SchizophreniaPhase 3NCT01192880
A Study to Evaluate Efficacy and Safety of Bitopertin in Participants With Persistent, Predominant Negative Symptoms of Schizophrenia
A Phase 3 study testing Bitopertin and Antipsychotics in people with Schizophrenia, run by Hoffmann-La Roche at 103 sites in 7 countries.
Trial summary
This Phase 3, multi-center, randomized, double blind, parallel-group, placebo-controlled study will evaluate the efficacy and safety of RO4917838 (bitopertin) in participants with persistent, predominant negative symptoms of schizophrenia. Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 18 years and older
- Conditions the study is for
- Schizophrenia
- What is being tested?
- Bitopertin and Antipsychotics
- Type of treatment
- Pill or oral medicine
- Could I receive a placebo?
- Yes, some participants may receive a placebo
- How many people
- 625 participants
- Where
- 103 sitesin 7 countries
- Study dates
- Nov 2010to Jul 2014
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Are there results?
- None posted in the registry
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 18 years and older
- All sexes
- No healthy volunteers
- Adult, Older adult
Who may be able to join
- Based on the screening Structured Clinical Interview for and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 4th Edition (DSM IV) - Clinical Trial (SCID CT), a DSM-IV- Text Revision (DSM-IV-TR) diagnosis of schizophrenia, paranoid, disorganized, residual, undifferentiated or catatonic subtype
- A score of 40 or greater on the sum of the 14 PANSS negative and disorganized thought factor items (items scored 1-7 for a maximum possible score of 98)
- A score of 22 or less on the sum of the 8 PANSS positive symptom factor items. The score of the items of P1 (delusions), P3 (hallucinatory behavior), P6 (suspiciousness) and G9 (unusual thought content) meet the following requirements: no more than 2 of the above items have a score of 4; all of the above items score less than 5
- Clinical stability for 6 months prior to randomization as well as antipsychotic treatment stability for the past 8 weeks at the time of randomization
- Are at least moderately ill, as defined by Clinical Global Impression - Severity (CGI S) of negative symptoms score more than or equal to (>/=) 4
- Stable doses of anticholinergic, antidepressive medication for at least 8 weeks prior to randomization is allowed as long as the respective scales cut-off entry criteria are met
Show all 9Show fewer
- With the exception of clozapine, participants are on any of the available marketed atypical or typical antipsychotics (treatment with a maximum of 2 antipsychotics)
- Have a caregiver considered reliable by the investigator
- Female participants who are not either surgically sterile or post-menopausal must agree to use at least one effective forms of contraception from agree to remain sexually abstinent from screening until 90 days after the completion of the study medication
Who cannot join
- Evidence that participant has clinically significant, uncontrolled and unstable disorder (for example, cardiovascular, renal, hepatic disorder)
- Body Mass Index (BMI) of less than (<) 17 or more than (>) 40 kilograms per meter square (kg/m^2)
- Depressive symptoms, defined as a score of 9 or greater on the Calgary Depression Rating Scale for Schizophrenia (CDSS)
- A severity score of >/=3 on the Parkinsonism item of the Extrapyramidal Symptoms Rating Scale - Abbreviated (ESRS-A) (Clinical Global Impression, Parkinsonism)
- Positive result on the serum pregnancy test or are breast feeding at screening, or intend to become pregnant during the course of the trial.
- History of neuroleptic malignant syndrome (NMS)
Show all 11Show fewer
- Based on the DSM-IV-TR criteria and screening SCID-CT have: other current DSM-IV-TR Axis I diagnosis; alcohol or substance dependence within 12 months or abuse within 3 months with the exception of nicotine; dementia, delirium and other amnestic disorder per DSM-IV-TR
- Treated with electroconvulsive therapy (ECT) within 6 months prior to randomization
- Ever received RO4917838 or another glycine transporter 1 (GLYT 1) inhibitor
- Require high doses of benzodiazepines (> 4 mg per day lorazepam or equivalent)
- Have a positive urine drug screen for amphetamines (including 3,4-Methylenedioxymethamphetamine [MDMA]/ecstasy), cocaine, barbiturate, cannabis and/or opiates
Trial locations and contacts
103 sites in 7 countries.
