AzTrials
AzTrials

Atopic DermatitisPhase 4NCT00124709

Safety and Efficacy of Pimecrolimus Cream 1% in Atopic Disease Modification

A Phase 4 study testing Pimecrolimus and Corticosteroid in people with Atopic Dermatitis, run by Novartis Pharmaceuticals at 36 sites in United States.

Terminated

Stopped early. The study ended before it was planned to and will not resume.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

This study consists of a 3-year double-blind phase during which patients will receive atopic dermatitis (AD) treatment either with pimecrolimus cream 1% long-term management (LTM) or with a conventional corticosteroid-based treatment (1:1 ratio), followed by a 2 to 3-year open-label (OL) phase (all patients receiving… Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 3 to 18 months
Conditions the study is for
Atopic Dermatitis
What is being tested?
Pimecrolimus and Corticosteroid
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
1,091 participants
Where
36 sitesUnited States
Study dates
Oct 2003to Nov 2008
Phase
Phase 4
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 3 to 18 months
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child

Who may be able to join

  • Diagnosis of atopic dermatitis
  • Family history of atopy
  • 3 to 18 months of age at baseline
  • At least mild atopic dermatitis at baseline (investigator global assessment [IGA] greater or equal to 2)
  • Clinical evidence of atopic dermatitis for no longer than 3 months

Who cannot join

  • Diagnosis of or substantial clinical evidence for food or other allergies at baseline
  • Other protocol related criteria may apply

Trial locations and contacts

36 sites in 1 country.

36 sites in 1 country

United States36 sites
  • Dermatology, PLLC

    Ann Arbor, Michigan, 48103

  • Johns Hopkins Hospital

    Baltimore, Maryland, 21287

  • Alabama Allergy and Asthma Center

    Birmingham, Alabama, 35209

  • Children's Hospital - Boston

    Boston, Massachusetts, 02115

  • Children's Memorial Hospital

    Chicago, Illinois, 60614

  • Dermatology Associates and Research

    Coral Gables, Florida, 33134

  • National Jewish Medical and Research Center

    Denver, Colorado, 80206

  • Northwest Arkansas Pediatric Clinic, P.A.

    Fayetteville, Arkansas, 72703

  • Calcagno Research and Development

    Gresham, Oregon, 97030

  • Children's Medical Group

    Hopewell Junction, New York, 12533

  • Texas Children's Hospital, BCM

    Houston, Texas, 77030

  • Indiana University Outpatient Clinical Research

    Indianapolis, Indiana, 46202

  • The Children's Clinic of Jonesboro

    Jonesboro, Arkansas, 72401

  • Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center/Dermatology Section

    Lebanon, New Hampshire, 03756

  • Central Kentucky Research Associates

    Lexington, Kentucky, 40509

  • Dermatology Specialists

    Louisville, Kentucky, 40202

  • Rx R & D

    Metarie, Louisiana, 70002

  • Southern California Research

    Mission Viejo, California, 92691

  • Tennessee Clinical Research Center

    Nashville, Tennessee, 37215

  • Dermatology Associates of St. Luke's - Roosevelt

    New York, New York, 10025

  • Virginia Clinical Research

    Norfolk, Virginia, 23507

  • Skin Specialists, P.C.

    Omaha, Nebraska, 68144

  • Children's Hospital of Orange County

    Orange, California, 92868

  • Emerald Coast Clinical Research

    Pensacola, Florida, 32503

  • The Childrens' Hospital of Philadelphia

    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19104

  • Allegheny General Hospital

    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, 15212

  • Oregon Health Science University - Dermatology Dept.

    Portland, Oregon, 97201

  • Stanford Dermatology Clinic and Clinical Trials Dept

    Redwood City, California, 94063

  • Mayo Clinic Rochester

    Rochester, Minnesota, 55905

  • Capital Allergy Respiratory Disease Center

    Sacramento, California, 95819

  • Alpine Medical Group, LLC

    Salt Lake City, Utah, 84102

  • Children's Hospital San Diego

    San Diego, California, 92123

  • Asthma Inc

    Seattle, Washington, 98105

  • Central Dermatology

    St Louis, Missouri, 63117

  • Allergy and Asthma Medical Group of Diablo Valley, Inc./ Clinical Research Division

    Walnut Creek, California, 94598

  • Granger Medical Clinic

    West Valley City, Utah, 84120

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: An Investigation of the Safety and Efficacy of Elidel® 1% Cream in Atopic Disease Modification, Assessed in a 3-year Randomized Double-blind Vehicle Controlled Phase to Evaluate Effects on Atopic Dermatitis in Infants, and a 2-3 Year Open-label Phase to Evaluate the Effect of Early Intervention Versus Delayed Intervention With Elidel® on the Incidence of Asthma in Children

This study consists of a 3-year double-blind phase during which patients will receive atopic dermatitis (AD) treatment either with pimecrolimus cream 1% long-term management (LTM) or with a conventional corticosteroid-based treatment (1:1 ratio), followed by a 2 to 3-year open-label (OL) phase (all patients receiving pimecrolimus cream 1% LTM). At the end of the double-blind phase, the two treatment groups will be compared with respect to their efficacy in controlling AD; at the end of the OL phase, the incidence of asthma at the age of 6 years will be compared.

