AzTrials
AzTrials

Rheumatoid ArthritisNCT01617005

A Study of Tocilizumab in Participants With Active Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA) and an Inadequate Response to Non-Biological Disease-modifying Anti-rheumatic Drugs (DMARDs)

An observational study of Rheumatoid Arthritis, run by Hoffmann-La Roche at 1 site in Montenegro.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

This observational study will evaluate the safety and efficacy of tocilizumab in participants with active moderate to severe RA and an inadequate response to non-biologic DMARDs. Data will be collected from each eligible participant initiating tocilizumab treatment over 6 months. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Rheumatoid Arthritis
What is being tested?
Tocilizumab
How many people
50 participants
Where
1 siteMontenegro
Study dates
May 2012to Sep 2014
Phase
Observational
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

Study population: Participants with RA and an inadequate response to non-biologic DMARDs.

Who may be able to join

  • Moderate to severe active RA (European League Against Rheumatism [EULAR] criteria)
  • Inadequate response to DMARDs or tumor necrosis factor (TNF) antagonists
  • Initiating treatment with tocilizumab according to SPC

Who cannot join

  • Rheumatic autoimmune disease other than RA
  • Prior history or current inflammatory joint disease other than RA
  • Previous treatment with any biological drug used in the treatment of RA
  • Previous treatment with tocilizumab
  • Any contraindication to treatment with tocilizumab
  • Major surgery (including joint surgery) within 8 weeks prior to screening or planned major surgery within 6 months following enrollment
  • Pregnant women or nursing (breastfeeding) mothers

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

Montenegro1 site
  • Study site

    Podgorica, 81000

Other trials in Montenegro

About this study

Official title: Non-interventional Local Study to Describe the Safety, Tolerability and Efficacy of Tocilizumab in Patients With Active Rheumatoid Arthritis Who Have an Inadequate Response to Current Non-biologic DMARD

This observational study will evaluate the safety and efficacy of tocilizumab in participants with active moderate to severe RA and an inadequate response to non-biologic DMARDs. Data will be collected from each eligible participant initiating tocilizumab treatment over 6 months.

Being tested
Tocilizumab
Medical subject headings
Arthritis, Rheumatoid

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • TocilizumabDrug

    Also called RoActemra, L04AC07

    Participants will receive tocilizumab treatment according to effective official SPC. The study protocol does not enforce treatment initiation and also does not specify any treatment regimen.

Study groups in NCT01617005
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Tocilizumab in Moderate to Severe Active RAModerate to severe active RA participants, receiving tocilizumab treatment according to effective official Summary of Product Characteristics (SPC), will be observed. The choice of therapy will be based exclusively on the medical decision of the treating physician before study enrollment. The study protocol does not enforce treatment initiation and also does not specify any treatment regimen.
Receives: Drug: Tocilizumab

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) and Serious AEs (SAEs)

    An AE was any untoward medical occurrence in a participant who received study drug without regard to possibility of causal relationship. A SAE was an AE resulting in any of the following outcomes or deemed significant for any other reason: death; initial or prolonged inpatient hospitalization; life-threatening experience (immediate risk of dying); persistent or significant disability/incapacity; congenital anomaly. AEs include both SAEs as well as non-serious AEs.

    Measured: Baseline up to Week 24

Secondary outcomes (3)
  1. Number of Participants With Good or Moderate Response According to European League Against Rheumatism (EULAR) Criteria

    EULAR response was based on 28-joint disease activity score (DAS28). The DAS28-based EULAR response criteria were used to measure individual response as none, good, and moderate, depending on the extent of change from baseline (CFB) in DAS28 score and the level of disease activity reached (absolute DAS28 score). Good responders had a CFB greater than (>) 1.2 with a DAS28 score less than or equal to (<=) 3.2; moderate responders had a CFB >1.2 with a DAS28 score >3.2 to <= 5.1 or a change from baseline >0.6 to <= 1.2 with a DAS28 score <= 5.1; non-responders had a CFB <=0.6 or CFB >0.6 to <=1.2 with DAS28 >5.1. Number of participants who achieved EULAR good response and EULAR moderate response were reported.

    Measured: Baseline, Week 24

  2. Number of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment Due to Lack of Efficacy

    Measured: Baseline up to Week 24

  3. Time to Discontinuation Due to Lack of Efficacy

    Measured: Baseline up to Week 24

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted12 Jun 2012 (estimated)
  2. Study startMay 2012
  3. Primary completionSep 2014
  4. Study completionSep 2014

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Observational
Observational model
Cohort
Time perspective
Prospective
Enrolment
50 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT01617005
Sponsor's protocol ID
ML25699
Status last verified
Oct 2016
First submitted
8 Jun 2012
Last updated
1 Dec 2016
Data monitoring committee
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

An observational study of Rheumatoid Arthritis, run by Hoffmann-La Roche at 1 site in Montenegro.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

The sponsor lists 3 inclusion and 7 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 1 Dec 2016. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in Montenegro. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 1 Dec 2016). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) and Serious AEs (SAEs) (time frame: Baseline up to Week 24). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 1 Dec 2016.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in