AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerPACE in BCNCT00875238

Side Effects Involving the Heart in Women With Breast Cancer Receiving Doxorubicin and Trastuzumab

An observational study of Breast Cancer and Cardiac Toxicity, run by Vanderbilt University at 4 sites in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Studying samples of blood and tissue in the laboratory from women receiving doxorubicin and trastuzumab for breast cancer may help doctors learn more about changes that occur in DNA and identify biomarkers for increased risk of cardiac effects. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 85 years
What is being tested?
trastuzumab, doxorubicin hydrochloride and polymorphism analysis
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
133 participants
Where
4 sitesUnited States
Study dates
Jun 2008to Mar 2015
Phase
Observational
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 85 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

Study population: Persons with newly diagnosed breast cancer with planned anthracycline-based chemotherapy.

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Diagnosed with breast cancer
  • Receiving treatment at Vanderbilt Ingram Cancer Center and other participating oncology practices in middle Tennessee and southern Kentucky
  • Starting a standard doxorubicin hydrochloride regimen for 4 courses
  • Also scheduled to receive trastuzumab (for patients enrolled in sub-study B only)
  • No presence of metastatic disease
  • Hormone receptor status not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Menopausal status not specified
  • Karnofsky performance status 60-100%
  • Not pregnant
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Additional criteria for sub-study A (MRI):
  • Glomerular filtration rate ≥ 60 mL/min
  • No implanted electronic devices, cochlear implants, metallic implants, shrapnel or neurosurgical clips
  • No prior adverse reaction to gadolinium-based contrast agents
  • Must not exceed the weight limit or be too large to fit in the MRI scanner

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • No prior anthracycline chemotherapy

Trial locations and contacts

4 sites in 1 country.

United States4 sites
  • University of Louisville James Graham Brown Cancer Center

    Louisville, Kentucky, 40202

  • Vanderbilt Heart One Hundred Oaks

    Nashville, Tennessee, 37204

  • MBCCOP - Meharry Medical College - Nashville

    Nashville, Tennessee, 37208

  • Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center

    Nashville, Tennessee, 37232-6838

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Predicting Adverse Cardiac Events in Breast Cancer Therapy (PACE in Breast Cancer)

RATIONALE: Studying samples of blood and tissue in the laboratory from women receiving doxorubicin and trastuzumab for breast cancer may help doctors learn more about changes that occur in DNA and identify biomarkers for increased risk of cardiac effects.

PURPOSE: This clinical trial is studying side effects involving the heart in women with breast cancer receiving doxorubicin and trastuzumab.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • To determine if polymorphisms in genes (e.g., CYBA, RAC2, NCF4, MRP1, MRP2, GTSP and CBR3) in women with breast cancer treated with doxorubicin hydrochloride increase the relative risk of developing ≥ NCI grade 1 cardiotoxicity. (Primary study)
  • To determine whether pre-treatment levels of biomarkers (e.g., neuregulin, IGF-1, cardiotrophin-1, IL-6, VEGF, hepatocyte growth factor, and heparin binding EGF) in these patients, correlate with relative risk of developing ≥ NCI grade 1 cardiotoxicity to this regimen. (Primary study)
  • To determine whether decreased heart rate variability and increased plasma levels of norepinephrine at 3 weeks after completion of this regimen correlate with relative risk of developing ≥ NCI grade 1 cardiotoxicity in these patients. (Primary study)
  • To determine whether decrease in endothelial progenitor cell (EPC) number at 3 weeks after completion of this regimen can be detected, and if so whether decreased EPC number correlates with ≥ NCI grade 1 cardiotoxicity. (Primary study)
  • To determine whether baseline physical fitness level of these patients, assessed by a questionnaire and 6 minute walk distance, correlates with relative risk of developing ≥ NCI grade 1 cardiotoxicity to this regimen. (Primary study)
  • To determine whether activity level of these patients during treatment, assessed by questionnaire, correlates with relative risk of developing ≥ NCI grade 1 cardiotoxicity to this regimen. (Primary study)
  • To determine whether drop in functional capacity of these patients, measured by 6 minute walk distance at the end of treatment with this regimen, correlates with ≥ NCI grade 1 cardiotoxicity. (Primary study)
  • To determine whether MRI can detect changes in diastolic heart function in these patients 48 hours after administration of this regimen. (Sub-study A)
  • To determine if a greater decrease in diastolic dysfunction in these patients at 48 hours is predictive of greater decrease in systolic function at 3 weeks after treatment with this regimen. (Sub-study A)
  • To determine whether levels of certain biomarkers of cardiac myocyte damage, B-type natriuretic peptide and the sarcomere protein troponin T at 48 hours after the initial exposure to these drugs correlate with relative risk of developing ≥ NCI grade1 cardiotoxicity. (Sub-study A)
  • To determine whether trastuzumab given concurrently with doxorubicin hydrochloride decreases heart rate variability and increases plasma levels of norepinephrine in these patients, and if so, whether these changes correlate with relative risk of developing NCI grade ≥ 1 cardiotoxicity. (Sub-study B)
  • To determine whether EPC number obtained from patients treated with trastuzumab have decreased migration into microvascular structures in an ex vivo assay and whether these changes correlate with ≥ NCI grade 1 cardiotoxicity. (Sub-study B)
  • To determine whether levels of certain biomarkers in these patients , including neuregulin, IGF-1, cardiotrophin-1, IL-6, VEGF, hepatocyte growth factor and heparin binding EGF, change after exposure to trastuzumab. (Sub-study B)

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study.

