AzTrials
AzTrials

brca1 Mutation CarrierPhase 2NCT00321633

Carboplatin or Docetaxel in Treating Women With Metastatic Genetic Breast Cancer

A Phase 2 study testing carboplatin and docetaxel in people with brca1 Mutation Carrier and brca2 Mutation Carrier, run by University College London Hospitals at 25 sites in 6 countries.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as carboplatin and docetaxel, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Any age, women only
What is being tested?
carboplatin and docetaxel
How many people
148 participants
Where
25 sitesin 6 countries
Study dates
Sep 2005to Sep 2009
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Any age
  • Women only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed breast cancer
  • BRCA1 or BRCA2 mutation carrier
  • Metastatic disease
  • Measurable disease, defined as ≥ 1 unidimensionally measurable lesion ≥ 20 mm by conventional techniques or ≥ 10 mm by spiral CT scan
  • Stable, treated brain metastases allowed provided other sites of measurable disease are present
  • Patients with bone metastases who are currently receiving bisphosphonates for palliation are eligible provided other sites of measurable disease are present
  • Patients who have not received anthracycline-based chemotherapy in the adjuvant setting may receive a non-taxane, anthracycline regimen as the first-line metastatic treatment and enter the trial at confirmed progression (second-line)
  • No bone-limited disease
  • No disease suitable for endocrine therapy alone
  • Hormone receptor status not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Menopausal status not specified
  • Sex: female
  • WHO performance status 0-2
  • Life expectancy ≥ 3 months
  • AST and/or ALT ≤ 5 times upper limit of normal (ULN) (≤ 3 if alkaline phosphatase > 5 times ULN)
  • Glomerular filtration rate ≥ 30 mL/min
  • Normal urea and creatinine
  • Normal hematological and biochemical studies
  • Normal bilirubin
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception during and for 6 months after completion of study treatment
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • No known allergy to platinum compounds or mannitol
  • No known sensitivity to taxanes
  • No other malignancy within the past 10 years except adequately treated in situ carcinoma of the cervix or basal cell or squamous cell carcinoma of the skin
  • No sensory or motor neuropathy > grade 1
  • No other serious uncontrolled medical conditions or concurrent medical illness that would preclude study compliance
  • No contraindication to chemotherapy

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • At least 12 months since prior taxane therapy
  • No prior chemotherapy with a platinum drug, unless treatment was for a non-breast cancer-related disease more than 10 years ago

Trial locations and contacts

25 sites in 6 countries.

