AzTrials
AzTrials

LeukemiaPhase 1NCT00101153

Tipifarnib, Cytarabine, and Daunorubicin in Treating Older Patients With Acute Myeloid Leukemia

A Phase 1 study testing cytarabine, daunorubicin hydrochloride and tipifarnib in people with Leukemia, run by University Health Network, Toronto at 2 sites in Canada.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Tipifarnib may stop the growth of cancer cells by blocking some of the enzymes needed for cell growth. Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as cytarabine and daunorubicin, work in different ways to stop the growth of cancer cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 56 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Leukemia
What is being tested?
cytarabine, daunorubicin hydrochloride and tipifarnib
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
24 participants
Where
2 sitesCanada
Study dates
Apr 2007to Mar 2010
Phase
Phase 1
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 56 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Diagnosis of acute myeloid leukemia (AML)
  • All subtypes, except acute promyelocytic leukemia, are allowed
  • At least 20% bone marrow or peripheral blood blasts OR biopsy-confirmed extramedullary disease
  • No cerebrospinal fluid involvement

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 56 and over

Performance status

  • ECOG 0-2 OR
  • Karnofsky 60-100%

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • WBC < 100,000/mm^3 (treatment with hydroxyurea allowed)

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin ≤ 1.25 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • AST and ALT ≤ 2.0 times ULN

Renal

  • Creatinine < 1.7 mg/dL OR
  • Creatinine clearance ≥ 60 mL/min

Cardiovascular

  • LVEF ≥ 50%
  • No symptomatic congestive heart failure
  • No unstable angina pectoris
  • No cardiac arrhythmia

Immunologic

  • HIV negative
  • No history of allergic reaction attributed to compounds of similar chemical or biologic composition to tipifarnib or imidazole drugs (e.g., ketoconazole, clotrimazole, or miconazole)
  • No ongoing or active infection

Other

  • Not pregnant
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • Able to swallow oral medications
  • No other uncontrolled illness
  • No psychiatric illness or social situation that would preclude study compliance

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • No prior chemotherapy for AML except hydroxyurea for cytoreduction
  • More than 4 weeks since prior chemotherapy except hydroxyurea (6 weeks for nitrosoureas or mitomycin) and recovered
  • At least 24 hours since prior hydroxyurea

Endocrine therapy

  • No concurrent dexamethasone

Radiotherapy

  • More than 4 weeks since prior radiotherapy and recovered
  • No prior radiotherapy > 3,000 cGy to marrow-producing areas

Surgery

  • Not specified

Other

  • No other concurrent investigational agents
  • No other concurrent antileukemic agents
  • No concurrent treatment with any of the following:
  • Ketoconazole
  • Itraconazole
  • Voriconazole
  • Clarithromycin
  • Erythromycin
  • Phenytoin
  • Carbamazepine
  • Barbiturates
  • Cyclosporine
  • Pimozide
  • Warfarin
  • Grapefruit juice
  • Simvastatin
  • Lovastatin
  • Atorvastatin
  • No concurrent magnesium- or aluminum-containing antacids within 2 hours before or after tipifarnib administration

Trial locations and contacts

2 sites in 1 country.

Canada2 sites
  • McMaster Children's Hospital at Hamilton Health Sciences

    Hamilton, Ontario, L8N 3Z5

  • London Regional Cancer Program at London Health Sciences Centre

    London, Ontario, N6A 465

Other trials in Canada

About this study

Official title: A Phase I Study Of Therapy With The Farnesyl Transferase Inhibitor R115777 (Zarnestra) Combined With Conventional Induction And Consolidation Chemotherapy For Previously Untreated Patients Over Age 55 With Acute Myeloid Leukemia (AML)

RATIONALE: Tipifarnib may stop the growth of cancer cells by blocking some of the enzymes needed for cell growth. Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as cytarabine and daunorubicin, work in different ways to stop the growth of cancer cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving tipifarnib together with cytarabine and daunorubicin may kill more cancer cells.

PURPOSE: This phase I trial is studying the side effects and best dose of tipifarnib when given with cytarabine and daunorubicin in treating older patients with acute myeloid leukemia.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the maximum tolerated dose of tipifarnib when administered with cytarabine and daunorubicin in older patients with previously untreated acute myeloid leukemia.
  • Determine the toxicity of this regimen in these patients.
  • Determine the pharmacokinetics of this regimen in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter, dose-escalation study of tipifarnib.

