AzTrials
AzTrials

TetanusPhase 2NCT01090453

Study of GlaxoSmithKline Biologicals' GSK2202083A Vaccine in Healthy Infants

A Phase 2 study testing GSK2202083A vaccine, Prevenar 13® and Infanrix hexa™ in people with Tetanus and Hepatitis B, run by GlaxoSmithKline at 34 sites in 3 countries.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

This study will evaluate the safety and immunogenicity of GSK Biologicals' GSK2202083 vaccine co-administered with Prevenar 13® at 2, 4 and 12 months of age and with Rotarix™ at 2 and 4 months of age. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 8 to 12 weeksHealthy volunteers can take part
What is being tested?
GSK2202083A vaccine, Prevenar 13® and Infanrix hexa™
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
480 participants
Where
34 sitesin 3 countries
Study dates
17 May 2010to 11 Oct 2011
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 8 to 12 weeks
  • All sexes
  • Healthy volunteers accepted
  • Child

Who may be able to join

  • Subjects who the investigator believes that their parent(s)/Legally Acceptable Representative(s) can and will comply with the requirements of the protocol.
  • A male or female infant between, and including, 8 and 12 weeks at the time of the first vaccination.
  • Born after a gestation period of 36 to 42 weeks inclusive.
  • Written informed consent obtained from the parent(s), Legally Acceptable Representative(s) of the subject.
  • Healthy subjects as established by medical history and clinical examination before entering into the study.

Who cannot join

  • Use of any investigational or non-registered product other than the study vaccine(s) within 30 days preceding the first dose of study vaccine, or planned use during the study period.
  • Chronic administration of immunosuppressants or other immune-modifying drugs since birth.
  • Child in care.
  • Administration of immunoglobulins and/or any blood products since birth or planned administration during the study period.
  • Administration of a vaccine not foreseen by the study protocol within 30 days prior to randomisation, or planned administration from randomisation to the end of the study with the exception of inactivated influenza vaccines. The administration of diphtheria, tetanus, pertussis, hepatitis B, poliomyelitis, Haemophilus influenzae type b, pneumococcal, rotavirus and/or MenC vaccines is not allowed at any time during the study period but other vaccines are allowed during the period from one day after study Visit 3 to 31 days before study Visit 4.
  • Concurrently participating in another clinical study, at any time during the study period, in which the subject has been or will be exposed to an investigational or a non-investigational product.
Show all 15Show fewer
  • Evidence of previous diphtheria, tetanus, pertussis, hepatitis B, poliomyelitis, Hib, pneumococcal, rotavirus and/or MenC vaccination or disease, including Hepatitis B virus vaccination at birth.
  • History of seizures or progressive neurological disease.
  • Subjects with history of intussusception or uncorrected congenital malformation of the gastrointestinal tract that would predispose for intussusception.
  • Any confirmed or suspected immunosuppressive or immunodeficient condition, based on medical history and physical examination.
  • History of any reaction or hypersensitivity likely to be exacerbated by any component of the vaccine(s).
  • Major congenital defects or serious chronic illness.
  • The following condition is temporary or self-limiting, and a subject may be vaccinated once the condition has resolved if no other exclusion criteria is met:
  • Current febrile illness or other moderate to severe illness within 24 hours of study vaccine administration.
  • Current gastrointestinal infection.

Trial locations and contacts

34 sites in 3 countries.

34 sites in 3 countries

Germany22 sites
  • GSK Investigational Site

    Bad Saulgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, 88348

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Berchtesgaden, Bavaria, 83471

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Bindlach, Bavaria, 95463

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Detmold, North Rhine-Westphalia, 32756

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Eschwege, Hesse, 37269

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Frankenthal, Rhineland-Palatinate, 67227

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Heiligenhaus, North Rhine-Westphalia, 42579

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Kehl, Baden-Wurttemberg, 77694

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Kleve-Materborn, North Rhine-Westphalia, 47533

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Löhne, North Rhine-Westphalia, 32584

