AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerPhase 2NCT00088972

S0300, Celecoxib in Preventing Breast Cancer in Premenopausal Women

A Phase 2 study testing celecoxib in people with Breast Cancer, run by SWOG Cancer Research Network at 9 sites in United States.

Terminated

Stopped early. The study ended before it was planned to and will not resume.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Chemoprevention therapy is the use of certain drugs to try to prevent the development or recurrence of cancer. The use of celecoxib may be effective in preventing breast cancer. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 120 years, women only
Conditions the study is for
Breast Cancer
What is being tested?
celecoxib
Type of treatment
Pill or oral medicine
Could I receive a placebo?
Yes, some participants may receive a placebo
How many people
8 participants
Where
9 sitesUnited States
Study dates
Nov 2004to Jul 2009
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 120 years
  • Women only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • At elevated risk of developing breast cancer, as defined by 1 of the following:
  • Modified Gail risk at 5 years ≥ 1.7% or lifetime risk ≥ 20% AND Claus Model, BRCAPro Model, or Tyrer-Cuzick Model lifetime risk ≥ 20%
  • Diagnosis of lobular carcinoma in situ or ductal carcinoma in situ
  • Known deleterious mutation of BRCA1 or BRCA2
  • At least 1 breast available for imagery and biopsy
  • Has undergone a baseline mammogram with a standard density wedge within 7-14 days after completion of the last menstrual period AND within 7 days before study entry
  • Mammogram normal or benign (BIRADS score 0 or 1)
  • Hormone receptor status:
  • Not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and over

Sex

  • Female

Menopausal status

  • Premenopausal, defined by 1 of the following criteria:
  • Last menstrual period < 6 months ago AND no prior bilateral ovariectomy AND not on estrogen replacement therapy
  • Prior hysterectomy (with ovaries still in place) AND normal follicle-stimulating hormone levels within 28 days of study entry

Performance status

  • Zubrod 0-1

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Not specified

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin < 2.0 times institutional upper limit of normal (IULN)
  • SGOT or SGPT < 2 times IULN
  • Alkaline phosphatase < 2 times IULN
  • INR ≤ 1.5
  • PT and PTT ≤ IULN

Renal

  • Serum creatinine < 2.0 times IULN

Cardiovascular

  • No history of myocardial infarction
  • No angina pectoris
  • No known coronary artery disease
  • No history of stroke or mini-stroke (e.g., transient ischemic attack)
  • No history of thromboembolic disease (e.g., deep vein thrombosis or pulmonary embolism)
  • No uncontrolled hypertension (i.e., blood pressure > 140/90 mmHg)

Pulmonary

  • No asthma after taking aspirin or other NSAIDs

Other

  • No known sensitivity to celecoxib
  • No allergy to sulfonamides
  • No urticaria or allergic-type reactions after taking aspirin or other NSAIDs
  • No extreme lactose intolerance
  • No other malignancy within the past 5 years except adequately treated basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer, carcinoma in situ of the cervix, or early bladder cancer (preinvasive transitional cell carcinoma of the bladder)
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • More than 5 years since prior biologic therapy for cancer

Chemotherapy

  • More than 5 years since prior chemotherapy for cancer

Endocrine therapy

  • At least 28 days since prior tamoxifen
  • No prior systemic estrogen modifiers (SERMs) or aromatase inhibitors
  • Concurrent hormonal contraception (i.e., pills, patches, or shots) allowed provided contraception was initiated prior to study entry

Radiotherapy

  • No prior radiotherapy to the breast to be studied

Surgery

  • Not specified

Other

  • At least 7 days since prior anticoagulant therapy
  • More than 1 month since prior chronic daily aspirin or nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs) of more than 7 days duration
  • Concurrent intermittent aspirin or NSAIDs allowed (no more than 10 days per month)
  • No concurrent participation in another clinical trial for treatment or prevention of cancer unless no longer receiving treatment and is in the follow-up phase

Trial locations and contacts

9 sites in 1 country.

