AzTrials
AzTrials

Lung CancerPhase 2NCT00217698

Gefitinib as First-Line Therapy Followed by Gemcitabine and Cisplatin in Treating Patients With Stage III or Stage IV Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer

A Phase 2 study testing cisplatin, gefitinib and gemcitabine hydrochloride in people with Lung Cancer, run by Swiss Cancer Institute at 14 sites in Switzerland.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Gefitinib may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking some of the enzymes needed for cell growth. Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as gemcitabine and cisplatin, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Lung Cancer
What is being tested?
cisplatin, gefitinib and gemcitabine hydrochloride
How many people
63 participants
Where
14 sitesSwitzerland
Study dates
Nov 2003to Oct 2004
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically* or cytologically* confirmed non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC), including any of the following cellular subtypes:
  • Squamous cell carcinoma
  • Adenocarcinoma
  • Large cell carcinoma
  • Poorly differentiated NSCLC NOTE: *New biopsies or cytologic specimens required for primary resection specimens older than 2 years
  • De novo or recurrent disease, meeting 1 of the following stage criteria:
  • Stage IIIB disease
  • Malignant pleural effusion OR supraclavicular node involvement (N3)
  • Not suitable for curative multimodal treatment or surgery
  • Stage IV disease
  • Measurable disease, defined as ≥ 1 unidimensionally measurable lesion ≥ 20 mm by conventional techniques OR ≥ 10 mm by spiral CT scan or MRI
  • Measurable lesion must be outside previously irradiated areas
  • Immediate chemotherapy is not clinically mandatory
  • No small cell lung cancer (SCLC) or SCLC combined with NSCLC
  • No symptomatic and/or untreated brain metastases

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and over

Performance status

  • WHO 0-1

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Absolute neutrophil count ≥ 1,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count ≥ 100,000/mm^3
  • Hemoglobin ≥ 10.0 g/dL

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin normal
  • AST or ALT ≤ 2.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • Alkaline phosphatase ≤ 2.5 times ULN (5 times ULN in the presence of bone metastases)
  • No unstable or uncompensated hepatic disease

Renal

  • Creatinine clearance > 60 mL/min
  • No unstable or uncompensated renal disease

Cardiovascular

  • No unstable or uncompensated cardiac disease
  • No myocardial infarction within the past 3 months

Pulmonary

  • No clinically active interstitial lung disease
  • Asymptomatic patients with chronic stable radiographic changes allowed
  • No unstable or uncompensated respiratory disease

Other

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception during and for 12 months after completion of study treatment
  • Able to swallow and retain oral medication
  • No active infection
  • No uncontrolled diabetes mellitus
  • No history of allergic reactions or hypersensitivity attributed to compounds of similar chemical or biological composition to study drugs
  • No other severe or uncontrolled systemic disease
  • No other serious underlying medical condition that would preclude study participation
  • No psychiatric disability that would preclude study compliance or giving informed consent
  • No other malignancy within the past 5 years except adequately treated nonmelanoma skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • Prior intrapleural or intrapericardial local chemotherapy allowed
  • No prior chemotherapy for advanced disease
  • More than 6 months since prior neoadjuvant or adjuvant systemic chemotherapy for NSCLC

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • Concurrent palliative radiotherapy allowed (except to brain metastases)

Surgery

  • Not specified

Other

  • No prior epidermal growth factor receptor-targeted therapy for NSCLC
  • No concurrent use of any of the following CYP3A4 inducers:
  • Phenytoin
  • Carbamazepine
  • Rifampin
  • Barbiturates
  • Hypericum perforatum (St. John's wort)
  • More than 30 days since prior participation in another clinical trial
  • No other concurrent investigational agent

Trial locations and contacts

14 sites in 1 country.

14 sites in 1 country

Switzerland14 sites
  • Saint Claraspital AG

    Basel, CH-4016

  • Universitaetsspital-Basel

    Basel, CH-4031

  • Inselspital Bern

    Bern, CH-3010

  • Kantonsspital Bruderholz

    Bruderholz, CH-4101

  • Spitaeler Chur AG

    Chur, CH-7000

  • Hopital Cantonal Universitaire de Geneve

    Geneva, CH-1211

  • Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Vaudois

    Lausanne, CH-1011

  • Kantonsspital

    Liestal, CH-4410

  • Kantonsspital - St. Gallen

    Sankt Gallen, CH-9007

  • Regionalspital

    Thun, 3600

  • Kantonsspital Winterthur

    Winterthur, CH-8400

  • City Hospital Triemli

    Zurich, 8063

  • Klinik Hirslanden

    Zurich, CH-8008

  • UniversitaetsSpital Zuerich

    Zurich, CH-8091

Other trials in Switzerland

About this study

Official title: Multicenter Phase II Trial of Gefitinib (Iressa™) First Line Therapy Followed by Chemotherapy in Advanced Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer (NSCLC)

