Colorectal CancerPhase 3NCT00085163
Celecoxib Combined With Fluorouracil and Leucovorin in Treating Patients With Resected Stage III Adenocarcinoma (Cancer) of the Colon
A Phase 3 study testing celecoxib, fluorouracil and leucovorin calcium in people with Colorectal Cancer, run by European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer - EORTC at 36 sites in 3 countries.
Trial summary
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as fluorouracil and leucovorin, work in different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Celecoxib may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking the enzymes necessary for their growth. Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 18 to 120 years
- Conditions the study is for
- Colorectal Cancer
- What is being tested?
- celecoxib, fluorouracil and leucovorin calcium
- Type of treatment
- Surgery or procedure
- How many people
- Not given
- Where
- 36 sitesin 3 countries
- Study dates
- Mar 2004to Nov 2005
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Are there results?
- None posted in the registry
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 18 to 120 years
- All sexes
- No healthy volunteers
- Adult, Older adult
DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:
- Histologically confirmed adenocarcinoma of the colon
- 15 cm above anal verge
- Stage III disease (any pT, N1-2, M0)
- No rectal cancer
- Must have undergone curative radical resection (R0 resection) within the past 6 weeks
PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:
Age
- 18 and over
Performance status
- WHO 0-1
Life expectancy
- Not specified
Hematopoietic
- Absolute neutrophil count ≥ 1,500/mm^3
- Platelet count ≥ 100,000/mm^3
Hepatic
- AST ≤ 5 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
- Bilirubin ≤ 1.5 times ULN
Renal
- Creatinine ≤ 1.5 times ULN
Cardiovascular
- None of the following conditions within the past 6 months:
- Myocardial infarction
- Unstable angina
- Symptomatic congestive heart failure
- Serious uncontrolled cardiac arrhythmia
- Cerebrovascular accident or transient ischemic attack
- Deep vein thrombosis
- Other significant thromboembolic event
Pulmonary
- No pulmonary embolism within the past 6 months
Gastrointestinal
- No active gastric or duodenal ulceration within the past year
- No gastrointestinal bleeding within the past year
- No partial or complete bowel obstruction
- No known chronic malabsorption
- No active inflammatory bowel disease or chronic diarrhea (more than 4 stools/day)
Other
- Not pregnant or nursing
- Fertile patients must use effective contraception
- HIV negative
- No AIDS-related illness
- No prior hypersensitivity to fluorouracil, leucovorin calcium, celecoxib, other COX-2 inhibitors, NSAIDs, salicylates, or sulfonamides
- No other severe acute or chronic medical condition or laboratory abnormality that would preclude study participation, study drug administration, or study results interpretation
- No psychological, familial, sociological, or geographical condition that would preclude study compliance
- No concurrent active infection
- No other malignancy within the past 5 years except adequately treated carcinoma in situ of the cervix or basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer
PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:
Biologic therapy
- No concurrent sargramostim (GM-CSF) or molgramostim
Chemotherapy
- Not specified
Endocrine therapy
- No more than 4 weeks of concurrent orally/nasally inhaled steroids over a 6-month period
- Concurrent mometasone (or fluticasone) allowed if patients require ≥ 4 weeks of inhaled steroid therapy
- At least 30 days since other prior steroids
- No concurrent hormonal therapy
Radiotherapy
- No concurrent radiotherapy
Surgery
- See Disease Characteristics
- No prior total colectomy or other major surgery that would result in substantial alteration in transit to absorption of oral medication
Other
- More than 30 days since prior investigational medication
- No prior systemic anticancer treatment for colon cancer
- No concurrent prophylactic fluconazole
- No concurrent lithium
- No concurrent chronic* use of full dose aspirin, nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs), or cyclo-oxygenase-2 (COX-2) inhibitors
- Aspirin at cardioprotective doses (i.e., 80 mg daily or equivalent) allowed
- No concurrent participation in any other clinical study
- No other concurrent experimental agents (e.g., other COX-2 inhibitors, matrix metalloproteinase inhibitors, inhibitors of the vascular endothelial growth factor/Flk-1 pathway, or inhibitors of the epidermal growth factor receptor pathway) NOTE: *Chronic use is defined as a frequency of 7 consecutive days (1 week) for more than 3 weeks/year or more than 21 days throughout the year
Trial locations and contacts
36 sites in 3 countries.
