AzTrials
AzTrials

Cytomegalovirus InfectionsPhase 1NCT00377741

A Relative Bioavailability Study of Valcyte (Valganciclovir) in Lung Transplant Recipients With or Without Cystic Fibrosis.

A Phase 1 study testing valganciclovir [Valcyte] in people with Cytomegalovirus Infections, run by Hoffmann-La Roche at 5 sites in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

This study will assess the relative bioavailability of ganciclovir from the pro-drug valganciclovir in lung transplant recipients with or without cystic fibrosis. Each patient will receive 900mg valganciclovir daily for the period specified at their center, starting as soon as possible after the transplant. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 14 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Cytomegalovirus Infections
What is being tested?
valganciclovir [Valcyte]
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
31 participants
Where
5 sitesUnited States
Study dates
Dec 2004to Jun 2006
Phase
Phase 1
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 14 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

Who may be able to join

  • male or female patients, >=14 years of age;
  • first lung or heart-lung transplant recipient;
  • at risk of CMV disease (D+R-,D+R+ or D-R+);
  • estimated creatinine clearance >=60mL/min;
  • stable immunosuppressive and 900mg Valcyte dosing regimens (>=4 days) prior to pharmacokinetic assessments.

Who cannot join

  • history of any adverse reaction to acyclovir, valacyclovir, ganciclovir or valganciclovir;
  • evidence of graft rejection;
  • patient has received anti-CMV prophylaxis with a treatment other than cytogam, ganciclovir or valganciclovir between transplant and screening.

Trial locations and contacts

5 sites in 1 country.

5 sites in 1 country

United States5 sites
  • Study site

    Cleveland, Ohio, 44195

  • Study site

    Denver, Colorado, 80262

  • Study site

    Durham, North Carolina, 27710

  • Study site

    Los Angeles, California, 90033

  • Study site

    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, 15213

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Relative Bioavailability Study of Ganciclovir From the Pro-drug, Valganciclovir, in Lung Transplant Recipients With or Without Cystic Fibrosis

This study will assess the relative bioavailability of ganciclovir from the pro-drug valganciclovir in lung transplant recipients with or without cystic fibrosis. Each patient will receive 900mg valganciclovir daily for the period specified at their center, starting as soon as possible after the transplant. Pharmacokinetic assessments will be made provided that steady-state kinetics of ganciclovir and immunosuppressive drugs have been obtained (>=4 days of drug therapy). Blood samples for pharmacokinetic analysis will be taken up to 24h post-dose on one occasion. The anticipated time on study treatment is 3-12 months, and the target sample size is <100 individuals.

Being tested
valganciclovir [Valcyte]
Medical subject headings
Cytomegalovirus Infections

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • valganciclovir [Valcyte]Drug

    900mg po

Study groups in NCT00377741
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
1ExperimentalNot described
Receives: Drug: valganciclovir [Valcyte]

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Area Under The Observed Plasma Concentration-Time Curve Between Dosing Intervals AUC(0-tau)

    The area under the plasma concentration-time curve from time zero to end of dosing interval (AUC [0-tau]) is a measure of the plasma ganciclovir concentration from time zero to end of dosing interval. It was computed using the linear trapezoidal rule. The pharmacokinetic parameters of valganciclovir were measured in plasma of all participants following a single oral dose valganciclovir at 900 mg on Day 1.

    Measured: Pre-dose, 0.5, 0.75, 1.0, 1.5, 2.0, 3.0, 4.0, 6.0, 8.0, 12 and 24 hours post-dose

  2. Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration (Cmax) of Ganciclovir

    The Cmax is defined as maximum observed Ganciclovir concentration. Cmax of valganciclovir were measured in plasma of all participants following a single tablet dose Valganciclovir at 900 mg at start of treatment on Day 1.

    Measured: Pre-dose, 0.5, 0.75, 1.0, 1.5, 2.0, 3.0, 4.0, 6.0, 8.0, 12 and 24 hours post-dose

Secondary outcomes (3)
  1. Time to Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration (Tmax) of Ganciclovir

    The Tmax is defined as time to reach maximum observed Ganciclovir concentration. The pharmacokinetic parameters of Valganciclovir were measured in plasma of all participants following a single tablet dose Valganciclovir at 900 mg at start of treatment on Day 1.

    Measured: Pre-dose, 0.5, 0.75, 1.0, 1.5, 2.0, 3.0, 4.0, 6.0, 8.0, 12 and 24 hours post-dose

  2. Apparent Elimination Rate (Kelim) of Ganciclovir

    The apparent elimination rate is equal to the magnitude of the slope from the log-linear regression of plasma concentration versus time over the interval t to 24, where t is the first time-point used for this regression. Kelim was not reported for those participants for whom R-squared (adjusted) was lower than 0.70.

    Measured: Pre-dose, 0.5, 0.75, 1.0, 1.5, 2.0, 3.0, 4.0, 6.0, 8.0, 12 and 24 hours post-dose

  3. Plasma Half-Life (T1/2) of Ganciclovir

    Plasma half-life is the time measured for the plasma concentration to decrease by one half. The pharmacokinetic parameters of Valganciclovir were measured in plasma of all participants following a single tablet dose Valganciclovir at 900 mg at start of treatment on Day 1. T1/2 was not reported for those participants for whom R-squared (adjusted) was lower than 0.70.

    Measured: Pre-dose, 0.5, 0.75, 1.0, 1.5, 2.0, 3.0, 4.0, 6.0, 8.0, 12 and 24 hours post-dose

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted18 Sep 2006 (estimated)
  2. Study startDec 2004
  3. Primary completionJun 2006
  4. Study completionJun 2006

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Non-randomised
Intervention model
Parallel groups
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
31 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00377741
Sponsor's protocol ID
WP18046
Status last verified
Nov 2015
First submitted
15 Sep 2006
Last updated
31 Dec 2015

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1 study testing valganciclovir [Valcyte] in people with Cytomegalovirus Infections, run by Hoffmann-La Roche at 5 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

The sponsor lists 5 inclusion and 3 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 31 Dec 2015. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 5 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 31 Dec 2015). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Area Under The Observed Plasma Concentration-Time Curve Between Dosing Intervals AUC(0-tau) (time frame: Pre-dose, 0.5, 0.75, 1.0, 1.5, 2.0, 3.0, 4.0, 6.0, 8.0, 12 and 24 hours post-dose). The study lists 2 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 31 Dec 2015.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in