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, 55131

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Munich, Bavaria, 81735

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Nördlingen, Bavaria, 86720

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Porta Westfalica, North Rhine-Westphalia, 32457

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Schwäbisch Hall, Baden-Wurttemberg, 74523

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Solingen, North Rhine-Westphalia, 42719

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, 70469

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, 54290

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Tuttlingen, Baden-Wurttemberg, 78532

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Willich, North Rhine-Westphalia, 47877

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Wolfenbüttel, Lower Saxony, 38302

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Worms, Rhineland-Palatinate, 67547

Other trials in Germany

France9 sites
  • GSK Investigational Site

    Aix-en-Provence, 13100

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Dax, 40100

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Draguignan, 83300

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Essey-lès-Nancy, 54270

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Floirac, 33270

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Le Havre, 76600

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Lingolsheim, 67380

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Nice, 06300

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Trélazé, 49800

Other trials in France

Canada3 sites
  • GSK Investigational Site

    Hamilton, Ontario, L8L 5G8

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Vancouver, British Columbia, V5Z 4H4

  • GSK Investigational Site

    Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3E 3P4

Other trials in Canada

About this study

Official title: Feasibility Study of GlaxoSmithKline Biologicals' GSK2202083A Vaccine in Healthy Infants at 2, 4 and 12 Months of Age

This study will evaluate the safety and immunogenicity of GSK Biologicals' GSK2202083 vaccine co-administered with Prevenar 13® at 2, 4 and 12 months of age and with Rotarix™ at 2 and 4 months of age.

Being tested
GSK2202083A vaccine, Prevenar 13®, Infanrix hexa™, Menjugate®, Rotarix™
Medical subject headings
Tetanus, Hepatitis B, Haemophilus Infections, Poliomyelitis, Diphtheria

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • GSK2202083A vaccineBiological

    3 doses given at 2, 4 and 12 months of age

  • Prevenar 13®Biological

    3 co-administered doses

  • Infanrix hexa™Biological

    3 doses given at 2, 4 and 12 months of age

  • Menjugate®Biological

    3 co-administered doses

  • Rotarix™Biological

    Oral, two doses

Study groups in NCT01090453
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
GSK2202083A GroupExperimentalSubjects aged between and including 8 and 12 weeks of age at the time of first vaccination received 3 doses of GSK2202083A vaccine, co-administered with Prevenar 13® at 2, 4 and 12 months of age. The GSK2202083A and Prevenar 13® vaccines were administered intramuscularly into the right and left sides of the thigh, respectively. An optional 2-dose vaccination with Rotarix™ was offered to the study participants at 2 and 4 months of age.
Receives: Biological: GSK2202083A vaccine; Biological: Prevenar 13®; Biological: Rotarix™
Infanrix hexa GroupActive comparatorSubjects aged between and including 8 and 12 weeks of age at the time of first vaccination received 3 doses of Infanrix hexa™ vaccine, co-administered with Prevenar 13® and Menjugate® at 2, 4 and 12 months of age. The Infanrix hexa™ and Prevenar 13® vaccines were administered intramuscularly into the right and upper left sides of the thigh, respectively and the Menjugate® vaccine was administered intramuscularly in the lower left thigh. An optional 2-dose vaccination with Rotarix™ was offered to the study participants at 2 and 4 months of age.
Receives: Biological: Prevenar 13®; Biological: Infanrix hexa™; Biological: Menjugate®; Biological: Rotarix™

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Number of Subjects With Anti-polyribosylribitol Phosphate (Anti-PRP) Above the Cut-off

    The anti-PRP antibody concentration cut-off for this assay was greater than or equal to (≥) 0.15 micrograms per milliliter (µg/mL).

    Measured: At Month 3

  2. Number of Subjects With Neisseria Meningitidis Using Baby Rabbit Complement (rSBA-MenC) Antibody Titers Above the Cut-off

    The rSBA-MenC antibody titers cut-off for this assay was ≥ 1:8.

