AzTrials
AzTrials

LymphomaPhase 2NCT00238433

Busulfan, Melphalan, and Thiotepa in Treating Patients Who Are Undergoing an Autologous Stem Cell Transplant for Hodgkin's or Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma

A Phase 2 study testing filgrastim, busulfan and melphalan in people with Lymphoma, run by OHSU Knight Cancer Institute at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Chemotherapy, such as busulfan, melphalan, and thiotepa, may destroy cancerous blood-forming cells (stem cells) in the blood and bone marrow. Giving the patient their healthy stem cells will help their bone marrow make new stem cells that become red blood cells, white blood cells, and platelets. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages Up to 70 years
Conditions the study is for
Lymphoma
What is being tested?
filgrastim, busulfan and melphalan
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
37 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Mar 2005to Dec 2016
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Up to 70 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Diagnosis of 1 of the following:
  • Intermediate- or high-grade non-Hodgkin's lymphoma (NHL), meeting 1 of the following criteria:
  • In first complete remission (CR) AND at high-risk for relapse, as defined by all of the following criteria:
  • High age-adjusted International Prognostic Index category AND meets the following criteria at diagnosis:
  • Stage III or IV disease
  • Lactic dehydrogenase abnormal
  • Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) score 0-2
  • Mantle cell histology
  • Primary refractory disease
  • Beyond first CR
  • Low-grade NHL
  • Beyond second relapse
  • Hodgkin's lymphoma
  • Primary refractory disease OR beyond first CR
  • Must have an adequate number of stored autologous peripheral blood stem cells (PBSCs) (i.e., 2.0 x 10^6 hematopoietic progenitor cell antigen (CD34)-positive cells/kg)
  • Patients who are not able to mobilize a sufficient number of PBSCs may use bone marrow instead
  • No active CNS disease NOTE: A new classification scheme for adult non-Hodgkin's lymphoma has been adopted by PDQ. The terminology of "indolent" or "aggressive" lymphoma will replace the former terminology of "low", "intermediate", or "high" grade lymphoma. However, this protocol uses the former terminology.

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 0 to 70

Performance status

  • ECOG 0-2

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Not specified

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin < 2 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • Aspartate aminotransferase (AST) and alanine aminotransferase (ALT) < 3 times ULN

Renal

  • Creatinine ≤ 2.0 mg/dL
  • Creatinine clearance ≥ 50 mL/min

Pulmonary

  • No significant pulmonary dysfunction, defined as Diffusing Capacity the Lung for Carbon monoxide (DLCO) < 60% of predicted

Other

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception for ≥ 2 months before and during study participation
  • HIV negative
  • No significant active infection that would preclude PBSC transplantation

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • No prior transplantation
  • No other concurrent blood products during PBSC transplantation

Chemotherapy

  • Not specified

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • More than 60 days since prior local or regional radiotherapy

Surgery

  • Not specified

Other

  • More than 30 days since prior investigational drugs
  • No concurrent amphotericin

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Knight Cancer Institute at Oregon Health and Science University

    Portland, Oregon, 97239-3098

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Phase II Study to Evaluate the Safety and Efficacy of IV Busulfan, Melphalan, and Thiotepa (BuMelTT) Followed By Autologous PBSC Infusion for Patients With Hodgkin's Disease and Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma

RATIONALE: Chemotherapy, such as busulfan, melphalan, and thiotepa, may destroy cancerous blood-forming cells (stem cells) in the blood and bone marrow. Giving the patient their healthy stem cells will help their bone marrow make new stem cells that become red blood cells, white blood cells, and platelets.

PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well busulfan, melphalan, and thiotepa work in treating patients who are undergoing an autologous stem cell transplant for Hodgkin's or non-Hodgkin's lymphoma.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the therapeutic efficacy of a myeloablative preparative regimen comprising busulfan, melphalan, and thiotepa followed by autologous peripheral blood stem cell (PBSC) transplantation in patients with Hodgkin's or non-Hodgkin's lymphoma.
  • Determine the toxic effects of this preparative regimen in these patients.

OUTLINE:

  • Myeloablative preparative regimen: Patients receive busulfan IV over 3 hours on days -8 to -6, melphalan IV over 15-30 minutes on days -5 and -4, and thiotepa IV over 2 hours on days -3 and -2.
  • Peripheral blood stem cell (PBSC) transplantation: Patients undergo PBSC transplantation on day 0 followed by filgrastim (G-CSF) IV over 30 minutes beginning on day 5 and continuing until blood counts recover.
  • Intrathecal chemotherapy: Patients with a history of treated Central Nervous System (CNS) disease or at high-risk for CNS relapse receive methotrexate and cytarabine intrathecally (IT) for 2 doses each within 10 days prior to transplantation and 4-6 doses each beginning on day 32 post-transplantation.
  • Consolidation therapy: Patients with residual bulk disease at 80-100 days post-transplantation that is > 2.5 cm by CT scan may undergo local radiotherapy to residual scar/disease provided it can be encompassed in a single radiation port and the volume of lung to be irradiated is ≤ 20%.

