AzTrials
AzTrials

Cervical CancerNCT00295945

Epidural Analgesia or Patient-Controlled Analgesia in Treating Patients Who Have Undergone Surgery for Gynecologic Cancer

An observational study of Cervical Cancer and Endometrial Cancer, run by University of California, San Francisco at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Giving pain medication into the space between the wall of the spinal canal and the covering of the spinal cord or giving it into a vein may help lessen pain caused by cancer surgery. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Any age, women only
What is being tested?
fentanyl citrate, hydromorphone hydrochloride and ropivacaine hydrochloride
Type of treatment
Injection or infusion
How many people
240 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Mar 2005to Dec 2009
Phase
Observational
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Any age
  • Women only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

Study population: DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: * Diagnosis of a gynecologic malignancy * Scheduled to undergo open abdominal/pelvic surgery (i.e., laparotomy) on the gynecologic oncology service at the University of California San Francisco Medical Center * No failed epidural catheters (for patients choosing epidural analgesia) * No lumbar epidurals (for patients choosing epidural analgesia)

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Diagnosis of a gynecologic malignancy
  • Scheduled to undergo open abdominal/pelvic surgery (i.e., laparotomy) on the gynecologic oncology service at the University of California San Francisco Medical Center
  • No failed epidural catheters (for patients choosing epidural analgesia)
  • No lumbar epidurals (for patients choosing epidural analgesia)

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Not specified

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

  • Not specified

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • UCSF Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center

    San Francisco, California, 94115

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Outcomes of Perioperative Epidural Analgesia in Gynecologic Oncology Patients: A Parallel Prospective Cohort and Randomized Clinical Study

RATIONALE: Giving pain medication into the space between the wall of the spinal canal and the covering of the spinal cord or giving it into a vein may help lessen pain caused by cancer surgery. It is not yet known whether epidural analgesia is more effective than patient-controlled analgesia in controlling pain in patients who have undergone surgery for gynecologic cancer.

PURPOSE: This randomized clinical trial is studying epidural analgesia to see how well it works compared to patient-controlled analgesia in treating patients who have undergone surgery for gynecologic cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine whether the gradual weaning of an epidural opioid can shorten the duration of postoperative ileus, without worsening pain control, in patients who have undergone surgery for gynecologic cancer.
  • Compare postoperative pain management in patients treated with perioperative epidural analgesia vs patient controlled analgesia.
  • Compare time to ambulation, return of bowel function, and readiness for hospital discharge in patients treated with these pain management interventions.
  • Compare the incidence of perioperative complications (e.g., bleeding, hypotension, thromboembolic events, pneumonia, wound infection, myocardial infection, or death) in patients treated with these pain management interventions.

OUTLINE: This is a partially randomized, double-blind, parallel-group study. Patients choose between epidural analgesia or patient controlled analgesia (PCA) for perioperative pain management. Patients for whom an epidural is contraindicated receive a PCA. Patients are assigned to 1 of 2 treatment groups. Patients in group 1 are stratified according to bowel resection surgery (yes vs no) and prior abdominal surgery (yes vs no).

  • Group 1 (epidural): Patients undergo placement of a thoracic epidural catheter followed by abdominal/pelvic surgery. Patients then begin an epidural infusion of ropivacaine hydrochloride and fentanyl immediately after surgery (postoperative day 0). Patients may also be supplemented with a patient controlled demand dose. The day after surgery (postoperative day 1), patients are randomized (as long as there is adequate pain control) to 1 of 2 epidural management arms.
  • Arm I: Patients continue to receive the epidural infusion until they can be weaned to oral pain medication.
  • Arm II: Patients undergo daily weaning of the fentanyl concentration of the epidural infusion.
  • Group 2 (PCA): Patients begin PCA immediately after undergoing abdominal/pelvic surgery (postoperative day 0). Patients receive a demand schedule of hydromorphone IV until they can be weaned to oral pain medication.

In both groups, the Gynecologic Oncology pain service may make adjustments to the epidural infusion or PCA for optimal pain management until the patient can be weaned to oral pain medication.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 224 patients will be accrued for this study.

Being tested
fentanyl citrate, hydromorphone hydrochloride, ropivacaine hydrochloride
Keywords
pain, perioperative/postoperative complications, stage III cervical cancer, recurrent cervical cancer, stage IB cervical cancer, stage IIB cervical cancer, stage IVB cervical cancer, stage IA cervical cancer, stage IIA cervical cancer, stage IVA cervical cancer, stage I endometrial carcinoma, stage II endometrial carcinoma, stage III endometrial carcinoma, stage IV endometrial carcinoma, recurrent endometrial carcinoma, stage I uterine sarcoma, stage II uterine sarcoma, stage III uterine sarcoma, stage IV uterine sarcoma, recurrent uterine sarcoma
Medical subject headings
Uterine Cervical Neoplasms, Endometrial Neoplasms, Fallopian Tube Neoplasms, Ovarian Neoplasms, Pain, Postoperative Complications, Sarcoma, Carcinoma, Ovarian Epithelial

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • fentanyl citrateDrug

  • hydromorphone hydrochlorideDrug

  • ropivacaine hydrochlorideDrug

Study groups in NCT00295945
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
PCAPatient-controlled intravenous analgesia
Receives: Drug: hydromorphone hydrochloride
PCEAPerioperative patient-controlled epidural analgesia
Receives: Drug: fentanyl citrate; Drug: ropivacaine hydrochloride

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Time to return to bowel function at discharge

    Measured: Days

Secondary outcomes (1)
  1. Pain score daily

    Measured: Days

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted24 Feb 2006 (estimated)
  2. Study startMar 2005
  3. Primary completionApr 2008
  4. Study completionDec 2009

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Observational
Observational model
Case-control
Time perspective
Prospective
Enrolment
240 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00295945
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000459963
Other IDs
UCSF-03423, UCSF-H10588-24197-02
Status last verified
May 2014
First submitted
23 Feb 2006
Last updated
20 May 2014
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

An observational study of Cervical Cancer and Endometrial Cancer, run by University of California, San Francisco at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 20 May 2014. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Time to return to bowel function at discharge (time frame: Days). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 20 May 2014.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in