AzTrials
AzTrials

Chronic Renal ImpairmentPhase 4RECARENCT00782639

Renal Safety of Iopamidol Versus Iodixanol During Coronary Angiography in Diabetic Patients

A Phase 4 study testing Iopamidol injection 76% and iodixanol in people with Chronic Renal Impairment and Diabetes Mellitus, run by Bracco Diagnostics, Inc at 1 site in United States.

Terminated

Stopped early. The study ended before it was planned to and will not resume.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

The purpose of this study is to compare the incidence of contrast-induced nephropathy (CIN) following the administration of iopamidol-370 (Iopamiro-370) and iodixanol-320 (Visipaque 320) in patients with moderate-to-severe chronic kidney disease and diabetes mellitus undergoing cardiac angiography. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Chronic Renal Impairment, Diabetes Mellitus
What is being tested?
Iopamidol injection 76% and iodixanol
Type of treatment
Injection or infusion
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
23 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Mar 2009to Sep 2009
Phase
Phase 4
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

Who may be able to join

  • Provides written Informed Consent and is willing to comply with protocol requirements
  • Is >18 years of age
  • Has a documented predose serum creatinine level of ≥1.5 mg/dL for men and ≥1.3 mg/dL for women or predose eGFR of >15 and ≤50 mL/min/1.73 m2, calculated via the Modification of Diet in Renal Disease (MDRD) formula from a SCr obtained within 72 hours of enrollment into the study;
  • Diagnosed as having diabetes mellitus (Type 1 or Type 2) treated with insulin or oral hypoglycemic agents for at least 6 months
  • Is referred for cardiac angiography with or without percutaneous coronary intervention;
  • If at the discretion of the Investigator is receiving or will be receiving a prophylactic medication for renal function, the medication is one that is permitted by this protocol (N acetylcysteine, 1200 mg twice daily on the day before and on the day of the cardiac angiography procedure);
  • Undergoes or is scheduled to undergo pre, peri, or post procedure hydration permitted by this protocol, i.e.:
  • 154 mEq/L sodium bicarbonate solution, administered intravenously at 3 mL/kg/hr for 1 hour before cardiac angiography, followed by an infusion of 1 mL/kg/hr during and out to 6 hours after cardiac angiography, or 154 mEq/L sodium chloride solution (0.9% normal saline), administered intravenously at 1 mL/kg/hr for 8 12 hours before cardiac angiography, followed by an infusion of 1 mL/kg/hr during and out to 8-12 hours after cardiac angiography

Who cannot join

  • -Is a pregnant or lactating female. Exclude the possibility of pregnancy: by laboratory testing on-site at the institution (measurement of serum or urine beta human chorionic gonadotropin) within 24 hours prior to the start of investigational product administration by history (e.g., tubal ligation or hysterectomy, post menopausal with a minimum 1 year without menses)
  • Has a history of hypersensitivity to iodine-containing compounds;
  • Has unstable renal function (i.e., acute worsening of renal function, as determined by the Investigator, that has been observed in the 7 days prior to enrollment) and/or is in acute renal failure;
  • Has stage 5 chronic kidney disease or end-stage renal disease (i.e., estimated glomerular filtration rate [eGFR] <15 mL/min/1.73 m2)
  • Has severe congestive heart failure (class IV in accordance with the classification of the New York Heart Association (NYHA);
  • Has uncontrolled diabetes, as determined by the Investigator;
Show all 15Show fewer
  • Has received an iodinated contrast agent within 7 days prior to the administration of the study agent or is scheduled to receive an iodinated contrast agent within 72 hours after administration of the study agent;
  • Is receiving cyclo-oxygenase-2 inhibitors, nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (with exception of low dose aspirin [≤325 mg per day]), aminoglycosides, or any other drugs that carry a significant risk of nephrotoxicity (in the opinion of the Investigator) during the time period beginning within 72 hours prior to contrast administration and up to 72 hours postdose;
  • Prior to, during or post the cardiac angiography, is receiving or will be receiving a prophylactic medication to prevent acute kidney injury that is not permitted by this protocol (e.g., theophylline, fenoldopam, etc.);
  • During cardiac angiography, is going to receive provocative pharmacological agents such as adenosine or dipyridamole;
  • Is planned to undergo major surgery (e.g. coronary artery bypass graft, valve surgery, etc.) within 48-72 hours after contrast administration;
  • Is planned to receive an intravenous diuretic or mannitol as prophylaxis to prevent acute renal injury (Note: chronic administration is allowed);
  • Is hemodynamically unstable within 48 hours pre-contrast administration defined as a systolic blood pressure <90 mmHg or requires pressor or intra-aortic balloon support;
  • Has any medical condition or other circumstances which would significantly decrease the chances of obtaining reliable data, achieving study objectives, or completing the study and/or postdose follow-up examinations;
  • Is determined by the Investigator that the patient is clinically unsuitable for the study Note: Changes in diuretics, angiotensin-converting enzyme inhibitors, or angiotensin receptor blockers doses within 72 hours prior to and up to 72 hours post contrast administration should be avoided unless clinically necessary for the subject's underlying medical condition.

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Bracco Diagnostics Inc.

    Princeton, New Jersey, 08540

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: RECARE (REnal Safety Following the Intra-Arterial Administration of Iopamidol vs. Iodixanol During Coronary AngiogRaphy in DiabEtic Patients)

The purpose of this study is to compare the incidence of contrast-induced nephropathy (CIN) following the administration of iopamidol-370 (Iopamiro-370) and iodixanol-320 (Visipaque 320) in patients with moderate-to-severe chronic kidney disease and diabetes mellitus undergoing cardiac angiography.