103 sites in 7 countries
United States27 sites
Atlanta Center For Medical Research
Atlanta, Georgia, 30308
Community Clinical Research Inc.
Austin, Texas, 78754
State University of New York at Buffalo; Department of Psychiatry
Buffalo, New York, 14215
Clinical Innovtions Inc
Costa Mesa, California, 92626
Duke University
Durham, North Carolina, 27705
Synergy Clinical Research of Escondido
Escondido, California, 92025
Precise Research Centers
Flowood, Mississippi, 39232
Clinical Insights, Inc.
Glen Burnie, Maryland, 21061
San Fernando Mental Health Center
Granada Hills, California, 91344
Indiana University; LaRue Carter Memorial Hospital-Research Unit
Indianapolis, Indiana, 46222
University Hills Clinical Research
Irving, Texas, 75062
Eastside Therapeutic Resource
Kirkland, Washington, 98033
University of California San Diego
La Jolla, California, 92093
Altea Research Institute
Las Vegas, Nevada, 89102
Behavioral Clinical Research Inc.
Lauderhill, Florida, 33319
University of Miami Miller School of Medicine
Miami, Florida, 33136
New York State Psychiatric Institute; Psychiatry Dept of Columbia University
New York, New York, 10032
Keystone Clinical Studies, LLC
Norristown, Pennsylvania, 19403
Excell Research
Oceanside, California, 92056
Medical Research Group of Central Florida
Orange City, Florida, 3273
Berma Research Group
Plantation, Florida, 33317
Finger Lakes Clinical Research
Rochester, New York, 14618
Lifetree Clinical Research
Salt Lake City, Utah, 84106
Artemis Institute for Clinical Research, LLC
San Diego, California, 92103
Scranton Medical Institutes Llc.
Scranton, Pennsylvania, 18503
Ocean Rheumatology
Toms River, New Jersey, 08775
Collaborative Neuroscience Network Inc.
Torrance, California, 90502
Japan26 sites
Kohnodai Hp., National Center for Global Health and Medicine
Chiba, 272-8516
Fukkokai Soubu Hospital
Funabashi-shi, 273-8540
Daiwakai Seimou Hospital
Gunma, 370-2455
Koseikai Kusatsu Hospital
Hiroshima, 733-0864
Hokkaido University Hospital
Hokkaido, 060-8648
NHO Hizen Psychiatric Medical Center
Kanzaki-gun, 842-0192
Sankeikai Nishigahara Hospital
Kita-ku, 114-0024
Hospital of the University of Occupational and Environmental Health,Japan
Kitakyushu-shi, 807-8556
Jinseikai Hosogi Unity Hospital
Kochi, 780-8535
NHO Kikuchi National Hospital
Koshi-shi, 861-1116
Yuge Hospital
Kumamoto, 861-8002
Jinkokai Kurayoshi Hospital
Kurayoshi-shi, 682-0023
NHO Higashiowari Hospital
Nagoya, 463-0802
Shinkokai Shiranui Hospital
Omuta-shi, 836-0004
Asakayama General Hospital
Sakaishi, 590-0018
Tonankai Ashirbetsu Hospital
Sapporo, 004-0841
Sawayamakai Teine Hospital
Sapporo, 006-0816
Tohoku Seishin Hokenkai Aoba Hospital
Sendai, 983-0836
Jisenkai Nanko Psychiatric Institute
Shirakawa-shi, 961-0021
Tokyo Women's Medical University Hospital
Tokyo, 162-8666
National Center Of Neurology And Psychiatry Hospital
Tokyo, 187-8551
Korenkai Minamitoyama Nakagawa Hospital
Toyama, 939-8073
Fujita Health University Hospital
Toyoake-shi, 470-1192
Deep Intention Hiyoshi Hospital
Yokohama, 223-0062
Kanagawa Prefectural Psychiatric Center Kinko Hospital
Yokohama, 233-0006
Yokohama Aihara Hospital
Yokohama, 246-0026
China18 sites
Hebei Mental Health Centre
Baoding, 071000
Beijing Huilongguan Hospital; Department of Psychiatric
Beijing, 071000
Peking University Sixth Hospital; Department of Psychiatry
Beijing, 100083
Beijing An Ding Hosp.Capital Medical University; 5th Clinical Dept Depression Centre
Beijing, 100088
The Second Xiangya Hospital of Central South University
Changsha, 410011
West China Hospital, Sichuan University
Chengdu, 610041
Guangzhou Brain Hospital
GuangzhouGuangdong, 510370
The First Affiliated Hospital of College of Medicine, Zhejiang University(First Hospital of Zhejiang
