AzTrials
AzTrials

LeukemiaPhase 3NCT00121303

Cytarabine and Daunorubicin With or Without Gemtuzumab Ozogamicin in Treating Older Patients With Acute Myeloid Leukemia or Myelodysplastic Syndromes

A Phase 3 study testing cytarabine, daunorubicin hydrochloride and gemtuzumab ozogamicin in people with Leukemia and Myelodysplastic Syndromes, run by Stichting Hemato-Oncologie voor Volwassenen Nederland at 6 sites in United Kingdom.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as cytarabine and daunorubicin, work in different ways to stop the growth of cancer cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Monoclonal antibodies, such as gemtuzumab ozogamicin, can block cancer growth in different ways. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 61 to 120 years
Conditions the study is for
Leukemia, Myelodysplastic Syndromes
What is being tested?
cytarabine, daunorubicin hydrochloride and gemtuzumab ozogamicin
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
600 participants
Where
6 sitesUnited Kingdom
Study dates
Jan 2005to Jun 2016
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 61 to 120 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically or cytologically confirmed diagnosis of 1 of the following:
  • Acute myeloid leukemia (AML)
  • M0-M2 or M4-M7 FAB subtype
  • No AML with cytogenetic abnormality t(15;17) (M3)
  • Patients with secondary AML progressing from prior myelodysplasia* or biphenotypic leukemia are eligible
  • Refractory anemia with excess blasts (RAEB) or RAEB in transformation
  • International Prognostic Scoring System score ≥ 1.5 NOTE: *Any prior hematological disease of ≥ 4 months duration
  • No chronic myelogenous leukemia in blastic crisis
  • No prior polycythemia rubra vera
  • No primary myelofibrosis

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 61 and over

Performance status

  • WHO 0-2

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Not specified

Hepatic

  • ALT and/or AST ≤ 2.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN)*
  • Bilirubin ≤ 2 times ULN* NOTE: *Unless elevation is caused by organ infiltration by AML

Renal

  • Creatinine ≤ 2 times ULN* NOTE: *Unless elevation is caused by organ infiltration by AML

Cardiovascular

  • No myocardial infarction within the past 6 months
  • LVEF > 50% by MUGA, echocardiogram, or other methods
  • No unstable angina
  • No unstable cardiac arrhythmia
  • No severe and/or uncontrolled hypertension

Other

  • No uncontrolled diabetes
  • No severe and/or uncontrolled infection
  • No other severe and/or uncontrolled medical condition

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • More than 6 months since prior chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • Not specified

Surgery

  • Not specified

Other

  • No prior induction therapy for AML or myelodysplastic syndromes

Trial locations and contacts

6 sites in 1 country.

6 sites in 1 country

United Kingdom6 sites
  • North Hampshire Hospital

    Basingstoke, England, RG24 9NA

  • Kent and Canterbury Hospital

    Canterbury, England, CT2 7NR

  • University Hospital of Wales

    Cardiff, Wales, CF14 4XW

  • Medway Maritime Hospital

    Gillingham Kent, England, ME7 5NY

  • Maidstone Hospital

    Maidstone, England, ME16 9QQ

  • Royal Cornwall Hospital

    Truro, Cornwall, England, TR1 3LJ

Other trials in United Kingdom

About this study

Official title: Randomised Induction and Post Induction Therapy in Older Patients (≥61 Years of Age) With Acute Myeloid Leukemia (AML) and Refractory Anemia With Excess Blasts (RAEB, RAEB-t)

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as cytarabine and daunorubicin, work in different ways to stop the growth of cancer cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Monoclonal antibodies, such as gemtuzumab ozogamicin, can block cancer growth in different ways. Some block the ability of cancer cells to grow and spread. Others find cancer cells and help kill them or carry cancer-killing substances to them. It is not yet known whether cytarabine and daunorubicin followed by gemtuzumab ozogamicin is more effective than cytarabine and daunorubicin in treating acute myeloid leukemia or myelodysplastic syndromes.

PURPOSE: This randomized phase III trial is studying cytarabine and two different doses of daunorubicin to see how well they work compared to cytarabine and daunorubicin followed by gemtuzumab ozogamicin in treating older patients with acute myeloid leukemia or myelodysplastic syndromes.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Compare the event-free and disease-free survival of older patients with acute myeloid leukemia, refractory anemia with excess blasts (RAEB), or RAEB in transformation treated with induction therapy comprising cytarabine in combination with two different doses of daunorubicin followed by cytarabine alone with or without post-induction therapy comprising gemtuzumab ozogamicin.

