AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerPhase 3NCT00107263

Zoledronate in Preventing Bone Loss in Postmenopausal Women Who Are Receiving Letrozole for Stage I, Stage II, or Stage IIIA Breast Cancer

A Phase 3 study testing letrozole and zoledronic acid in people with Breast Cancer and Osteoporosis, run by Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Estrogen can cause the growth of breast cancer cells. Hormone therapy using letrozole may fight breast cancer by lowering the amount of estrogen the body makes. Zoledronate may prevent bone loss in patients who are receiving letrozole. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older, women only
Conditions the study is for
Breast Cancer, Osteoporosis
What is being tested?
letrozole and zoledronic acid
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
558 participants
Where
No sites listed yet
Study dates
Jan 2005to Aug 2012
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • Women only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Diagnosis of breast cancer
  • Stage I, II, or IIIA disease
  • Completed ≤ 6 years of adjuvant tamoxifen therapy
  • Total baseline lumbar spine or femoral neck bone mineral density T-score below -2.0 standard deviation (e.g., a patient with a T-score of -2.1 in ineligible; a patient with a T-score of -1.9 is eligible)
  • No clinical or radiological evidence of recurrent or metastatic disease
  • Hormone receptor status:
  • Estrogen receptor- and/or progesterone receptor-positive

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • Postmenopausal

Sex

  • Female

Menopausal status

  • Postmenopausal, defined by 1 of the following:
  • Over 55 years of age with cessation of menses
  • 55 years of age and under with spontaneous cessation of menses for > 1 year
  • 55 years of age and under with spontaneous cessation of menses for ≤ 1 year, but amenorrheic (e.g., spontaneous or secondary to hysterectomy) with postmenopausal estradiol levels (< 5 ng/dL)
  • Undergone bilateral oophorectomy

Performance status

  • ECOG 0-2

Life expectancy

  • At least 5 years

Hematopoietic

  • WBC ≥ 3,000/mm^3
  • Platelet count ≥ 100,000/mm^3

Hepatic

  • Alkaline phosphatase ≤ 3 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • AST ≤ 3 times ULN

Renal

  • Creatinine < 2.0 mg/dL
  • No hypercalcemia (i.e., calcium > 1 mg/dL above ULN within the past 6 months)
  • No hypocalcemia (i.e., calcium > 0.5 mg/dL below lower limit of normal within the past 6 months)

Other

  • No uncontrolled infection
  • No uncontrolled diabetes mellitus
  • No uncontrolled thyroid dysfunction
  • No disease affecting bone metabolism (e.g., hyperparathyroidism, hypercortisolism, Paget's disease, or osteogenesis imperfecta)
  • No malabsorption syndrome
  • No uncontrolled seizure disorder associated with falls
  • No known hypersensitivity to zoledronate or other bisphosphonates, letrozole, calcium, or cholecalciferol (vitamin D)
  • No mental illness that would preclude giving informed consent
  • No other malignancy within the past 5 years except adequately treated basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix
  • No other non-malignant systemic disease
  • No clinical or radiologic evidence of existing fracture in the lumbar spine and/or total hip
  • No history of fracture with low intensity or not associated with trauma
  • No contraindication to spinal dual energy x-ray absorptiometry (DEXA) due to any of the following:
  • History of surgery at the lumbosacral spine, with or without implantable devices
  • Scoliosis with a Cobb angle > 15° at the lumbar spine
  • Immobility, hyperostosis, or sclerotic changes at the lumbar spine
  • Evidence of sufficient sclerotic abdominal aorta that would interfere with DEXA scan
  • Any disease of the spine that would preclude proper acquisition of a lumbar spine DEXA
  • Considered reliable

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • No concurrent chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • Prior parathyroid hormone allowed provided it was not administered for > 1 week
  • More than 6 months since prior anabolic steroids or growth hormone
  • More than 12 months since prior endocrine therapy (including estrogen) except for the following:
  • Tamoxifen
  • Insulin
  • Oral hypoglycemics
  • Thyroid hormone
  • Steroid inhalers
  • More than 12 months since prior systemic corticosteroids except short-term corticosteroids to prevent or treat chemotherapy-induced nausea and vomiting or acute respiratory illness
  • Concurrent short-term corticosteroids allowed
  • No other concurrent hormonal therapy
  • No concurrent parathyroid hormone

Radiotherapy

  • Not specified

Surgery

  • Not specified

Other

  • Prior systemic sodium fluoride allowed provided it was not administered for > 3 months within the past 2 years
  • More than 3 weeks since prior oral bisphosphonates
  • More than 2 weeks since prior and no concurrent drugs known to affect the skeleton (e.g., calcitonin, mithramycin, or gallium nitrate)
  • More than 30 days since prior systemic investigational drugs and/or devices
  • More than 7 days since prior topical investigational drugs
  • No prior IV bisphosphonates
  • No prior aromatase inhibitor therapy
  • No concurrent calcitonin, sodium fluoride, or Tibolone
  • No other concurrent anticancer therapy
  • No other concurrent bisphosphonates
  • No other concurrent investigational drugs or devices

About this study

Official title: A Randomized, Controlled, Open-Label Trial of Empiric Prophylactic vs. Delayed Use of Zoledronic Acid for Prevention of Bone Loss in Postmenopausal Women With Breast Cancer Initiating Therapy With Letrozole After Tamoxifen

RATIONALE: Estrogen can cause the growth of breast cancer cells. Hormone therapy using letrozole may fight breast cancer by lowering the amount of estrogen the body makes. Zoledronate may prevent bone loss in patients who are receiving letrozole. It is not yet known which schedule of zoledronate is more effective in preventing bone loss in patients with breast cancer.