Hangzhou, 310003
The Second Affiliated Hospital of Zhejiang University College
Hangzhou, 310009
The First Affilliated Hospital of Kunming Medical College
Kunming, 650032
Nanjing Brain Hospital
Nanjing, 210029
Shanghai Mental Health Center
Shanghai, 200030
Tongji Hospital of Tongji University
Shanghai, 200065
Renmin Hospital of Wuhan University
Wuhan, 430060
Wuxi Mental Health Center
Wuxi, 214151
The First Affiliated Hospital of The Fourth Military Medical University (Xijing Hospital)
Xi'an, 710032
First Affiliated Hospital of Medical College of Xi'an Jiaotong University
Xi'an, 710061
Xi'an Mental Health Center
Xi'an, 710061
Bulgaria8 sites
DDPDS Prof Dr Ivan Temkov EOOD
Burgas, 8000
MHAT Dr.Hristo Stambolski EOOD; Psychiatry Ward of Acute Psychotic Disiorders in Severe Stage
Kazanlak, 6100
State Psychiatric Hospital Sv. Ivan Rilski Novi Iskar; First Man Dept. and First Woman Dept.
Novi Iskar, 1282
State Psychiatric Hospital - Pazardzhik AD; Department for active treatment of men and for women
Pazardzhik, 4400
UMHAT Dr Georgi Stranski; EAD; Psychiatry
Plovdiv, 4002
State Psychiatric Hospital Dr. G. Kissiov; 3-d Women Ward 1-st Men Ward
Radnevo, 6260
DDPDIU-Ruse; Men acute department Women acute department
Rousse, 7003
Military Medical Academy- MHAT
Sofia, 1606
Czechia8 sites
Saint Anne s.r.o.
Brno, 602 00
Krajska nemocnice Liberec a.s.
Liberec, 460 63
Psychiatricka ambulance
Mělník, 276 01
A-Shine s.r.o.
Pilsen, 312 00
Clintrial,s.r.o.
Prague, 100 00
Medical Services Prague s.r.o.
Prague, 160 00
Psychiatricke Centrum Praha
Praha 8 - Bohnice, 181 03
CTCenter MaVe s.r.o.
Sternberk, 785 01
Italy8 sites
Azienda Ospedaliero-Universitaria Consorziale Pol. di Bari; Neuroscienze e Organi di Senso
Bari, Apulia, 70124
Asst Degli Spedali Civili Di Brescia; Servizio di farmacia
Brescia, Lombardy, 25123
Clinica Mangiagalli
Milan, Lombardy, 20122
ASST FATEBENEFRATELLI SACCO; Psichiatria (Fatebenefratelli)
Milan, Lombardy, 20124
Azienda Ospedaliera Universitaria Federico II
Naples, Campania, 80131
Azienda Ospedaliera di Padova
Padova, Veneto, 35128
A.O. Universitaria Pisana; Psichiatria
Pisa, Tuscany, 56126
Azienda Ospedaliero Universitaria Molinette San Giovanni Bat
Turin, Piedmont, 10126
Russia8 sites
Kemerovo Regional Clinical Psychiatric Hospital
Kemerovo, 650036
GUZ Lipetsk Regional psychoneurological Hospital #1; Dispansary Department
Lipetsk, 399313
Institution of RAMS (Mental Health Research Center of RAMS); Psychopharmacology laboratory
Moscow, 115522
Central Moscow Regional Clinical Psychiatric Hospital
Moscow, 127083
City Psychiatric Hospital #2 of St. Nikolay Chudotvorets
Saint Petersburg, 190121
StP SR Psychoneurological Institute n.a.V.M.Bekhterev of MoH
Saint Petersburg, 192019
MHI City Clinical Hospital #2 named after V.I. Razumovsky; Psychiatric
Sartatov, 410028
Arkhangelsk Regional Clinical Psychiatric Hospital
Talagi, 163530
About this study
Official title: A Phase III, Multi-Center, Randomized, 24 Week, Double-Blind, Parallel-Group, Placebo-Controlled Study to Evaluate Efficacy and Safety of RO4917838 in Stable Patients With Persistent, Predominant Negative Symptoms of Schizophrenia Treated With Antipsychotics Followed by a 28 Week, Double-Blind Treatment Period
This Phase 3, multi-center, randomized, double blind, parallel-group, placebo-controlled study will evaluate the efficacy and safety of RO4917838 (bitopertin) in participants with persistent, predominant negative symptoms of schizophrenia. Participants, on stable treatment with antipsychotics, will be randomized to receive daily oral doses of RO4917838 or matching placebo for 52 weeks, followed by an optional treatment extension for up to 3 years.