    Measured: At Month 3

Secondary outcomes (20)
  1. Number of Subjects With Anti-PRP Antibody Concentrations Above the Cut-offs

    The anti-PRP antibody concentration cut-offs for this assay were ≥ 0.15 µg/mL and 1.0 µg/mL. Values concerning the cut-off of 0.15 µg/mL at Month 3 were listed for a primary outcome, hence they were not reported under this outcome.

    Measured: At Month 3, Month 10 and Month 11.

  2. Number of Subjects With rSBA-MenC Antibody Titers Above the Cut-offs

    The rSBA-MenC antibody titers cut-off for this assay were ≥ 1:8 and ≥ 1:128. Values concerning the cut-off of 1:8 at Month 3 were listed for a primary outcome, hence they were not reported under this outcome.

    Measured: At Month 3, Month 10 and Month 11.

  3. Concentrations for Anti-PRP.

    Concentrations were expressed as geometric mean concentrations (GMCs). The seroprotection reference cut-off values were ≥ 0.15 µg/mL and ≥ 1.0 µg/mL.

    Measured: At Month 3, Month 10 and Month 11.

  4. Titers for rSBA-MenC.

    Titers were expressed as geometric mean titers (GMCs). The seropositivity reference cut-off values were ≥ 1:8 and ≥ 1:128.

    Measured: At Month 3, Month 10 and Month 11.

  5. Number of Subjects With Anti-diphtheria (Anti-D) and Anti-tetanus (Anti-T) Antibodies Above the Cut-off.

    The anti-D and anti-T antibody cut-off was ≥ 0.1 international units per milliliter (IU/mL).

    Measured: At Month 3, Month 10 and Month 11.

  6. Concentrations for Anti-T and Anti-D.

    Concentrations were expressed as geometric mean concentrations (GMCs). The reference cut-off value was ≥ 0.1 IU/mL.

    Measured: At Month 3, Month 10 and Month 11.

  7. Number of Subjects With Anti-hepatitis B (Anti-HBs) Antibody Concentration Equal to or Above (≥) 10 and 100 Milli-International Units Per Milliliter (mIU/mL)

    A decrease in the specificity of the anti-HB enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay (ELISA) had been observed in some studies for low levels of antibody (10-100 mIU/mL). All the available blood samples initially tested with ELISA were re-tested using the Chemi Luminescence Immuno Assay (CLIA) approved by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA). The table shows updated results following partial or complete retesting/reanalysis.

    Measured: At Month 3, Month 10 and Month 11.

  8. Concentrations for Anti-HBs.

    A decrease in the specificity of the anti-HB enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay (ELISA) had been observed in some studies for low levels of antibody (10-100 mIU/mL). All the available blood samples initially tested with ELISA were re-tested using the Chemi Luminescence Immuno Assay (CLIA) approved by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA). The table shows updated results following partial or complete retesting/reanalysis.

    Measured: At Month 3, Month 10 and Month 11.

  9. Number of Subjects With Anti-poliovirus (Anti-polio) Types 1, 2 and 3 Above the Cut-off.

    The anti-polio 1, 2 and 3 antibody concentrations cut-off value was ≥ 1:8.

    Measured: At Month 3, Month 10 and Month 11.

  10. Titers for Anti-polio 1, 2 and 3.

    Titers were expressed as geometric mean titers (GMTs). The reference cut-off value was ≥ 1:8.

    Measured: At Month 3, Month 10 and Month 11.

  11. Number Subjects With Anti-pertussis Toxoid (Anti-PT), Anti-filamentous Haemagglutinin (Anti-FHA) and Anti-pertactin (Anti-PRN) Above the Cut-off.

    The reference cut-off for anti-PT, anti-FHA and anti-PRN antibody concentrations was ≥ 5 enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay (ELISA) units per milliliters (EL.U/mL).

    Measured: At Month 3, Month 10 and Month 11.

  12. Concentrations for Anti-PT, Anti-FHA and Anti-PRN.

    Concentrations were expressed as geometric mean concentrations (GMCs). The reference cut-off value was ≥ 5 EL.U/mL.