PURPOSE: This randomized phase III trial is studying two different schedules of zoledronate to compare how well they work in preventing bone loss in postmenopausal women who are receiving letrozole for stage I, stage II, or stage IIIA breast cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Compare the effectiveness of zoledronate vs standard care in reducing bone loss during the first 12 months of study treatment in postmenopausal women with stage I-IIIA breast cancer initiating letrozole after prior treatment with tamoxifen.
  • Compare the effect of immediate vs delayed zoledronate, annually at 2-5 years post-baseline, in reducing bone loss in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, open-label, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to duration of prior tamoxifen therapy (≤ 2 years vs > 2 years); time since tamoxifen therapy was discontinued (< 1 vs ≥ 1 year); prior adjuvant chemotherapy (yes vs no); and baseline total lumbar spine or femoral neck bone mineral density (BMD) T-score (> -1 standard deviation [SD] vs between -1 to -2 SD). Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.

  • Arm I (immediate therapy): Patients receive oral letrozole once daily. Patients also receive zoledronate IV over 15 minutes once every 6 months.
  • Arm II (delayed therapy): Patients receive oral letrozole as in arm I. Patients with radiologic evidence of bone loss after 1 year of letrozole therapy receive zoledronate as in arm I.

In both arms, treatment continues for up to 5 years in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 550 patients (275 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study within 28 months.

Keywords
osteoporosis, stage I breast cancer, stage II breast cancer, stage IIIA breast cancer
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms, Osteoporosis

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Study groups in NCT00107263
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Arm I: letrozole + zoledronateExperimentalPatients receive oral letrozole once daily. Patients also receive zoledronate IV over 15 minutes once every 6 months. Treatment continues for up to 5 years in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
Receives: Drug: letrozole; Drug: zoledronic acid
Arm II: letrozole + zoledronateExperimentalPatients receive oral letrozole once daily. Patients with radiologic evidence of bone loss after 1 year of letrozole therapy receive zoledronate as in arm I. Treatment continues for up to 5 years in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
Receives: Drug: letrozole; Drug: zoledronic acid

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Average intra-patient change in total lumbar spine (L1-L4) bone mineral density (BMD) as measured by dual energy x-ray absorptiometry at baseline and 1 year after completion of study treatment

    Measured: at 12 months

Secondary outcomes (5)
  1. BMD (lumbar spine) annually for 5 years after completion of study treatment

    Measured: Up to 5 years

  2. Incidence of osteoporosis

    Measured: Up to 5 years

  3. Loss of bone density

    Measured: Up to 5 years

  4. Incidence of bone fractures

    Measured: Up to 5 years

  5. Time to disease progression

    Measured: Up to 5 years

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted6 Apr 2005 (estimated)
  2. Study startJan 2005
  3. Primary completionMar 2007
  4. Study completionAug 2012

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Supportive care
Allocation
Randomised
Intervention model
Parallel groups
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
558 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00107263
Sponsor's protocol ID
NCCTG-N03CC
Other IDs
CDR0000413877
Status last verified
Dec 2016
First submitted
5 Apr 2005
Last updated
6 Dec 2016
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
No

Publications

  • Hines SL, Mincey B, Dentchev T, Sloan JA, Perez EA, Johnson DB, Schaefer PL, Alberts S, Liu H, Kahanic S, Mazurczak MA, Nikcevich DA, Loprinzi CL. Immediate versus delayed zoledronic acid for prevention of bone loss in postmenopausal women with breast cancer starting letrozole after tamoxifen-N03CC. Breast Cancer Res Treat. 2009 Oct;117(3):603-9. doi: 10.1007/s10549-009-0332-2. Epub 2009 Feb 12.

    PubMed 19214743
  • Adams A, Jakob T, Huth A, Monsef I, Ernst M, Kopp M, Caro-Valenzuela J, Wockel A, Skoetz N. Bone-modifying agents for reducing bone loss in women with early and locally advanced breast cancer: a network meta-analysis. Cochrane Database Syst Rev. 2024 Jul 9;7(7):CD013451. doi: 10.1002/14651858.CD013451.pub2.

    PubMed 38979716

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing letrozole and zoledronic acid in people with Breast Cancer and Osteoporosis, run by Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 6 Dec 2016. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Average intra-patient change in total lumbar spine (L1-L4) bone mineral density (BMD) as measured by dual energy x-ray absorptiometry at baseline and 1 year after completion of study treatment (time frame: at 12 months). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00107263, which also lists 2 linked publications.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 6 Dec 2016.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in