- Conditions
- Schizophrenia
- Being tested
- Placebo, Bitopertin, Antipsychotics
- Medical subject headings
- Schizophrenia
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
PlaceboDrug
Participants will receive bitopertin matching placebo once daily for 56 weeks.
BitopertinDrug
Also called RO4917838
Participants will receive 10 mg or 20 mg of bitopertin.
AntipsychoticsDrug
Participants will continue to receive their stable antipsychotic regiment throughout the study. Study protocol does not specify any particular antipsychotic drug and regimen.
| Study group | Role | What they receive |
|---|---|---|
| Bitopertin 10 mg + Antipsychotics | Experimental | Treatment Period 1: Participants will receive bitopertin 10 milligrams (mg) tablet orally once daily for 24 weeks. Treatment Period 2: Participants will receive bitopertin 10 mg tablet orally once daily for 28 weeks (up to Study Week 52). After Week 52 there will be a 4-week washout period for at least 50 percent (%) of participants (up to Week 56). Long-Term Extension: After Week 56, participants will enter the long term extension period and continue to receive bitopertin 10 mg tablet orally once daily up to 3 years. In addition, throughout the study, participants will continue their same stable antipsychotic treatment as they were receiving prior to entry in the study. Receives: Drug: Bitopertin; Drug: Antipsychotics |
| Bitopertin 20 mg + Antipsychotics | Experimental | Treatment Period 1: Participants will receive bitopertin 20 mg tablet orally once daily for 24 weeks. Treatment Period 2: Participants will receive bitopertin 20 mg tablet orally once daily for 28 weeks (up to Study Week 52). After Week 52 there will be a 4-week washout period for at least 50% of participants (up to Week 56). Long-Term Extension: After Week 56, participants will enter the long term extension period and continue to receive bitopertin 20 mg tablet orally once daily up to 3 years. In addition, throughout the study, participants will continue their same stable antipsychotic treatment as they were receiving prior to entry in the study. Receives: Drug: Bitopertin; Drug: Antipsychotics |
| Placebo | Placebo comparator | Treatment Period 1: Participants will receive bitopertin matching placebo tablet orally once daily for 24 weeks. Treatment Period 2: Participants will receive bitopertin matching placebo tablet orally once daily for 32 weeks (up to Study Week 56). Long-Term Extension: After Week 56, participants will enter the long term extension period and will be switched to (in blinded manner) bitopertin 10 mg tablet orally once daily up to 3 years. In addition, throughout the study, participants will continue their same stable antipsychotic treatment as they were receiving prior to entry in the study. Receives: Drug: Placebo; Drug: Antipsychotics |
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
Mean Change From Baseline in the Positive and Negative Syndrome Scale (PANSS) Negative Symptom Factor Score at Week 24
Measured: Baseline, Week 24
Percentage of Participants with Adverse Events
Measured: From baseline up to 24 weeks
Secondary outcomes (8)
Mean Change from Baseline in the Personal and Social Performance (PSP) Total Score at Week 24
Measured: Baseline, Week 24
Mean Change from Baseline in the PANSS Total Score at Week 24
Measured: Baseline, Week 24
Mean Change from Baseline in the PANSS Factor Scores at Week 24
Measured: Baseline, Week 24
Mean Change from Baseline in the PANSS Subscale Scores at Week 24
Measured: Baseline, Week 24
Percentage of Participants With Response, as Assessed by PANSS Negative Symptom Factor Score
Measured: Week 24
Percentage of Participants with Response, as Assessed by CGI-I Overall and Negative Symptoms Rating Score
Measured: Week 24
Percentage of Participants with Both At Least 20% Improvement from Baseline in the PANSS Negative Symptom Factor Score and with a CGI-I Negative Symptoms Rating of Either Much or Very Much Improvement
Measured: Week 24
Mean Change from Baseline in the CGI-S Overall and Negative Symptoms Rating Score
Measured: Baseline, Week 24
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted1 Sep 2010 (estimated)
- Study startNov 2010
- Primary completionJul 2014
- Study completionJul 2014
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Publications (2)Papers the sponsor has linked to this study.
