AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerPhase 3NCT00245050

Pyridoxine in Preventing Hand-Foot Syndrome in Patients Who Are Receiving Liposomal Doxorubicin for Cancer

A Phase 3 study testing pyridoxine hydrochloride and doxorubicin HCL liposome in people with Breast Cancer and Drug/Agent Toxicity by Tissue/Organ, run by Case Comprehensive Cancer Center at 8 sites in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Pyridoxine (vitamin B6) may prevent or lessen hand-foot syndrome caused by chemotherapy. It is not yet known whether pyridoxine is more effective than a placebo in preventing hand-foot syndrome. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Any age, women only
What is being tested?
pyridoxine hydrochloride and doxorubicin HCL liposome
Could I receive a placebo?
Yes, some participants may receive a placebo
How many people
34 participants
Where
8 sitesUnited States
Study dates
Apr 2004to Sep 2011
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Any age
  • Women only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Diagnosis of 1 of the following:
  • Recurrent ovarian, fallopian tube, or peritoneal cavity cancer
  • Metastatic breast cancer
  • Advanced endometrial cancer
  • Planning to receive chemotherapy with doxorubicin HCl liposome at a dose of 40 mg/m^2
  • Hormone receptor status:
  • Not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Sex

  • Not specified

Menopausal status:

  • Not specified

Performance status

  • Karnofsky 60-100%

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Absolute neutrophil count ≥ 1,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count ≥ 100,000/mm^3
  • Hemoglobin ≥ 9.0 g/dL

Hepatic

  • AST and ALT ≤ 2 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • Alkaline phosphatase ≤ 2 times ULN
  • Bilirubin normal

Renal

  • Creatinine ≤ 2.0 mg/dL

Cardiovascular

  • Ejection fraction ≥ 50% by MUGA or 2-D echocardiogram
  • No history of cardiac disease
  • No New York Heart Association class II-IV heart disease
  • No clinical evidence of congestive heart failure

Other

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception during and for 3 months after completion of study treatment
  • No active infection requiring antibiotics
  • No history of hypersensitivity reaction attributed to a conventional formulation of doxorubicin HCl or doxorubicin HCl liposome and any of its components
  • No other invasive malignancy within the past 5 years except nonmelanoma or basal cell skin cancer

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • At least 3 weeks since prior biologic or immunologic agents for this cancer

Chemotherapy

  • Recovered from prior chemotherapy
  • Alopecia or neuropathy allowed
  • No prior doxorubicin HCl liposome
  • Other concurrent chemotherapy allowed provided palmar-plantar erythrodysesthesia is not one of the side effects of the therapy
  • No concurrent cytarabine, fluorouracil, liposomal daunorubicin, or capecitabine
  • No concurrent pre-medication with corticosteroids as part of the chemotherapy regimen

Endocrine therapy

  • See Chemotherapy
  • At least 3 weeks since prior and no concurrent oral or topical corticosteroids
  • At least 1 week since prior hormonal therapy for this cancer
  • Concurrent hormone replacement therapy allowed

Radiotherapy

  • At least 3 weeks since prior radiotherapy for this cancer and recovered

Surgery

  • Recovered from prior surgery

Other

  • At least 3 weeks since prior and no other concurrent forms of pyridoxine except what is included in a multivitamin
  • No prior anticancer treatment that contraindicates study treatment
  • No concurrent amifostine or other protective agents

Trial locations and contacts

8 sites in 1 country.

8 sites in 1 country

United States8 sites
  • Geauga Regional Hospital

    Cleveland, Ohio, 44024

  • Lake/University Ireland Cancer Center

    Cleveland, Ohio, 44060

  • Case Medical Center, University Hospitals Seidman Cancer Center, Case Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Cleveland, Ohio, 44106-5065

  • Southwest General Health Center

    Cleveland, Ohio, 44130

  • University Suburban Health Center

    Cleveland, Ohio, 44143

  • UHHS Westlake Medical Center

    Cleveland, Ohio, 44145

  • Mercy Cancer Center at Mercy Medical Center

    Cleveland, Ohio, 44708

  • UHHS Chagrin Highlands Medical Center

    Cleveland, Ohio, 44708

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Double-Blind Randomized Trial of Pyridoxine Versus Placebo for the Prevention of Doxil-Related Palmar-Plantar Erythrodysesthesia (Hand-Foot Syndrome)

RATIONALE: Pyridoxine (vitamin B6) may prevent or lessen hand-foot syndrome caused by chemotherapy. It is not yet known whether pyridoxine is more effective than a placebo in preventing hand-foot syndrome.

PURPOSE: This randomized clinical trial is studying pyridoxine to see how well it works compared to a placebo in preventing hand-foot syndrome in patients who are receiving liposomal doxorubicin for recurrent ovarian, fallopian tube, or peritoneal cancer, metastatic breast cancer, or advanced endometrial cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Compare the efficacy of pyridoxine vs placebo in preventing palmar-plantar erythrodysesthesia (PPE) in patients receiving doxorubicin HCl liposome for recurrent ovarian, fallopian tube, or peritoneal cavity cancer, metastatic breast cancer, or advanced endometrial cancer.
  • Compare quality of life in patients treated with these regimens.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, double-blind study. Patients are stratified according to cancer type (ovarian, fallopian tube, or peritoneal cavity cancer vs breast cancer vs endometrial cancer). Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.

