AzTrials
AzTrials

LymphomaPhase 2NCT00107380

S0433 Iodine I 131 Tositumomab, Rituximab, and Combination Chemotherapy in Treating Older Patients With Stage II, Stage III, or Stage IV Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma

A Phase 2 study testing rituximab, cyclophosphamide and doxorubicin hydrochloride in people with Lymphoma, run by SWOG Cancer Research Network at 78 sites in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Radiolabeled monoclonal antibodies, such as iodine I 131 tositumomab, can find cancer cells and carry cancer-killing substances to them without harming normal cells. Monoclonal antibodies, such as rituximab, can block cancer growth in different ways. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 120 years
Conditions the study is for
Lymphoma
What is being tested?
rituximab, cyclophosphamide and doxorubicin hydrochloride
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
86 participants
Where
78 sitesUnited States
Study dates
Nov 2005to Dec 2015
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 120 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Diagnosis of diffuse large B-cell non-Hodgkin's lymphoma, meeting 1 of the following stage criteria:
  • Bulky stage II disease
  • Stage III disease
  • Stage IV disease
  • Confirmed cluster of differentiation antigen 20 (CD20) antigen-positive disease
  • Bidimensionally measurable disease
  • Less than 20,000/mcL circulating lymphoid cells on white blood cell (WBC) differential count
  • Adequate sections AND a paraffin block OR ≥ 10 unstained sections from the original diagnostic specimen available
  • Needle aspiration or cytology are not considered adequate
  • No clinical evidence of central nervous system (CNS) involvement by lymphoma
  • No prior diagnosis of indolent lymphoma
  • No histologic transformation

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Performance status

  • Zubrod 0-2

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • See Disease Characteristics

Hepatic

  • Not specified

Renal

  • Not specified

Cardiovascular

  • Ejection fraction ≥ 45% by multiple gated acquisition scan (MUGA) OR
  • No significant abnormalities by echocardiogram

Pulmonary

  • No requirement for continuous supplemental oxygen

Other

  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception during and for 6 months after completion of study treatment
  • No other malignancy within the past 5 years except adequately treated basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer, stage I or II cancer in complete remission, or carcinoma in situ of the cervix
  • No known HIV positivity

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • No prior antibody therapy for lymphoma

Chemotherapy

  • No prior chemotherapy for lymphoma

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • No prior radiotherapy for lymphoma

Surgery

  • No prior solid organ transplantation

Other

  • Concurrent enrollment on protocol SWOG-8947 (lymphoma serum repository) or protocol SWOG-8819 (lymphoma tissue repository) is encouraged

Trial locations and contacts

78 sites in 1 country.

78 sites in 1 country

United States78 sites
  • Saint Anthony's Hospital at Saint Anthony's Health Center

    Alton, Illinois, 62002

  • Alaska Regional Hospital Cancer Center

    Anchorage, Alaska, 99508

  • AnMed Cancer Center

    Anderson, South Carolina, 29621

  • University of Michigan Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Ann Arbor, Michigan, 48109-0942