- Other trials for SchizophreniaStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- More trials run by Hoffmann-La RocheThe sponsor's other registered studies.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Intervention model
- Parallel groups
- Masking
- Double blind
- Who is masked
- Participant, Investigator
- Enrolment
- 625 participants (actual)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- Hoffmann-La Roche
- Sponsor type
- Industry (pharma, biotech, devices)
- Responsible party
- Sponsor
- Investigators
- Clinical Trials, Study director, Hoffmann-La Roche
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT01192880
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- WN25308
- Other IDs
- 2010-020470-42
- Status last verified
- Feb 2017
- First submitted
- 30 Aug 2010
- Last updated
- 15 Feb 2017
- Results posted
- No
Publications
Georgiades A, Davis VG, Atkins AS, Khan A, Walker TW, Loebel A, Haig G, Hilt DC, Dunayevich E, Umbricht D, Sand M, Keefe RSE. Psychometric characteristics of the MATRICS Consensus Cognitive Battery in a large pooled cohort of stable schizophrenia patients. Schizophr Res. 2017 Dec;190:172-179. doi: 10.1016/j.schres.2017.03.040. Epub 2017 Apr 20.
PubMed 28433500Bugarski-Kirola D, Blaettler T, Arango C, Fleischhacker WW, Garibaldi G, Wang A, Dixon M, Bressan RA, Nasrallah H, Lawrie S, Napieralski J, Ochi-Lohmann T, Reid C, Marder SR. Bitopertin in Negative Symptoms of Schizophrenia-Results From the Phase III FlashLyte and DayLyte Studies. Biol Psychiatry. 2017 Jul 1;82(1):8-16. doi: 10.1016/j.biopsych.2016.11.014. Epub 2016 Dec 15.
PubMed 28117049
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 15 Feb 2017. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- A Phase III, Multi-Center, Randomized, 24 Week, Double-Blind, Parallel-Group, Placebo-Controlled Study to Evaluate Efficacy and Safety of RO4917838 in Stable Patients With Persistent, Predominant Negative Symptoms of Schizophrenia Treated With Antipsychotics Followed by a 28 Week, Double-Blind Treatment Period
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT01192880
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- WN25308
- Conditions
- Schizophrenia
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Completed
- Enrolment
- 625 participants (actual)
- Lead sponsor
- Hoffmann-La RocheIndustry (pharma, biotech, devices)
- Study start
- Nov 2010
- Primary completion
- Jul 2014 (actual)
- Study completion
- Jul 2014 (actual)
- First posted
- 1 Sep 2010 (estimated)
- Results
- Not posted in the source record
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
This Phase 3, multi-center, randomized, double blind, parallel-group, placebo-controlled study will evaluate the efficacy and safety of RO4917838 (bitopertin) in participants with persistent, predominant negative symptoms of schizophrenia. Participants, on stable treatment with antipsychotics, will be randomized to receive daily oral doses of RO4917838 or matching placebo for 52 weeks, followed by an optional treatment extension for up to 3 years.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Intervention model
- Parallel groups
- Masking
- Double blind (participant, investigator)
- Number of arms
- 3
| Arm | Type | Receives |
|---|---|---|
| Bitopertin 10 mg + Antipsychotics | Experimental | Drug: Bitopertin, Drug: AntipsychoticsTreatment Period 1: Participants will receive bitopertin 10 milligrams (mg) tablet orally once daily for 24 weeks. Treatment Period 2: Participants will receive bitopertin 10 mg tablet orally once daily for 28 weeks (up to Study Week 52). After Week 52 there will be a 4-week washout period for at least 50 percent (%) of participants (up to Week 56). Long-Term Extension: After Week 56, participants will enter the long term extension period and continue to receive bitopertin 10 mg tablet orally once daily up to 3 years. In addition, throughout the study, participants will continue their same stable antipsychotic treatment as they were receiving prior to entry in the study. |
