AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerPhase 2NCT00617539

Irinotecan and Temozolomide in Treating Patients With Breast Cancer Who Have Received Previous Treatment for Brain Metastases

A Phase 2 study testing irinotecan hydrochloride and temozolomide in people with Breast Cancer and Metastatic Cancer, run by University of California, San Francisco at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as irinotecan and temozolomide, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving more than one drug (combination chemotherapy) may kill more tumor cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 120 years
Conditions the study is for
Breast Cancer, Metastatic Cancer
What is being tested?
irinotecan hydrochloride and temozolomide
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
30 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Feb 2005to Jan 2014
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 120 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically or cytologically confirmed breast cancer with radiographically confirmed metastases to the brain
  • Extracranial metastases allowed
  • Must have demonstrated progression of brain metastases after prior treatment for brain metastases, including any of the following:
  • External beam radiotherapy
  • Brachytherapy
  • Stereotactic radiosurgery
  • Surgery
  • Chemotherapy
  • Treatments with investigational drugs, biologics, or devices
  • Disease progression in the CNS must meet ≥ 1 of the following criteria:
  • New lesions in the CNS on an imaging study (contrast-enhanced CT scan or MRI)
  • Progressive lesions on an imaging study (contrast-enhanced CT scan or MRI)
  • New or progressive lesions that do not meet measurable disease definition allowed
  • Leptomeningeal disease allowed if concurrent progression or parenchymal brain metastases
  • Not a candidate for surgical resection and/or further stereotactic radiosurgery
  • Hormone receptor status not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Menopausal status not specified
  • ECOG performance status 0-2
  • Life expectancy ≥ 1 month
  • Hemoglobin ≥ 10 g/dL (transfusion allowed)
  • ANC ≥ 1,500/mm³
  • Granulocyte count ≥ 1,500/mm³
  • Platelet count ≥ 100,000/mm³
  • Creatinine ≤ 1.5 mg/dL
  • Total bilirubin ≤ 1.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • AST and ALT ≤ 3 times ULN
  • Must be able to swallow and retain oral medications
  • No other active malignancy except for any of the following:
  • Curatively treated basal or squamous cell carcinoma of the skin
  • Carcinoma in situ of the cervix
  • Other malignancies considered disease-free
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • No history of immediate or delayed-type hypersensitivity reaction to gadolinium contrast agents or other contraindication to gadolinium contrast
  • No other known contraindication to MRI including, but not limited to, any of the following:
  • Cardiac pacemaker
  • Implanted cardiac defibrillator
  • Brain aneurysm clips
  • Cochlear implant
  • Ocular foreign body
  • Shrapnel
  • No active or uncontrolled infection

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • Recovered from the side effects of prior chemotherapy, surgery, or radiotherapy for extracranial disease or brain metastases
  • Concurrent trastuzumab, bisphosphonate, and/or corticosteroid therapy allowed
  • At least 1 week since prior or on current stable dose of corticosteroid therapy
  • Patients on an enzyme-inducing anti-epileptic agent (EIAE) or valproic acid are eligible if they are switched to an alternate non-EIAE medication
  • Concurrent coumadin allowed
  • No prophylactic use of filgrastim (G-CSF) during first course of treatment

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • UCSF Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center

    San Francisco, California, 94115

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Phase II Study of Irinotecan and Temozolomide in Breast Cancer Patients With Brian Metastases That Have Progressed After Stereotactic Radiosurgery or Whole Brain Radiation

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as irinotecan and temozolomide, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving more than one drug (combination chemotherapy) may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying the side effects of giving irinotecan together with temozolomide and to see how well it works in treating patients with breast cancer who have received previous treatment for brain metastases.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • To evaluate the objective response rate systemically and in the CNS to the combination of irinotecan hydrochloride and temozolomide among patients with breast cancer and progressive brain metastases that have progressed after previous treatment for brain metastases.
  • To determine the toxicities associated with the combination of irinotecan hydrochloride and temozolomide in breast cancer patients with progressive brain metastases.

Secondary

  • To evaluate the time to first progression at any site (CNS or extra-CNS) in patients treated with the combination of irinotecan hydrochloride and temozolomide.
  • To evaluate the overall survival of patients treated with the combination of irinotecan hydrochloride and temozolomide for brain metastases.