  • Piedmont Hospital

    Atlanta, Georgia, 30309

  • Northside Hospital Cancer Center

    Atlanta, Georgia, 30342-1611

  • Saint Joseph's Hospital of Atlanta

    Atlanta, Georgia, 30342-1701

  • CCOP - Atlanta Regional

    Atlanta, Georgia, 30342

  • WellStar Cobb Hospital

    Austell, Georgia, 30106

  • St. Francis Hospital and Health Centers - Beech Grove Campus

    Beech Grove, Indiana, 46107

  • St. Joseph Cancer Center

    Bellingham, Washington, 98225

  • CCOP - Montana Cancer Consortium

    Billings, Montana, 59101

  • Hematology-Oncology Centers of the Northern Rockies - Billings

    Billings, Montana, 59101

  • Northern Rockies Radiation Oncology Center

    Billings, Montana, 59101

  • St. Vincent Healthcare Cancer Care Services

    Billings, Montana, 59101

  • Billings Clinic - Downtown

    Billings, Montana, 59107-7000

  • Bozeman Deaconess Cancer Center

    Bozeman, Montana, 59715

  • Olympic Hematology and Oncology

    Bremerton, Washington, 98310

  • St. James Healthcare Cancer Care

    Butte, Montana, 59701

  • Saint Francis Medical Center

    Cape Girardeau, Missouri, 63703

  • Rocky Mountain Oncology

    Casper, Wyoming, 82609

  • Cleveland Clinic Taussig Cancer Center

    Cleveland, Ohio, 44195

  • Grandview Hospital

    Dayton, Ohio, 45405

  • Good Samaritan Hospital

    Dayton, Ohio, 45406

  • David L. Rike Cancer Center at Miami Valley Hospital

    Dayton, Ohio, 45409

  • Samaritan North Cancer Care Center

    Dayton, Ohio, 45415

  • CCOP - Dayton

    Dayton, Ohio, 45420

  • Charles B. Eberhart Cancer Center at DeKalb Medical Center

    Decatur, Georgia, 30033

  • City of Hope Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Duarte, California, 91010-3000