RATIONALE: Gefitinib may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking some of the enzymes needed for cell growth. Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as gemcitabine and cisplatin, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving more than one drug (combination chemotherapy) may kill more tumor cells. Giving gefitinib as first-line therapy followed by gemcitabine and cisplatin after disease progression may be an effective treatment for non-small cell lung cancer.

PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well gefitinib works as first-line therapy followed by gemcitabine and cisplatin in treating patients with stage III or stage IV non-small cell lung cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Determine the efficacy of gefitinib as first-line therapy, in terms of response rate (complete and partial response) or stability of disease, in patients with de novo or recurrent stage IIIB or IV non-small cell lung cancer.

Secondary

  • Determine the safety of this drug in these patients.
  • Determine the efficacy of gemcitabine combined with cisplatin when administered after first-line gefitinib in these patients.
  • Determine quality of life of patients treated with this regimen.

OUTLINE: This is an open-label, multicenter study.

Patients receive oral gefitinib once daily until disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Within 3 weeks after documented disease progression, patients receive gemcitabine IV over 30 minutes on days 1 and 8 followed by cisplatin IV over 1 hour on day 1. Treatment repeats every 21 days for 6 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

Quality of life is assessed at baseline, weeks 3, 6, 12, 18, and then every 12 weeks thereafter during gefitinib treatment. During chemotherapy, quality of life is assessed 1 week prior to starting chemotherapy treatment, day 1 of courses 3 and 5, and then every 12 weeks until disease progression.

After completion of study therapy, patients are followed every 3 months.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: 'A total of 24-63 patients will be accrued for this study.

Conditions
Lung Cancer
Keywords
recurrent non-small cell lung cancer, stage IIIB non-small cell lung cancer, stage IV non-small cell lung cancer, adenocarcinoma of the lung, large cell lung cancer, squamous cell lung cancer
Medical subject headings
Lung Neoplasms, Carcinoma, Non-Small-Cell Lung, Adenocarcinoma of Lung

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Disease stabilization (complete response [CR], partial response [PR], or stable disease [SD]) after 12 weeks of study treatment

Secondary outcomes (5)
  1. Disease stabilization (CR, PR, or SD) after 6 and 18 weeks of study treatment

  2. Objective response (CR and PR) to gefitinib treatment after weeks 6, 12, and 18

  3. Adverse reactions to gefitinib treatment measured after completion of study treatment

  4. Time to progression (TTP) with gefitinib treatment after completion of study treatment

  5. Event-free survival (EFS) with gefitinib treatment after completion of study treatment

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted22 Sep 2005 (estimated)
  2. Study startNov 2003
  3. Primary completionOct 2004
  4. Study completionOct 2004

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
63 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00217698
Sponsor's protocol ID
SAKK 19/03
Other IDs
EU-20519, ZENECA-AZ1839IL/0542
Status last verified
Jun 2012
First submitted
20 Sep 2005
Last updated
5 Jun 2012
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Publications

  • D'Addario G, Rauch D, Stupp R, Pless M, Stahel R, Mach N, Jost L, Widmer L, Tapia C, Bihl M, Mayer M, Ribi K, Lerch S, Bubendorf L, Betticher DC. Multicenter phase II trial of gefitinib first-line therapy followed by chemotherapy in advanced non-small-cell lung cancer (NSCLC): SAKK protocol 19/03. Ann Oncol. 2008 Apr;19(4):739-45. doi: 10.1093/annonc/mdm564. Epub 2007 Dec 19.

    PubMed 18096565

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing cisplatin, gefitinib and gemcitabine hydrochloride in people with Lung Cancer, run by Swiss Cancer Institute at 14 sites in Switzerland.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 5 Jun 2012. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 14 sites in Switzerland. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Disease stabilization (complete response [CR], partial response [PR], or stable disease [SD]) after 12 weeks of study treatment. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00217698, which also lists 1 linked publication.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 5 Jun 2012.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in