AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerPhase 3NCT00966888

Radiation Therapy or Standard Therapy in Treating Women With Stage II Breast Cancer Who Have Undergone Mastectomy

A Phase 3 study testing standard follow-up care and radiation therapy in people with Breast Cancer, run by Medical Research Council at 2 sites in United Kingdom.

Unknown status

Status not confirmed. The sponsor has not verified this record for over two years, so it may be out of date.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays or other types of radiation to kill tumor cells. Giving radiation therapy after surgery may kill any tumor cells that remain after surgery. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Any age, women only
Conditions the study is for
Breast Cancer
What is being tested?
standard follow-up care and radiation therapy
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
3,500 participants
Where
2 sitesUnited Kingdom
Study dates
Jan 2006to Jun 2010
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Any age
  • Women only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed unilateral invasive breast cancer
  • pT1, pN1, M0 disease
  • pT2, pN1, M0 disease
  • pT2, pN0 disease with grade III histology and/or lymphovascular invasion
  • Multifocal breast cancer meeting both of the following criteria:
  • Largest discrete tumor ≥ 2 cm if N0
  • Grade III histology and/or lymphovascular invasion
  • No bilateral breast cancer
  • Axillary node negative status by axillary clearance, axillary node sampling, or sentinel node biopsy
  • Patients with axillary node positive (1-3 positive nodes, including micrometastases* > 0.2 mm and ≤ 2 mm) must have had an axillary node clearance (minimum of 10 nodes removed) performed
  • No more than 3 pathologically involved lymph nodes
  • No internal mammary nodes visible on sentinel node scintigraphy in the absence of negative histology NOTE: *Isolated tumor cells not counted as micrometastases
  • Underwent total mastectomy (with minimum of 1 mm margin clear of invasive cancer and DCIS) and axillary surgery with staging procedure
  • Must have undergone adjuvant systemic chemotherapy if indicated for intermediate-risk breast cancer
  • Patients undergoing immediate breast reconstruction allowed
  • No known BRCA1 and BRCA2 carriers
  • Hormone receptor status not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Menopausal status not specified
  • Not pregnant
  • Fit for adjuvant chemotherapy, adjuvant endocrine therapy, and post-operative radiotherapy
  • No prior or concurrent malignancy except curatively treated nonmelanomatous skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • No concurrent trastuzumab
  • No prior neoadjuvant systemic therapy

Trial locations and contacts

2 sites in 1 country.

United Kingdom2 sites, 2 recruiting
  • Edinburgh Cancer Centre at Western General Hospital

    Edinburgh, Scotland, EH4 2XU

    Ian H. Kunkler, MD, 44-131-537-2214, i.kunkler@ed.ac.uk

    Recruiting
  • Royal Infirmary - Castle

    Glasgow, Scotland, G4 0SF

    Peter A. Canney, MD, 44-141-211-1160

    Recruiting

Other trials in United Kingdom

About this study

Official title: Selective Use of Postoperative Radiotherapy AftEr MastectOmy - SUPREMO

RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays or other types of radiation to kill tumor cells. Giving radiation therapy after surgery may kill any tumor cells that remain after surgery. It is not yet known whether radiation therapy is more effective than observation after mastectomy in treating women with stage II breast cancer.

PURPOSE: This randomized phase III trial is studying radiation therapy to see how well it works compared with standard therapy in treating women with stage II breast cancer who have undergone mastectomy.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the overall survival of women at intermediate risk for locoregional recurrence of breast cancer treated with ipsilateral chest wall adjuvant radiotherapy after mastectomy.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study. Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.

  • Arm I: Beginning 12 weeks after mastectomy or 6 weeks after adjuvant chemotherapy, patients undergo radiotherapy 5 days a week for 3-5 weeks in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
  • Arm II: Patients receive standard of care and observation only. After completion of study therapy, patients are followed up twice in the first year, and then annually for up to 10 years.
Conditions
Breast Cancer
Being tested
standard follow-up care, radiation therapy
Keywords
stage II breast cancer
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • standard follow-up careProcedure or surgery

    No intervention

  • radiation therapyRadiation

    Chest wall radiotherapy

Study groups in NCT00966888
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Arm IExperimentalBeginning 12 weeks after mastectomy or 6 weeks after adjuvant chemotherapy, patients undergo radiotherapy 5 days a week for 3-5 weeks in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
Receives: Radiation: radiation therapy
Arm IIActive comparatorPatients receive standard of care and observation only.
Receives: Procedure: standard follow-up care

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Overall survival

  2. Acute and late morbidity

Secondary outcomes (7)
  1. Chest wall recurrence

  2. Regional recurrence

  3. Disease-free survival

  4. Metastasis-free survival

  5. Cause of death (breast cancer, or intercurrent disease [cardiovascular or non-cardiovascular])

  6. Quality of life

  7. Cost effectiveness

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted27 Aug 2009 (estimated)
  2. Study startJan 2006
  3. Primary completionJun 2010 (estimated)

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Enrolment
3,500 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00966888
Sponsor's protocol ID
MRC-BIG2-04
Other IDs
CDR0000642751, ISRCTN61145589, EU-20943
Status last verified
Aug 2009
First submitted
26 Aug 2009
Last updated
12 Aug 2013
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing standard follow-up care and radiation therapy in people with Breast Cancer, run by Medical Research Council at 2 sites in United Kingdom.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: status not confirmed, as of the sponsor's last update on 12 Aug 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 2 sites in United Kingdom. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Results are not available in the source record.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

Each site lists its own contact: choose the nearest one under Trial locations. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Overall survival. The study lists 2 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 12 Aug 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in