  • Falck Cancer Center at Arnot Ogden Medical Center

    Elmira, New York, 14905

  • Blanchard Valley Medical Associates

    Findlay, Ohio, 45840

  • Middletown Regional Hospital

    Franklin, Ohio, 45005-1066

  • Big Sky Oncology

    Great Falls, Montana, 59405-5309

  • Great Falls Clinic - Main Facility

    Great Falls, Montana, 59405

  • Sletten Cancer Institute at Benefis Healthcare

    Great Falls, Montana, 59405

  • Study site

    Great Falls, Montana, 59405

  • Wayne Hospital

    Greenville, Ohio, 45331

  • Northern Montana Hospital

    Havre, Montana, 59501

  • St. Peter's Hospital

    Helena, Montana, 59601

  • Cleveland Clinic Cancer Center

    Independence, Ohio, 44131

  • Glacier Oncology, PLLC

    Kalispell, Montana, 59901

  • Kalispell Medical Oncology at KRMC

    Kalispell, Montana, 59901

  • Kalispell Regional Medical Center

    Kalispell, Montana, 59901

  • Charles F. Kettering Memorial Hospital

    Kettering, Ohio, 45429

  • Gwinnett Medical Center

    Lawrenceville, Georgia, 30045

  • Kennestone Cancer Center at Wellstar Kennestone Hospital

    Marietta, Georgia, 30060

  • Cardinal Bernardin Cancer Center at Loyola University Medical Center

    Maywood, Illinois, 60153

  • Community Medical Center

    Missoula, Montana, 59801

  • Guardian Oncology and Center for Wellness

    Missoula, Montana, 59804

  • Montana Cancer Specialists at Montana Cancer Center

    Missoula, Montana, 59807-7877

  • Montana Cancer Center at St. Patrick Hospital and Health Sciences Center

    Missoula, Montana, 59807

  • Good Samaritan Regional Health Center

    Mount Vernon, Illinois, 62864

  • Reid Hospital & Health Care Services

    Richmond, Indiana, 47374

  • Southern Regional Medical Center

    Riverdale, Georgia, 30274-2600

  • James P. Wilmot Cancer Center at University of Rochester Medical Center

    Rochester, New York, 14642

  • Harbin Clinic Cancer Center - Medical Oncology

    Rome, Georgia, 30165

  • Rutherford Hospital

    Rutherfordton, North Carolina, 28139

  • Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

    Seattle, Washington, 98104

  • Harborview Medical Center

    Seattle, Washington, 98104

  • Minor and James Medical, PLLC

    Seattle, Washington, 98104

  • Group Health Central Hospital

    Seattle, Washington, 98112

  • Swedish Cancer Institute at Swedish Medical Center - First Hill Campus

    Seattle, Washington, 98122-4307

  • Polyclinic First Hill

    Seattle, Washington, 98122

  • University Cancer Center at University of Washington Medical Center

    Seattle, Washington, 98195-6043

  • Welch Cancer Center at Sheridan Memorial Hospital

    Sheridan, Wyoming, 82801

  • CCOP - Upstate Carolina

    Spartanburg, South Carolina, 29303

  • Gibbs Regional Cancer Center at Spartanburg Regional Medical Center

    Spartanburg, South Carolina, 29303

  • Cancer Care Northwest - Spokane South

    Spokane, Washington, 99202

  • Evergreen Hematology and Oncology, PS

    Spokane, Washington, 99218

  • Midwest Hematology Oncology Group, Incorporated

    St Louis, Missouri, 63109

  • CCOP - St. Louis-Cape Girardeau

    St Louis, Missouri, 63141

  • David C. Pratt Cancer Center at St. John's Mercy

    St Louis, Missouri, 63141

  • Cotton-O'Neil Cancer Center

    Topeka, Kansas, 66606

  • UVMC Cancer Care Center at Upper Valley Medical Center

    Troy, Ohio, 45373-1300

  • Arizona Cancer Center at University of Arizona Health Sciences Center

    Tucson, Arizona, 85724-5024

  • Clinton Memorial Hospital

    Wilmington, Ohio, 45177

  • Cleveland Clinic - Wooster

    Wooster, Ohio, 44691

  • Ruth G. McMillan Cancer Center at Greene Memorial Hospital

    Xenia, Ohio, 45385

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Iodine-131-Labeled Monoclonal Anti-B1 Antibody (I-131 Tositumomab) in Combination With Cyclophosphamide, Doxorubicin, Vincristine, Prednisone and Rituximab Therapy for Patients ≥ Age 60 With Advanced Stage Diffuse Large B-Cell NHL: A Phase II Study

RATIONALE: Radiolabeled monoclonal antibodies, such as iodine I 131 tositumomab, can find cancer cells and carry cancer-killing substances to them without harming normal cells. Monoclonal antibodies, such as rituximab, can block cancer growth in different ways. Some block the ability of cancer cells to grow and spread. Others find cancer cells and help kill them or carry cancer-killing substances to them. Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin, vincristine, and prednisone, work in different ways to stop the growth of cancer cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving a radiolabeled monoclonal antibody together with rituximab and combination chemotherapy may kill more cancer cells.

PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well giving iodine I 131 tositumomab together with rituximab and combination chemotherapy works in treating older patients with stage II, stage III, or stage IV B-cell non-Hodgkin's lymphoma.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the 2-year progression-free survival of older patients with previously untreated bulky stage II or stage III or IV diffuse large B-cell non-Hodgkin's lymphoma treated with iodine I 131 tositumomab in combination with rituximab, cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin, vincristine, and prednisone.
  • Determine the response rate (partial response, complete unconfirmed response, and complete response) in patients treated with this regimen.
  • Determine the 2-year progression-free survival and response rate (partial response, complete unconfirmed response, and complete response) in B-cell lymphoma 2 (BCL-2) positive patients treated with this regimen.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study.

  • Rituximab and chemotherapy: Patients receive R-CHOP comprising rituximab IV over 6 hours; cyclophosphamide IV over 15-45 minutes; doxorubicin IV over 5-20 minutes; and vincristine IV over 5-15 minutes on day 1 and oral prednisone on days 1-5. Treatment repeats every 21 days for up to 6 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients then undergo a restaging evaluation. Patients without progressive disease receive CHOP chemotherapy comprising cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin, vincristine, and prednisone as outlined above. Treatment with CHOP chemotherapy repeats every 21 days for 2 courses.
  • Radiolabeled monoclonal antibody therapy: Approximately 4-8 weeks after completion of chemotherapy, patients receive tositumomab IV over 1 hour followed by a dosimetric dose of iodine I 131 tositumomab IV over 20 minutes. Patients then undergo gamma scans over a 1-week period in order to determine the correct treatment dose of iodine I 131 tositumomab. No more than 2 weeks after administration of the dosimetric dose, patients receive tositumomab IV over 1 hour followed by a treatment dose of iodine I 131 tositumomab IV over 20 minutes.

