AzTrials
AzTrials

Multiple MyelomaPhase 2NCT00109889

S0340 MRI and Fludeoxyglucose F18 PET in Diagnosing Solitary Plasmacytoma

A Phase 2 study testing magnetic resonance imaging and positron emission tomography in people with Multiple Myeloma and Plasmacytoma, run by SWOG Cancer Research Network at 26 sites in United States.

Terminated

Stopped early. The study ended before it was planned to and will not resume.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Diagnostic procedures, such as magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and fludeoxyglucose F 18 positron emission tomography (^18FDG-PET) may help diagnose solitary plasmacytoma. PURPOSE: This clinical trial is studying MRI and ^18FDG-PET to see how well they work in diagnosing patients with solitary plasmacytoma. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 120 years
Conditions the study is for
Multiple Myeloma, Plasmacytoma
What is being tested?
magnetic resonance imaging and positron emission tomography
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
2 participants
Where
26 sitesUnited States
Study dates
Apr 2005to Apr 2007
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 120 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed solitary plasmacytoma of 1 of the following types:
  • Solitary bone plasmacytoma
  • Extraosseus solitary plasmacytoma
  • Bone marrow plasmacytosis < 10% within the past 4 weeks
  • Low serum and/or urine M-protein meeting ≥ 1 of the following criteria:
  • Serum IgG < 3.5 g/dL
  • Serum IgA < 2.0 g/dL
  • Urine M-protein (kappa or lambda) < 1.0 g/24 hours
  • No lytic lesions on skeletal survey other than a single lesion associated with solitary plasmacytoma within the past 4 weeks

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and over

Performance status

  • Zubrod 0-2

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Hemoglobin ≥ 10 g/dL* AND/OR
  • No hemoglobin 2 g/dL < lower limit of normal* (LLN) NOTE: *Patients with a history of hemoglobin < 10 g/dL AND/OR < 2 g/dL < LLN that has corrected or improved after epoetin alfa but requires continued treatment with epoetin alfa are not eligible

Hepatic

  • Not specified

Renal

  • Calcium ≤ 10.5 mg/dL OR
  • Calcium normal
  • Creatinine ≤ 2 mg/dL

Other

  • No other malignancy within the past 5 years except adequately treated basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer, carcinoma in situ of the cervix or breast, or stage I or II cancer that is currently in complete remission

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • Not specified

Endocrine therapy

  • No prior high-dose steroids except to relieve neurological compromise

Radiotherapy

  • Prior localized radiotherapy for myeloma allowed
  • Concurrent radiotherapy allowed

Surgery

  • Prior surgery for myeloma allowed

Other

  • No other prior therapy for myeloma
  • Concurrent enrollment in protocol SWOG-S0309 (Myeloma Specimen Repository) allowed

Trial locations and contacts

26 sites in 1 country.

26 sites in 1 country

United States26 sites
  • University of Michigan Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Ann Arbor, Michigan, 48109-0942

  • CCOP - Montana Cancer Consortium

    Billings, Montana, 59101

  • Hematology-Oncology Centers of the Northern Rockies - Billings

    Billings, Montana, 59101

  • Northern Rockies Radiation Oncology Center

    Billings, Montana, 59101

  • St. Vincent Healthcare

    Billings, Montana, 59101

  • Billings Clinic Cancer Center

    Billings, Montana, 59107-5100

  • Deaconess Billings Clinic - Downtown

    Billings, Montana, 59107-7000

  • Bozeman Deaconess Cancer Center

    Bozeman, Montana, 59715

  • St. James Community Hospital

    Butte, Montana, 59701

  • Wayne Memorial Hospital, Incorporated

    Goldsboro, North Carolina, 27534

  • Wayne Radiation Oncology

    Goldsboro, North Carolina, 27534

  • Big Sky Oncology

    Great Falls, Montana, 59405

  • Sletten Regional Cancer Institute at Benefis Healthcare

    Great Falls, Montana, 59405

  • St. Peter's Hospital

    Helena, Montana, 59601

  • Glacier Oncology, PLLC

    Kalispell, Montana, 59901

  • Kalispell Medical Oncology

    Kalispell, Montana, 59901

  • Kalispell Regional Medical Center

    Kalispell, Montana, 59901

  • Arkansas Cancer Research Center at University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

