AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerNCT00458796

Comparison of Two Schedules of Zoledronic Acid in Treating Patients With Breast Cancer That Has Spread to the Bone

A study testing zoledronic acid and quality-of-life assessment in people with Breast Cancer and Hypercalcemia of Malignancy, run by University of Leeds at 30 sites in United Kingdom.

Terminated

Stopped early. The study ended before it was planned to and will not resume.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Zoledronic acid may help decrease the risk of broken bones, bone pain, and other symptoms caused by bone metastases. It may also help patients live more comfortably. PURPOSE: This randomized clinical trial is studying different schedules of zoledronic acid to compare how well they work in treating patients… Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 120 years
What is being tested?
zoledronic acid and quality-of-life assessment
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
1,500 participants
Where
30 sitesUnited Kingdom
Study dates
Mar 2006to not given
Phase
Interventional
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 120 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed primary breast cancer
  • Advanced disease
  • Radiographic confirmation of bone metastases (≥ 1 bone scan lesion must be confirmed as metastatic by plain radiographs or CT scan/MRI)
  • Must have received zoledronic acid to treat metastatic bone disease (i.e., ≥ 4 or 5 zoledronic acid treatments prior to study entry for patients receiving 4- or 3-weekly infusions, respectively) for ≥ 4 months prior to study entry
  • Any bisphosphonate to treat metastatic bone disease allowed provided it was not given for more than 12 months prior to study entry
  • No metabolic bone disease (e.g., Paget's disease of bone)
  • Osteoporosis allowed
  • No brain metastases
  • Hormone receptor status not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Male or female
  • Menopausal status not specified
  • WHO or ECOG performance status 0-2
  • Life expectancy ≥ 6 months
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • AST and ALT ≤ 3 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • Bilirubin ≤ 1.5 times ULN
  • Creatinine clearance ≥ 30 mL/min
  • No poor venous access
  • No concurrent active dental problems, including infection of the teeth or jawbone (maxilla or mandibular)
  • No prior or current diagnosis of osteonecrosis of the jaw
  • No other cancer within the past 5 years except nonmelanomatous skin cancer, carcinoma in situ of the uterine cervix, or superficial bladder cancer treated with curative intent

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • No other prior bisphosphonate treatment within the past 3 weeks
  • No treatment with systemic bone-seeking radioisotopes (e.g., strontium chloride Sr 89, samarium Sm 153 lexidronam pentasodium) within the past 3 months
  • No wide-field (hemibody) radiotherapy within the past 3 months
  • Recent standard-field, localized radiotherapy allowed
  • No dental or jaw surgery (e.g., extractions, implants) within the past 4 weeks
  • No other concurrent bisphosphonates
  • No concurrent medication with drugs known to affect bone metabolism (e.g., calcitonin or high-dose systemic corticosteroids [> 10 mg prednisolone/day or equivalent])
  • Systemic or oral corticosteroids allowed for clearly indicated conditions (e.g., chemotherapy-induced emesis, brain metastases, compression syndromes)
  • Concurrent chemotherapy, biological therapy, or endocrine therapy allowed

Trial locations and contacts

30 sites in 1 country.

