AzTrials
AzTrials

Non-melanomatous Skin CancerNCT00099112

Effect of Solar-Simulated Ultraviolet Radiation on Gene Expression in Unprotected and Sunscreen-Protected Skin of Healthy Adults With Fitzpatrick Skin Type II

An observational study of Non-melanomatous Skin Cancer and Precancerous Condition, run by National Cancer Institute (NCI) at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Testing of skin that has been exposed to artificial sunlight may help in understanding the genetic processes involved in the development of skin cancer. PURPOSE: This trial is studying the effect of solar-simulated ultraviolet radiation on skin with or without sunscreen in healthy adults with skin that… Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 45 yearsHealthy volunteers can take part
What is being tested?
microarray analysis, biopsy and evaluation of cancer risk factors
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
Not given
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Feb 2004to not given
Phase
Observational
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 45 years
  • All sexes
  • Healthy volunteers accepted
  • Adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Healthy, fair-skinned adults
  • Fitzpatrick skin type II by history and physical exam
  • Skin easily burns, and tans only slightly, after sun exposure
  • Test site for solar-simulated ultraviolet radiation exposure (buttocks) devoid of sunburn, suntan, scars, active dermal lesions, and uneven skin tones
  • Nevi allowed at physician discretion
  • Excess hair must be clipped or shaved
  • No prior nonmelanoma skin cancer, melanoma, or dysplastic nevi

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 to 45

Performance status

  • Not specified

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Not specified

Hepatic

  • Not specified

Renal

  • Not specified

Other

  • No prior malignancy
  • No prior phototoxic, photoallergic, or other abnormal responses to sunlight
  • No prior allergic reaction to sunscreen or lidocaine
  • No underlying disease that is known to cause immunosuppression (e.g., HIV, cancer, or post-organ transplantation)
  • No situation that would preclude study compliance
  • Not pregnant or nursing

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • Not specified

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • Not specified

Surgery

  • Not specified

Other

  • More than 6 months since prior topical or systemic medication producing abnormal sunlight responses
  • No concurrent medications with > 1% incidence of sun-related toxic effects
  • No concurrent medications associated with abnormal light response
  • No concurrent immunosuppressants
  • No other concurrent ultraviolet radiation (e.g., sunlight or tanning bed) to the epidermal test site

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Warren Grant Magnuson Clinical Center - NCI Clinical Studies Support

    Bethesda, Maryland, 20892-1182

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Transcriptional Profiling of the Epidermal Response to Solar-Simulated Ultraviolet Radiation

RATIONALE: Testing of skin that has been exposed to artificial sunlight may help in understanding the genetic processes involved in the development of skin cancer.

PURPOSE: This trial is studying the effect of solar-simulated ultraviolet radiation on skin with or without sunscreen in healthy adults with skin that burns easily after only slight tanning during sun exposure.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the global gene expression profiles in epidermal tissue of healthy fair-skinned adults with Fitzpatrick skin type II after exposure to known doses of solar-simulated ultraviolet radiation (ssUVR) (UVA).
  • Determine the ability of an FDA-standardized sunscreen to alter ssUVR-induced transcription profiles in vivo in these participants.
  • Determine whether the transcriptional profiles of keratinocytes exposed to UVR in cell culture are comparable to the profiles of keratinocytes in skin after similar levels of UVR exposure.

OUTLINE: This is a pilot, dose-response study followed by an in vivo transcriptional profiling study in 2 different groups.

  • Pilot study (verification of ultraviolet radiation dose response): Participants are initially exposed to solar-simulated ultraviolet radiation (ssUVR) (UVA) on the back to determine the minimum erythema dose (MED). Between 22-24 hours after exposure, participants undergo shave biopsy from each of the 9 UV exposure sites and 1 unexposed skin site.
  • Group 1 (determination of ssUVR and UVA in vivo transcriptional profiles): On day 1, participants are initially exposed to ssUVR on the back to determine the MED. On day 2, participants are exposed to ssUVR (3 sites) and UVA (3 sites) at the MED on the buttocks. Between 22-24 hours after exposure (day 3), participants undergo shave biopsy from each of the 6 UV exposure sites and 2 unexposed skin sites.
  • Group 2 (determination of sunscreen-protected in vivo transcriptional profiles): On day 1, participants are initially exposed to ssUVR on the back to determine the MED. On day 2, participants are exposed to ssUVR on unprotected skin (3 sites) and sunscreen-protected skin (3 sites) at the MED on the buttocks. Between 22-24 hours after exposure (day 3), participants undergo shave biopsy from each of the 6 UV exposure sites and 2 unexposed skin sites.

Biopsies from all participants are analyzed by microarray analysis. One of the unexposed epidermal samples is used for primary keratinocyte culture.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 6-56 participants (6 for the pilot study and 50 [25 per group] for transcriptional profiling) will be accrued for this study within 2 months.

Being tested
microarray analysis, biopsy, evaluation of cancer risk factors
Keywords
basal cell carcinoma of the skin, squamous cell carcinoma of the skin, actinic keratosis
Medical subject headings
Precancerous Conditions, Carcinoma, Basal Cell, Keratosis, Actinic

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • microarray analysisGenetic

  • biopsyProcedure or surgery

  • evaluation of cancer risk factorsProcedure or surgery

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted9 Dec 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study startFeb 2004

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Observational
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00099112
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000357437
Other IDs
NCI-04-C-0120
Status last verified
Nov 2005
First submitted
8 Dec 2004
Last updated
30 Apr 2015
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

An observational study of Non-melanomatous Skin Cancer and Precancerous Condition, run by National Cancer Institute (NCI) at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 30 Apr 2015. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 30 Apr 2015.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in