After completion of study treatment, patients are followed weekly for 1 month, monthly for 6 months, every 3 months for 6 months, every 6 months for 1 year, and then annually thereafter.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 30 patients will be accrued for this study.

Conditions
Lymphoma
Being tested
filgrastim, busulfan, melphalan, thiotepa, bone marrow ablation with stem cell support
Keywords
recurrent adult Hodgkin lymphoma, recurrent adult diffuse small cleaved cell lymphoma, stage III adult diffuse small cleaved cell lymphoma, stage IV adult diffuse small cleaved cell lymphoma, recurrent grade 3 follicular lymphoma, stage III grade 3 follicular lymphoma, stage IV grade 3 follicular lymphoma, recurrent adult diffuse mixed cell lymphoma, stage III adult diffuse mixed cell lymphoma, stage IV adult diffuse mixed cell lymphoma, recurrent adult diffuse large cell lymphoma, stage III adult diffuse large cell lymphoma, stage IV adult diffuse large cell lymphoma, recurrent adult immunoblastic large cell lymphoma, stage III adult immunoblastic large cell lymphoma, stage IV adult immunoblastic large cell lymphoma, recurrent adult lymphoblastic lymphoma, stage III adult lymphoblastic lymphoma, stage IV adult lymphoblastic lymphoma, recurrent adult Burkitt lymphoma
Medical subject headings
Lymphoma, Hodgkin Disease, Lymphoma, Non-Hodgkin, Lymphoma, Follicular, Lymphoma, Large B-Cell, Diffuse, Lymphoma, Large-Cell, Immunoblastic, Precursor Cell Lymphoblastic Leukemia-Lymphoma, Burkitt Lymphoma

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • filgrastimBiological

    5mcg/kg IVPB will be administered beginning on day +5 and continued until ANC> 1500 for 2 consecutive days.

  • busulfanDrug

    3.2mg/kg/day for 3 days starting on day -8. Each dose of intravenous busulfan will be mixed in a concentration of 0.54 mg/ml of 0.9% saline and infused over 3 hours.

  • melphalanDrug

    50mg/m2/day/iv, infused over 30 minutes on days -5 and -4. The reconstituted melphalan is diluted in 250cc normal saline to a concentration not greater than 0.4 mg/ml.

  • thiotepaDrug

    250 mg/m2/day/iv on days -3 and -2

  • bone marrow ablation with stem cell supportProcedure or surgery

    The transplant therapy should begin within 2 weeks of registration, but no sooner then 30 days after the last dose of chemotherapy.

  • peripheral blood stem cell transplantationProcedure or surgery

    Performed 36-48 hours following last chemotherapy dose.

Study groups in NCT00238433
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Filgrastim/Melphalan/ThiotepaExperimentalBiological/Vaccine: filgrastim 5mcg/kg intravenous piggyback (IVPB) will be administered beginning on day +5 and continued until absolute neutrophil count (ANC) > 1500 for 2 consecutive days. Drug: busulfan 3.2mg/kg/day for 3 days starting on day -8. Each dose of intravenous busulfan will be mixed in a concentration of 0.54 mg/ml of 0.9% saline and infused over 3 hours. Drug: melphalan 50mg/m2/day/iv, infused over 30 minutes on days -5 and -4. The reconstituted melphalan is diluted in 250cc normal saline to a concentration not greater than 0.4 mg/ml. Drug: thiotepa 250 mg/m2/day/iv on days -3 and -2 Procedure/Surgery: bone marrow ablation with stem cell support The transplant therapy should begin within 2 weeks of registration, but no sooner then 30 days after the last dose of chemotherapy. Procedure/Surgery: peripheral blood stem cell transplantation Performed 36-48 hours following last chemotherapy dose.
Receives: Biological: filgrastim; Drug: busulfan; Drug: melphalan; Drug: thiotepa; Procedure: bone marrow ablation with stem cell support; Procedure: peripheral blood stem cell transplantation

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Disease-Free Survival

    The data presented below represents the total number of subjects (out of 36) that reached disease-free survival status during Months 3, 6, 9, 12, 18, and 24 time points.

    Measured: 3, 6, 9, 12, 18, and 24 months post transplantation

  2. Therapy-Related Toxicities

    The table presented below reflects how many participants (out of 36 total) presented an adverse event related to the treatment regimen within each toxicity category. To review specific adverse events, both related and unrelated to study treatment, please refer to Adverse Events Section.

    Measured: Through 24 months post transplantation

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted13 Oct 2005 (estimated)
  2. Study startMar 2005
  3. Primary completionAug 2015
  4. Study completionDec 2016

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
37 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00238433
Sponsor's protocol ID
IRB00000248
Other IDs
P30CA069533, OHSU-HEM-04083-L, OHSU-IRB-248
Status last verified
Sep 2017
First submitted
12 Oct 2005
Last updated
27 Sep 2017

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing filgrastim, busulfan and melphalan in people with Lymphoma, run by OHSU Knight Cancer Institute at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 27 Sep 2017. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 11 May 2017). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Disease-Free Survival (time frame: 3, 6, 9, 12, 18, and 24 months post transplantation). The study lists 2 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 27 Sep 2017.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in