AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerPhase 2NCT00470249

Carboplatin and Gemcitabine in Treating Patients With Locally Advanced or Metastatic Breast Cancer

A Phase 2 study testing Carboplatin and Gemcitabine Hydrochloride in people with Breast Cancer, run by University of Southampton at 3 sites in United Kingdom.

Terminated

Stopped early. The study ended before it was planned to and will not resume.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as carboplatin and gemcitabine, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving more than one drug (combination chemotherapy) may kill more tumor cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 120 years
Conditions the study is for
Breast Cancer
What is being tested?
Carboplatin and Gemcitabine Hydrochloride
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
5 participants
Where
3 sitesUnited Kingdom
Study dates
15 Jul 2006to 3 Nov 2008
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 120 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

Who may be able to join

  • DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: histologically confirmed breast cancer, locally advanced or metastatic disease, recurrent or refractory disease, histological or cytological confirmation required for recurrence in a solitary site
  • Must have received prior anthracycline and taxane as neoadjuvant, adjuvant, or metastatic therapy
  • At least 1 measurable site of disease, defined as ≥ 1 unidimensionally measurable lesion ≥ 20 mm by conventional techniques or ≥ 10 mm by spiral CT scan
  • Palpable disease allowed, Lesions that have been irradiated in the advanced setting cannot be included as sites of measurable disease
  • No nonmeasurable disease only, including the following:
  • Bone lesions
Show all 45Show fewer
  • Leptomeningeal disease
  • Ascites
  • Pleural or pericardial effusion
  • Inflammatory breast disease
  • Lymphangitic pulmonary disease
  • Abdominal masses that are not confirmed and followed by imaging techniques
  • Cystic lesions
  • No HER2-positive disease, defined as 3+ by IHC OR positive by FISH or chromogenic in situ hybridization
  • Hormone receptor status not specified
  • PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:
  • Male or female, Menopausal status not specified, ECOG performance status 0-1, Estimated life expectancy ≥ 12 weeks, Not pregnant or nursing, fertile patients must use effective contraception during and for 3 months after completion of study therapy
  • ANC ≥ 1,500/mm³
  • Platelet count ≥ 100,000/mm³
  • Hemoglobin ≥ 9 g/dL
  • ALT or AST < 2.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • Bilirubin normal
  • Alkaline phosphatase ≤ 2.5 times ULN
  • Creatinine ≤ 1.25 times ULN OR creatinine clearance > 40 mL/min
  • Calcium ≤ 1.2 times ULN
  • No concurrent serious medical or psychiatric illness, including any serious active infection incompatible with the study
  • No other primary malignancy except carcinoma in situ of the cervix, adequately treated nonmelanomatous skin cancer, or any other malignancy previously treated ≥ 5 years ago with no evidence of recurrence
  • No peripheral neuropathy ≥ grade 2
  • PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY (See Disease Characteristics):
  • Recovered from prior chemotherapy
  • Prior hormonal therapy or immunotherapy allowed
  • Antitumoral hormonal therapy must be discontinued prior to study entry
  • More than 4 weeks since prior radiotherapy and recovered
  • No prior radiotherapy to the whole pelvis or to ≥ 25% of the bone marrow
  • No prior gemcitabine hydrochloride, cisplatin, or carboplatin
  • No other cytotoxic chemotherapy for 21 days before and for 14 days after completion of study therapy
  • More than 30 days since prior treatment with a drug (not including study drug) that has not received regulatory approval for any indication at the time of study entry
  • Bisphosphonate therapy may not be initiated or discontinued within 4 weeks of study entry
  • No more than 1 prior course of chemotherapy for metastatic disease
  • Prior chemotherapy in the adjuvant setting allowed
  • Concurrent palliative radiotherapy to existing painful lesions (soft tissue or bone) allowed
  • New bone pain requiring radiotherapy > 4 weeks after first study treatment considered disease progression
  • New pain in a soft tissue lesion without other objective changes may be irradiated provided ≥ 1 other site of nonirradiated measurable disease exists
  • No other concurrent anticancer treatment
  • No concurrent tamoxifen citrate, aromatase inhibitors, or progestagens

Who cannot join

None listed.

Trial locations and contacts

3 sites in 1 country.

