendation by the Safety Monitoring Committee, Cohort B was discontinued due to hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC) and there will be no further enrollment of subjects to this cohort. This decision is based upon review of safety and efficacy information.

Being tested
Pimasertib
Keywords
Advanced solid tumors, Hepatocellular carcinoma, cancer, liver
Medical subject headings
Carcinoma, Hepatocellular, Liver Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • PimasertibDrug

    Subjects with solid tumor will be administered with Pimasertib 30 mg twice a day (BID) in 21-day cycles until disease progression, intolerable toxicity, investigators decision to discontinue treatment or withdrawal of consent by the subject.

  • PimasertibDrug

    Subjects with solid tumor will be administered with Pimasertib 45 mg BID in 21-day cycles until disease progression, intolerable toxicity, investigators decision to discontinue treatment or withdrawal of consent by the subject.

  • PimasertibDrug

    Subjects with solid tumor will be administered with Pimasertib 60 mg BID in 21-day cycles until disease progression, intolerable toxicity, investigators decision to discontinue treatment or withdrawal of consent by the subject.

  • PimasertibDrug

    Subjects with HCC will be administered with Pimasertib 30 mg BID in 21-day cycles until disease progression, intolerable toxicity, investigators decision to discontinue treatment or withdrawal of consent by the subject.

  • PimasertibDrug

    Subjects with HCC will be administered with Pimasertib 45 mg BID in 21-day cycles until disease progression, intolerable toxicity, investigators decision to discontinue treatment or withdrawal of consent by the subject.

Study groups in NCT01668017
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Part 1: Pimasertib 30mg in Solid TumorExperimentalNot described
Receives: Drug: Pimasertib
Part 1: Pimasertib 45 mg in Solid TumorExperimentalNot described
Receives: Drug: Pimasertib
Part 1: Pimasertib 60 mg in Solid TumorExperimentalNot described
Receives: Drug: Pimasertib
Part 1: Pimasertib 30 mg in Hepatocellular Carcinoma (HCC)ExperimentalNot described
Receives: Drug: Pimasertib
Part 1: Pimasertib 45 mg in HCCExperimentalNot described
Receives: Drug: Pimasertib

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Number of Subjects Who Experienced at Least One Dose Limiting Toxicity (DLT)

    DLT defined using National Cancer Institute Common Toxicity Criteria for Adverse Events Version 3.0 (NCI CTCAE v3.0): any of following toxicities possibly/probably related to study drug: Any non-hematological toxicity of Grade 3 or higher (excluding Grade 3 asymptomatic rise in liver function tests (aspartate aminotransferase [AST], alanine aminotransferase [ALT], alkaline phosphatase [ALP], gamma-glutamyl transferase [GGT] reversible in 7 days for subjects with solid tumor and without liver involvement, or Grade 4 for subjects with HCC or with liver involvement; Grade 3 or 4 asymptomatic rise in creatinine phosphokinase (CPK) reversible in 7 days, deniable for myocardial infarction and rhabdomyolysis; Grade 3 vomiting/diarrhea encountered without optimal therapy). Any Grade 4 neutropenia >5 days duration, any Grade 3 or above febrile neutropenia. Grade 4 thrombocytopenia >1 day or Grade 3 with bleeding. Any treatment delay >2 weeks due to drug-related adverse effects.

    Measured: During Treatment Cycle 1 (Day 1 to 21)

Secondary outcomes (34)
  1. Number of Subjects Who Experienced Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) or Serious TEAEs

    An adverse event (AE) was defined as any untoward medical occurrence which does not necessarily have a causal relationship with this the study drug. An AE was defined as any unfavorable and unintended sign (including an abnormal laboratory finding), symptom, or disease temporally associated with the use of study drug, whether or not considered related to the study drug or worsening of pre-existing medical condition, whether or not related to study drug. A serious adverse event (SAE) was an AE that resulted in any of the following outcomes: death; life threatening; persistent/significant disability/incapacity; initial or prolonged inpatient hospitalization; congenital anomaly/birth defect or was otherwise considered medically important. Treatment-emergent are events between first dose of study drug and up to 30 days after last dose that were absent before treatment or that worsened relative to pre-treatment state. TEAEs include both Serious TEAEs and non-serious TEAEs.