25 sites in 6 countries

United Kingdom18 sites
  • Addenbrooke's Hospital

    Cambridge, England, CB2 2QQ

  • Velindre Cancer Center at Velindre Hospital

    Cardiff, Wales, CF14 2TL

  • Edinburgh Cancer Centre at Western General Hospital

    Edinburgh, Scotland, EH4 2XU

  • Royal Devon and Exeter Hospital

    Exeter, England, EX2 5DW

  • UCL Cancer Institute

    Hampstead, London, England, NW3 2QG

  • Cookridge Hospital

    Leeds, England, LS16 6QB

  • Leeds Cancer Centre at St. James's University Hospital

    Leeds, England, LS9 7TF

  • Guy's Hospital

    London, England, SE1 9RT

  • Royal Marsden - Surrey

    London, England, SW3 6JJ

  • Christie Hospital

    Manchester, England, M20 4BX

  • Clatterbridge Centre for Oncology

    Merseyside, England, CH63 4JY

  • James Paget Hospital

    Norfolk, England, NR31 6LA

  • Mount Vernon Cancer Centre at Mount Vernon Hospital

    Northwood, England, HA6 2RN

  • Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital

    Norwich, England, NR4 7UY

  • Dorset Cancer Centre

    Poole Dorset, England, BH15 2JB

  • Portsmouth Oncology Centre at Saint Mary's Hospital

    Portsmouth Hants, England, PO3 6AD

  • Southampton General Hospital

    Southampton, England, SO16 6YD

  • Torbay Hospital

    Torquay, England, TQ2 7AA

Other trials in United Kingdom

Israel3 sites
  • Soroka University Medical Center

    Beersheba, 84101

  • Naharia Hospital

    Nahariya

  • Chaim Sheba Medical Center

    Tel HaShomer, 52621

Other trials in Israel

Australia1 site
  • Royal Melbourne Hospital

    Parkville, Victoria, 3050

Other trials in Australia

Portugal1 site
  • Instituto Portugues de Oncologia de Francisco Gentil - Centro Regional de Oncologia de Lisboa, SA

    Lisbon, 1099-023 Codex

Other trials in Portugal

Spain1 site
  • Vall d'Hebron University Hospital

    Barcelona, 08035

Other trials in Spain

Sweden1 site
  • Lund University Hospital

    Lund, SE-22185

Other trials in Sweden

About this study

Official title: A Randomized Phase II Pilot Trial of Carboplatin Compared to Docetaxel for Patients With Metastatic Genetic Breast Cancer [BRCA Trial]

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as carboplatin and docetaxel, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. It is not yet known whether carboplatin is more effective than docetaxel in treating patients with metastatic genetic breast cancer.

PURPOSE: This randomized phase II trial is studying carboplatin to see how well it works compared to docetaxel in treating women with metastatic genetic breast cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Compare the safety and effectiveness of carboplatin vs docetaxel in women with metastatic breast cancer and the BRCA1 or BRCA2 gene mutation.

Secondary

  • Compare time to disease progression in patients treated with these regimens.
  • Compare progression-free survival of patients treated with carboplatin vs docetaxel.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, open-label, multicenter, pilot study. Patients are stratified according to gene mutation (BRCA1 vs BRCA2), prior adjuvant taxane chemotherapy (yes vs no), liver or lung metastasis affecting the parenchyma (yes vs no), Jewish ancestry by parent or grandparent (yes vs no), and first-line treatment vs second-line treatment. Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.

  • Arm I: Patients receive carboplatin IV over 1 hour on day 1.
  • Arm 2: Patients receive docetaxel IV over 1 hour on day 1. In both arms, treatment repeats every 21 days for up to 6 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients with disease progression after 3 or 6 courses of treatment may crossover to the alternative treatment arm. If progression is present after 3 courses in the crossover arm, patients may receive further treatment at the discretion of their oncologist. Patients responding to and tolerating treatment well, may be given 2 further courses in accordance with local center policy, although this is not encouraged.

Patients with HER2-positive disease may receive trastuzumab (Herceptin®) IV once every 7 or 21 days.

After completion of study treatment, patients are followed periodically for survival.

Peer Reviewed and Funded or Endorsed by Cancer Research UK

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 148 patients will be accrued for this study.

Being tested
carboplatin, docetaxel
Keywords
stage IV breast cancer, recurrent breast cancer, hereditary breast/ovarian cancer (BRCA1, BRCA2), BRCA1 mutation carrier, BRCA2 mutation carrier
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms, Hereditary Breast and Ovarian Cancer Syndrome

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Response and toxicity

Secondary outcomes (1)
  1. Time to progression

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted4 May 2006 (estimated)
  2. Study startSep 2005
  3. Primary completionSep 2009

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
148 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00321633
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000467994
Other IDs
CRUK-BRCA-TRIAL, EUDRACT-2004-001496-20, EU-20603, ISRCTN43372330, BBC-CRUK-BRCA-TRIAL
Status last verified
Jul 2009
First submitted
2 May 2006
Last updated
26 Aug 2013
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing carboplatin and docetaxel in people with brca1 Mutation Carrier and brca2 Mutation Carrier, run by University College London Hospitals at 25 sites in 6 countries.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 26 Aug 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 25 sites in United Kingdom, Israel, Australia, Portugal, Spain and 1 more country. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Response and toxicity. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 26 Aug 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in