Secondary

  • Compare the complete remission rate in patients treated with these regimens.
  • Compare the overall survival of patients treated with these regimens.
  • Compare the toxicity of these regimens in these patients.
  • Determine the probability of relapse and death during first complete remission in patients treated with post-induction gemtuzumab ozogamicin.
  • Correlate prognostic factors (e.g., CD33 positivity, multidrug resistance phenotype, or cytogenetics) with probability of complete remission and overall, event-free, and disease-free survival of patients treated with these regimens.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to participating center and diagnosis (acute myeloid leukemia [AML] vs myelodysplastic syndromes [MDS]) for induction therapy. Patients are stratified according to participating center, diagnosis (AML vs MDS), induction treatment arm (I vs II), and response to induction therapy (complete remission [CR] vs no CR) for post-induction therapy.

  • Induction therapy (course 1): Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 induction treatment arms.
  • Arm I: Patients receive cytarabine IV continuously on days 1-7 and daunorubicin IV over 3 hours on days 1-3.
  • Arm II: Patients receive cytarabine as in arm I and daunorubicin as in arm I but at a higher dose.

Approximately 28-35 days after the start of course 1 (or sooner if the bone marrow shows evidence of resistant disease), patients in both arms proceed to course 2 of induction therapy.

  • Induction therapy (course 2): All patients receive cytarabine IV over 6 hours twice daily on days 1-6.

After completion of course 2, patients undergo assessment of remission status. Patients who do not achieve CR are removed from the study. Patients achieving CR proceed to post-induction therapy and undergo a second randomization.

  • Post-induction therapy: Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 post-induction treatment arms.
  • Arm I: Patients receive no further chemotherapy.
  • Arm II: Patients receive gemtuzumab ozogamicin IV over 2 hours on days 1, 29, and 57 in the absence of disease relapse or unacceptable toxicity.

After completion of study treatment, patients are followed monthly for 1 year, every 3 months for 2 years, every 4-6 months for 2 years, and then periodically thereafter.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 600 patients will be accrued for this study within 4-5 years.

Being tested
cytarabine, daunorubicin hydrochloride, gemtuzumab ozogamicin
Keywords
adult acute monocytic leukemia (M5b), adult erythroleukemia (M6a), adult pure erythroid leukemia (M6b), adult acute megakaryoblastic leukemia (M7), adult acute myeloblastic leukemia with maturation (M2), adult acute myeloblastic leukemia without maturation (M1), adult acute myelomonocytic leukemia (M4), adult acute monoblastic leukemia (M5a), refractory anemia with excess blasts in transformation, refractory anemia with excess blasts, secondary acute myeloid leukemia, untreated adult acute myeloid leukemia, de novo myelodysplastic syndromes, adult acute minimally differentiated myeloid leukemia (M0), adult acute myeloid leukemia with 11q23 (MLL) abnormalities, adult acute myeloid leukemia with inv(16)(p13;q22), adult acute myeloid leukemia with t(16;16)(p13;q22), adult acute myeloid leukemia with t(8;21)(q22;q22), secondary myelodysplastic syndromes
Medical subject headings
Leukemia, Myelodysplastic Syndromes, Leukemia, Monocytic, Acute, Leukemia, Erythroblastic, Acute, Leukemia, Megakaryoblastic, Acute, Leukemia, Myeloid, Acute, Leukemia, Myelomonocytic, Acute, Anemia, Refractory, with Excess of Blasts

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • cytarabineDrug

  • daunorubicin hydrochlorideDrug

  • gemtuzumab ozogamicinDrug

Study groups in NCT00121303
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Arm A low dose DaunoActive comparatorInduction 45 mg Dauno
Receives: Drug: cytarabine; Drug: daunorubicin hydrochloride
ARM B high dose DaunoExperimentalInduction 90 mg Dauno
Receives: Drug: cytarabine; Drug: daunorubicin hydrochloride
Arm 1 no further treatmentNo interventionNot described
Arm 2 MylotargExperimentalPost induction treatment with Mylotarg
Receives: Drug: gemtuzumab ozogamicin

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Event-free survival after induction therapy

  2. Disease-free survival after maintenance therapy

Secondary outcomes (6)
  1. Complete remission (CR) rate after induction therapy

  2. Overall survival after induction therapy

  3. Toxicity after induction therapy

  4. Toxicity after maintenance therapy

  5. Probability of relapse and death in first CR after maintenance therapy

  6. Overall survival after maintenance therapy

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted21 Jul 2005 (estimated)
  2. Study startJan 2005
  3. Primary completionJan 2009
  4. Study completionJun 2016

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Intervention model
Parallel groups
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
600 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00121303
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000433422
Other IDs
SAKK-AML-43, EU-20514, HOVON-AML-43
Status last verified
Sep 2016
First submitted
19 Jul 2005
Last updated
20 Sep 2016
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing cytarabine, daunorubicin hydrochloride and gemtuzumab ozogamicin in people with Leukemia and Myelodysplastic Syndromes, run by Stichting Hemato-Oncologie voor Volwassenen Nederland at 6 sites in United Kingdom.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 20 Sep 2016. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 6 sites in United Kingdom. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Event-free survival after induction therapy. The study lists 2 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 20 Sep 2016.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in
Clinical Trial NCT00121303 | AzTrials