AzTrials
AzTrials

LeukemiaNCT01232855

Biomarkers in Tissue Samples From Patients With Acute Promyelocytic Leukemia

An observational study of Leukemia, run by Children's Oncology Group.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Studying samples fo tissue from patients with cancer in the laboratory may help doctors identify and learn more about biomarkers related to cancer. PURPOSE: This research study is studying biomarkers in tissue samples from patients with acute promyelocytic leukemia. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages Up to 120 years
Conditions the study is for
Leukemia
What is being tested?
protein expression analysis, western blotting and flow cytometry
How many people
10 participants
Where
No sites listed yet
Study dates
Nov 2010to Feb 2011
Phase
Observational
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Up to 120 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

Study population: Patients With Acute Promyelocytic Leukemia

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Diagnosis of acute promyelocytic leukemia
  • Available cryopreserved cells from diagnosis or cryopreserved cells from remission (germline)

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Not specified

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

  • Not specified

About this study

Official title: Regulation of S100A10 by the PML-RAR-alpha Oncoprotein

RATIONALE: Studying samples fo tissue from patients with cancer in the laboratory may help doctors identify and learn more about biomarkers related to cancer.

PURPOSE: This research study is studying biomarkers in tissue samples from patients with acute promyelocytic leukemia.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Demonstrate that S100A10 is expressed on APL cells and that levels of S100A10 correspond to the amount of fibrinolytic activity.
  • Evaluate the impact of ATRA on S100A10 level and fibrinolytic activity in vitro.
  • Evaluate the impact of S100A10 knockdown on fibrinolytic activity.
  • Correlate in vitro findings in cell culture to primary patient samples both pre- and post-ATRA therapy.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study.

Previously collected samples are analyzed via flow cytometry and western blot analysis. Cell surface levels of S100A10 and annexin A2 are correlated to the promyelocyte population and total protein levels are examined to determine total annexin A2 and S100A10 in acute promyelocytic leukemia cells.

Conditions
Leukemia
Being tested
protein expression analysis, western blotting, flow cytometry, laboratory biomarker analysis
Keywords
adult acute myeloid leukemia with t(15;17)(q22;q12), adult acute promyelocytic leukemia (M3), childhood acute promyelocytic leukemia (M3), adult acute myeloid leukemia in remission, untreated adult acute myeloid leukemia, childhood acute myeloid leukemia in remission, untreated childhood acute myeloid leukemia and other myeloid malignancies
Medical subject headings
Leukemia, Leukemia, Promyelocytic, Acute

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • protein expression analysisGenetic

  • western blottingGenetic

  • flow cytometryOther

  • laboratory biomarker analysisOther

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Demonstration that S100A10 is expressed on acute promyelocytic leukemia cells and that levels of S100A10 correspond to the amount of fibrinolytic activity

  2. Evaluation of the impact of all-trans retinoic acid (ATRA) on S100A10 level and fibrinolytic activity in vitro

  3. Evaluation of the impact of S100A10 knockdown on fibrinolytic activity

  4. Correlation of in vitro findings in cell culture to primary patient samples both pre- and post-ATRA therapy

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted2 Nov 2010 (estimated)
  2. Study startNov 2010
  3. Primary completionFeb 2011
  4. Study completionFeb 2011

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Observational
Observational model
Cohort
Time perspective
Prospective
Enrolment
10 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT01232855
Sponsor's protocol ID
AAML11B5
Other IDs
COG-AAML11B5, NCI-2011-02844, AAML11B5
Status last verified
May 2015
First submitted
30 Oct 2010
Last updated
2 Oct 2015
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

An observational study of Leukemia, run by Children's Oncology Group.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 2 Oct 2015. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Demonstration that S100A10 is expressed on acute promyelocytic leukemia cells and that levels of S100A10 correspond to the amount of fibrinolytic activity. The study lists 4 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 2 Oct 2015.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in