30 sites in 1 country

United Kingdom30 sites
  • Royal Bournemouth Hospital

    Bournemouth, England, BH7 7DW

  • Velindre Cancer Center at Velindre Hospital

    Cardiff, Wales, CF14 2TL

  • Derbyshire Royal Infirmary

    Derby, England, DE1 2QY

  • Doncaster Royal Infirmary

    Doncaster, England, DN2 5LT

  • University Hospital of North Durham

    Durham, England, DH1 5TW

  • Western Infirmary

    Glasgow, Scotland, G11 6NT

  • Beatson West of Scotland Cancer Centre

    Glasgow, Scotland, G12 0YN

  • Hairmyres Hospital

    Glasgow, Scotland, G12 0YN

  • Diana Princess of Wales Hospital

    Grimsby, England, DN33 2BA

  • St. Luke's Cancer Centre at Royal Surrey County Hospital

    Guildford, England, GU2 7XX

  • Withybush General Hospital

    Haverfordwest, Wales, SA61 2PZ

  • Huddersfield Royal Infirmary

    Huddersfield, West Yorks, England, HD3 3EA

  • Crosshouse Hospital

    Kilmarnock, Scotland, KA2 OBE

  • Royal Liverpool University Hospital

    Liverpool, England, L7 8XP

  • Saint Bartholomew's Hospital

    London, England, EC1A 7BE

  • Christie Hospital

    Manchester, England, M20 4BX

  • Withington Hospital

    Manchester, England, M20 8LR

  • Clatterbridge Centre for Oncology

    Merseyside, England, CH63 4JY

  • Royal Gwent Hospital

    Newport Gwent, Wales, NP9 2UB

  • George Eliot Hospital

    Nuneaton, England, CV10 7DJ

  • Dorset Cancer Centre

    Poole Dorset, England, BH15 2JB

  • Scunthorpe General Hospital

    Scunthorpe, England, DN15 7BH

  • Cancer Research Centre at Weston Park Hospital

    Sheffield, England, S1O 2SJ

  • Royal Shrewsbury Hospital

    Shrewsbury, England, SY3 8XQ

  • Solihull Hospital

    Solihull, England, B91 2JL

  • Southampton General Hospital

    Southampton, England, SO16 6YD

  • South West Wales Cancer Institute

    Swansea, Wales, SA2 8QA

  • South Warwickshire Hospital

    Warwick, Warwickshire, England, CV34 5BJ

  • Southend University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

    Westcliff-on-Sea, England, SS0 0RY

  • Royal Hampshire County Hospital

    Winchester, England, SO22 5DG

Other trials in United Kingdom

About this study

Official title: Cost-Effective Use of Bisphosphonates in Metastatic Bone Disease - A Comparison of Bone Marker Directed Zoledronic Acid Therapy to a Standard Schedule

RATIONALE: Zoledronic acid may help decrease the risk of broken bones, bone pain, and other symptoms caused by bone metastases. It may also help patients live more comfortably.

PURPOSE: This randomized clinical trial is studying different schedules of zoledronic acid to compare how well they work in treating patients with breast cancer that has spread to the bone.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Compare the frequency and timing of serious related events (e.g., fractures, radiotherapy to bone, hypercalcemia of malignancy, orthopedic surgery, and spinal cord compression) in patients with advanced breast cancer metastatic to the bone treated with bone marker-directed schedule vs standard schedule zoledronic acid.

Secondary

  • Compare the quality of life of patients treated with these regimens.
  • Compare the clinical burden of skeletal complications in these patients.
  • Compare pain, performance status, and analgesic use (PPA score) in these patients.
  • Compare the incidence of new bone metastases in these patients.
  • Compare overall survival of these patients.
  • Compare bisphosphonate use and expenditure on administration in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is an open-label, randomized, controlled, parallel-group, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to treatment center, gender, type of concurrent systemic therapy at study entry (endocrine therapy [with or without trastuzumab (Herceptin^®)] vs chemotherapy [with or without trastuzumab] vs trastuzumab alone vs chemotherapy and endocrine therapy [with or without trastuzumab] vs no systemic anticancer treatment), prior skeletal-related event (yes vs no), duration of bisphosphonate use for metastatic disease prior to study entry (4-6 months vs 6-12 months), type of metastases present at study entry (bone only vs bone and soft tissue vs bone and visceral metastases vs bone, soft tissue, and visceral metastases). Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.

  • Arm I (standard schedule): Patients receive zoledronic acid IV over 15 minutes once every 3-4 weeks for 24 months.
  • Arm II (bone marker-directed schedule): Patients receive zoledronic acid IV over 15 minutes once every 3-4, 8-9, or 15-16 weeks (based on serum N-telopeptide:creatinine ratio) for 24 months.

Quality of life is assessed at baseline and at 3, 6, 9, 12, 18, and 24 months.

After completion of study therapy, patients are followed periodically for up to 3 years.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 1,500 patients will be accrued for this study.

Being tested
zoledronic acid, quality-of-life assessment
Keywords
hypercalcemia of malignancy, musculoskeletal complications, pain, stage IV breast cancer, male breast cancer, recurrent breast cancer, bone metastases
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms, Humoral Hypercalcemia Of Malignancy, Neoplasm Metastasis, Pain, Breast Neoplasms, Male

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Fractures

  2. Radiotherapy to bone either for relief of pain or to treat or prevent pathological fractures or spinal cord compression

  3. Hypercalcemia of malignancy

  4. Orthopedic surgery to prevent or treat pathological fractures or spinal cord compression

  5. Spinal cord compression

Secondary outcomes (8)
  1. Quality of life as measured by QLQ-C30 and the QLQ-BR23 breast-specific module

  2. Clinical burden of skeletal complications

  3. Pain, performance status, and analgesic use

  4. Incidence of new bone metastases

  5. Overall survival

  6. Bisphosphonate use and expenditure on administration

  7. Health care utilization

  8. Clinical utility of the "point of care" test for N-telopeptides (NTx) excretion

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted11 Apr 2007 (estimated)
  2. Study startMar 2006

Why it stopped: Lower than expected recruitment

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase N/A
Primary purpose
Supportive care
Allocation
Randomised
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
1,500 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00458796
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000538879
Other IDs
NCRI-BISMARK, ISRCTN83586728, EU-20716, EUDRACT-2005-001376-12
Status last verified
May 2022
First submitted
9 Apr 2007
Last updated
27 May 2022
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A study testing zoledronic acid and quality-of-life assessment in people with Breast Cancer and Hypercalcemia of Malignancy, run by University of Leeds at 30 sites in United Kingdom.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: stopped early, as of the sponsor's last update on 27 May 2022. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 30 sites in United Kingdom. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

Are results available for this study?

The study was stopped early (reason given: Lower than expected recruitment). Results are not available in the source record.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Fractures. The study lists 5 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 27 May 2022.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in
Clinical Trial NCT00458796 | AzTrials