AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerPhase 3NCT00818051

Radiation Therapy in Treating Women Who Have Undergone Breast Conservation Surgery and Systemic Therapy for Early Breast Cancer

A Phase 3 study testing intensity-modulated radiation therapy in people with Breast Cancer, run by Institute of Cancer Research, United Kingdom at 1 site in United Kingdom.

Unknown status

Status not confirmed. The sponsor has not verified this record for over two years, so it may be out of date.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to kill tumor cells. Specialized radiation therapy, such as intensity-modulated radiation therapy, that delivers a high dose of radiation directly to the tumor may kill more tumor cells and cause less damage to normal tissue. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older, women only
Conditions the study is for
Breast Cancer
What is being tested?
intensity-modulated radiation therapy
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
840 participants
Where
1 siteUnited Kingdom
Study dates
Aug 2008to not given
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • Women only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed invasive breast cancer
  • Resectable, unilateral disease
  • T1-3, N0-1, M0 disease
  • Has undergone prior breast conservation surgery with complete microscopic resection AND received appropriate systemic therapy for early breast cancer
  • Requires a tumor bed boost plus whole breast radiotherapy as indicated by ≥ 1 of the following:
  • Age 18-49 years
  • Tumor size > 2.0 cm after primary surgery (maximum microscopic diameter of invasive component)
  • Tumor of any size treated by primary medical therapy
  • Grade III disease
  • Minimum microscopic margin of noncancerous tissue < 5 mm (excluding deep margin if at deep fascia)
  • Lymphovascular invasion
  • Axillary node positive
  • Hormone receptor status not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Menopausal status not specified
  • No prior malignancy other than non-melanoma skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • No prior mastectomy
  • No concurrent chemotherapy except primary or sequential chemotherapy

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United Kingdom1 site, 1 recruiting
  • Royal Marsden - Surrey

    Sutton, England, SM2 5PT

    John R. Yarnold, MD, FRCR, 44-20-8661-3388

    Recruiting

Other trials in United Kingdom

About this study

Official title: Randomized Trial Testing Dose Escalated Intensity Modulated Radiotherapy for Women Treated by Breast Conservation Surgery and Appropriate Systemic Therapy for Early Breast Cancer

RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to kill tumor cells. Specialized radiation therapy, such as intensity-modulated radiation therapy, that delivers a high dose of radiation directly to the tumor may kill more tumor cells and cause less damage to normal tissue. It is not yet known which radiation therapy schedule is more effective in treating breast cancer.

PURPOSE: This randomized phase III trial is studying three different radiation therapy schedules to compare how well they work in treating women who have undergone breast conservation surgery and systemic therapy for early breast cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • To test dose-escalated intensity-modulated radiotherapy after breast conservation surgery in women with early breast cancer who are at higher than average risk for local recurrence.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to center. Patients are randomized to 1 of 3 treatment arms.

  • Arm I (control): Patients undergo sequential boost dose intensity-modulated radiotherapy (IMRT) 5 days a week for 4.6 weeks (23 fractions; 56 Gy).
  • Arm II: Patients undergo concurrent boost dose IMRT 5 days a week for 3 weeks (15 fractions; 48 Gy).
  • Arm III: Patients undergo concurrent boost dose IMRT 5 days a week for 3 weeks (15 fractions; 53 Gy).

Quality-of-life questionnaires are administered at baseline, 6 months, and at 1, 3, and 5 years. Photograph assessments of the breasts are taken at baseline and at 3 and 5 years. Blood samples are collected at baseline and periodically thereafter. Tissue samples are also collected from primary tumor, including new primary tumor in either breast, and recurrent tumor.

After completion of study treatment, patients are followed annually for 10 years.

Conditions
Breast Cancer
Being tested
intensity-modulated radiation therapy
Keywords
stage IA breast cancer, stage IB breast cancer, stage II breast cancer, stage IIIA breast cancer
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • intensity-modulated radiation therapyRadiation

    Given as 48, 53, or 56 Gy

Study groups in NCT00818051
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Arm I (control)Active comparatorPatients undergo sequential boost dose intensity-modulated radiotherapy (IMRT) 5 days a week for 4.6 weeks (23 fractions; 56 Gy).
Receives: Radiation: intensity-modulated radiation therapy
Arm IIExperimentalPatients undergo concurrent boost dose IMRT 5 days a week for 3 weeks (15 fractions; 48 Gy).
Receives: Radiation: intensity-modulated radiation therapy
Arm IIIExperimentalPatients undergo concurrent boost dose IMRT 5 days a week for 3 weeks (15 fractions; 53 Gy).
Receives: Radiation: intensity-modulated radiation therapy

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Palpable induration inside the boost volume of the irradiated breast

Secondary outcomes (6)
  1. Other late adverse effects in normal tissue as measured by clinical and photographic assessments and patient self-assessments (quality-of-life questionnaires)

  2. Local tumor control

  3. Location of tumor relapse in breast

  4. Contralateral primary tumors

  5. Regional and distant metastases

  6. Overall survival

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted7 Jan 2009 (estimated)
  2. Study startAug 2008

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Enrolment
840 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00818051
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000629770
Other IDs
ICR-IMPORT-HIGH, ICR-CTSU/2007/10013, ISRCTN47437448, EU-20897
Status last verified
Jan 2009
First submitted
6 Jan 2009
Last updated
7 Jan 2011
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing intensity-modulated radiation therapy in people with Breast Cancer, run by Institute of Cancer Research, United Kingdom at 1 site in United Kingdom.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: status not confirmed, as of the sponsor's last update on 7 Jan 2011. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United Kingdom. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Results are not available in the source record.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

Each site lists its own contact: choose the nearest one under Trial locations. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Palpable induration inside the boost volume of the irradiated breast. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 7 Jan 2011.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in