  • Arm I: Patients receive doxorubicin HCl liposome IV 40mg/m2 over 1 hour on day 1 and oral pyridoxine 100 mg twice daily on days 1-28.
  • Arm II: Patients receive doxorubicin HCl liposome IV 40mg/m2 over 1 hour on day 1 and oral placebo 100 mg twice daily on days 1-28.

In both arms, treatment repeats every 4 weeks for up to 6 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

Patients who develop grade 2-3 palmar-plantar erythrodysesthesia despite dose reduction of doxorubicin HCl liposome are unblinded and removed from the study (for patients in arm I) OR receive oral pyridoxine twice daily beginning day 1 of the next planned therapy (for patients in arm II).

Quality of life is assessed at baseline and after every third course of therapy.

After completion of study treatment, patients are followed periodically for 6 months.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 60 patients will be accrued for this study.

Being tested
pyridoxine hydrochloride, Placebo, doxorubicin HCL liposome
Keywords
drug/agent toxicity by tissue/organ, fallopian tube cancer, peritoneal cavity cancer, recurrent ovarian epithelial cancer, recurrent endometrial carcinoma, stage III endometrial carcinoma, stage IV endometrial carcinoma, stage IV breast cancer, male breast cancer, recurrent breast cancer
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms, Drug-Related Side Effects and Adverse Reactions, Endometrial Neoplasms, Fallopian Tube Neoplasms, Ovarian Neoplasms, Carcinoma, Ovarian Epithelial, Breast Neoplasms, Male

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • pyridoxine hydrochlorideDietary supplement

    Arm I: Patients receive doxorubicin HCl liposome IV 40 mg/m2 over 1 hour on day 1 and oral pyridoxine twice 100 mg daily on days 1-28.

  • PlaceboDrug

    Arm II: Patients receive doxorubicin HCl liposome IV 40 mg/m2 over 1 hour on day 1 and oral placebo 100 mg twice daily on days 1-28.

  • doxorubicin HCL liposomeDrug

    IV, 40mg/m2

Study groups in NCT00245050
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
PyridoxineExperimentalArm I: Patients receive doxorubicin HCl liposome IV 40 mg/m2 over 1 hour on day 1 and oral pyridoxine 100 mg twice daily on days 1-28.
Receives: Dietary Supplement: pyridoxine hydrochloride; Drug: doxorubicin HCL liposome
PlaceboPlacebo comparatorArm II: Patients receive doxorubicin HCl liposome IV 40 mg/m2 over 1 hour on day 1 and oral placebo twice 100 mg daily on days 1-28.
Receives: Drug: Placebo; Drug: doxorubicin HCL liposome

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Number of Participants With Palmar-plantar Erythrodysesthesia (PPE)

    Patients were monitored weekly with phone calls from the research nurse and monthly at clinic visits for overall (including pyridoxine) and specific doxorubicin HCl liposome related toxicities using the National Cancer Institute's Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE), version 3.0.

    Measured: Treatment repeats every 4 weeks for up to 6 courses in the absence of unacceptable toxicity.

Secondary outcomes (1)
  1. Quality of Life (QOL) as Measured by Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy (FACT-G)

    QOL was measured with the FACT-G questionnaire following the third course of doxorubicin HCl liposome before the patient was seen by the treating physician and before chemotherapy was administered. The FACT-G, version 4, is a 27-item core questionnaire evaluating the domains of physical, functional, family-social, and emotional well-being (PWB, FWB, SWB, EWB). Total score ranges from 0-108 and higher scores indicate better QOL.

    Measured: After Cycle 3 of chemotherapy (on average at 3 months)

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted27 Oct 2005 (estimated)
  2. Study startApr 2004
  3. Primary completionApr 2008
  4. Study completionSep 2011

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Supportive care
Allocation
Randomised
Intervention model
Parallel groups
Masking
Double blind
Who is masked
Participant, Investigator
Enrolment
34 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00245050
Sponsor's protocol ID
CASE5Y03
Other IDs
P30CA043703, CASE5Y03
Status last verified
Dec 2011
First submitted
25 Oct 2005
Last updated
30 Dec 2011
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing pyridoxine hydrochloride and doxorubicin HCL liposome in people with Breast Cancer and Drug/Agent Toxicity by Tissue/Organ, run by Case Comprehensive Cancer Center at 8 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 30 Dec 2011. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 8 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. Some participants in this study may receive a placebo. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 22 Dec 2010). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Number of Participants With Palmar-plantar Erythrodysesthesia (PPE) (time frame: Treatment repeats every 4 weeks for up to 6 courses in the absence of unacceptable toxicity.). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 30 Dec 2011.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in