Induction therapy (1 course): Patients receive cytarabine IV continuously on days 1-7, daunorubicin IV on days 6-8, and oral tipifarnib twice daily on days 6-15 in the absence of unacceptable toxicity. Patients achieving complete remission proceed to consolidation therapy.

Consolidation therapy (1 course): After hematologic recovery, patients begin consolidation therapy 35-60 days after the start of induction therapy. Patients receive cytarabine, daunorubicin, and tipifarnib as in induction therapy.

Cohorts of 3-6 patients receive escalating doses of tipifarnib until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined. The MTD is defined as the dose preceding that at which 2 of 3 or 2 of 6 patients experience dose-limiting toxicity. A total of 10 patients are treated at the recommended phase II dose.

Patients are followed every 3 months.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 3-28 patients will be accrued for this study within 1.5-22 months.

Conditions
Leukemia
Being tested
cytarabine, daunorubicin hydrochloride, tipifarnib
Keywords
adult acute basophilic leukemia, adult acute eosinophilic leukemia, adult acute megakaryoblastic leukemia (M7), adult acute minimally differentiated myeloid leukemia (M0), adult acute monoblastic leukemia (M5a), adult acute monocytic leukemia (M5b), adult acute myeloblastic leukemia with maturation (M2), adult acute myeloblastic leukemia without maturation (M1), adult acute myeloid leukemia with 11q23 (MLL) abnormalities, adult acute myeloid leukemia with inv(16)(p13;q22), adult acute myeloid leukemia with t(16;16)(p13;q22), adult acute myeloid leukemia with t(8;21)(q22;q22), adult acute myelomonocytic leukemia (M4), adult erythroleukemia (M6a), adult pure erythroid leukemia (M6b), untreated adult acute myeloid leukemia
Medical subject headings
Leukemia, Leukemia, Basophilic, Acute, Leukemia, Eosinophilic, Acute, Leukemia, Megakaryoblastic, Acute, Leukemia, Monocytic, Acute, Leukemia, Myeloid, Acute, Congenital Abnormalities, Leukemia, Myelomonocytic, Acute

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • cytarabineDrug

  • daunorubicin hydrochlorideDrug

  • tipifarnibDrug

Study groups in NCT00101153
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Tipifarnib with conventional induction and consolidationExperimentalNot described
Receives: Drug: cytarabine; Drug: daunorubicin hydrochloride; Drug: tipifarnib

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Maximum tolerated dose of tipifarnib when administered with cytarabine and daunorubicin

    Measured: minimum of 30 days per treatment cycle

  2. Toxicity

    Measured: All cycles

  3. Pharmacokinetics

    Measured: Day 6

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted10 Jan 2005 (estimated)
  2. Study startApr 2007
  3. Primary completionMar 2010

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Treatment
Intervention model
Parallel groups
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
24 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00101153
Sponsor's protocol ID
PMH-PHL-026
Other IDs
CDR0000405840, NCI-6670
Status last verified
Jul 2015
First submitted
7 Jan 2005
Last updated
23 Jul 2015
Results posted
No

Publications

  • Brandwein JM, Leber BF, Howson-Jan K, Schimmer AD, Schuh AC, Gupta V, Yee KW, Wright J, Moore M, MacAlpine K, Minden MD; NCI CTEP Protocol 6670. A phase I study of tipifarnib combined with conventional induction and consolidation therapy for previously untreated patients with acute myeloid leukemia aged 60 years and over. Leukemia. 2009 Apr;23(4):631-4. doi: 10.1038/leu.2008.341. Epub 2008 Dec 18.

    PubMed 19092853

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1 study testing cytarabine, daunorubicin hydrochloride and tipifarnib in people with Leukemia, run by University Health Network, Toronto at 2 sites in Canada.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 23 Jul 2015. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 2 sites in Canada. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Maximum tolerated dose of tipifarnib when administered with cytarabine and daunorubicin (time frame: minimum of 30 days per treatment cycle). The study lists 3 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00101153, which also lists 1 linked publication.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 23 Jul 2015.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in