36 sites in 3 countries
Netherlands23 sites
Jeroen Bosch Ziekenhuis
's-Hertogenbosch, 5211 NL
Onze Lieve Vrouwe Gasthuis
Amsterdam, 1091 HA
Academisch Medisch Centrum at University of Amsterdam
Amsterdam, 1105 AZ
Gelre Ziekenhuizen - Lokatie Lukas
Apeldoorn, 7334 DZ
Rijnstate Hospital
Arnhem, 6800 TA
Ziekenhuis Lievensberg
Bergen op Zoom, 4624 VT
Deventer Ziekenhuisen
Deventer, 7415 CM
Catharina Ziekenhuis
Eindhoven, 5602 ZA
Medisch Spectrum Twente
Enschede, 7500 KA
University Medical Center Groningen
Groningen, 9700 RB
Ziekenhuis St Jansdal
Harderwijk, 3840 AC
Leiden University Medical Center
Leiden, 2333 ZA
Sint Antonius Ziekenhuis
Nieuwegein, 3435 CM
Nijmegen Cancer Center at Radboud University Medical Center
Nijmegen, 6500 HB
Waterlandziekenhuis
Purmerend, 1440 AG
Daniel Den Hoed Cancer Center at Erasmus Medical Center
Rotterdam, 3008 AE
Erasmus MC - Sophia Children's Hospital
Rotterdam, 3015 GJ
Ikazia Ziekenhuis
Rotterdam, NL-3083
Schieland Ziekenhuis
Schiedam, NL-3116
Ziekenhuis de Honte
Terneuzen, NL-4535
Medisch Centrum Haaglanden
The Hague, 2501 CK
Streekziekenhuis Koningin Beatrix
Winterswyk, 7101 BN
Isala Klinieken - locatie Weezenlanden
Zwolle, NL-8000 GM
Austria7 sites
Karl-Franzens-University Graz
Graz, A-8010
Innsbruck Universitaetsklinik
Innsbruck, A-6020
Krankenhaus der Elisabethinen
Linz, 4020
St. Vincent's Hospital
Linz Donau, 4010
Landeskrankenanstalten - Salzburg
Salzburg, A-5020
Allgemeines Krankenhaus der Stadt Wien
Vienna, A-1090
Allgemeines Krankenhaus
Wiener Neustadt, 2700
Belgium6 sites
Ziekenhuis Netwerk Antwerpen Middelheim
Antwerp, B-2020
Hopital Universitaire Erasme
Brussels, 1070
Universitair Ziekenhuis Antwerpen
Edegem, B-2650
Hopital de Jolimont
Haine-Saint-Paul, 7100
CHU Liege - Domaine Universitaire du Sart Tilman
Liège, B-4000
St. Elizabeth Ziekenhuis
Turnhout, 2300
About this study
Official title: Multicenter, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Randomized Phase III Study of Adjuvant Therapy With Celecoxib in Combination With Chemotherapy in Patients With Curatively Resected Stage III Colon Cancer
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as fluorouracil and leucovorin, work in different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Celecoxib may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking the enzymes necessary for their growth. It is not yet known whether fluorouracil and leucovorin are more effective with or without celecoxib in treating resected stage III adenocarcinoma (cancer) of the colon.
PURPOSE: This randomized phase III trial is studying celecoxib, fluorouracil, and leucovorin to see how well they work compared to fluorouracil and leucovorin in treating patients who have undergone surgery for stage III colon cancer.
Read the detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
Primary
- Compare disease-free survival of patients with curatively resected stage III adenocarcinoma of the colon treated with adjuvant fluorouracil and leucovorin calcium with or without celecoxib.
Secondary
- Compare the overall survival, the occurrence of new primary colon cancer, and the development of new polyps in patients treated with these regimens.
OUTLINE: This is a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to ≥ 4 tumor-positive lymph nodes (yes vs no), form of adjuvant chemotherapy (infusional vs bolus), low-dose aspirin for cardiovascular prophylaxis (yes vs no), and participating center. Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.