    Measured: Baseline up to 30 days post last dose of study drug; assessed maximum up to 39.4 weeks

  2. Maximum Observed Concentration (Cmax) of Pimasertib on Cycle 1 Day 1

    Measured: Cycle 1: Pre-morning dose, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 4, 6, 8, hours post dose, pre-evening dose (Hour 12) at Day 1

  3. Maximum Observed Concentration (Cmax) of Part 1: Pimasertib 45 mg in HCC Arm on Cycle 1 Day 1

    The summarized data was not available for this arm therefore individual data was presented.

    Measured: Cycle 1: Pre-morning dose, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 4, 6, 8, hours post dose, pre-evening dose (Hour 12) at Day 1

  4. Maximum Observed Concentration (Cmax) of Pimasertib on Cycle 1 Day 15

    Data were not reported for "Part 1: Pimasertib 45 mg in HCC" arm as there were no PK samples collected for this arm.

    Measured: Cycle 1: Pre-morning dose, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 4, 6, 8, hours post dose, pre-evening dose (Hour 12) at Day 15

  5. Maximum Observed Concentration (Cmax) of Part 1: Pimasertib 30 mg in HCC Arm on Cycle 1 Day 15

    The summarized data was not available for this arm therefore individual data was presented.

    Measured: Cycle 1: Pre-morning dose, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 4, 6, 8, hours post dose, pre-evening dose (Hour 12) at Day 15

  6. Time to Reach Maximum Concentration (Tmax) on Cycle 1 Day 1

    Measured: Cycle 1: Pre-morning dose, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 4, 6, 8, hours post dose, pre-evening dose (Hour 12) at Day 1

  7. Time to Reach Maximum Concentration (Tmax) of Part 1: Pimasertib 45 mg in HCC Arm on Cycle 1 Day 1

    The summarized data was not available for this arm therefore individual data was presented.

    Measured: Cycle 1: Pre-morning dose, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 4, 6, 8, hours post dose, pre-evening dose (Hour 12) at Day 1

  8. Time to Reach Maximum Concentration (Tmax) on Cycle 1 Day 15

    Data were not reported for "Part 1: Pimasertib 45 mg In HCC" arm as there were no PK samples collected for this arm.

    Measured: Cycle 1: Pre-morning dose, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 4, 6, 8, hours post dose, pre-evening dose (Hour 12) at Day 15

  9. Time to Reach Maximum Concentration (Tmax) of Part 1: Pimasertib 30 mg in HCC Arm on Cycle 1 Day 15

    The summarized data was not available for this arm therefore individual data was presented.

    Measured: Cycle 1: Pre-morning dose, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 4, 6, 8, hours post dose, pre-evening dose (Hour 12) at Day 15

  10. Area Under the Concentration Over Time (AUCt) at Cycle 1 Day 1

    Measured: Cycle 1: Pre-morning dose, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 4, 6, 8, hours post dose, pre-evening dose (Hour 12) at Day 1

  11. Area Under the Concentration Over Time (AUCt) of Part 1: Pimasertib 45 mg in HCC Arm on Cycle 1 Day 1

    The summarized data was not available for this arm therefore individual data was presented.

    Measured: Cycle 1: Pre-morning dose, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 4, 6, 8, hours post dose, pre-evening dose (Hour 12) at Day 1

  12. Area Under the Concentration-Time Curve From Time Zero up to Time Tau (AUC0-tau) of Pimasertib at Cycle 1 Day 1

    Area under the concentration-time curve from time zero up to time Tau, where Tau is the dosing interval (12 hours).

