AzTrials
AzTrials

Ovarian CancerPhase 2NCT00217568

Docetaxel and Carboplatin in Treating Patients With Relapsed Stage III or Stage IV Ovarian Epithelial or Primary Peritoneal Cavity Cancer

A Phase 2 study testing pegfilgrastim, carboplatin and docetaxel in people with Ovarian Cancer and Peritoneal Cavity Cancer, run by Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center at 3 sites in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as docetaxel and carboplatin, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving more than one drug (combination chemotherapy) may kill more tumor cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older, women only
Conditions the study is for
Ovarian Cancer, Peritoneal Cavity Cancer
What is being tested?
pegfilgrastim, carboplatin and docetaxel
How many people
Not given
Where
3 sitesUnited States
Study dates
May 2005to Mar 2006
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • Women only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed ovarian epithelial or primary peritoneal cavity cancer
  • Stage III or IV disease
  • No borderline tumors
  • Measurable or evaluable disease
  • Measurable disease, defined as evidence of disease by physical examination or radiographic evaluation
  • Evaluable disease, defined as CA 125 ≥ 100 U/mL (confirmed by 2 blood tests performed ≥ 1 week apart)
  • In first relapse
  • Platinum-sensitive disease, defined as initial relapse > 6 months after completion of a platinum-based regimen

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and over

Performance status

  • Karnofsky 60-100%

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Platelet count ≥ 100,000/mm^3
  • Absolute neutrophil count ≥ 1,500/mm^3

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin normal
  • Meets 1 of the following criteria:
  • SGOT and/or SGPT ≤ 1.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN) AND alkaline phosphatase (AP) ≤ 2.5 times ULN
  • SGOT and/or SGPT ≤ 5.0 times ULN AND AP normal

Renal

  • Creatinine ≤ 2.0 mg/dL
  • Creatinine clearance > 50 mL/min

Cardiovascular

  • LVEF ≥ 50%
  • No poorly controlled arrhythmia
  • No unstable coronary artery disease or myocardial infarction within the past year

Other

  • HIV negative
  • No pre-existing peripheral neuropathy > grade 2
  • No history of allergy to study drugs

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • At least 3 weeks since prior chemotherapy and recovered

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • At least 3 weeks since prior radiotherapy and recovered

Surgery

  • Recovered from recent prior surgery

Other

  • No concurrent myelosuppressive therapy

Trial locations and contacts

3 sites in 1 country.

United States3 sites
  • Pacific Gynecology Specialists

    Seattle, Washington, 98104

  • Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

    Seattle, Washington, 98109-1024

  • University of Washington School of Medicine

    Seattle, Washington, 98195

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Phase II Trial of Docetaxel and Carboplatin for First Relapsed Platinum-Sensitive Stage III and IV Advanced Ovarian Cancer or Peritoneal Carcinoma

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as docetaxel and carboplatin, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving more than one drug (combination chemotherapy) may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well giving docetaxel together with carboplatin works in treating patients with relapsed stage III or stage IV ovarian epithelial or primary peritoneal cavity cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the toxicity of docetaxel and carboplatin in patients with platinum-sensitive stage III or IV ovarian epithelial or primary peritoneal cavity cancer in first relapse.
  • Determine the response rates (complete and partial response) in patients treated with this regimen.
  • Determine relapse rates and event-free survival and overall survival rates in patients treated with this regimen.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study.

Patients receive docetaxel IV over 1 hour and carboplatin IV over 30 minutes on day 1. Patients also receive pegfilgrastim subcutaneously on day 2 . Treatment repeats every 21 days for up to 6 courses.

After completion of study treatment, patients are followed at 3 weeks, every 3 months for 2 years, and then every 6 months thereafter.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 40 patients will be accrued for this study within 4-5 years.

Keywords
recurrent ovarian epithelial cancer, stage III ovarian epithelial cancer, stage IV ovarian epithelial cancer, peritoneal cavity cancer
Medical subject headings
Ovarian Neoplasms, Carcinoma, Ovarian Epithelial

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Toxicity

  2. Response rates (complete and partial response)

  3. Relapse rates

  4. Event-free survival

  5. Overall survival

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted22 Sep 2005 (estimated)
  2. Study startMay 2005
  3. Primary completionMar 2006

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Masking
None (open label)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00217568
Sponsor's protocol ID
PSOC 1702
Other IDs
PSOC-1702, AVENTIS-PSOC-1702, PSOC-IRB-4861, CDR0000441307
Status last verified
Sep 2010
First submitted
20 Sep 2005
Last updated
21 Sep 2010
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing pegfilgrastim, carboplatin and docetaxel in people with Ovarian Cancer and Peritoneal Cavity Cancer, run by Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center at 3 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 21 Sep 2010. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 3 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Toxicity. The study lists 5 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 21 Sep 2010.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in