Being tested
Pimecrolimus, Corticosteroid
Keywords
Atopic, dermatitis, asthma, children, modification, Atopic dermatitis/atopy
Medical subject headings
Dermatitis, Atopic, Dermatitis, Asthma

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • PimecrolimusDrug

    Also called Elidel

    Pimecrolimus cream 1 %

  • CorticosteroidDrug

    conventional corticosteroid-based treatment

Study groups in NCT00124709
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
1ExperimentalPimecrolimus
Receives: Drug: Pimecrolimus
2Active comparatorCorticosteroid
Receives: Drug: Corticosteroid

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Atopic Dermatitis (AD) Disease Control Over 36 Months

    Proportion of disease-free days in Step 2 or less (per Patient) using total number of days in study as the denominator- double-blind phase. Intent to Treat Population: defined as all randomized patients who were dispensed study medication and had at least one post baseline efficacy measurement.

    Measured: 36 months

  2. Effect of Early Use of Pimecrolimus Cream 1% in Reducing the Incidence of Asthma at 6 Years of Age

    Note: The results for this efficacy variable are not reported due to early termination of the study.

    Measured: 6 years

Secondary outcomes (5)
  1. Long Term Safety in Infants and Young Children

    Note: The results of this secondary outcome is not reported due to early termination of the study.

    Measured: 6 years

  2. Incidence of Allergic Rhinitis, Allergic Conjunctivitis and Food Allergies

    Percentage of Patients who had allergic rhinitis, allergic conjunctivitis and food allergies at the end of the 36 month double blind study.

    Note: The results at six years are not reported due to early termination of the study.

    Measured: 6 years (36 month Double-Blind Phase)

  3. Corticosteroid and Pimecrolimus Drug Use

    Corticosteroid and pimecrolimus study medication days of exposure during the 36 month double-blind phase.

    Note: Although the double-blind phase was designed to be 36 months (3 years) in length, the last double-blind visit for some patients occurred after 36 months.

    Measured: 48 months

  4. Atopic Dermatitis (AD) Remission Time

    Longest duration of atopic dermatitis (AD) remission during the 36 month double-blind treatment phase. A remission day was defined as a diary day with a positive response ("yes") to the question "No or almost no eczema?" and a response of no treatment except emollients to the question "Medication used".

    Measured: 36 month Double-Blind Phase

  5. Patient/Caregiver Quality of Life

    Change from Baseline in the total Parents' Index of Quality of Life-Atopic Dermatitis (PIQoL-AD) score in the double-blind phase. PIQoL-AD Score = (sum of valid items/number of valid items) * 28. Scores range from a minimum value of 0 to a maximum value of 28 with a high total overall score indicating poor quality of life.

    Measured: From Baseline to Visit 5 , 6, 8, 10, 12, and 14

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted28 Jul 2005 (estimated)
  2. Study startOct 2003
  3. Primary completionJan 2008
  4. Study completionNov 2008

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 4
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Intervention model
Parallel groups
Masking
Double blind
Who is masked
Participant, Investigator
Enrolment
1,091 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00124709
Sponsor's protocol ID
CASM981CUS09
Status last verified
Feb 2011
First submitted
26 Jul 2005
Last updated
23 Mar 2011

Publications

  • Spergel JM, Boguniewicz M, Schneider L, Hanifin JM, Paller AS, Eichenfield LF. Food Allergy in Infants With Atopic Dermatitis: Limitations of Food-Specific IgE Measurements. Pediatrics. 2015 Dec;136(6):e1530-8. doi: 10.1542/peds.2015-1444.

    PubMed 26598458

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 4 study testing Pimecrolimus and Corticosteroid in people with Atopic Dermatitis, run by Novartis Pharmaceuticals at 36 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

The sponsor lists 5 inclusion and 2 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: stopped early, as of the sponsor's last update on 23 Mar 2011. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 36 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 4 studies take place after a treatment is approved, to learn more about its long-term benefits and risks in everyday use.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 23 Mar 2011). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Atopic Dermatitis (AD) Disease Control Over 36 Months (time frame: 36 months). The study lists 2 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00124709, which also lists 1 linked publication.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 23 Mar 2011.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in