    Measured: Cycle 1: Pre-morning dose, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 4, 6, 8, hours post dose, pre-evening dose (Hour 12) at Day 1

  13. Area Under the Concentration-Time Curve From Time Zero up to Time Tau (AUC0-tau) of Pimasertib of 1 Part 1: Pimasertib 45 mg in HCC Arm on Cycle 1 Day 1

    Area under the concentration-time curve from time zero up to time Tau, where Tau is the dosing interval (12 hours). The summarized data was not available for this arm therefore individual data was presented.

    Measured: Cycle 1: Pre-morning dose, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 4, 6, 8, hours post dose, pre-evening dose (Hour 12) at Day 1

  14. Area Under the Concentration-Time Curve From Time Zero up to Time Tau (AUC0-tau) of Pimasertib at Cycle 1 Day 15

    Area under the concentration-time curve from time zero up to time Tau, where Tau is the dosing interval (12 hours). Data were not reported for "Part 1: Pimasertib 45 mg In HCC" arm as there were no PK samples collected for this arm.

    Measured: Cycle 1: Pre-morning dose, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 4, 6, 8, hours post dose, pre-evening dose (Hour 12) at Day 15

  15. Area Under the Concentration-Time Curve From Time Zero up to Time Tau (AUC0-tau) of Part 1: Pimasertib 30 mg in HCC Arm on Cycle 1 Day 15

    Area under the concentration-time curve from time zero up to time Tau, where Tau is the dosing interval (12 hours). The summarized data was not available for this arm therefore individual data was presented.

    Measured: Cycle 1: Pre-morning dose, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 4, 6, 8, hours post dose, pre-evening dose (Hour 12) at Day 15

  16. Apparent Terminal Half-life (t1/2) of Pimasertib on Cycle 1 Day 1

    The apparent terminal half-life was defined as the time required for the plasma concentration of drug to decrease 50% in the final stage of its elimination.

    Measured: Cycle 1: Pre-morning dose, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 4, 6, 8, hours post dose, pre-evening dose (Hour 12) at Day 1

  17. Apparent Terminal Half-life (t1/2) of Part 1: Pimasertib 45 mg in HCC Arm on Cycle 1 Day 1

    The apparent terminal half-life was defined as the time required for the plasma concentration of drug to decrease 50% in the final stage of its elimination. The summarized data was not available for this arm therefore individual data was presented.

    Measured: Cycle 1: Pre-morning dose, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 4, 6, 8, hours post dose, pre-evening dose (Hour 12) at Day 1

  18. Apparent Terminal Half-life (t1/2) of Pimasertib on Cycle 1 Day 15

    The apparent terminal half-life was defined as the time required for the plasma concentration of drug to decrease 50% in the final stage of its elimination. Data were not reported for "Part 1: Pimasertib 45 mg In HCC" arm as there were no PK samples collected for this arm.

    Measured: Cycle 1: Pre-morning dose, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 4, 6, 8, hours post dose, pre-evening dose (Hour 12) at Day 15

  19. Apparent Terminal Half-life (t1/2) of Part 1: Pimasertib 30 mg in HCC Arm on Cycle 1 Day 15

    The apparent terminal half-life was defined as the time required for the plasma concentration of drug to decrease 50% in the final stage of its elimination. The summarized data was not available for this arm therefore individual data was presented.

    Measured: Cycle 1: Pre-morning dose, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 4, 6, 8, hours post dose, pre-evening dose (Hour 12) at Day 15

  20. Apparent Clearance (CL/f) of Pimasertib on Cycle 1 Day 1

    Clearance of a drug was a measure of the rate at which a drug is metabolized or eliminated by normal biological processes. Apparent clearance after oral dose (CL/f) is influenced by the fraction absorbed.

    Measured: Cycle 1: Pre-morning dose, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 4, 6, 8, hours post dose, pre-evening dose (Hour 12) at Day 1

  21. Apparent Clearance (CL/f) of Part 1: Pimasertib 45 mg in HCC Arm on Cycle 1 Day 1

    Clearance of a drug was a measure of the rate at which a drug is metabolized or eliminated by normal biological processes. Apparent clearance after oral dose (CL/f) is influenced by the fraction absorbed. The summarized data was not available for this arm therefore individual data was presented.