- Arm I: Patients receive fluorouracil and leucovorin calcium IV for up to 6 courses in the absence of disease recurrence or unacceptable toxicity. Patients also receive oral celecoxib twice daily.
- Arm II: Patients receive oral placebo twice daily and fluorouracil and leucovorin calcium as in arm I.
In both arms, treatment with celecoxib or placebo continues for 3 years in the absence of disease recurrence or unacceptable toxicity.
Patients are followed annually for 2 years.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 1,450 patients (725 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study within 2 years.
- Conditions
- Colorectal Cancer
- Being tested
- celecoxib, fluorouracil, leucovorin calcium, adjuvant therapy
- Keywords
- adenocarcinoma of the colon, stage III colon cancer
- Medical subject headings
- Colorectal Neoplasms, Colonic Neoplasms
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
celecoxibDrug
fluorouracilDrug
adjuvant therapyProcedure or surgery
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
Disease-free survival as measured by Logrank every 3 months in year 1, every 6 months in years 2-3, and annually thereafter
Secondary outcomes (3)
Overall survival as measured by Logrank every 3 months in year 1, every 6 months in years 2-3, and annually thereafter
Time occurrence of new primary colon cancer and new polyps as measured by Logrank every 3 months in year 1, every 6 months in years 2-3, and annually thereafter
Toxicity as measured by CTC AE version 2.0 every 3 months in year 1, every 6 months in years 2-3, and annually thereafter
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted11 Jun 2004 (estimated)
- Study startMar 2004
- Primary completionNov 2005
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Other trials for Colorectal CancerStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- More trials run by European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer - EORTCThe sponsor's other registered studies.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Masking
- Double blind
Sponsor and investigators
- Sponsor type
- Research network
- Collaborators
- Dutch Colorectal Cancer Group, Arbeitsgemeinschaft fur Internistische Onkologie, Onkologie, Egyptian Foundation For Cancer Research, EORTC GI Group (EORTC 40023), Federation Francophone de Cancerologie Digestive, GCCD-APIO - Grupo Cooperativo do Cancro Digestivo da Associação Portuguesa de Investigação, Oncológica, Gruppo Italiano per lo studio dei Carcinomi dell'Apparato Digerente, GOCCI - Gruppo Oncologico Chirurgico Cooperativo Italiano, Gruppo Oncologico Italiano di Ricerca Clinica, SG - Scandinavian Group, TTD - Grupo Español para el Tratamiento de Tumores Digestivos
- Responsible party
- Sponsor
- Investigators
- Cornelis J.H. van de Velde, MD, PhD, FRCS, FRCPS, Study chair, Leiden University Medical CenterDirk J. Richel, MD, PhD, Study chair, Academisch Medisch Centrum - Universiteit van Amsterdam (AMC-UvA)Michel Ducreux, MD, PhD, Study chair, Gustave Roussy, Cancer Campus, Grand Paris
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00085163
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- EORTC-40023
- Other IDs
- EORTC-40023, PETACC-5
- Status last verified
- Oct 2015
- First submitted
- 10 Jun 2004
- Last updated
- 20 Oct 2015
- Results posted
- No
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 20 Oct 2015. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- Multicenter, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Randomized Phase III Study of Adjuvant Therapy With Celecoxib in Combination With Chemotherapy in Patients With Curatively Resected Stage III Colon Cancer
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00085163
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- EORTC-40023
- Conditions
- Colorectal Cancer
- Keywords
- adenocarcinoma of the colon, stage III colon cancer
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Completed
- Lead sponsor
- European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer - EORTCResearch network
- Collaborators
- Dutch Colorectal Cancer Group, Arbeitsgemeinschaft fur Internistische Onkologie, Onkologie, Egyptian Foundation For Cancer Research, EORTC GI Group (EORTC 40023), Federation Francophone de Cancerologie Digestive, GCCD-APIO - Grupo Cooperativo do Cancro Digestivo da Associação Portuguesa de Investigação, Oncológica, Gruppo Italiano per lo studio dei Carcinomi dell'Apparato Digerente, GOCCI - Gruppo Oncologico Chirurgico Cooperativo Italiano, Gruppo Oncologico Italiano di Ricerca Clinica, SG - Scandinavian Group, TTD - Grupo Español para el Tratamiento de Tumores Digestivos
- Study start
- Mar 2004
- Primary completion
- Nov 2005 (actual)
- First posted
- 11 Jun 2004 (estimated)
- Results
- Not posted in the source record
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as fluorouracil and leucovorin, work in different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Celecoxib may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking the enzymes necessary for their growth. It is not yet known whether fluorouracil and leucovorin are more effective with or without celecoxib in treating resected stage III adenocarcinoma (cancer) of the colon.