9 sites in 1 country

United States9 sites
  • University of New Mexico Cancer Center

    Albuquerque, New Mexico, 87131-5636

  • Glendale Memorial Hospital Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Glendale, California, 91204

  • Baylor University Medical Center - Houston

    Houston, Texas, 77030

  • Ben Taub General Hospital

    Houston, Texas, 77030

  • Methodist Hospital

    Houston, Texas, 77030

  • St. Luke's Texas Cancer Institute at St. Luke's Episcopal Hospital

    Houston, Texas, 77030

  • Veterans Affairs Medical Center - Houston

    Houston, Texas, 77030

  • Swedish Cancer Institute at Swedish Medical Center - First Hill Campus

    Seattle, Washington, 98122-4307

  • University Cancer Center at University of Washington Medical Center

    Seattle, Washington, 98195-6043

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Randomized Placebo-Controlled Biomarker Modulation Trial Using Celecoxib in Premenopausal Women at High Risk for Breast Cancer

RATIONALE: Chemoprevention therapy is the use of certain drugs to try to prevent the development or recurrence of cancer. The use of celecoxib may be effective in preventing breast cancer.

PURPOSE: This randomized phase II trial is studying how well celecoxib works in preventing breast cancer in premenopausal women who are at risk for developing the disease.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Compare 1-year mammographic density in premenopausal women at high risk for developing breast cancer treated with celecoxib vs placebo.
  • Compare 1-year proliferation of breast epithelial cells, as measured by Ki67 staining, in patients treated with these drugs.
  • Compare the expression of other biomarkers, including cyclo-oxygenase-2 (COX-2) enzyme and a marker of apoptosis, in breast tissue of patients treated with these drugs.
  • Compare 1-year plasma levels of insulin-like growth factor (IGF)-1, IGF binding protein-3, and prostaglandin E_2 in patients treated with these drugs.
  • Compare the toxicity of these drugs in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, placebo-controlled, double-blind, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to risk category (lobular carcinoma in situ or ductal carcinoma in situ vs BRCA1/2 mutation AND any Gail risk vs Gail risk ≥1.7% but < 5% vs Gail risk ≥ 5%) and prior tamoxifen use (yes vs no). Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.

  • Celocoxib: Patients receive oral celecoxib twice daily.
  • Placebo: Patients receive oral placebo twice daily. In both arms, treatment continues for 12 months in the absence of unacceptable toxicity or diagnosis of cancer.

Patients are followed at 1 month.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 100 patients (50 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study.

Conditions
Breast Cancer
Being tested
celecoxib, placebo
Keywords
breast cancer, breast cancer in situ, lobular breast carcinoma in situ, ductal breast carcinoma
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms, Breast Carcinoma In Situ, Carcinoma, Ductal, Breast

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • celecoxibDrug

    Given orally

  • placeboOther

    Given orally

Study groups in NCT00088972
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Arm I - CelecoxibExperimentalPatients receive oral celecoxib twice daily for 12 months in the absence of unacceptable toxicity or diagnosis of cancer.
Receives: Drug: celecoxib
Arm II - PlaceboPlacebo comparatorPatients receive oral placebo twice daily for 12 months in the absence of unacceptable toxicity or diagnosis of cancer.
Receives: Other: placebo

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Mammographic Density

    The primary outcome measure is change in mammographic density. The null hypothesis is that there is no difference between the arms in change in mammographic density over one year versus the alternative that the treatment arm reduces mammographic density by 10 points (percent of pixels highlighted) or more over one year compared to the change in the placebo arm.

    Measured: 1 year

Secondary outcomes (1)
  1. Ki-67 Expression

    The difference between the two arms in the percent of patients with non-zero ki-67 expression over the two time periods (baseline and 1-year).

    Measured: 1 year

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted5 Aug 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study startNov 2004
  3. Primary completionJul 2009
  4. Study completionJul 2009

Why it stopped: Study closed due to poor accrual.

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Prevention
Allocation
Randomised
Intervention model
Parallel groups
Masking
Double blind
Who is masked
Participant, Investigator
Enrolment
8 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00088972
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000377698
Other IDs
U10CA012027, S0300, U10CA037429
Status last verified
Jul 2018
First submitted
4 Aug 2004
Last updated
10 Aug 2018
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing celecoxib in people with Breast Cancer, run by SWOG Cancer Research Network at 9 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: stopped early, as of the sponsor's last update on 10 Aug 2018. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 9 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. Some participants in this study may receive a placebo. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 9 Apr 2013). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Mammographic Density (time frame: 1 year). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 10 Aug 2018.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in