| Bitopertin 20 mg + Antipsychotics | Experimental | Drug: Bitopertin, Drug: AntipsychoticsTreatment Period 1: Participants will receive bitopertin 20 mg tablet orally once daily for 24 weeks. Treatment Period 2: Participants will receive bitopertin 20 mg tablet orally once daily for 28 weeks (up to Study Week 52). After Week 52 there will be a 4-week washout period for at least 50% of participants (up to Week 56). Long-Term Extension: After Week 56, participants will enter the long term extension period and continue to receive bitopertin 20 mg tablet orally once daily up to 3 years. In addition, throughout the study, participants will continue their same stable antipsychotic treatment as they were receiving prior to entry in the study. |
| Placebo | Placebo comparator | Drug: Placebo, Drug: AntipsychoticsTreatment Period 1: Participants will receive bitopertin matching placebo tablet orally once daily for 24 weeks. Treatment Period 2: Participants will receive bitopertin matching placebo tablet orally once daily for 32 weeks (up to Study Week 56). Long-Term Extension: After Week 56, participants will enter the long term extension period and will be switched to (in blinded manner) bitopertin 10 mg tablet orally once daily up to 3 years. In addition, throughout the study, participants will continue their same stable antipsychotic treatment as they were receiving prior to entry in the study. |
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 18 years and older
- Sex
- All
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Adult, Older adult
Key inclusion criteria (9 listed)
- Based on the screening Structured Clinical Interview for and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 4th Edition (DSM IV) - Clinical Trial (SCID CT), a DSM-IV- Text Revision (DSM-IV-TR) diagnosis of schizophrenia, paranoid, disorganized, residual, undifferentiated or catatonic subtype
- A score of 40 or greater on the sum of the 14 PANSS negative and disorganized thought factor items (items scored 1-7 for a maximum possible score of 98)
- A score of 22 or less on the sum of the 8 PANSS positive symptom factor items. The score of the items of P1 (delusions), P3 (hallucinatory behavior), P6 (suspiciousness) and G9 (unusual thought content) meet the following requirements: no more than 2 of the above items have a score of 4; all of the above items score less than 5
- Clinical stability for 6 months prior to randomization as well as antipsychotic treatment stability for the past 8 weeks at the time of randomization
- Are at least moderately ill, as defined by Clinical Global Impression - Severity (CGI S) of negative symptoms score more than or equal to (>/=) 4
Key exclusion criteria (11 listed)
- Evidence that participant has clinically significant, uncontrolled and unstable disorder (for example, cardiovascular, renal, hepatic disorder)
- Body Mass Index (BMI) of less than (<) 17 or more than (>) 40 kilograms per meter square (kg/m^2)
- Depressive symptoms, defined as a score of 9 or greater on the Calgary Depression Rating Scale for Schizophrenia (CDSS)
- A severity score of >/=3 on the Parkinsonism item of the Extrapyramidal Symptoms Rating Scale - Abbreviated (ESRS-A) (Clinical Global Impression, Parkinsonism)
- Positive result on the serum pregnancy test or are breast feeding at screening, or intend to become pregnant during the course of the trial.
