AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerPhase 1NCT00788112

Vorinostat in Treating Women With Ductal Carcinoma in Situ of the Breast

A Phase 1 study testing vorinostat, protein expression analysis and immunohistochemistry staining method in people with Breast Cancer, run by University of California, San Francisco at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Vorinostat may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking some of the enzymes needed for cell growth. PURPOSE: This clinical trial is studying how well vorinostat works in treating women with ductal carcinoma in situ of the breast. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 120 years, women only
Conditions the study is for
Breast Cancer
What is being tested?
vorinostat, protein expression analysis and immunohistochemistry staining method
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
17 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Jul 2009to 11 Aug 2015
Phase
Phase 1
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 120 years
  • Women only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed (by core biopsy) ductal carcinoma in situ
  • Stage 0 disease
  • Hormone receptor status not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Menopausal status not specified
  • ECOG performance status 0-2
  • ANC ≥ 1,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count ≥ 100,000/mm^3
  • Hemoglobin ≥ 9 g/dL
  • Potassium and magnesium levels normal
  • Prothrombin time or INR ≤ 1.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN) (unless the patient is receiving therapeutic anticoagulation)
  • Partial thromboplastin time ≤ 1.2 times ULN (unless the patient is receiving therapeutic anticoagulation)
  • Serum creatinine ≤ 1.5 times ULN OR creatinine clearance ≥ 60 mL/min
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use 2 effective barrier methods of contraception
  • No known psychiatric or substance abuse disorder that would preclude cooperation with the study requirements
  • No active hepatitis A, B, or C infection
  • No active HIV infection
  • No other active infection
  • No other malignancy within the past 5 years
  • No condition that would interfere with the absorption or intake of vorinostat
  • No history or current evidence of any condition or laboratory abnormality that would confound study results, interfere with the patient's participation in the full duration of the study, or that would not be in the best interest of the patient to participate

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

  • More than 2 weeks since prior IV antibiotics, antivirals, or antifungals
  • No prior gastrointestinal surgery or other procedure that would interfere with the absorption or intake of vorinostat
  • No prior or concurrent therapy with any other HDAC inhibitor, including valproic acid
  • No prior treatment with any other investigational agent
  • No concurrent systemic steroids
  • No concurrent anticancer chemotherapy, radiotherapy, biological therapy, or other investigational therapy

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • UCSF Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center

    San Francisco, California, 94115

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Window Trial of Vorinostat in Patients With Ductal Carcinoma in Situ (DCIS) of the Breast

RATIONALE: Vorinostat may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking some of the enzymes needed for cell growth.

PURPOSE: This clinical trial is studying how well vorinostat works in treating women with ductal carcinoma in situ of the breast.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • To evaluate the in vivo molecular and biological effects of vorinostat by analyzing changes in proliferation and apoptosis, histone acetylation, and HDAC protein expression in women with ductal carcinoma in situ of the breast.

OUTLINE: Patients receive oral vorinostat twice a day for 3 days in the absence of unacceptable toxicity. Patients then undergo lumpectomy or mastectomy 2 hours after the last dose of vorinostat.

Blood and tissue samples are collected at baseline and during surgery for biomarker laboratory studies. Samples are analyzed by immunohistochemistry for Ki-67, HDAC1 and HDAC6 protein expression, and histone H4 and α-tubulin acetylation.

After completion of study therapy, patients are followed for 1 month and then every 6 months for 5 years.

Conditions
Breast Cancer
Being tested
vorinostat, protein expression analysis, immunohistochemistry staining method, laboratory biomarker analysis, neoadjuvant therapy
Keywords
ductal breast carcinoma in situ
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms, Carcinoma, Intraductal, Noninfiltrating

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Study groups in NCT00788112
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
VorinostatExperimentalNot described
Receives: Drug: vorinostat; Genetic: protein expression analysis; Other: immunohistochemistry staining method; Other: laboratory biomarker analysis; Procedure: neoadjuvant therapy; Procedure: therapeutic conventional surgery

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Reduction in Ki-67 compared to baseline Ki-67

    Measured: 3 days prior to surgery

Secondary outcomes (1)
  1. Changes in HDAC1 and HDAC6 expression and histone H4 and α-tubulin acetylation in breast tissue and serum samples

    Measured: 3 days prior to surgery

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted10 Nov 2008 (estimated)
  2. Study startJul 2009
  3. Primary completion3 Nov 2011
  4. Study completion11 Aug 2015

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Other
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
17 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00788112
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000617655
Other IDs
UCSF-077532, H10367-31833, UCSF-07031833
Status last verified
Aug 2017
First submitted
7 Nov 2008
Last updated
7 Aug 2017
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1 study testing vorinostat, protein expression analysis and immunohistochemistry staining method in people with Breast Cancer, run by University of California, San Francisco at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 7 Aug 2017. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Reduction in Ki-67 compared to baseline Ki-67 (time frame: 3 days prior to surgery). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 7 Aug 2017.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in