Read the detailed description

This was a Phase IV, multicenter, randomized, double-blind, parallel-group comparison of iopamidol-370 and iodixanol-320 in patients at high risk for CIN, i.e., patients with:

  • Stage 3 or 4 CKD (SCr level of ≥ 1.5 mg/dL for men and ≥1.3 mg/dL for women or eGFR between 15 and 50 mL/min, and
  • Diabetes mellitus who would undergo clinically indicated cardiac angiography procedures. Approximately 10 investigative centers were to participate in this study. This study was to enroll approximately 220 patients to ensure that 200 evaluable patients were able to complete the study according to this protocol.

Patients were to be randomized to receive either iopamidol-370 or iodixanol-320. Each patient was to be evaluated for the occurrence of CIN within 48 to 72 hours postdose.

Being tested
Iopamidol injection 76%, iodixanol
Medical subject headings
Renal Insufficiency, Chronic, Diabetes Mellitus

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • Iopamidol injection 76%Drug

    Also called Isovue

    Iopamiro-370 (Iopamidol injection 76%) is provided in single dose bottles/vials, ready to use, aqueous, nonpyrogenic, colorless to pale yellow sterile solution

  • iodixanolDrug

    Visipaque 320 (iodixanol) injection is provided in bottles/flexible containers, ready to use sterile, pyrogen-free colorless to pale yellow solution

Study groups in NCT00782639
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Iopamiro-370Active comparatorNot described
Receives: Drug: Iopamidol injection 76%
Visipaque 320Active comparatorNot described
Receives: Drug: iodixanol

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. The Number of Participants With Contrast-induced Nephropathy (CIN)

    The number of participants who presented with CIN (defined as an increase in Serum Creatinine (SCr) from baseline greater than or equal to 0.5 mg/dL following the administration of iopamidol-370 or iodixanol 320 while undergoing cardiac angiography). Since CIN is a prospectively-defined outcome measure of the trial, patients experiencing CIN were not reported as having an adverse event.

    Measured: 48 to 72 hours After Injection of Contrast Media

  2. Baseline and Change From Baseline Measurements for the One Participant With Contrast-Induced Nephropathy (CIN) at the 48 to 72 Hours After Injection of Contrast Media Visit

    Only 1 participant presented with incidence of CIN (change from baseline greater than or equal to 0.5 mg/dL) following the administration of iopamidol-370 while undergoing cardiac angiography. The participant's measurements at baseline and at 48 to 72 hours after the injection of contrast agent, as well as the difference between the two, are displayed here. Since CIN is a prospectively-defined outcome measure of the trial, patients experiencing CIN were not reported as having an adverse event.

    Measured: Baseline (just prior to injection of contrast media) and 48 to 72 hours after injection of contrast media

Secondary outcomes (4)
  1. The Number of Participants With a >=25% Decrease in Estimated Glomerular Filtration Rate (eGFR)

    This outcome measure provides the total number of participants that had a decrease from baseline in eGFR greater or equal to 25% within 48 to 72 hours following the cardiac angiography procedure.

    Measured: Baseline (just prior to injection of contrast media) and 48 to 72 hours after injection of contrast media

  2. The Number of Participants With a >=25% Increase in Serum Creatinine (SCr)

    This outcome measure provides the total number of participants that had a increase from baseline in SCr greater or equal to 25% within 48 to 72 hours following the cardiac angiography procedure.

    Measured: Baseline (just prior to injection of contrast media) and 48 to 72 hours after injection of contrast media

  3. Number of Participants Requiring Dialysis

    This outcome measure provides the total number of participants requiring dialysis occurring from acute renal failure.

    Measured: 48 to 72 hours after injection of contrast media

  4. Number of Participants Who Died From Acute Renal Failure

    This outcome measure provides the total number of participants who died as a result of acute renal failure.

    Measured: Any timepoint (Screening [up to 72 hours prior to injection of contrast media], Baseline [just before injection], or 48 to 72 hours or 7 days after injection)

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted31 Oct 2008 (estimated)
  2. Study startMar 2009
  3. Primary completionSep 2009
  4. Study completionSep 2009

Why it stopped: This study was terminated early due to slow enrollment.

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 4
Primary purpose
Diagnosis
Allocation
Randomised
Intervention model
Parallel groups
Masking
Triple blind
Who is masked
Participant, Care provider, Investigator
Enrolment
23 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00782639
Sponsor's protocol ID
IOP114
Acronym
RECARE
Status last verified
Jan 2012
First submitted
28 Oct 2008
Last updated
26 Jan 2012
Data monitoring committee
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 4 study testing Iopamidol injection 76% and iodixanol in people with Chronic Renal Impairment and Diabetes Mellitus, run by Bracco Diagnostics, Inc at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

The sponsor lists 8 inclusion and 15 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: stopped early, as of the sponsor's last update on 26 Jan 2012. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 4 studies take place after a treatment is approved, to learn more about its long-term benefits and risks in everyday use.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 1 Sep 2011). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

The Number of Participants With Contrast-induced Nephropathy (CIN) (time frame: 48 to 72 hours After Injection of Contrast Media). The study lists 2 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 26 Jan 2012.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in