    Measured: Cycle 1: Pre-morning dose, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 4, 6, 8, hours post dose, pre-evening dose (Hour 12) at Day 1

  22. Apparent Clearance at Steady-state (CLss/f) of Pimasertib on Cycle 1 Day 15

    Apparent clearance at steady state was reported. Clearance of a drug was a measure of the rate at which a drug is metabolized or eliminated by normal biological processes. Data were not reported for "Part 1: Pimasertib 45 mg In HCC" arm as there were no PK samples collected for this arm.

    Measured: Cycle 1: Pre-morning dose, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 4, 6, 8, hours post dose, pre-evening dose (Hour 12) at Day 15

  23. Apparent Clearance at Steady-state (CLss/f) of Part 1: Pimasertib 30 mg in HCC Arm on Cycle 1 Day 15

    Apparent clearance at steady state was reported. Clearance of a drug was a measure of the rate at which a drug is metabolized or eliminated by normal biological processes. The summarized data was not available for this arm therefore individual data was presented.

    Measured: Cycle 1: Pre-morning dose, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 4, 6, 8, hours post dose, pre-evening dose (Hour 12) at Day 15

  24. Apparent Volume of Distribution at Terminal Phase (Vz/f) of Pimasertib on Cycle 1 Day 1

    Volume of distribution was defined as the theoretical volume in which the total amount of drug would need to be uniformly distributed to produce the desired serum concentration of a drug. Apparent volume of distribution after oral dose (Vz/f) was influenced by the fraction absorbed.

    Measured: Cycle 1: Pre-morning dose, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 4, 6, 8, hours post dose, pre-evening dose (Hour 12) at Day 1

  25. Apparent Volume of Distribution at Terminal Phase (Vz/f) Part 1: Pimasertib 45 mg in HCC Arm on Cycle 1 Day 1

    Volume of distribution was defined as the theoretical volume in which the total amount of drug would need to be uniformly distributed to produce the desired serum concentration of a drug. The summarized data was not available for this arm therefore individual data was presented.

    Measured: Cycle 1: Pre-morning dose, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 4, 6, 8, hours post dose, pre-evening dose (Hour 12) at Day 1

  26. Apparent Volume of Distribution at Terminal Phase (Vz/f) of Pimasertib on Cycle 1 Day 15

    Volume of distribution was defined as the theoretical volume in which the total amount of drug would need to be uniformly distributed to produce the desired serum concentration of a drug. Apparent volume of distribution after oral dose (Vz/f) was influenced by the fraction absorbed. Data were not reported for "Part 1: Pimasertib 45 mg In HCC" arm as there were no PK samples collected for this arm.

    Measured: Cycle 1: Pre-morning dose, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 4, 6, 8, hours post dose, pre-evening dose (Hour 12) at Day 15

  27. Apparent Volume of Distribution at Terminal Phase (Vz/f) of Part 1: Pimasertib 30 mg in HCC Arm on Cycle 1 Day 15

    Volume of distribution was defined as the theoretical volume in which the total amount of drug would need to be uniformly distributed to produce the desired serum concentration of a drug. The summarized data was not available for this arm therefore individual data was presented.

    Measured: Cycle 1: Pre-morning dose, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 4, 6, 8, hours post dose, pre-evening dose (Hour 12) at Day 15

  28. Accumulation Ratio for AUC Racc(AUC) of Pimasertib

    Racc (AUC) was calculated as, area under the curve from time zero to end of dosing interval on Day 1 divided by area under the curve from time zero to end of dosing interval on Day 15. Data were not reported for "Part 1: Pimasertib 45 mg In HCC" arm as there were no PK samples collected for this arm.

    Measured: Cycle 1: Pre-morning dose, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 4, 6, 8, hours post dose, pre-evening dose (Hour 12) at Day 1 and Day 15

  29. Accumulation Ratio for AUC Racc(AUC) of Part 1: Pimasertib 30 mg In HCC Arm

    Racc (AUC) was calculated as, area under the curve from time zero to end of dosing interval on Day 1 divided by area under the curve from time zero to end of dosing interval on Day 15.