OUTLINE: Patients receive irinotecan IV on days 1 and 15 and oral temozolomide on days 1-7 and 15-21. Treatment repeats every 28 days in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

After completion of study therapy, patients are followed every 4 weeks.

Keywords
recurrent breast cancer, stage IV breast cancer, male breast cancer, tumors metastatic to brain
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms, Neoplasm Metastasis, Breast Neoplasms, Male, Brain Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Study groups in NCT00617539
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
irinotecan and temozolomideExperimentalNot described
Receives: Drug: irinotecan hydrochloride; Drug: temozolomide

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Number of Patients With Objective Treatment Response (Complete or Partial) in the CNS

    Imaging was performed at 8-week intervals to assess response to treatment. Patients with known or suspected leptomeningeal disease were deemed to have a complete response if CSF cytology converted to negative (if positive at baseline) and all meningeal enhancement or nodularity of brain and/or spine MRI resolved. A modified RECIST 1.0 criteria was used to assess CNS response for patients with new or progressing brain metastases. In this modified RECIST criteria, CNS lesions <1cm were not considered measurable, but were considered evaluable for response and progression. Progressive disease for patients with lesions <1 cm was defined as follows: growth of a lesion from less than or equal to 5 mm to greater than or equal to 10mm; or, growth of a 6-9 mm lesion by at least 5 mm in the case of non-target parenchymal brain metastases.

    Measured: Baseline scan prior to study entry was performed within 14 days of cycle 1 day 1, then every 8 weeks from then until disease progression or up to 2 years

  2. Number of Patients Experiencing a Clinical Benefit

    The number of patients experiencing a clinical benefit is the sum of patients with an objective response plus patients with stable disease at ≥ 16 weeks from cycle 1 day 1 (first day of treatment). If a patient did not come back for a follow up scan after clinical deterioration, then they were only considered stable up to the time of the last scan they had per protocol.

    Measured: From 1 day 1 (first day of treatment) every 8 weeks until scan shows disease progression or up to 2 years

Secondary outcomes (3)
  1. Time to First Progression in CNS

    Imaging at 8-week intervals to assess response to treatment. A modified RECIST 1.0 criteria was used to assess response and time to progression in the CNS for patients with progressing brain metastases. In this modified RECIST criteria, CNS lesions <1cm were not considered measurable, but were considered evaluable for response and progression. Progressive disease for patients with lesions <1 cm was defined as follows: growth of a lesion from less than or equal to 5 mm to greater than or equal to 10mm; or, growth of a 6-9 mm lesion by at least 5 mm in the case of non-target parenchymal brain metastases.

    If patient did not come back for a follow up scan after clinical deterioration, patient was only considered stable up to the time of the last scan per protocol and time to progression would be from cycle 1 day 1 to the last scan they completed that was stable.

    Measured: Baseline scan prior to study entry was performed within 14 days of cycle 1 day 1, then every 8 weeks from then until disease progression or up to 2 years

  2. Overall Time of Survival

    Time from initiation of study participation until death

    Measured: Time from initiation of study participation until death or up to 3 years

  3. Number of Patients Whose Circulating Tumor Cells (CTCs) Decreased From >5 to <5 CTCs Per 7.5 mL

    CTCs were measured in blood using the Cellsearch(R) assay in 14 of the 20 patients measured at baseline

    Measured: CTCs drawn on cycle 1 day 1, collection at 8 week intervals on patients who did not progress on their 8 week scans up to 2 years

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted18 Feb 2008 (estimated)
  2. Study startFeb 2005
  3. Primary completionJan 2013
  4. Study completionJan 2014

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
30 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00617539
Sponsor's protocol ID
05751
Other IDs
UCSF-05751
Status last verified
Mar 2018
First submitted
15 Feb 2008
Last updated
20 Apr 2018
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing irinotecan hydrochloride and temozolomide in people with Breast Cancer and Metastatic Cancer, run by University of California, San Francisco at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 20 Apr 2018. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 20 Apr 2018). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Number of Patients With Objective Treatment Response (Complete or Partial) in the CNS (time frame: Baseline scan prior to study entry was performed within 14 days of cycle 1 day 1, then every 8 weeks from then until disease progression or up to 2 years). The study lists 2 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 20 Apr 2018.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in