PURPOSE: This randomized phase III trial is studying celecoxib, fluorouracil, and leucovorin to see how well they work compared to fluorouracil and leucovorin in treating patients who have undergone surgery for stage III colon cancer.
Detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
Primary
- Compare disease-free survival of patients with curatively resected stage III adenocarcinoma of the colon treated with adjuvant fluorouracil and leucovorin calcium with or without celecoxib.
Secondary
- Compare the overall survival, the occurrence of new primary colon cancer, and the development of new polyps in patients treated with these regimens.
OUTLINE: This is a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to ≥ 4 tumor-positive lymph nodes (yes vs no), form of adjuvant chemotherapy (infusional vs bolus), low-dose aspirin for cardiovascular prophylaxis (yes vs no), and participating center. Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.
- Arm I: Patients receive fluorouracil and leucovorin calcium IV for up to 6 courses in the absence of disease recurrence or unacceptable toxicity. Patients also receive oral celecoxib twice daily.
- Arm II: Patients receive oral placebo twice daily and fluorouracil and leucovorin calcium as in arm I.
In both arms, treatment with celecoxib or placebo continues for 3 years in the absence of disease recurrence or unacceptable toxicity.
Patients are followed annually for 2 years.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 1,450 patients (725 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study within 2 years.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Masking
- Double blind
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 18 to 120 years
- Sex
- All
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Adult, Older adult
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| celecoxib | Drug | – |
| fluorouracil | Drug | – |
| leucovorin calcium | Drug | – |
| adjuvant therapy | Procedure or surgery | – |
Primary outcome
Disease-free survival as measured by Logrank every 3 months in year 1, every 6 months in years 2-3, and annually thereafter
3 secondary outcomes
Overall survival as measured by Logrank every 3 months in year 1, every 6 months in years 2-3, and annually thereafter
Time occurrence of new primary colon cancer and new polyps as measured by Logrank every 3 months in year 1, every 6 months in years 2-3, and annually thereafter
Toxicity as measured by CTC AE version 2.0 every 3 months in year 1, every 6 months in years 2-3, and annually thereafter
Results and safety
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 20 Oct 2015.
Related trials for Colorectal Cancer
Not yet recruitingPhase 1
Hepatic Artery Infusion of Carfilzomib in Participants With Liver Metastatic Disease Previously Treated With Hepatic Artery Infusion Pump Therapy
Colorectal Neoplasms, Neoplasms
Active, not recruiting
Streamlined Geriatric and Oncological Evaluation Based On IC Technology
Breast Cancer, Comorbidities and Coexisting Conditions
RecruitingObservational study
Pre- and On-treatment Multi-omics Profiling of Locally Advanced Rectal Cancer
Rectal Neoplasms
Enrolling by invitationObservational study
Natural History Study of Early Life Exposures in Agriculture (ELEA)
Prostate Cancer, Leukemia
RecruitingPhase 2
Tislelizumab in People With Colorectal Cancer
Colorectal Cancer
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Cornelis J.H. van de Velde, MD, PhD, FRCS, FRCPS study chair
Leiden University Medical Center
Dirk J. Richel, MD, PhD study chair
Academisch Medisch Centrum - Universiteit van Amsterdam (AMC-UvA)
Michel Ducreux, MD, PhD study chair
Gustave Roussy, Cancer Campus, Grand Paris
36 sites in 3 countries: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 3 study testing celecoxib, fluorouracil and leucovorin calcium in people with Colorectal Cancer, run by European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer - EORTC at 36 sites in 3 countries.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 20 Oct 2015. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 36 sites in Netherlands, Austria, Belgium. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
Disease-free survival as measured by Logrank every 3 months in year 1, every 6 months in years 2-3, and annually thereafter. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 20 Oct 2015.