    Measured: At Month 3, Month 10 and Month 11.

  13. Number of Subjects With a Booster Response to Anti-PT, Anti-FHA and Anti-PRN.

    Booster response defined as: for initially seronegative subjects, antibody concentration ≥ 5 EL.U/mL at Month 11; for initially seropositive subjects: antibody concentration at Month 11 ≥ 2 fold the pre-vaccination antibody concentration

    Measured: At Month 11.

  14. Number of Subjects With Anti-pneumococcal (Anti-PNE) Serotypes Above the Cut-offs.

    The anti-PNE antibody concentrations reference cut-offs were ≥ 0.2 and ≥ 0.05 micrograms per milliliter (µg/mL). The anti-PNE serotypes assessed were 1, 3, 4, 5, 6A, 6B, 7F, 9V, 14, 18C, 19A, 19F and 23F.

    Measured: At Month 3 and Month 11

  15. Concentrations for Anti-PNE Serotypes.

    Concentrations were expressed as geometric mean concentreations (GMCs). The reference cut-off value was ≥ 0.2 µg/mL.

    Measured: At Month 3 and Month 11

  16. Number of Subjects With Anti-PRP and rSBA-MenC Fold Increase Distribution.

    The fold increase distribution cut-offs were: ≥2, ≥4, ≥6, ≥8 and ≥10.

    Measured: At Month 11.

  17. Number of Subjects Reporting Any Solicited Local Symptoms.

    Solicited local symptoms assessed were pain, redness and swelling. Any = occurrence of any local symptom regardless of intensity grade.

    Measured: During the 8-day (Days 0-7) post-vaccination period

  18. Number of Subjects Reporting Any Solicited General Symptoms.

    Solicited local symptoms assessed were drowsiness, irritability/fussiness, loss of appetite and fever [axillary temperature above (≥) 37.5 degrees Celsius (°C)]. Any = occurrence of any local symptom regardless of intensity grade.

    Measured: During the 8-day (Days 0-7) post-vaccination period

  19. Number of Subjects Reporting Any Unsolicited Adverse Events (AEs).

    An unsolicited AE is any AE (i.e. any untoward medical occurrence in a patient or clinical investigation subject, temporally associated with use of a medicinal product, whether or not considered related to the medicinal product) reported in addition to those solicited during the clinical study and any solicited symptom with onset outside the specified period of follow-up for solicited symptoms. Any = occurrence of an AE regardless of intensity grade or relationship to study vaccination.

    Measured: Within the 31-day (Days 0-30) follow up period after vaccination

  20. Number of Subjects Reporting Any Serious Adverse Events (SAEs).

    SAEs assessed include medical occurrences that results in death, are life threatening, require hospitalization or prolongation of hospitalization, results in disability/incapacity or are a congenital anomaly/birth defect in the offspring of a study subjects. Any SAE = any SAE regardless of assessment of relationship to study vaccination.

    Measured: During the entire study period (Month 0 to Month 11)

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted22 Mar 2010 (estimated)
  2. Study start17 May 2010
  3. Primary completion11 Oct 2011
  4. Study completion11 Oct 2011

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Prevention
Allocation
Randomised
Intervention model
Parallel groups
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
480 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT01090453
Sponsor's protocol ID
113615
Status last verified
Aug 2016
First submitted
18 Mar 2010
Last updated
20 Aug 2018
Individual data sharing
Yes: Patient-level data for this study will be made available through www.clinicalstudydatarequest.com following the timelines and process described on this site.

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing GSK2202083A vaccine, Prevenar 13® and Infanrix hexa™ in people with Tetanus and Hepatitis B, run by GlaxoSmithKline at 34 sites in 3 countries.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

The sponsor lists 5 inclusion and 15 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 20 Aug 2018. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 34 sites in Germany, France, Canada. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 15 Aug 2014). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Number of Subjects With Anti-polyribosylribitol Phosphate (Anti-PRP) Above the Cut-off (time frame: At Month 3). The study lists 2 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 20 Aug 2018.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in