After completion of study treatment, patients are followed periodically for up to 5 years.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 80 patients will be accrued for this study within 15 months.

Conditions
Lymphoma
Keywords
contiguous stage II adult diffuse large cell lymphoma, noncontiguous stage II adult diffuse large cell lymphoma, stage III adult diffuse large cell lymphoma, stage IV adult diffuse large cell lymphoma
Medical subject headings
Lymphoma, Lymphoma, Large B-Cell, Diffuse

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Study groups in NCT00107380
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
R-CHOP x 8 with I-131 TositumomabExperimentalCyclophosphamide 750 mg/m2 IV Day 1 Doxorubicin 50 mg/m2 IV Day 1 Vincristine 1.4 mg/m2 IV Day 1 Prednisone 100 mg PO Days 1-5 Rituximab 375 mg/m2 IV Day 1 Q 21 Days x 6 cycles Unlabeled Anti-B1 Antibody 450 mg IV Day 170 Dosimetric dose 35 mg IV Day 170 Unlabeled Anti-B1 Antibody 450 mg IV Day 177 Therapeutic dose 35 mg IV Day 177
Receives: Biological: rituximab; Drug: cyclophosphamide; Drug: doxorubicin hydrochloride; Drug: prednisone; Drug: vincristine sulfate; Radiation: tositumomab and iodine I 131 tositumomab

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Progression-free Survival (PFS) at 2 Years

    Clinical responses were evaluated according to International Workshop NHL criteria (Cheson et al, 1999). Progression disease was defined as if a (CR, CRU) was not achieved at a previous assessment, a 50% increase in the SPD of target measurable lesions over the smallest sum observed (over baseline if no decrease during therapy) using the same techniques as baseline. Appearance of a new lesion/site. Unequivocal progression of non-measurable disease in the opinion of the treating physician (an explanation must be provided). Death due to disease without prior documentation of progression. PFS is measured from date of registration to date of first observation of progressive disease, or death due to any cause. Patients last known to be alive and progression-free are censored at date of last contact.

    Measured: 0-2 years

  2. Response Rate (Complete, Complete Unconfirmed, and Partial)

    Complete Response(CR) is a complete disappearance of all disease with the exception of nodes. No new lesions. previously enlarged organs must have regressed and not be palpable. Bone marrow(BM) must be negative if positive at baseline. Normalization of markers. CR Unconfirmed (CRU) does not qualify for CR above, due to a residual nodal mass or an indeterminate BM. Partial Response(PR) is a 50% decrease in the sum of products of greatest diameters (SPD) for up to 6 identified dominant lesions, including spleenic and hepatic nodules from baseline. No new lesions and no increase in the size of liver, spleen or other nodes.

    Measured: 6 months

Secondary outcomes (1)
  1. Number of Patients With Grade 3 Through Grade 5 Adverse Events That Are Related to Study Drug

    Adverse Events (AEs) are reported by the NCI Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 3.0. For each patient, worst grade of each event type is reported. Grade 3 = Severe, Grade 4 = Life-threatening, Grade 5 = Fatal.

    Measured: 6 months (assessed at the end of each cycle of chemotherapy for 8 cycles (1 cycle= 21 days), at restaging, and at the end of each radiolabeled antibody treatment)

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted6 Apr 2005 (estimated)
  2. Study startNov 2005
  3. Primary completionNov 2013
  4. Study completionDec 2015

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
86 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00107380
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000415955
Other IDs
S0433, U10CA032102
Status last verified
Feb 2016
First submitted
5 Apr 2005
Last updated
7 Mar 2016
Data monitoring committee
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing rituximab, cyclophosphamide and doxorubicin hydrochloride in people with Lymphoma, run by SWOG Cancer Research Network at 78 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 7 Mar 2016. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 78 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 11 Feb 2014). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Progression-free Survival (PFS) at 2 Years (time frame: 0-2 years). The study lists 2 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 7 Mar 2016.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in