    Measured: Cycle 1: Pre-morning dose, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 4, 6, 8, hours post dose, pre-evening dose (Hour 12) at Day 1 and Day 15

  30. Accumulation Ratio for Cmax Racc(Cmax) of Pimasertib

    Racc (Cmax) was calculated as, maximum observed plasma concentration on Day 1 (Cmax) divided by maximum observed plasma concentration on Day 15 (Cmax). Data were not reported for "Part 1: Pimasertib 45 mg In HCC" arm as there were no PK samples collected for this arm.

    Measured: Cycle 1: Pre-morning dose, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 4, 6, 8, hours post dose, pre-evening dose (Hour 12) at Day 1 and Day 15

  31. Accumulation Ratio for Cmax Racc(Cmax) of Part 1: Pimasertib 30 mg In HCC Arm

    Racc (Cmax) was calculated as, maximum observed plasma concentration on Day 1 (Cmax) divided by maximum observed plasma concentration on Day 15 (Cmax).

    Measured: Cycle 1: Pre-morning dose, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 4, 6, 8, hours post dose, pre-evening dose (Hour 12) at Day 1 and Day 15

  32. Percentage of Subjects With Best Overall Response

    Percentage of subjects with best overall response in each category (complete response [CR], partial response [PR], stable disease [SD], progressive disease [PD]) according to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST Version 1.1) was reported. CR was defined as disappearance of all target and all non-target lesions. Any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have reduction in short axis to <10 mm. PR was defined as at least a 30% decrease in sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters. PD was defined as at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on study (this includes the baseline sum if that is the smallest on study) or unequivocal progression of existing non-target lesions. SD was defined as neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for PD, taking as reference the smallest sum diameters while on study.

    Measured: Day 1 of Cycle 3 and Day 1 of every alternate until end of treatment (up to a maximum of 35.4 weeks)

  33. Percentage of Subjects With Objective Response

    Percentage of subjects with objective response (CR plus PR) according to RECIST Version 1.1 was reported. CR was defined as disappearance of all target and all non-target lesions. Any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have reduction in short axis to <10 mm. PR was defined as at least a 30% decrease in sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters.

    Measured: Day 1 of Cycle 3 and Day 1 of every alternate until end of treatment (up to a maximum of 35.4 weeks)

  34. Percentage of Subjects With Disease Control

    Percentage of subjects with disease control (CR plus PR plus greater than 12 weeks SD) according to RECIST Version 1.1 was reported CR was defined as disappearance of all target and all non-target lesions. Any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have reduction in short axis to <10 mm. PR was defined as at least a 30% decrease in sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters. SD was defined as neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for PD, taking as reference the smallest sum diameters while on study. PD was defined as at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on study (this includes the baseline sum if that is the smallest on study) or unequivocal progression of existing non-target lesions.

    Measured: Day 1 of Cycle 3 and Day 1 of every alternate until end of treatment (up to a maximum of 35.4 weeks)

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted17 Aug 2012 (estimated)
  2. Study start30 Sep 2012
  3. Primary completion31 May 2015
  4. Study completion31 May 2015

Why it stopped: The sponsor decided not to conduct the expansion part of trial (part 2)

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Intervention model
Parallel groups
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
26 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT01668017
Sponsor's protocol ID
EMR 200066-010
Status last verified
Jul 2017
First submitted
15 Aug 2012
Last updated
23 Aug 2017
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1 study testing Pimasertib in people with Advanced Solid Tumors and Hepatocellular Carcinoma, run by Merck KGaA, Darmstadt, Germany at 1 site in Japan.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

The sponsor lists 7 inclusion and 14 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: stopped early, as of the sponsor's last update on 23 Aug 2017. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in Japan. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 29 Mar 2017). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Number of Subjects Who Experienced at Least One Dose Limiting Toxicity (DLT) (time frame: During Treatment Cycle 1 (Day 1 to 21)). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 23 Aug 2017.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in