United Kingdom3 sites
  • Royal Bournemouth Hospital

    Bournemouth, England, BH7 7DW

  • Portsmouth Oncology Centre at Saint Mary's Hospital

    Portsmouth, England, PO3 6AD

  • Southampton General Hospital

    Southampton, England, SO16 6YD

Other trials in United Kingdom

About this study

Official title: A Phase II Study of Carboplatin in Combination With Gemcitabine as a Dose Dense Schedule in Patients With Locally Advanced or Metastatic Breast Cancer That Are Resistant to Anthracyclines & Taxanes

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as carboplatin and gemcitabine, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving more than one drug (combination chemotherapy) may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well giving carboplatin together with gemcitabine works in treating patients with locally advanced or metastatic breast cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Determine the overall response rate in patients with anthracycline- and taxane-resistant locally advanced or metastatic breast cancer treated with dose-dense carboplatin and gemcitabine hydrochloride.

Secondary

  • Determine the overall toxicity of this regimen in these patients.
  • Determine the overall survival of patients treated with this regimen.
  • Determine the time to disease progression in patients treated with this regimen.
  • Determine the duration of response in patients treated with this regimen.
  • Determine the time to treatment failure in patients treated with this regimen.

OUTLINE: This is a nonrandomized, open-label study.

Patients receive carboplatin IV over 30 minutes on day 1 and gemcitabine hydrochloride IV over 150 minutes on day 2. Treatment repeats every 14 days for up to 9 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

After completion of study therapy, patients are followed periodically for 2 years.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 35 patients will be accrued for this study.

Conditions
Breast Cancer
Keywords
stage IIIB breast cancer, stage IIIC breast cancer, stage IV breast cancer, recurrent breast cancer, male breast cancer, stage IIIA breast cancer
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms, Breast Neoplasms, Male

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • CarboplatinDrug

    At a dose equivalent to an area under the concentration-time curve of 4.5 mg/ml.min on day 1 of every 2-week cycle

  • Gemcitabine HydrochlorideDrug

    1500 mg/m2 on day 2 of every 2-week cycle

Study groups in NCT00470249
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Patients with (HER-2)-negative and anthracycline- and taxane-resistantExperimentalPatients with human epidermal growth factor 2 (HER-2)-negative locally advanced or metastatic breast cancer that was anthracycline- and taxane-resistant
Receives: Drug: Carboplatin; Drug: Gemcitabine Hydrochloride

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Overall response rate (complete or partial response)

    Assess the Overall response rate (complete or partial response)

    Measured: 8 months

Secondary outcomes (5)
  1. Overall toxicity as assessed by NCI CTCAE v3.0

    Summary Overall toxicity as assessed by NCI CTCAE v3.0

    Measured: 8 months

  2. Overall survival

    Assess Overall survival

    Measured: 8 months

  3. Time to disease progression

    Assess Time to disease progression

    Measured: 8 months

  4. Duration of response

    Assess Duration of response

    Measured: 8 months

  5. Time to treatment failure

    Assess Time to treatment failure

    Measured: 8 months

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted7 May 2007 (estimated)
  2. Study start15 Jul 2006
  3. Primary completion3 Nov 2008
  4. Study completion3 Nov 2008

Why it stopped: Due to difficulty in recruitment

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Model description
In this non-randomized prospective trial, patients with human epidermal growth factor 2 (HER-2)-negative locally advanced or metastatic breast cancer that was anthracycline- and taxane-resistant were treated with carboplatin at a dose equivalent to an area under the concentration-time curve of 4.5 mg/ml.min on day 1 and gemcitabine 1500 mg/m2 on day 2 of every 2-week cycle. The primary end point was overall response rate.
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
5 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00470249
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000542627
Other IDs
2005-005164-83, 2005
Status last verified
Jan 2021
First submitted
3 May 2007
Last updated
1 Feb 2021
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
No
FDA-regulated device
No
Individual data sharing
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing Carboplatin and Gemcitabine Hydrochloride in people with Breast Cancer, run by University of Southampton at 3 sites in United Kingdom.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

The sponsor lists 45 inclusion and 0 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: stopped early, as of the sponsor's last update on 1 Feb 2021. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 3 sites in United Kingdom. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study was stopped early (reason given: Due to difficulty in recruitment). Results are not available in the source record.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Overall response rate (complete or partial response) (time frame: 8 months). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 1 Feb 2021.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in