    Little Rock, Arkansas, 72205

  • Community Medical Center

    Missoula, Montana, 59801

  • Guardian Oncology and Center for Wellness

    Missoula, Montana, 59804

  • Montana Cancer Specialists at Montana Cancer Center

    Missoula, Montana, 59807-7877

  • Montana Cancer Center at St. Patrick Hospital and Health Sciences Center

    Missoula, Montana, 59807

  • Mobile Infirmary Medical Center

    Mobile, Alabama, 36652-2144

  • Tammy Walker Cancer Center at Salina Regional Health Center

    Salina, Kansas, 67401

  • Welch Cancer Center at Sheridan Memorial Hospital

    Sheridan, Wyoming, 82801

  • Wilson Medical Center

    Wilson, North Carolina, 27893-3428

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Prospective Observational Study of Patients With Solitary Plasmacytoma Using a Modified Staging System Supplemented by an MRI and Whole Body FDG-PET Scan

RATIONALE: Diagnostic procedures, such as magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and fludeoxyglucose F 18 positron emission tomography (^18FDG-PET) may help diagnose solitary plasmacytoma.

PURPOSE: This clinical trial is studying MRI and ^18FDG-PET to see how well they work in diagnosing patients with solitary plasmacytoma.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the proportion of patients who are misclassified as true solitary plasmacytoma by MRI and whole-body fludeoxyglucose F 18 positron emission tomography as a supplement to imaging with skeletal survey.
  • Determine the feasibility of accruing patients to this study.
  • Determine, preliminarily, biological correlates and prognostic groups that may relate to progression to symptomatic disease in patients undergoing these imaging procedures.
  • Correlate germline genetic polymorphisms with overall clinical course in patients undergoing these imaging procedures.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study.

Within 28 days after study entry, patients undergo gadolinium MRI of the head, spine, and pelvis (and other sites, if indicated). Patients then receive fludeoxyglucose F 18 IV followed 90 minutes later by whole-body positron emission tomography (^18FDG-PET) OR whole-body CT scan/PET. Patients with a confirmed diagnosis of solitary plasmacytoma undergo MRI and ^18FDG-PET as above at 1 year and then annually for 10 years in the absence of disease progression (i.e., change of status to solitary plasmacytoma with active myeloma or biopsy confirmed stage IB or higher multiple myeloma).

After completion of study procedures, patients are followed every 6 months for 10 years.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 110 patients will be accrued for this study.

Being tested
magnetic resonance imaging, positron emission tomography
Keywords
extramedullary plasmacytoma, isolated plasmacytoma of bone
Medical subject headings
Multiple Myeloma, Plasmacytoma

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • magnetic resonance imagingProcedure or surgery

    Also called MRI

    magnetic resonance imaging (MRI)

  • positron emission tomographyProcedure or surgery

    Also called PET

    positron emission tomography (PET)

Study groups in NCT00109889
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
MRI and PETOtherMagnetic resonance imaging and positron emission tomography
Receives: Procedure: magnetic resonance imaging; Procedure: positron emission tomography

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. proportion of patients misclassified as solitary plasmacytoma

    Measured: 2 months

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted4 May 2005 (estimated)
  2. Study startApr 2005
  3. Primary completionApr 2007
  4. Study completionApr 2007

Why it stopped: poor accrual

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Other
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
2 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00109889
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000426422
Other IDs
U10CA032102, S0340
Status last verified
Apr 2017
First submitted
3 May 2005
Last updated
24 Apr 2017
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing magnetic resonance imaging and positron emission tomography in people with Multiple Myeloma and Plasmacytoma, run by SWOG Cancer Research Network at 26 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: stopped early, as of the sponsor's last update on 24 Apr 2017. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 26 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study was stopped early (reason given: poor accrual). Results are not available in the source record.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

proportion of patients misclassified as solitary plasmacytoma (time frame: 2 months). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 24 Apr 2017.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in