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| PlaceboParticipants will receive bitopertin matching placebo once daily for 56 weeks. | Drug | Placebo |
| BitopertinAlso: RO4917838Participants will receive 10 mg or 20 mg of bitopertin. | Drug | Bitopertin 10 mg + Antipsychotics, Bitopertin 20 mg + Antipsychotics |
| AntipsychoticsParticipants will continue to receive their stable antipsychotic regiment throughout the study. Study protocol does not specify any particular antipsychotic drug and regimen. | Drug | Bitopertin 10 mg + Antipsychotics, Bitopertin 20 mg + Antipsychotics, Placebo |
Primary outcome
Mean Change From Baseline in the Positive and Negative Syndrome Scale (PANSS) Negative Symptom Factor Score at Week 24
Time frame: Baseline, Week 24
Percentage of Participants with Adverse Events
Time frame: From baseline up to 24 weeks
8 secondary outcomes
Mean Change from Baseline in the Personal and Social Performance (PSP) Total Score at Week 24
Time frame: Baseline, Week 24
Mean Change from Baseline in the PANSS Total Score at Week 24
Time frame: Baseline, Week 24
Mean Change from Baseline in the PANSS Factor Scores at Week 24
Time frame: Baseline, Week 24
Mean Change from Baseline in the PANSS Subscale Scores at Week 24
Time frame: Baseline, Week 24
Percentage of Participants With Response, as Assessed by PANSS Negative Symptom Factor Score
Time frame: Week 24
Percentage of Participants with Response, as Assessed by CGI-I Overall and Negative Symptoms Rating Score
Time frame: Week 24
Percentage of Participants with Both At Least 20% Improvement from Baseline in the PANSS Negative Symptom Factor Score and with a CGI-I Negative Symptoms Rating of Either Much or Very Much Improvement
Time frame: Week 24
Mean Change from Baseline in the CGI-S Overall and Negative Symptoms Rating Score
Time frame: Baseline, Week 24
Results and safety
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 15 Feb 2017.
- Derived from this study: PubMed 28433500Georgiades A, Davis VG, Atkins AS, Khan A, Walker TW, Loebel A, Haig G, Hilt DC, Dunayevich E, Umbricht D, Sand M, Keefe RSE. Psychometric characteristics of the MATRICS Consensus Cognitive Battery in a large pooled cohort of stable schizophrenia patients. Schizophr Res. 2017 Dec;190:172-179. doi: 10.1016/j.schres.2017.03.040. Epub 2017 Apr 20.
- Derived from this study: PubMed 28117049Bugarski-Kirola D, Blaettler T, Arango C, Fleischhacker WW, Garibaldi G, Wang A, Dixon M, Bressan RA, Nasrallah H, Lawrie S, Napieralski J, Ochi-Lohmann T, Reid C, Marder SR. Bitopertin in Negative Symptoms of Schizophrenia-Results From the Phase III FlashLyte and DayLyte Studies. Biol Psychiatry. 2017 Jul 1;82(1):8-16. doi: 10.1016/j.biopsych.2016.11.014. Epub 2016 Dec 15.
Related trials for Schizophrenia
RecruitingPhase 3
A Study to Evaluate the Long-term Safety and Tolerability of Xanomeline and Trospium Chloride for the Treatment of Psychiatric Disorders in Children and Adolescents
Schizophrenia, Autism-Related Irritability
Not yet recruiting
Deep Brain Stimulation for Treatment-Resistant Schizophrenia
Treatment Resistant Disorders
Not yet recruitingObservational study
Sleep Monitoring for Early Detection of Relapse in People With Schizophrenia or Bipolar Disorder Receiving Usual Treatment
Bipolar Disorder (BD), SCHIZOPHRENIA 1 (Disorder)
Not yet recruitingPhase 1
Pharmacokinetics and Relative Bioavailability of Intranasal vs Intramuscular Olanzapine in Healthy Adult Participants
Healthy Adult Participants
Active, not recruiting
Designing and Evaluating a Classroom-Based Mental Health Programme for Adolescents.
Mental Health Promotion
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Clinical Trials study director
Hoffmann-La Roche
103 sites in 7 countries: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 3 study testing Bitopertin and Antipsychotics in people with Schizophrenia, run by Hoffmann-La Roche at 103 sites in 7 countries.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
The sponsor lists 9 inclusion and 11 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 15 Feb 2017. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 103 sites in United States, Japan, China, Bulgaria, Czechia and 2 more countries. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. Some participants in this study may receive a placebo. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
Mean Change From Baseline in the Positive and Negative Syndrome Scale (PANSS) Negative Symptom Factor Score at Week 24 (time frame: Baseline, Week 24). The study lists 2 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT01192880, which also lists 2 linked publications.
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 15 Feb 2017.