  • Primary study: Patients make an initial visit (before beginning doxorubicin hydrochloride treatment) and a visit 3 weeks after the 4th course of doxorubicin hydrochloride (approximately 12 weeks after the initial visit). During these visits, blood samples are also collected for measuring serum levels of neuregulin-1, IGF-1, cardiotropin-1, IL-6, VEGF, hepatocyte growth factor, and plasma norepinephrine and endothelial progenitor cells (EPC). Heart-rate variability (HRV) is measured and, if necessary, a transthoracic echocardiogram is performed. Patients complete baseline health and activity level questionnaire and suitable patients complete a 6-minute walk test. Patients undergo blood collection for genotype analysis for single nucleotide polymorphism sites during the initial visit.

Patients complete a questionnaire assessing physical activity at the beginning of the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th courses of chemotherapy.

  • Sub-study A (MRI)*: In addition to the assessments performed in the primary study, patients undergo some extra tests. During initial visit, patients have an additional blood sample collected during initial visit for measurement of B-type natriuretic peptide (BNP) and troponin T and undergo cardiac MRI. Approximately 48 hours after the first dose of doxorubicin hydrochloride, patients undergo an additional visit, during which blood samples are collected for BNP and troponin T and an cardiac MRI is performed.

NOTE: *Patients who enroll in sub-study A must also be enrolled in the primary study.

  • Sub-study B (trastuzumab)*: In addition to the assessments performed in the primary study, patients undergo some extra tests. Patients undergo an additional visit after the third treatment of trastuzumab (approximately 6 months after the first dose of doxorubicin hydrochloride), during which patients have blood samples collected and analyzed as in Primary study visit 2. HRV is measured and, if necessary, a transthoracic echocardiogram is performed.

NOTE: *Patients who enroll in sub-study B must also be enrolled in the primary study.

After completion of study treatment, patients are followed periodically for up to 5 years .

Being tested
trastuzumab, doxorubicin hydrochloride, polymorphism analysis, laboratory biomarker analysis, questionnaire administration
Keywords
cardiac toxicity, cardiovascular complications, stage I breast cancer, stage II breast cancer, stage IIIA breast cancer, stage IIIB breast cancer, stage IIIC breast cancer
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms, Cardiotoxicity

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • trastuzumabBiological

  • doxorubicin hydrochlorideDrug

  • polymorphism analysisGenetic

  • laboratory biomarker analysisOther

  • questionnaire administrationOther

  • assessment of therapy complicationsProcedure or surgery

  • magnetic resonance imagingProcedure or surgery

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Change in cardiac function by echocardiogram

    change in cardiac function as measured by serial echocardiograms

    Measured: 5 years

Secondary outcomes (1)
  1. Overall feasibility

    Measured: 3 years

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted3 Apr 2009 (estimated)
  2. Study startJun 2008
  3. Primary completionMar 2015
  4. Study completionMar 2015

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Observational
Observational model
Cohort
Time perspective
Prospective
Enrolment
133 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00875238
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000613213
Other IDs
P30CA068485, VU-VICC-BRE-0767
Acronym
PACE in BC
Status last verified
Feb 2018
First submitted
2 Apr 2009
Last updated
19 Feb 2018
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Publications

  • Geisberg CA, Abdallah WM, da Silva M, Silverstein C, Smith HM, Abramson V, Mayer I, Means-Powell J, Freehardt D, White B, Lenihan D, Sawyer DB. Circulating neuregulin during the transition from stage A to stage B/C heart failure in a breast cancer cohort. J Card Fail. 2013 Jan;19(1):10-5. doi: 10.1016/j.cardfail.2012.11.006.

    PubMed 23273589
  • Lenneman CG, Abdallah WM, Smith HM, Abramson V, Mayer IA, Silverstein C, Silverstein C, Means-Powell J, Paranjape SY, Lenihan D, Sawyer DB, Raj SR. Sympathetic nervous system alterations with HER2+ antagonism: an early marker of cardiac dysfunction with breast cancer treatment? Ecancermedicalscience. 2014 Jul 17;8:446. doi: 10.3332/ecancer.2014.446. eCollection 2014.

    PubMed 25114718

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

An observational study of Breast Cancer and Cardiac Toxicity, run by Vanderbilt University at 4 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 19 Feb 2018. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 4 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Change in cardiac function by echocardiogram (time frame: 5 years). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00875238, which also lists 2 linked publications.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 19 Feb 2018.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in